Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dk
Business
Augusta, GA
Nov 3, 2010

average

The place looked dingy from the outside, it could use a little improvement (i.e. cleaning, new paint job) and bathroom definitely needs some work done...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Jillian's is about 2-3 miles away.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 13, 2011

mixed experience

On the whole, the place is OK. I had a nice suite: comfy bed, large bathroom, etc. My problem was with the service. I was attending a wedding and gift bags were brought to the hotel to be left in the guests rooms. The bag was there in a friend's room, but my bag was not. No one seemed to know what happened to it or to make any apology. Clearly someone stole the gift bag (large fancy shopping bag with wine, nuts, cheese, etc.)and it was not going to be found. They said that they would look, however, yet never got back to me, never offered to replace the items, apologize to the friend's who had left it or any number of things that a service business could do to make-up for this kind of thing. It is a shame because otherwise I would recommend this hotel based on the room, breakfast, and great van/shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mdjef
Business
India
Oct 19, 2011

Demand for better rooms

1) Allocated outside rooms near parking, though I do not know their basis of descrimination even though the rooms were available inside the hotel. 2) Charged 25$ higher even though i have booked a week before. My colleague was charged 25$ LESS for on the spot check-in In a nut shell charged higher and provided outside rooms. Just thinking, this treatment because i booked through orbitz ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eodus
Business
Indiana
Nov 20, 2011

Cozy and ...

Well.. This hotel was cozy and convenient. It was good except the internet speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Preston5280
Business
Colorado
Jul 27, 2012

Nothing Special

I've stayed at worse places, and I've stayed at better. If you're looking for a basic roof over your head while you're in town, this place has you covered, so to speak. If you're looking for a resort style hotel with great amenities and you don't plan on leaving the hotel grounds often, it's probably not your best choice. Overall, the price is more expensive than it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shelbyandfords
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 18, 2013

Good Value & Location

Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and pesonable. Wirelss is pretty fast and reliable throughout the hotel. Room service is just passable, the breakfast buffet is just OK, and the eggs are powdered! Rooms need more elctrical outlets, there is maybe 2 in the room, no accomidation for a phone and computer charger, without unpluggng a light. Lights are a bit dim in the rooms. Overall a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunters & Gatherers. Great Micorbrewery and food.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CycloneDrew
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 24, 2013

Just OK

The main hotel building is nice but unfortunately my room was in the separate "motel" building which wasn't as nice. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled within the past 5-10 year and was clean but the rest of the room needed some updating. There may also be a bug problem as I found a couple of dead cockroaches in my room the last morning I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee Thymes Two
Business
Bluffton, South Carolina
Jun 6, 2013

Business Trip

Overall the accommodations were average. I was disappointed that the room was on the outside perimeter. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been accommodated within the main hotel. The rooms were tired and depressing, dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ruth Chris was very close by!

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy4
Business
Charlotte
Sep 20, 2013

Good value for the price.

The location was ideal as it was close to USC. The hotel was nice enough, but the carpets looked tired and stained. A good value for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant selection in the Vista area, just at the other end of the street.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AppalachianWoman
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2013

Maybe older facility but rooms are large

I stayed in a garden room. The drapes and carpeting were tired but it was a huge room and a huge bathroom. The one really aggravating thing was that the list of TV channels in the room were totally different than what was actually on the TV - so you had to hunt for your shows. The location is excellent if you have business on the USC campus (which I did and which is why I was staying there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top