Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
View map of 1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
39 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6717 -78.9034
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
gainesville ga
Oct 30, 2009

not too bad

not a place for kids, but if your just looking for a cheap relaxing stay i would have to say, its not the worst place i've ever been in. it could definately use some updating, but you also get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany J.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Myrtle Beach Weekend

The hotel staff was not very friendly. I had an issue with my debit card being suspended because of using it crossing state lines. They thought it had been stolen and i had to wait until 8am Saturday morning to have it fixed. When I checked in friday night the woman at the counter said I owed an additional $22.50 and would not let me wait until morning to pay it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moolie
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Bas

Nothing like how pictures look. Could have been a whole lot better. Will not go bk ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grito
Business
South Carolina
Sep 13, 2014

Never again!! STAY AWAY!!!

I thought we were getting a good deal but like past reviews state you get what you pay for. I actually couldn't wait to get off of vacation because I hated this hotel so much. Everything from the walls the ceiling fan the refrigerator and the towels were dirty and stained. Thank god I brought extra towels they couldn't pay me to use their towels. The bed linens looked dirty as well and there was this horrible stench as soon as you step into the room and the chairs they had in the room were horribly stained as well. I don't think the room has been thouroughly cleaned in ages, at least that's how it looks. Like I said never again! I would rather pay an extra 10-20 bucks a night to avoid ever staying at a hotel like this that is run down. The owners/management should be ashamed of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh Birthday Boy
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 28, 2014

32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large kitchenette with a medium size refrigerator. I will definitely stay at the Oceanfront Viking Motel on future trips to Myrtle Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

BROADWAY AT THE BEACH!

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One day to make reservati
Business
Virginia
Jun 9, 2014

Viking

It wasn't bad. Rooms are big enough, everything worked. Not a bad place if you're on a budget, want to be on the beach and aren't picky. It would've been nice to have an earlier check in time but there are plenty of places to kill some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pop's Place bar

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stjfbb dad
Business
western ny
May 19, 2014

beach and baseball

overall location good but poor parking, staff not overly friendly or attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jim Bob from VA
Business
Wise, VA
Mar 31, 2014

Hidden charges

When I got to the hotel I was charged $28 more than what I had already paid and a $50 security deposit. When you sign the sheet for your security deposit it says you can get it back between 8-11am on the day of checkout.WRONG! I had to wait until 20 minutes after 10 for an "inspector" that never showed up and the girl at the counter wouldn't check the room herself. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The tv is spotty at best, there's no wifi, a side-view room actually means no view, and the bathroom and kitchen are very out-dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tone K.
Business
OHIO
Jul 23, 2013

Ok for the price.

We just got back from a 4 night stay in the Viking Motel on July 23rd in Myrtle Beach, SC.The motel room was suprisingly clean with two queen size beds and a dining table for 3 people. The bed was comfortable with no signs of bed buds or other critters in the room. The room did not have a microwave oven, hairdryer or iron which are a few amenities I was used too. The oven was very slow in heating up food but overall the room was nice and the AC was cold as ice. The room service was ok as well. Now the outside of the motel was real the issue. It's right on the beach front which is nice but, parking is very limited and additional parking is across the street from the motel. The outside looks like a run down building and the pool is very small. I guess because of the cheap price it was so popular which attracted all kinds of people. The people in the Best Western Hotel right next door called the Viking Motel the Ghetto. I couldn't agree with them more due to the appearance. For the money the room was nice but for nicer hotel I will pay extra next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super bee
Business
mo.
May 22, 2012

north carolina getaway

The hotel was very old. The stove was rusty and burners bent out of shape. Beds were old and bos springs had holes in material. Bathtub was cracked. The door looked like it had been broken into. Very bad place. I would never go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean was within walking distance.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VETTEDAD
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 7, 2011

"Stay Away"

This has to be the WORST Hotel that I have ever seen. The elevator didn't work, the room was FILTHY, even the walls were smeared with something that looked like feces. The floors were NASTY. I would definitely NOT recommend anyone to stay at this place EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO THE ORIGINAL BENJAMINS ON 17 BUSINESS, THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST TIME OF MY ENTIRE TRIP TO MYRTLE BEACH SC!

Back to menu Return to top