Rate based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

3 stars
1177 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
26 reviews
Weekend in Memphis

We were very impressed with room and the cleanliness! Had the best biscuits for breakfast ever!! We... See full review

  • Rockerchic44
  • May 1, 2013
Great stay

It was clean, and the price was very affordable. I would come and stay here again See full review

  • Sweat potato
  • Nov 15, 2012
Creature comforts, cool veneer highlight Madison Avenue inn

This modern, smoke-free property with the funky fa├žade belies its Best Western affiliation, but guests enjoy contemporary comfort and a solid value. Gen X Inn, situated in the city's medical district, offers easy access to the best attractions in historic Memphis. Amenities include a business center, exercise room, and free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Close to medical centers and major landmarks
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Children under 12 stay free with paying adult on existing bedding
Rooms

Each of the 32 stylish, air-conditioned guestrooms offers one king or two queen beds. Amenities include luxury linens, a 32-inch plasma television with HBO and premium sports and news channels, DVD player, refrigerator, designer toiletries, and free hard-wired and wireless Internet access.

Features

Gen X Inn guests work out for free in the inn's exercise room, with stair-stepper, exercise bike, and treadmill, and also have access to a neighborhood fitness facility.

 

This trendy, urban boutique hotel, located on the Madison Avenue trolley line, provides convenient access to Beale Street's entertainment district less than two miles away, and the Regional Medical Center at Memphis Medical Center. Other area medical-related institutions include Southern College of Optometry, University of Tennessee Medical School, Methodist University Hospital, and St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital.

 

Guests find dozens of top-flight attractions close, including Beale Street's simmering entertainment district, Gibson Guitar, Sun Studios, AutoZone Park, FedEx Forum, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Brooks Museum, Orpheum Theatre, Cook Convention Center, and the Memphis Zoo.

Dining

The inn serves guests a complimentary continental breakfast, featuring fresh-made waffles and fresh-brewed coffee. During the day guests drop into a variety of local restaurants, including Top's B-B-Q, Bruno's Italian, Greek fare at Petra, India Palace, Bhan Thai, Blue Monkey, the Butcher Shop Steakhouse, or Molly Gonzales La Casita.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Beale Street entertainment district (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Elvis Presley's home, Graceland (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theater (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Children's Museum Of Memphis (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden/Audubon Park (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with computer, printer, and copier (fees apply)
  • Free wireless Internet available in public areas

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1392 -90.0221
Area served
Millington, Tunica,, Nashville, Jackson,, Little Rock,
Nearby airports
(MEM), 10.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Dining

Blue Monkey
1.60 mile(s) from Blue Monkey, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Molly Gonzales La Casita
2.10 mile(s) from Molly Gonzales La Casita, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: breakfast
Cupboard Restaurant
0.50 mile(s) from Cupboard Restaurant, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Huey's
2.00 mile(s) from Huey's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Butcher Shop Steakhouse
1.90 mile(s) from Butcher Shop Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner
Pei Wei
1.00 mile(s) from Pei Wei, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner
India Palace
1.10 mile(s) from India Palace, Bar/Lounge, Indian, Open for: lunch, dinner
Golden India
1.80 mile(s) from Golden India, Full Service, Indian, Open for: lunch, dinner
Petra
0.50 mile(s) from Petra, Full Service, Greek, Open for: breakfast
Bhan Thai
1.50 mile(s) from Bhan Thai, Full Service, Thai, Open for: lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

1
Wolf Bear
Business
chicago
Mar 28, 2014

Ants at the Picnic

While the staff person (1) was courteous they were of no use. The room was poorly cleaned and infested with ants. There were no maids on hand and the manager was off site. The manager was rude and dismissive. I spent the night cleaning and huddled on one side of the bed with my bags stowed on high ground. I most unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
lele362
memphis tn
Jul 7, 2013

my special getaway

I was really happy to find a hotel so close to downtown for the price we paid for the hotel but was a little surprise at how small the room was...but lets get to it I didn't like the split bathroom with the sink in the room the tub and toilet separate the towels was old and dull with strings hanging off the edges and last off all the carpet had alot of stains it needed to be clean but over all I enjoyed my stay in memphis and even.with theae fews things that can be corrected I would stay there again.....the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

To go downtown on beale street on friday night....it was great

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
KLLH
Business
Little Rock, AR, USA
Apr 23, 2012

What's in a reservation

We arrived for our stay at 6:00 local time and were promptly told that they have overbooked the hotel and that they wanted to move us to another (lesser valued) hotel down the road. We booked our stay two months in advanced and the payment had been taken at that time. After we decided to find a different hotel to go to, a room magically appeared for us. We did not appreciate reserving a room only to have it disappear and then reappear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pa Pa Pias on Union is a wonderful Italian restaurant on Union between Front and Main street. I recommend a reservation, but wonderful food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
Greggy47
Business
Clarksville, TN
Oct 8, 2012

Alittle Above Aerage

The location of this hotel is great, but our room lacked a microwave. The room was very clean. The big issue we had was the noise-there was alot of activity on our floor, especially the last night. Alot of people slamming doors and screaming. Not a bad stay for the price, but overall, the price shouold be just a little lower for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Sep 24, 2012

OK hotel, good service

Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly. We liked the location as it was close to Overton Park and downtown/Belae St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
chitkat
St. Louis
Jan 27, 2013

Memphis Getaway

Hotel was clean, staff was very helpful. Breakfast in the morning was a small but, nice assortment with hot and cold items. Staff needs to check or refill the coffee in the caraffe with more frequency, mine was totally cold the first morning. Easy access to the trolley. We road it during the day and took taxis at night due to the general area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
penno
Business
new york
Aug 21, 2013

reasonable location

friendly staff, good value in the medical district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
Kristorian
Houston, TX
Sep 23, 2012

Gen X Hotel

The Best Western hotel in Memphis is a decent hotel for a cheap price. It's not in the best neighborhood, but we never felt unsafe. It's a short walk to the trolley line, but people who plan on staying on Beale Street until the wee hours of the morning should be advised that the trolleys only run until 11 during the week and 1AM on the weekends. The hotel rooms were decent size, but the bathrooms were small. Breakfast is free, which is nice. It's a great hotel to crash for the night, but not exactly the kind of place where you want to hang around in your room all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Beale Street is great, but the Cooper-Young area is also cool and less touristy.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
Jimmy Dude
Grand Rapids,MI
May 2, 2013

hidden gem

Hotel was small and very comfortable. Was right on the trolley line and close to some interesting food and live music at the buccaneer lounge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Brasil
Mar 6, 2012

Excelent Staff

My experience was totally made better by the staff. The woman that received us was very helping. Her attention made the whole stay better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top