Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
View map of 1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
5 reviews
Good location

The Viking Motel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops and is also right... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 19, 2008
CHEAP

You get what you pay for.. You get a bed a/c tv. It by the ocean.. I wouldn't recommand it if you... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 30, 2007
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6717 -78.9034
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2.6

20% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
gainesville ga
Oct 30, 2009

not too bad

not a place for kids, but if your just looking for a cheap relaxing stay i would have to say, its not the worst place i've ever been in. it could definately use some updating, but you also get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tone K.
Family
OHIO
Jul 23, 2013

Ok for the price.

We just got back from a 4 night stay in the Viking Motel on July 23rd in Myrtle Beach, SC.The motel room was suprisingly clean with two queen size beds and a dining table for 3 people. The bed was comfortable with no signs of bed buds or other critters in the room. The room did not have a microwave oven, hairdryer or iron which are a few amenities I was used too. The oven was very slow in heating up food but overall the room was nice and the AC was cold as ice. The room service was ok as well. Now the outside of the motel was real the issue. It's right on the beach front which is nice but, parking is very limited and additional parking is across the street from the motel. The outside looks like a run down building and the pool is very small. I guess because of the cheap price it was so popular which attracted all kinds of people. The people in the Best Western Hotel right next door called the Viking Motel the Ghetto. I couldn't agree with them more due to the appearance. For the money the room was nice but for nicer hotel I will pay extra next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Beckley, WV
Mar 17, 2010

A bunch of thieves

These people are thieves.. total thieves.. stay miles away from this one.. if you see viking just turn back and leave... same for the Polynesian hotel... unfriendly and rude staff.. dirty room, dirty restroom, there were some bugs in my room i think.. it was horrible... its not even worth 39 buck.. trust me pay 10$ more and u can stay in super 8 or days inn or something... if i was the manager id price it 10$ per night.... or less... worst vacation of my life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

just don't stay here

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnSeeing theUSA
Family
Erie, Pennsylvania
Aug 20, 2009

Oceanfront Viking Motel

First you must know that when I reserved the room on the phone I specificly noted that I would not arrive until after 11pm on 8/18/09. When we arrived at 11:15pm to check into the motel the lobby was closed and dark I went into the building to see if there was anyone to check us in. No one was around and lobby was locked It is difficult to rate a motel when the lobby is closed and no one is there to honor your reservation.So we ended up paying for a room we did not get. They had my cell number and could and should have called to see when our estimated arrival time would be and informing us where to go if the check in office and lobby were closed. What kind of motel closes it lobby/check in at night???????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Baltimore, MD
Apr 19, 2008

Good location

The Viking Motel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops and is also right on the beach. Housekeeping was pleasant and my room was always clean and smelling fresh each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want a quick bite like a hot dog or ice cream, the Fat Man's Dream is just a block down the street. This place has picnic tables outdoors where you can enjoy the fresh air and a hotdog served on gold platter by two pleasant seniors.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Newark, NJ
Dec 30, 2007

CHEAP

You get what you pay for.. You get a bed a/c tv. It by the ocean.. I wouldn't recommand it if you had kids.. Washer/dryer older I am.. RUST DIRT.. The hall ways stink of smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

1 - 2 miles away dennys. No close dining around.. WITHOUT a car it hopeless. Taxis over price they take you around town.. 1 mile from airport cost 15$.

Back to menu Return to top