Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
84 reviews
nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a... See full review

  • wfhrace
  • Dec 19, 2013
sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st... See full review

  • sheray3
  • Aug 9, 2011
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy loads of freebies including happy hour snacks, high-speed wireless Internet, and convenient local and airport shuttle service. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center, sauna, sundeck and seasonal outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle totes guests to the airport, Historic Vista District and Five Points District
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Free happy hour snacks (Monday to Thursday)
  • Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, sundeck, sauna
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms and suites are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Clarion Hotel Downtown guests have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center and outdoor swimming pool.

 

While attractions like USC, shops, cafes and museums are within walking distance, guests who want to take it easy can board the free area shuttle. Getting to and from Columbia Metropolitan Airport is a cinch with the free airport shuttle. Clarion Hotel Downtown offers complimentary parking.

Dining

Carolina's Restaurant at the Clarion Hotel Downtown crafts Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch and Sunday brunch buffets are especially popular where guests enjoy omelets, waffles, salads, seafood and desserts. Room service is available.

 

Freshly baked cookies await travelers upon check-in. Carolina's Lounge serves free happy hour snacks from Monday to Thursday, and patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LampCord
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 21, 2012

Dark & Dreary

On the upside, the staff was attentive and friendly. And the price was inexpensive relative to other Clarion properties I have stayed in. If my wife had been with me, I doubt we would have stayed more than one night. My room was in the back side of the main hotel in the U-block of rooms behind a parking lot. While the room was spacious, room lighting was depressingly ineffective, and given the open walkways, window curtains had to be kept closed for privacy. A small writing table served as a desk for my small laptop. The wireless internet access was good. On the down-side, the couch on the west wall had no side-tables or lamps. So i moved the coffee table to three feet in front of the old fashioned cathode-ray TV which was was tucked into a massive cabinet placed on the north wall, sat in one of the chairs to watch TV because it was awkward to watch TV from the couch...and it was impossible to watch TV from the bed. The small remote was functional but the Closed Caption option wasn't functional which may be a deal breaker for those who take advantage of the captioning. A Channel guide would have been nice. In-wall Under window by the TV an in-wall window Heat/AC unit was incredibly noisy on the lowest cool setting..for which captioning would have been helpful. Both straight-back chairs were stained. I am sure this was a much nicer property twenty years ago. In 2012, it is clearly dated and lacking. If you are considering this hotel I suggest you Inspect your room before checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Oct 11, 2010

It was ok

The room served it's purpose, price was ok, and the staff was very nice. If you are just passing through it is fine - but don't put it on any "luxury" lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The C's
Denver, CO
May 20, 2011

Nathan's Army Basic Training

Missed not having free contenital breakfast and free drink hour. I though I read it in the hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte,NC
Apr 5, 2010

Mr

The staff was wonderful but the hotel was very old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryville, TN
Nov 2, 2008

NICE MOTEL- LOUSY FANS!!!

the hotel is nioce and has a great breakfast buffet, but the hotel is nice ,but loud on the street side!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee Thymes Two
Business
Bluffton, South Carolina
Jun 6, 2013

Business Trip

Overall the accommodations were average. I was disappointed that the room was on the outside perimeter. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been accommodated within the main hotel. The rooms were tired and depressing, dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ruth Chris was very close by!

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 29, 2010

Clarion Downtown

Although the Hotel was clean, it wasn't at the usual high standards of the Clarion family- however the Hotel staff made our stay extremely comfortable and was very accomodating- they bent over backwards to help us with any and all our needs. They were friendly,polite and helpful. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

They serve a late night brunch from 10 pm to 2 am, that great food and great service and great variety. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CycloneDrew
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 24, 2013

Just OK

The main hotel building is nice but unfortunately my room was in the separate "motel" building which wasn't as nice. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled within the past 5-10 year and was clean but the rest of the room needed some updating. There may also be a bug problem as I found a couple of dead cockroaches in my room the last morning I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constant Business Traveler
Huntsville, Alabama
May 5, 2011

Average

Room fairly clean, front desk clerk helpful and polite. Room had a dying roach on the carpet near the desk - I put a garbage can over it. This location near the State House and The University of South Carolina will always draw guests. This would be the main positive of the facility. Exterior corridors are never safe. Consider this before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants, bars, entertainment venues and university buildings are nearby. However, under no circumstances would I feel safe walking after dark in this area of Columbia. Plan for driving, a taxi, or for being robbed if you walk.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constant Business Traveler
Huntsville, Alabama
May 5, 2011

Average

Room fairly clean, front desk clerk helpful and polite. Room had a dying roach on the carpet near the desk - I put a garbage can over it. This location near the State House and The University of South Carolina will always draw guests. This would be the main positive of the facility. Exterior corridors are never safe. Consider this before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants, bars, entertainment venues and university buildings are nearby. However, under no circumstances would I feel safe walking after dark in this area of Columbia. Plan for driving, a taxi, or for being robbed if you walk.

Back to menu Return to top