Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
54 reviews
nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a... See full review

  • wfhrace
  • Dec 19, 2013
sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st... See full review

  • sheray3
  • Aug 9, 2011
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy loads of freebies including happy hour snacks, high-speed wireless Internet, and convenient local and airport shuttle service. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center, sauna, sundeck and seasonal outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle totes guests to the airport, Historic Vista District and Five Points District
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Free happy hour snacks (Monday to Thursday)
  • Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, sundeck, sauna
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms and suites are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Clarion Hotel Downtown guests have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center and outdoor swimming pool.

 

While attractions like USC, shops, cafes and museums are within walking distance, guests who want to take it easy can board the free area shuttle. Getting to and from Columbia Metropolitan Airport is a cinch with the free airport shuttle. Clarion Hotel Downtown offers complimentary parking.

Dining

Carolina's Restaurant at the Clarion Hotel Downtown crafts Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch and Sunday brunch buffets are especially popular where guests enjoy omelets, waffles, salads, seafood and desserts. Room service is available.

 

Freshly baked cookies await travelers upon check-in. Carolina's Lounge serves free happy hour snacks from Monday to Thursday, and patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee Thymes Two
Business
Bluffton, South Carolina
Jun 6, 2013

Business Trip

Overall the accommodations were average. I was disappointed that the room was on the outside perimeter. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been accommodated within the main hotel. The rooms were tired and depressing, dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ruth Chris was very close by!

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CycloneDrew
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 24, 2013

Just OK

The main hotel building is nice but unfortunately my room was in the separate "motel" building which wasn't as nice. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled within the past 5-10 year and was clean but the rest of the room needed some updating. There may also be a bug problem as I found a couple of dead cockroaches in my room the last morning I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy4
Charlotte
Sep 20, 2013

Good value for the price.

The location was ideal as it was close to USC. The hotel was nice enough, but the carpets looked tired and stained. A good value for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant selection in the Vista area, just at the other end of the street.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constant Business Traveler
Huntsville, Alabama
May 5, 2011

Average

Room fairly clean, front desk clerk helpful and polite. Room had a dying roach on the carpet near the desk - I put a garbage can over it. This location near the State House and The University of South Carolina will always draw guests. This would be the main positive of the facility. Exterior corridors are never safe. Consider this before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants, bars, entertainment venues and university buildings are nearby. However, under no circumstances would I feel safe walking after dark in this area of Columbia. Plan for driving, a taxi, or for being robbed if you walk.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma
Apr 13, 2011

mixed experience

On the whole, the place is OK. I had a nice suite: comfy bed, large bathroom, etc. My problem was with the service. I was attending a wedding and gift bags were brought to the hotel to be left in the guests rooms. The bag was there in a friend's room, but my bag was not. No one seemed to know what happened to it or to make any apology. Clearly someone stole the gift bag (large fancy shopping bag with wine, nuts, cheese, etc.)and it was not going to be found. They said that they would look, however, yet never got back to me, never offered to replace the items, apologize to the friend's who had left it or any number of things that a service business could do to make-up for this kind of thing. It is a shame because otherwise I would recommend this hotel based on the room, breakfast, and great van/shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shelbyandfords
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 18, 2013

Good Value & Location

Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and pesonable. Wirelss is pretty fast and reliable throughout the hotel. Room service is just passable, the breakfast buffet is just OK, and the eggs are powdered! Rooms need more elctrical outlets, there is maybe 2 in the room, no accomidation for a phone and computer charger, without unpluggng a light. Lights are a bit dim in the rooms. Overall a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunters & Gatherers. Great Micorbrewery and food.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndreaB
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 24, 2011

Southern Comfort

The location and design of the hotel was magnificant and fit very well in the culture of the community. It's not too far from bars, restaurants and sites of interest. I wish I had more time to visit and explore the features of the hotel (which were sufficient) and the downtown area. There was a small issue with a bug but I believe it's synonymous with the South. However, rooms and hotel (inside/out) were clean. Great mix of young and old, business and pleasure visitors in the area which made dining/entertaining fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wear flat shoes--there is plenty of enjoyable walking.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Teaneck, NJ
Apr 22, 2009

Just Above Average for a Little Bit of E

Trip was to take son to college orientation. We were unable to find a place to eat near the hotel. A little above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Preston5280
Business
Colorado
Jul 27, 2012

Nothing Special

I've stayed at worse places, and I've stayed at better. If you're looking for a basic roof over your head while you're in town, this place has you covered, so to speak. If you're looking for a resort style hotel with great amenities and you don't plan on leaving the hotel grounds often, it's probably not your best choice. Overall, the price is more expensive than it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The C's
Denver, CO
May 20, 2011

Nathan's Army Basic Training

Missed not having free contenital breakfast and free drink hour. I though I read it in the hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top