Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

3 stars
1177 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
42 reviews
Overnight trip

Staff was super helpful and friendly. Would stay there again. Good location for exploring all of... See full review

  • Marcy MB
  • Jul 25, 2014
Good room.

Room was clean, staff was a little confused at my check in but they got it taken care of. See full review

  • Jeff11102939484932
  • Dec 1, 2014
Creature comforts, cool veneer highlight Madison Avenue inn

This modern, smoke-free property with the funky fa├žade belies its Best Western affiliation, but guests enjoy contemporary comfort and a solid value. Gen X Inn, situated in the city's medical district, offers easy access to the best attractions in historic Memphis. Amenities include a business center, exercise room, and free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Close to medical centers and major landmarks
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Children under 12 stay free with paying adult on existing bedding
Rooms

Each of the 32 stylish, air-conditioned guestrooms offers one king or two queen beds. Amenities include luxury linens, a 32-inch plasma television with HBO and premium sports and news channels, DVD player, refrigerator, designer toiletries, and free hard-wired and wireless Internet access.

Features

Gen X Inn guests work out for free in the inn's exercise room, with stair-stepper, exercise bike, and treadmill, and also have access to a neighborhood fitness facility.

 

This trendy, urban boutique hotel, located on the Madison Avenue trolley line, provides convenient access to Beale Street's entertainment district less than two miles away, and the Regional Medical Center at Memphis Medical Center. Other area medical-related institutions include Southern College of Optometry, University of Tennessee Medical School, Methodist University Hospital, and St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital.

 

Guests find dozens of top-flight attractions close, including Beale Street's simmering entertainment district, Gibson Guitar, Sun Studios, AutoZone Park, FedEx Forum, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Brooks Museum, Orpheum Theatre, Cook Convention Center, and the Memphis Zoo.

Dining

The inn serves guests a complimentary continental breakfast, featuring fresh-made waffles and fresh-brewed coffee. During the day guests drop into a variety of local restaurants, including Top's B-B-Q, Bruno's Italian, Greek fare at Petra, India Palace, Bhan Thai, Blue Monkey, the Butcher Shop Steakhouse, or Molly Gonzales La Casita.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Beale Street entertainment district (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Elvis Presley's home, Graceland (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theater (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Children's Museum Of Memphis (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden/Audubon Park (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with computer, printer, and copier (fees apply)
  • Free wireless Internet available in public areas

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1392 -90.0221
Area served
Jackson,, Nashville, Tunica,, Millington, Little Rock,
Nearby airports
(MEM), 10.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Dining

Huey's
2.00 mile(s) from Huey's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Zinnie's East
1.50 mile(s) from Zinnie's East, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch
India Palace
1.10 mile(s) from India Palace, Bar/Lounge, Indian, Open for: lunch, dinner
On The Border
6.70 mile(s) from On The Border, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner
Pei Wei
1.00 mile(s) from Pei Wei, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner
Petra
0.50 mile(s) from Petra, Full Service, Greek, Open for: breakfast
Butcher Shop Steakhouse
1.90 mile(s) from Butcher Shop Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner
Molly Gonzales La Casita
2.10 mile(s) from Molly Gonzales La Casita, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: breakfast
Blue Fin
2.20 mile(s) from Blue Fin, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: lunch, dinner
Blue Monkey
1.60 mile(s) from Blue Monkey, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wolf Bear
Business
chicago
Mar 28, 2014

Ants at the Picnic

While the staff person (1) was courteous they were of no use. The room was poorly cleaned and infested with ants. There were no maids on hand and the manager was off site. The manager was rude and dismissive. I spent the night cleaning and huddled on one side of the bed with my bags stowed on high ground. I most unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beach beth
Business
Omaha NE
Apr 28, 2014

hotel review

The staff really tried but could not get the tv to work. Also, there were no clocks in the room and the parking lot looked like gang territory. Definitely would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nickname23453245234
Business
little rock, ar
Dec 2, 2014

DIRTY ROOM

It first glance it looked nice, but my blanket had dried food stuck to it and cigarette burns. The front desk told me they shouldn't even have that blanket, but did not offer me any compensation. There was also a dirty tooth flosser on the sink, junk on the floor, and the bathroom was dirty too. When I asked for a clean blanket (that was all I asked for) I was told they were locked up for the night, and I could only have one off the "stained pile."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brasil
Mar 6, 2012

Excelent Staff

My experience was totally made better by the staff. The woman that received us was very helping. Her attention made the whole stay better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLLH
Business
Little Rock, AR, USA
Apr 23, 2012

What's in a reservation

We arrived for our stay at 6:00 local time and were promptly told that they have overbooked the hotel and that they wanted to move us to another (lesser valued) hotel down the road. We booked our stay two months in advanced and the payment had been taken at that time. After we decided to find a different hotel to go to, a room magically appeared for us. We did not appreciate reserving a room only to have it disappear and then reappear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pa Pa Pias on Union is a wonderful Italian restaurant on Union between Front and Main street. I recommend a reservation, but wonderful food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orangelamb
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
May 3, 2012

Two nights in Memphis

While this hotel isn't glamerous, it's quite comfortable and I found nothing lacking in the rooms. Clean sheets, a fridge, flat screen tv, and a computer desk. We stayed here to be close enough to Beale St that we wouldn't have to catch a cab or worry about having a designated driver to get us back. I'm not sure I'd stay here again for that reason as the trolly stops quite a few blocks to each side of the hotel, but not close enough to make me feel entirely safe walking the in-between distance. We had no issues though, so perhaps I was just being paranoid. Simple breakfast in the morning with pastries, waffles, fruit, and cereal. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, which I really enjoyed. Good bang for you buck here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tygerly23
Business
Memphis,TN
Jun 17, 2012

Relaxing

I enjoyed my stay. It was very comfortable. Had a great stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Sep 24, 2012

OK hotel, good service

Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly. We liked the location as it was close to Overton Park and downtown/Belae St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kristorian
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 23, 2012

Gen X Hotel

The Best Western hotel in Memphis is a decent hotel for a cheap price. It's not in the best neighborhood, but we never felt unsafe. It's a short walk to the trolley line, but people who plan on staying on Beale Street until the wee hours of the morning should be advised that the trolleys only run until 11 during the week and 1AM on the weekends. The hotel rooms were decent size, but the bathrooms were small. Breakfast is free, which is nice. It's a great hotel to crash for the night, but not exactly the kind of place where you want to hang around in your room all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Beale Street is great, but the Cooper-Young area is also cool and less touristy.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greggy47
Business
Clarksville, TN
Oct 8, 2012

Alittle Above Aerage

The location of this hotel is great, but our room lacked a microwave. The room was very clean. The big issue we had was the noise-there was alot of activity on our floor, especially the last night. Alot of people slamming doors and screaming. Not a bad stay for the price, but overall, the price shouold be just a little lower for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top