Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
118 reviews
Lovely stay!

Only spent one night, but our room was fabulous! We stayed on a Thursday, and they had a rooftop... See full review

  • Friends that Ride
  • Jun 9, 2014
Fun Splurge

Everything was wonderful. Staff was great. Ducks were fun. The cost was the only negative. See full review

  • Mistletoe58
  • Jan 24, 2014
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish d├ęcor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1419 -90.052
Area served
Memphis, TN
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport
Area description
Located near Beale Street, Civil Rights Museum, Graceland,FedEx Forum, Autozone Park, and Memphis Zoo, featuring two pandas from China.

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Number 1 grizz fan
Memphis tn
Dec 9, 2013

Almost perfection

We had a great time at the Peabody. The bed couldn't have been more comfortable and the room was very clean. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff was very accommodating and super friendly. My only complaints were the quality of the bath products and the Fiji $4.00 water. I thought the water should have been complimentary being the room was $200.00. The hotel during the holidays really brings back all of the warm and comforting memories of Christmas in the past. I will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The grizzlies game was spectacular! I wouldn't buy fancy tickets because all of the seats are good in the arena. Stay away from scalpers, the cost isn't worth it. $10.00 general admission is where it's at!

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bubbahollywood
Houston, TX
May 25, 2010

Great location

The hotel is nice, but the check in was slow. It took about 15 minutes to get checked in. The ducks in the lobby and the lobby bar were cool. The parking garage was far from the room. The room was small, but decorated nice. It was very clean and neat. I could not get the WiFi connection to work in my room. The hotel is in a great location. Close to Beale St and the trolley line. Overall, the hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendevous BBQ is close by for some delicious ribs. Cockadoos, across from the hotel has a great breakfast.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, Mississippi
Sep 7, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

Beautiful downtown hotel, close to everything. An historic place with lots to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Dec 28, 2009

Christmas

A beautiful hotel, especially during holidays. However, our room was not cleaned on Christmas. The hotel desk person was apologetic when I mentioned it. We have stayed here before and service is very good. There was an additional charge for morning paper, use of internet, athletic club and coffee (5:30-7:30) Many hotels do charge for internet service if requested, but other amenities are usually included in hotel charge. We did read the paper and get a cup of coffee...hardly worth a $9.95 daily charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Beale Street and Fed EX Forum and quite a few good restaurants. A 4 star restaurant in hotel. Ducks in the lobby/bar fountain always an attraction. Plus the lobby is beautiful. Hotel rooms spacious with comfortable chairs.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lacey Marie
Oxford, MS
Jul 5, 2010

Beautiful hotel

We watched the ducks enter the fountain at 11AM. The ducks were very active then, enjoying bathing and splashing around. The experience could be improved by an addition by the hotel like an included picture by the fountain or something fun to take home. We celebrated our wedding anniversary in Memphis. We ate at the fabulous Texas de Brazil which we walked to from the The Peabody. It is literally next door! Then we attended a performance at The Playhouse on the Square...wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Next door is the fabulous Texas de Brazil! So good!

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SE Texas
Nov 14, 2010

A Touch of Class

The Peabody is a very nice hotel. excellent location in downtown Memphis. You can walk to many area attraction including Beale Street, Charles Vergos Rendezvous, Etc. I feel that the Peabody is a must for anybody at least one time. Don't expect to get out of there cheap though. the credit card on file will serve as a reminder. parking is extra, incidental expenses, are as well. buyer beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

check out Beale Street while staying at the Peabody. Also highly recommend Charles Vergos Rendezvous across the street in the alley.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Apr 10, 2010

Peabody Memphis

The lobby bar was busy and noisy. There was a bit of a wait to check in and to answer the phone when I called the front desk. Beautiful old hotel, bathroom small, but nicely appointed. The room was fairly spacious, room service prompt. Everyone was friendly and location right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckereed
Business
Doniphan MO
May 21, 2010

Memphs Peabody

Very nice and courteous great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, Al
Dec 2, 2010

Peabody

This was an excellent trip overall. The atmosphere in the lobby is great with the lobby bar and music. The duck march was also great. I was in town for the Lakers-Grizzlies game and it was great. I really liked that downtown area overall. I did miss In-Room Coffee and the rooms were a bit small. I would highly rate staff at the Peabody, very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I took my own car, but was not familiar with Memphis and found the interstate system confusing. Have a GPS and study your route closely.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
uxgamer
Business
Clarksburg, MD
Oct 1, 2010

Peabody Memphis

Was on a short business trip and the Peabody was a great place to stay. The room gave enough room. One minor quip is that the desk is a bit small and covered with clear glass (made the mouse hard to track).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peale street, I think it's called, is within short walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top