Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
131 reviews
Fantastic Stay

Room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Great location. See full review

  • OliviaBauschlicher
  • Nov 18, 2014
memphis in may

Always a great place and friendly staff. Will be back very shortly See full review

  • I halucin8
  • Jun 2, 2014
Memphis mainstay in prime location

This striking, silver hotel on North 3rd Street in downtown Memphis entices business and pleasure travelers alike to get out and explore the birthplace of rock 'n' roll. The location is second to none, yet the hotel provides every amenity for guests who prefer to put their feet up and unwind. Amenities include an upscale bar and signature restaurant, pet-friendly rooms, a seasonal outdoor pool, and meeting space.

Highlights
  • Outstanding location near many Memphis attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in rooms
  • Pet-friendly rooms ($20 per pet, maximum of two dogs)
  • Restaurant and bar
Rooms

All 116 rooms are efficient and neat, with a choice of bed sizes with pillow-top mattresses. In-room amenities include a television with cable, coffee maker, desk, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms also offer a microwave oven and refrigerator. Laundry services are available.

Features

Econo Lodge Downtown's fitness room and seasonal outdoor pool re-energize weary travelers after a day of sightseeing.

 

Memphis Sounds, an upscale bar, offers a lively cocktail hour, and the hotel's signature restaurant, A & R Barbecue, serves a wide-ranging menu (be sure to check out the sun deck).

 

Guests enjoy many of the city's top attractions, just a few blocks away, including the Orpheum Theatre, Cannon Center for the Performing Arts, Mud Island, FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and the National Civil Rights Museum. Beale Street's entertainment district, a half mile from the hotel, tempts more adventurous guests with its wide variety clubs and restaurants, including Blues City Café, Silky O'Sullivan's, and Alfred's Bar & Grill.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Shuttle available to various businesses and attractions, including airport
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's home at Graceland (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Harrah's Tunica casino (28.3 mi/45.5 km)
Business
  • 100-square-foot meeting room accommodates up to 50
  • Copier and facsimile machine
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1451 -90.0501
Nearby airports
Memphis Int'l Airport, (MEM), 7.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, 3rd St & Court

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 131
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, Indiana
Oct 18, 2010

Sister Getaway

We visited Graceland, and Beale Street. Great location, close to many exciting places. Friendly people & clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dennys on the corner about a block down was horrible. The food was probably the worst I had ever had. On beale street, we had lunch at wet willies, the food there was not the best, but better than dennys.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 19, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance from EVERYTHING from the FedEx Forum to Beale St. The hotel even had a great Jazz and Blues Club downstairs. Unfortunately, the walls in the rooms are paper thin and I could literally hear my brother breathing in the room next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to spend at least two nights taking in Beale St. It is so much to see and do, from BB King's restaurant to Coyote Ugly.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maac
Business
DeSoto, TX, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Great for the price

Had a good stay and very close to dowtown bars and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BryanB
Business
Springfield, Va
Aug 20, 2012

Good location

Nice enough place to spend the night, the staff got us checked in and pointed out the parking and luggage cart. Included breakfast is ok, nothing special. Hotel is a little old and in need of some maintenance, but it's clean enough and there weren't any real safety issues. What made this hotel good is the reasonable price for the location - easy walking distance to Beale Street and the trolley. If you're looking for an affordable room to stay in while checking out the city, this one will do just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley for an added touch of nostalgia.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda Larry
Business
Jackson, MS
Oct 8, 2012

Grerat location to see downtown area

The room and location was great for a baseball game at the Autozone Ball Park. The staff (Dominquie and Marlon) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kjb2013
Business
Dyersburg, TN
Jun 25, 2013

Downtown Memphis Stay

We always choose this hotel when we travel to downtown Memphis. It is a reasonable $7 cab fare from Beale Street. Although, we have stayed at this location several times, I was not as pleased this time. The bathtub was no so clean and our bedside lamps did not work. Average..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Jun 6, 2010

Good position and price, service not

Perfect location and very good price. It was the 2nd time that we stayed there and like the first one we reserved a no smoking room and they gave us a smooking one. We reserved it and we asked them again when we checked in. After we realized that the room was a smoking one we had to wait one hour to have another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augsburg
May 24, 2011

Good Location rest average

good hotel, central location, average, big old rooms, nice cleaning stuff, unfriendly check inn clark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 16, 2009

Worth It for a weekend getaway on Beale

Internet Service is only in the 8x10 loud lobby. So do not think you get it in your room. You have to go get a hairdryer there is not one in the room as stated. The elevators are accessed from the outside in a parking garage not from the lobby. You get what you pay for. The Staff was very friendly. The bed was comfy enough and the proximity to everything is great. Don't go there for a honeymoon but stay there on a bender. I am sure we will go back just for the price and proximity. Oh and if you are taller than 5'-6" you will have to duck to use the shower head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street is a short walk with great access to AutoZone Park, Peabody, etc... Will stay again with friends if we go down there to party or go to a aball game.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Statesboro, GA
Dec 14, 2009

ok

It was an OK hotel. The location to Beale St was why we chose it. Also they were very nice and let us chekc in early as we had been driving all night with a 1 year old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top