Rate based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
View map of 149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Apr 27, 2007

My review of Peabody Memphis

My stay at the Peabody, Memphis, was consumed with business, giving me no time to explore the hotel or surrounding area. What I saw of it was pleasant, though I never found where to get a latte or quick cup of coffee to go. (No coffee in the room!)I slept well in the queen bed and had no problem with the noice level. The room itself was quite small, as was the bathroom. There was no vanity area for toiletries, which had to be carried in and out as needed. A local newpaper was provided in the morning. But still no coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paulh
Business
Huntington, WV, USA
Apr 30, 2014

spring getaway

It was a beautiful, historic hotel. Loved that it was so close to Beale Street and all the restaurants downtown. Watched the ducks but didn't get a good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street at night was fantastic. The music on the street was a highlight for us.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peabody
Business
Washington DC
May 26, 2009

Peabody

Overall pretty good...however, never like fees added on after I arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom W
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 16, 2009

Memphis visit

It was a great weekend and the hotel nice. I was surprised by the unexpected and unexplained charges at the end. They hit me with a daily convenience fee of $10 per day plus a $16 per day fee for parking. This was not explained on reservation or checkin and should not have happened. Maybe a sign of the times with hotels in a tough economy. Watch out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendevous BBQ, across the street and down the alley. Excellent and good atmosphere. Prepare for a wait but worth it.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Joseph, MI
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel for enjoying Beale St

Enjoyed the daily duck march,even without children with us! The lobby is great for people watching. The bathroom was very small, and we anticipated coffee in the room and discovered that we could request a coffee maker for no charge in the room and not have to order a twenty dollar pot from room service. Just another way to make a dollar, I guess. Much like the daily 'hotel service charge $9.95' that is added to your checkout and you wonder specifically what it is actually for? The location is great for walking to Beale St for the music.. loved Barbara Blue at Silky O'Sullivans! But what is going on with the Peabody Center/Mall? It's almost totally deserted, the majority of stores have closed, although Encore Restaurant MUST be tried..it's across the valet drive from the Peabody entrance.. great food that is NOT ribs and not covered in bbq sauce, prepared by Chef [...]. Wish we had discovered it sooner. All in all, it was a fun long weekend trip since I met with friends I hadn't seen in years, enjoyed the music and the food, did a lot of people watching, and came home tired. The Peabody is a great oasis, enjoyed the plushness of the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful, and of course, the ducks were always a giggle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovememphis
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Wonderful Historic Hotel

The Peabody is a great, older hotel, right in the heart of Memphis. We didn't even need to rent a car, as Beale St. is only a few blocks away. The Lorraine Motel/Civil Rights Museum is also in walking distance, or there's a trolly down Main St. The two non-walking trips we took to Graceland and Sun Studios were easily reached by a tour bus from the hotel and a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (they go to Graceland as well, although we loved our bus driver's extra Elvis knowledge so are glad we decided on that option to Graceland). The ducks of course are the main attraction here, although you don't have to stay here to see them, but the lobby bar is a great place to unwind, and the main restaurant is a great place for a quick breakfast on the way out. We didn't try spa services or the other restaurants, so I can't speak to those, but it's a great hotel. As others have said, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but it's an older building, so that can't really be helped. There's wifi, helpful staff, and it's in walking distance to most attractions, so all in all was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (walking distance from the Peabody) that will take you to Sun Studios and Graceland, both really worthwhile tours. Also, have a look at the coupons in your Graceland program, there are offers for other attractions.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lathan E.
Business
Oxon Hill, Md
Nov 23, 2012

Vacation break

When I checked in they did not have the room that I paid for which is the Superior room. All of the Superior rooms were booked with the king bed, all were left were the 2 doubles that I did not want. I tried to call ahead of time to check on the room but was not able to do because your booking is only available to them 24 hours before my arrival. Other than that the stay was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Flying Fish and The BB Kings Blues Club are good places to visit.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SRMA
Business
Pasadena, Ca.
Dec 11, 2012

Great historic hotel

Old hotel is well-maintained and has excellent amenities, restaurants and lobby bar. Staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must go to the Rendezvous nearby for BBQ ribs.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Number 1 grizz fan
Business
Memphis tn
Dec 9, 2013

Almost perfection

We had a great time at the Peabody. The bed couldn't have been more comfortable and the room was very clean. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff was very accommodating and super friendly. My only complaints were the quality of the bath products and the Fiji $4.00 water. I thought the water should have been complimentary being the room was $200.00. The hotel during the holidays really brings back all of the warm and comforting memories of Christmas in the past. I will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The grizzlies game was spectacular! I wouldn't buy fancy tickets because all of the seats are good in the arena. Stay away from scalpers, the cost isn't worth it. $10.00 general admission is where it's at!

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bubbahollywood
Business
Houston, TX
May 25, 2010

Great location

The hotel is nice, but the check in was slow. It took about 15 minutes to get checked in. The ducks in the lobby and the lobby bar were cool. The parking garage was far from the room. The room was small, but decorated nice. It was very clean and neat. I could not get the WiFi connection to work in my room. The hotel is in a great location. Close to Beale St and the trolley line. Overall, the hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendevous BBQ is close by for some delicious ribs. Cockadoos, across from the hotel has a great breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top