Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

3 stars
85 West Court Avenue, 85 WEST COURT AVE, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Weekend getaway with Family

Awesome, room big, very clean, a lot of amenities, close to everything downtown, See full review

  • YaYa Lynch
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great trip

Had been to New Orleans and wanted to stop in Memphis before heading home. I love SpringHill Suites... See full review

  • SueDoo
  • Jul 10, 2014
AAA 3 Diamond-rated hotel in heart of Memphis

SpringHill Suites, a AAA 3 Diamond-rated all-suites hotel, offers exceptional value and comfort in the heart of downtown "Blues City." Each spacious, two-room suite offers a home away from home, providing freedom from distractions if work is paramount. Families enjoy an outdoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, and plenty of attractions nearby. The adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space.

Highlights
  • Large, spacious suites
  • Unrivaled location in East Memphis
  • Exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 147 stylish suites are smoke-free, with open sleeping areas featuring several bedding options, a pantry with sink, microwave oven, and refrigerator. Work areas include large desk, free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access, and phones with voicemail and data ports. Amenities include hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room coffee/tea, cable television with in-room movies, daily housekeeping, and in- room safes.

Features

This seven-floor suite hotel offers convenient access to downtown Memphis. Guests enjoy sporting events at AutoZone Park and FedEx Forum, discover the sights and sounds of the entertainment district on Beale Street, and visit other points of interest, such as the Mud Island River Park, Peabody Place Museum, the Cook Convention Center, and the National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel -- all less than a mile and a half away.

 

SpringHill Suites also serves as a launching pad for culinary adventures, with a number of top-notch restaurants and bars just a short walk away, including Cajun cuisine at Felicia Suzanne's, Japanese fare at Blue Fin, a truly international menu at Flight, burgers and beers at Huey's Pub, barbecue at either Rendevous or Neely's BBQ, and prime steaks at Mesquite Chophouse.

 

Fitness buffs take advantage of an exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights, and receive complimentary passes to fitness classes at Well Worx Sporting Clubs around the corner from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space
  • Eight meeting rooms; Kress Ballroom, covering 2,500 square feet, accommodates 150
  • Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access
  • Full-service business center with copier and facsimile machines
  • Messenger service available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.146 -90.0529
Area served
Midtown
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport, (MEM), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cromedome
Business
Springfield, MO
May 2, 2012

Good Hotel

Convenient location and good facitity. I enjoyed the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Music Fest Attender
KY
May 8, 2012

Great place right on Main St.

This hotel was perfect! The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The trolley line is located right in front of the hotel which provided transportation around downtown Memphis. The buffet breakfast offered many options and the staff were always refilling the stations and cleaning up. Overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right on Main St. It's a short walk to Beale St, the music festival, and other attractions like the Peabody Hotel and the Gibson Guitar Factory!

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cromedome
Business
Springfield, MO
May 2, 2012

Good Hotel

Convenient location and good facitity. I enjoyed the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bo Duke
Franklin, Ky
Apr 10, 2012

Left wanting better service!

Check in, I walked into the lobby and no one was at the check in desk I stood at the desk for about five minutes before anyone came to check me into the room. Not wanting to use valet parking seemed to be a sore spot because I was asked more than once and got a look when I responded, "No, I prefer to park myself." However the room was very nice wiith a wonderful view of the trolly and a small park. My wife and I had a good night out food and music on Beale St. We returned via the trolly getting off at the hotel - a great experience until we where accosted by two bums waiting near the hotel. One throwing his arm around me calling me big man and can he have money and such. When we entered the hotel he left of course. The hotel security was inside back turned to the door laughing it up with the desk clerk who was actually there. When we told them of the bums he went out maybe the next people who came in didnt have the same experience. Overall payed high price for a great view and good room - left wanting more from staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patti E.
Oak Cliff, Texas
Feb 13, 2012

Great Choice For Memphis Stay

We visited Memphis on a college trip with my daughter and chose the SpringHill Suites because of it's convenient location. It exceeded our expectations. The room was large and nicely appointed with a separate sitting area containing a desk, couch, refrigerator and microwave. Two large-screen TV's were provided, one in the sitting area and one in the sleeping area. I often find hotel beds to be uncomfortable but these were excellent. Our room faced out onto the Main Street Trolley Line so we did hear the trolleys going by but they sounded like distant thunder and were not a disturbance. The breakfast buffet was exceptionally good, with a very nice selection of both hot and cold items. The food was fresh and the staff was quick to replenish items before they ran out. Snacks and microwave entree's were also available for purchase in the lobby. Everyone on the staff here was friendly and helpful. We could not recall a time where we have stayed anywhere with a friendlier staff. The valets were outstanding, always offering to give directions and helpful information. The location is perfect, with many restaurants and entertainment options within a short walk or trolley ride. The trolley stops right outside the hotel door. Our room had a beautiful view of Court Square, a lovely park. Should our daughter decide to attend school in Memphis, we will definitely be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many fine places to eat within a short walk or trolley ride from the hotel. The Little Tea Shop, Charles Vergos' Rendezvous, The Majestic Grill, The Cozy Corner to name just a few. Or, take the trolley down to Beale Street for an evening of food, music and history. Memphis is renowned for both its blues and barbeque.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. BMax
Birmingham, AL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

anniversary getaway

The staff was excellent , breakfast was great. However the hotel rooms were not as clean as I would have liked. Something was on spilled on the bathroom floor and it was still there when I left. There was dust on the end tables in the sitting area & bedroom nightstands. My biggest disappointment was being on the trolley line side of the building. Even though I was on the 5th floor it seemed like I was sitting on the track! Another guest expressed the same sentiments as we were checking out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good eateries in close vicinity

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Packer Watcher
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great stay in Memphis

We had a great stay at this Marriot hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and we were surprised at the wonderful breakfast in the morning. We will stay here again should the occassion arise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to the Peabody Hotel to watch the live ducks come out of the elevator at 11 am and swim in their fountain in the lobby. The ducks leave the fountain at 5 pm. Very fun! Plus the hotel is old and gorgeous if you don't like ducks!

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
edwards339
Business
memphis, tn
Nov 5, 2011

Springhill Suites in Memphis

Excellent stay. Incredible facilities. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Awesome value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CyndiS
Dayton, KY, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Great Location

The hotel was very well kept, clean and accommodating. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. All attractions, for the most part, were within a short walk, in a good neighborhood. Beds were comfortable, rooms spacious and tidy. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get free shuttle service to Graceland and Sun Studio at the Rock & Soul Museum next to the Fed Ex Forum. Shuttle arrives every hour or so.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Libratink
Burbank, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Great Memphis Hotel

When booking our first trip to Memphis to visit Graceland did a bit of research and decided to stay Downtown near Beale Street. Was very happy with our choice. The hotel is in a great location (about a 6 block walk to Beale Street). Super cute, spacious suite, great buffet breakfast. Like the other reviewers said if I went again I would request a room on the front side of the building though.. The backside is along the street where the trolleys run (very cute) so we heard the trolley noise a bit. Wasn't terrible but would have been better to have been on the other side of the hotel. Otherwise, a really great stay. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grubby
Kansas
Oct 17, 2011

Hockadoo!

We liked it fine and would return if the opportunity presented itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top