Ocean Plaza

2 stars
View map of 1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
10 reviews
Great for the price

We absolutly loved it! It was wonderful We plan on going back next year. The price was great the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 4, 2009
Great room for a great price

The location was great and the price was also great. The room was clean, the staff was very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 4, 2009
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Hotel Map

33.6788 -78.8953
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.83, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.8

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
atlanta ga
May 4, 2009

Great for the price

We absolutly loved it! It was wonderful We plan on going back next year. The price was great the room had a full kitchen with everything you needed to cook and save more money. Don't forget (dishwashing liquid). We were right on the beach and very close to the amusment park and water park. Hint Shopping on the street behind the strip has all the same thing yet is way cheaper. Also we found the room larger than it looked in the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping on the street behind the strip has all the same thing yet is way cheaper. There is also a short frive away a large dicount shopping center. Tanner Outlet.

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Myrtle Beach
May 4, 2009

Great room for a great price

The location was great and the price was also great. The room was clean, the staff was very helpful. The pool was great. I would definetly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Grandmother
Family
Chattanooga, TN
May 21, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

My stay at Ocean Plaza was enjoyable. The room was clean and neat, I paid a few dollars extra for a balcony on the ocean and it was worth it. The beds were very comfortable, no sagging, etc. I've stayed in five star hotels that did not have beds that were as comfortable as these. Ocean Plaza is an older hotel and in spite of that it was clean and comfortable. I know I've mentioned clean twice but that is very important to me. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there was always someone in the office if I had a question. It could use a few updates but then the price would probably increase. We had a great trip and enjoyed our stay at Ocean Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ocean plaza
Couples
charleston,sc
May 10, 2009

it was okay

hotel was pretty much what we expected-- we had requested non-smoking room--typical beach motel--we should have brought the febreeze with us--the cigarette smoke made my eyes water--otherwise pretty clean--bring everything that you want--appliances are there but not amneties

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sea captain's on north ocean blvd is very nice.bring anything that you would bring camping--nice room no ameneties

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mandycandymonkey
Friends
wilmington,nc
Apr 15, 2013

not great but you get what you pay for

We paid $50 for the night and I would say that is about what is was worth. Looking for a cheap place to lay my head and that is what we got. Rooms okay, pool did look kinda sketchy. All and all you pay for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terina H.
Couples
N/A
Sep 20, 2015

Get what you pay for

Room smelled like someone smoked a carton of Camels before we arrived. The elevator smelled worse (urine) and they put us on the 7th floor which would have been wonderful had the elevator went all the way to the top. It went no further than 6th floor. Staff very aloof and wouldn't even smile back at you when you tried to be pleasant to them( night and day staff at front desk) I did not complain to them but I will not be going back. Do yourself a favor and pay a few more dollars if you are visiting Myrtle Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
torg
Family
albemarle, nc
Apr 17, 2012

terrible letdown

this was, by far, the worst hotel i have ever booked we could not stay there for 5 minutes before i decided to leave and get another place to stay i don't k now why you would recommend such a dump for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
greensboro nc
May 10, 2010

ocean plaza

thankfully we did not stay in the motel very much, we had fun on the beach, at the aquarium, and shopping. the front desk woman was very rude and unhelpful, the rooms were dirty,and the place needs some renovations it looks like the place is falling apart. when we got there the fire alarm went off for 30 minutes for no reason. i will never stay at this place again it was one of the worst motel experiences ive ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Athens, WV
Jun 28, 2009

Don't Do It

While the location of this motel was nice, the rest of it was terrible. The building was run down, it was dirty (our room wasn't even swept when we arrived). The two hot tubs only had room for two people at a time. While we were there the elevator broke down and we were on an upper floor. The light in our bathroom went out and stayed that way for several days. The bathtub didn't drain very well, which could have been from sand, but drano works wonders. I would not recommend this place to anyone!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Friends
Greensboro NC
Apr 10, 2011

ocean plaza

I took one look at the room and checked out It was small poorly furnished and not at all what I wanted. I am still in the process of trying to get a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top