Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
128 reviews
memphis in may

Always a great place and friendly staff. Will be back very shortly See full review

  • I halucin8
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great location!

Although the lobby/front desk air-conditioning was out, this was a great place to stay for the... See full review

  • Katy from OB
  • Aug 14, 2014
Memphis mainstay in prime location

This striking, silver hotel on North 3rd Street in downtown Memphis entices business and pleasure travelers alike to get out and explore the birthplace of rock 'n' roll. The location is second to none, yet the hotel provides every amenity for guests who prefer to put their feet up and unwind. Amenities include an upscale bar and signature restaurant, pet-friendly rooms, a seasonal outdoor pool, and meeting space.

Highlights
  • Outstanding location near many Memphis attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in rooms
  • Pet-friendly rooms ($20 per pet, maximum of two dogs)
  • Restaurant and bar
Rooms

All 116 rooms are efficient and neat, with a choice of bed sizes with pillow-top mattresses. In-room amenities include a television with cable, coffee maker, desk, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms also offer a microwave oven and refrigerator. Laundry services are available.

Features

Econo Lodge Downtown's fitness room and seasonal outdoor pool re-energize weary travelers after a day of sightseeing.

 

Memphis Sounds, an upscale bar, offers a lively cocktail hour, and the hotel's signature restaurant, A & R Barbecue, serves a wide-ranging menu (be sure to check out the sun deck).

 

Guests enjoy many of the city's top attractions, just a few blocks away, including the Orpheum Theatre, Cannon Center for the Performing Arts, Mud Island, FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and the National Civil Rights Museum. Beale Street's entertainment district, a half mile from the hotel, tempts more adventurous guests with its wide variety clubs and restaurants, including Blues City Café, Silky O'Sullivan's, and Alfred's Bar & Grill.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Shuttle available to various businesses and attractions, including airport
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's home at Graceland (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Harrah's Tunica casino (28.3 mi/45.5 km)
Business
  • 100-square-foot meeting room accommodates up to 50
  • Copier and facsimile machine
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Hotel Map

35.1451 -90.0501
Nearby airports
Memphis Int'l Airport, (MEM), 7.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, 3rd St & Court

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I halucin8
illinois
Jun 2, 2014

memphis in may

Always a great place and friendly staff. Will be back very shortly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny g s on beale

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, Ms
Feb 16, 2010

Econolodge

Good place to stay & great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Havin'agoodtime
Michigan
Sep 30, 2011

Not bad at all!

Was a little nervous when booking this hotel because of the price, but was pleasently suprised when I got there. Parking was ample in the garage and there was always an attendent. Although it was an old hotel and shows some wear and tear, it really was a pleasant stay. Because of the value I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go where the locals go to eat! Great Vegan place (that also has non-vegan food) DeJa Vu! Even in memphis with all the best bbq in the world, my favorite meal was here! AMAZING!

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gov't Mule Fan
Selmer, TN
Jul 22, 2010

Nice Stay!!!!!

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Econo Lodge. It is in a great location, only a couple blocks from Beale. The room was very spacious and very clean. The staff was very accomodating and we would definitely stay there again! The only complaint I had was that when we arrived, we had to pay 10 dollars for parking. The hotel parking garage also offered public parking in it for the same price. I thought this should be complimentary to guests. Other than that, we had a great night in Memphis at Econo Lodge Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't drink too many Margaritas :)

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FBGordon
Destin, FL, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great location, friendly staff...

Stayed for one night in Memphis on our way to Chicago. Spent most of the evening out on the town, but was very pleased with our stay. The room was clean, the A/C worked and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking garage was also a pleasant surprise. A great value for a stay in Memphis!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for a legendary dive bar, you can't pass up Earnestine & Hazel's Bar & Juke Joint on South Main. Soul burgers, a great music selection on their jukebox and a TON of character, this bar is a must!

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonny lightrock
little rock
Jul 15, 2014

clean cheap downtown

why throw your money away on expensive hotels a couple of blocks away when you can just stay at this clean hotel and spend the extra loot on ribs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beale street is three blocks

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim153987460
Peoria, Illinois
Jun 24, 2014

An economical hotel

The Econolodge Memphis is what you would expect. While the hotel itself is a bit run down, the room was clean, cool, and practical. I don't stay at hotels for their amenities, rather the activities I am interested in enjoying in the surrounding area. The Econolodge's Downtown location is a mere 4 blocks or so from Beale Street and a ton of great restaurants. Of course this isn't a 5-star hotel; however, it is an extremely affordable place to stay for the traveler who prefers to spend their money doing much more interesting things than laying around in a room. I have stayed here on multiple occasions for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Approximately a 10 minute walk to Beale Street - great music, drinks, and atmosphere.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEN PRICE
HOUSTON MS
Jul 26, 2011

very nice place to stay

we went to BEALE ST. and had a very good time and all the staff at the econo lodge downtown was vey very nice and it seemed to me that thier main goal in life was to make us happy the room was very clean and neat and they even made a animal out of towels and put it on the bed so that we saw it when we entered the room .... if i were to say anything negative about the room it would be that the tv needed to be replaced in our room and the chair at the desk was pretty wobbly but thats all i can think of negative to say .... but the way all the staff was so helpfull and nice was outstanding to me ..cause i have stayed other motels and the ppl wasnt as nice and helpfull even the guy that stood out at the guard shack when we first arrived was so helpfull ... OVER ALL WE HAD A VERY VERY WONDERFUL AND GREAT TIME AT THE ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN AND ALSO AT BEALE ST. ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A MUST DO IS TO GO TO RUM BOOGIE CAFE AND LISTEN TO PAM AND TERRY SING --- OUTSTANDING GOOD TIME

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Man
Southeast Pa.
Feb 7, 2011

Great location and price

I went to the International Blues Competition in Memphis. Stayed at the EconoLodge Downtown. Hotel staff was friendly and quite helpful with any and all information requested. Easy and safe 5 block walk to Beale Street. Lots of police visible. My room was clean with T.V. and coffee maker. Would have liked a microwave and small refrigerator. Only complaint is thin walls and rude people slamming doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street,live music, great food

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MS
Aug 4, 2010

Unbeatable price for the location

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Econolodge so we could be within walking distance of Beale St. It was only a 5-10 minute walk. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It was a good place to stay and the pricing was very reasonable. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone looking the visit Beale St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top