Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Perfect vacation destination

Everybody that works at The Peabody are friendly, professional, helpful, and efficient. We loved... See full review

  • Rinowife
  • Sep 24, 2014
My Stay At the Peabody

This was my first time ever staying at the Peabody. My stay was very enjoyable and I will be... See full review

  • MiaD
  • Sep 16, 2014
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish d├ęcor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1419 -90.052
Area served
Memphis, TN
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport
Area description
Located near Beale Street, Civil Rights Museum, Graceland,FedEx Forum, Autozone Park, and Memphis Zoo, featuring two pandas from China.

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jltrain
Nashville, TN
May 26, 2009

Memphis

one night in downtown Memphis for Beale and Barbeque. It was a great location, spotless rooms, and helpful staff when we left a dress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the best of Memphis downtown attractions.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrocha
Portland Oregon
Jun 28, 2014

Girlfriends vacation

It was a great hotel and the duck march added entertainment. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendezvous Ribs

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 31, 2010

Great, Classic Hotel.

Great Classic hotel. Loved the bar in the lobby. The ducks marching in a 11:00am were great fun. Very polite staff. Enjoyed the fitness center pool and whirlpool. Very convenient location for restaurants, Beale St. music, and trolley cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendezvous and Flight are both musts.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, Al
Dec 2, 2010

Peabody

This was an excellent trip overall. The atmosphere in the lobby is great with the lobby bar and music. The duck march was also great. I was in town for the Lakers-Grizzlies game and it was great. I really liked that downtown area overall. I did miss In-Room Coffee and the rooms were a bit small. I would highly rate staff at the Peabody, very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I took my own car, but was not familiar with Memphis and found the interstate system confusing. Have a GPS and study your route closely.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, MS
Mar 14, 2010

Enjoyable, but Pricey

Good experience. Lots of walking from parking garage to hotel lobby, so I recommend the valet parking. Due to crowded lobby, elevators are slow. Small rooms. But everything was clean and restful. Great location, near many great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Texas De Brazil located adjacent to Peabody front door. Great food and restaurant experience.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SE Texas
Nov 14, 2010

A Touch of Class

The Peabody is a very nice hotel. excellent location in downtown Memphis. You can walk to many area attraction including Beale Street, Charles Vergos Rendezvous, Etc. I feel that the Peabody is a must for anybody at least one time. Don't expect to get out of there cheap though. the credit card on file will serve as a reminder. parking is extra, incidental expenses, are as well. buyer beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

check out Beale Street while staying at the Peabody. Also highly recommend Charles Vergos Rendezvous across the street in the alley.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Mar 20, 2010

Overall a good stay in Memphis

The hotel is gorgeous. Getting to the self parking was a bit confusing - had to call the front desk for assistance. The room overall was nice - very clean bathroom. Their was a pubic hair on the chair - so we stayed away from it. They provide bath robes - great shampoo, conditioner, etc. There is no coffee in the room for you coffee drinkers. Mattresses are fabulous! We had a river view which was nice. Excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Apr 10, 2010

Peabody Memphis

The lobby bar was busy and noisy. There was a bit of a wait to check in and to answer the phone when I called the front desk. Beautiful old hotel, bathroom small, but nicely appointed. The room was fairly spacious, room service prompt. Everyone was friendly and location right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovememphis
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Wonderful Historic Hotel

The Peabody is a great, older hotel, right in the heart of Memphis. We didn't even need to rent a car, as Beale St. is only a few blocks away. The Lorraine Motel/Civil Rights Museum is also in walking distance, or there's a trolly down Main St. The two non-walking trips we took to Graceland and Sun Studios were easily reached by a tour bus from the hotel and a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (they go to Graceland as well, although we loved our bus driver's extra Elvis knowledge so are glad we decided on that option to Graceland). The ducks of course are the main attraction here, although you don't have to stay here to see them, but the lobby bar is a great place to unwind, and the main restaurant is a great place for a quick breakfast on the way out. We didn't try spa services or the other restaurants, so I can't speak to those, but it's a great hotel. As others have said, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but it's an older building, so that can't really be helped. There's wifi, helpful staff, and it's in walking distance to most attractions, so all in all was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (walking distance from the Peabody) that will take you to Sun Studios and Graceland, both really worthwhile tours. Also, have a look at the coupons in your Graceland program, there are offers for other attractions.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Plains, MO
Jun 3, 2010

Nice place!

We were celebrating our 43rd anniversary (we honeymooned in Memphis in 1967) and decided we wanted to go to Beale Street and experience the atmosphere and enjoy the music. We were not disappointed. We also enjoyed our stay in the Peabody even though it was only one night. It is a beautiful building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BB King's Blues Club - great filet mignon! Live music was terrific!! Loved every minute of it.

Back to menu Return to top