Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
133 reviews
memphis in may

Always a great place and friendly staff. Will be back very shortly See full review

  • I halucin8
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great location!

Although the lobby/front desk air-conditioning was out, this was a great place to stay for the... See full review

  • Katy from OB
  • Aug 14, 2014
Memphis mainstay in prime location

This striking, silver hotel on North 3rd Street in downtown Memphis entices business and pleasure travelers alike to get out and explore the birthplace of rock 'n' roll. The location is second to none, yet the hotel provides every amenity for guests who prefer to put their feet up and unwind. Amenities include an upscale bar and signature restaurant, pet-friendly rooms, a seasonal outdoor pool, and meeting space.

Highlights
  • Outstanding location near many Memphis attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in rooms
  • Pet-friendly rooms ($20 per pet, maximum of two dogs)
  • Restaurant and bar
Rooms

All 116 rooms are efficient and neat, with a choice of bed sizes with pillow-top mattresses. In-room amenities include a television with cable, coffee maker, desk, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms also offer a microwave oven and refrigerator. Laundry services are available.

Features

Econo Lodge Downtown's fitness room and seasonal outdoor pool re-energize weary travelers after a day of sightseeing.

 

Memphis Sounds, an upscale bar, offers a lively cocktail hour, and the hotel's signature restaurant, A & R Barbecue, serves a wide-ranging menu (be sure to check out the sun deck).

 

Guests enjoy many of the city's top attractions, just a few blocks away, including the Orpheum Theatre, Cannon Center for the Performing Arts, Mud Island, FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and the National Civil Rights Museum. Beale Street's entertainment district, a half mile from the hotel, tempts more adventurous guests with its wide variety clubs and restaurants, including Blues City Café, Silky O'Sullivan's, and Alfred's Bar & Grill.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Shuttle available to various businesses and attractions, including airport
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's home at Graceland (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Harrah's Tunica casino (28.3 mi/45.5 km)
Business
  • 100-square-foot meeting room accommodates up to 50
  • Copier and facsimile machine
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Hotel Map

35.1451 -90.0501
Nearby airports
Memphis Int'l Airport, (MEM), 7.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, 3rd St & Court

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I halucin8
illinois
Jun 2, 2014

memphis in may

Always a great place and friendly staff. Will be back very shortly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny g s on beale

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, Ms
Feb 16, 2010

Econolodge

Good place to stay & great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ale e Dan
Champaign, IL
Jul 16, 2010

Perfect place, nice pool, great location

We really enjoyed our stay: the hotel staff was very nice, the room big and clean, the pool great and necessary because of the extremely hot weather in Memphis! the hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from Maine Street and Beale Street. We really recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street with bars and restaurants

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Man
Southeast Pa.
Feb 7, 2011

Great location and price

I went to the International Blues Competition in Memphis. Stayed at the EconoLodge Downtown. Hotel staff was friendly and quite helpful with any and all information requested. Easy and safe 5 block walk to Beale Street. Lots of police visible. My room was clean with T.V. and coffee maker. Would have liked a microwave and small refrigerator. Only complaint is thin walls and rude people slamming doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street,live music, great food

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nightime
Clayton, IL
Jun 13, 2011

Great relaxing weekend

Our stay was nearly perfect. The location of the hotel is far enough from the action so we weren't disturbed by noise. It is also close enough that we walked almost everywhere we wanted to go. The pool was extremely refreshing during the heat wave, and I don't believe there is a more helpful staff anywhere. We will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The magazine "The Downtowner" that we found in our room gave addresses and phone numbers to a whole list of attractions. I wanted to keep the thing but I hoped the next people there would find it as useful as we did.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatrickDubai
Ireland
Aug 4, 2012

Great value , lovely hotel

Stayed for three days. Hotel has unbeatable value, staff are nice and helpful. Room is clean and calm. Very spacious and you can walk everywhere. There is a shuttle service located at back of hotel for airport. I loved Memphis ! Make sure you avail of free shuttle between Graceland, rock n soul and sun studios, on the hour every hour. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IanG13
UK
Aug 11, 2012

'Lost' cologne....

A really good stay, in a good hotel in a really excellent location (Nice pool n Breakfast too!) spoilled by a 'missing' bottle of Aramis Cologne.... It was in the room when we left to explore town, and NOT there when we got back. Otherwise a really excellent stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be careful of your posessions...

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IanG13
UK
Sep 12, 2012

Take care of your belongings!

A great value rate, coupled with a very good pool and excellent location - less than a ten minute walk to Beale Street, makes this a very good find indeed. The rooms are clean and (fairly) new. However Beware! I left an almost new bottle of cologne in the room next to the sink. On our return it was 'missing'. The hotel claimed no knowledge, but the room was locked, as was the outer flooor door. So far the hotel have promised to respond - and that's about all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street a short walk away... make sure you get to the Lorraine Motel too - but keep away from the balcony!

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
wexford, ireland
Sep 24, 2012

Elvis week 2012

I would have no problem staying here again. Absolutely perfect for location. The staff were very friendly also giving directions when required. An overall 10/10 experience. Thanks Memphis!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale street + the riverfront

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C....S
Chicago
Dec 20, 2012

Great choice

No problems, this hotel's location is perfect for stumbling back from Beale street. Clean, comfortable, decent continental breakfast included. You definitely won't do any better for your money if you want to stay in central Memphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top