Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
View map of 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
12 reviews
Nice older hotel

The Econo Lodge Downtown is older and doesn't have the polish of the Comfort Inn or Sleep Inn. But... See full review

  • Fritzman
  • Feb 18, 2013
Great relaxing weekend

Our stay was nearly perfect. The location of the hotel is far enough from the action so we weren't... See full review

  • Nightime
  • Jun 13, 2011
Econo Lodge of downtown Memphis provides an ideal location for the business or leisure traveler. Whether you are visiting Memphis for sightseeing or to attend a business meeting, the Econo Lodge is a great lodging choice. Located within walking distance to Beale Street, Orpheum Theatre, Mud Island, FedEx Forum, AutoZone Baseball Park and the National Civil Rights Museum. Guests will enjoy clean, comfortable rooms, free continental breakfast daily, free newspaper, outdoor seasonal pool and more. They look forward to seeing you soon. Parking charge of 10.00 USD per day. Pet accommodation: 20.00 USD per pet, per night. Pet limit: 2 dogs per room, maximum 10 pounds each.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
Free Wi-Fi in Room
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Hotel Map

35.1451 -90.0501
Nearby airports
Memphis Int'l Airport, (MEM), 7.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, 3rd St & Court

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fritzman
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Nice older hotel

The Econo Lodge Downtown is older and doesn't have the polish of the Comfort Inn or Sleep Inn. But it's clean, quiet, conveniently located, and inexpensive. I'll stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nightime
Friends
Clayton, IL
Jun 13, 2011

Great relaxing weekend

Our stay was nearly perfect. The location of the hotel is far enough from the action so we weren't disturbed by noise. It is also close enough that we walked almost everywhere we wanted to go. The pool was extremely refreshing during the heat wave, and I don't believe there is a more helpful staff anywhere. We will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The magazine "The Downtowner" that we found in our room gave addresses and phone numbers to a whole list of attractions. I wanted to keep the thing but I hoped the next people there would find it as useful as we did.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ale e Dan
Couples
Champaign, IL
Jul 16, 2010

Perfect place, nice pool, great location

We really enjoyed our stay: the hotel staff was very nice, the room big and clean, the pool great and necessary because of the extremely hot weather in Memphis! the hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from Maine Street and Beale Street. We really recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street with bars and restaurants

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Man
Single
Southeast Pa.
Feb 7, 2011

Great location and price

I went to the International Blues Competition in Memphis. Stayed at the EconoLodge Downtown. Hotel staff was friendly and quite helpful with any and all information requested. Easy and safe 5 block walk to Beale Street. Lots of police visible. My room was clean with T.V. and coffee maker. Would have liked a microwave and small refrigerator. Only complaint is thin walls and rude people slamming doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street,live music, great food

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ozark
Friends
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Great location.

Location within walking distance of shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
westchester NY.
Jul 18, 2011

Econolodge july 2011

For the price i payed ,the accommodation was OK , i was kind of shocked to see that , although the room was serviced everyday , the bed was not always made , and soap , and lotions were not replaced .There were no fans in the elevator, so the trip from ground floor to the 9th floor was hard to bear.The hotel is close enough to everything downtown, and within walking distance of the tram.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepar to experience intense heat while in the elevator.And request clean linen everyday.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Idol
Friends
Hornell, NY
Jan 25, 2010

International Blues Competition

We basically only slept there, with an ocassional mid-day rest. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Could tell it had recently been updated. The elevator was somewhat shakey. Overall a pretty good bang for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zkamp
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
May 24, 2012

Overnight Business Trip

Location was 4 easy blocks walking distance to bars and restaurants on Beale Street for less then half the price of other hotels in the area. Overall looks of building and rooms need to be badly updated with some TLC. Room sizes are good and if you are not spending alot of time in your room the the value is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk however in the evenings people milling about asking for a handout.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
international travler
Single
caribbean
Aug 14, 2013

"More needs to be done"

staff needs to be more friendly and welcoming. more needs to be done to improve the comfort and decor of the room. the location is ideal. more care needs to be taken with the bed linen and carpet. the ac worked extremely well. the breakfast was very disappointing - nothing to brag about. however, I would stay there again. overall, the hotel needs improving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is reasonably priced and is close attractions and transportation.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MICHELLE V.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

It was ok....

The hotel was really run down. It needs a lot of upgrades. It smelled kind of musty and the carpet in our room was damp, I would like to think it was because they just had it cleaned but from the shape of the hotel it may have been from a room flood. The only great thing about this hotel was the location. It's right downtown and walking distance from Beale St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top