Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
56 reviews
Good overall

Staff are friendly. Ample parking spaces which is hard to find in Columbia. See full review

  • KD6658
  • Nov 16, 2014
All good

The stay was pleasant and the rooms were very clean. See full review

  • Botime
  • Oct 13, 2014
The Clarion Hotel Downtown is conveniently located one block from the University of South Carolina and minutes from the Colonial Center, the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center, Williams-Brice Stadium and the South Carolina State House. Be sure to visit the hotel's restaurant, Carolina's, for delicious southern buffets, homemade soups and a fully stocked salad bar. The on-site lounge is a popular destination for evening cocktails and conversation; enjoy free hors d'oeuvres with a favorite beverage M-Th. This full-service hotel offers free wireless high-speed Internet access, free weekday newspaper, free parking, exercise room, sauna, sundeck and seasonal outdoor pool. Our property is starting renovations and the pool will be closed for 2014 season.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 56
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
madelk
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Aug 3, 2014

Going thru changes

I have stayed here twice before and have has good stays both times,but this time things have changed. The desk help was nice but my room either was barely cleaned or not cleaned until talking to the staff. The restaurant is closed for remodeling, thats understandable but the bar is still open. The bartender opened late both nights I tried to go and was more interested in her Iphone than serving the guests. I hope after all the changes at the hotel it gets back to its former good choice in Colunbia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AppalachianWoman
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2013

Maybe older facility but rooms are large

I stayed in a garden room. The drapes and carpeting were tired but it was a huge room and a huge bathroom. The one really aggravating thing was that the list of TV channels in the room were totally different than what was actually on the TV - so you had to hunt for your shows. The location is excellent if you have business on the USC campus (which I did and which is why I was staying there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee Thymes Two
Business
Bluffton, South Carolina
Jun 6, 2013

Business Trip

Overall the accommodations were average. I was disappointed that the room was on the outside perimeter. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been accommodated within the main hotel. The rooms were tired and depressing, dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ruth Chris was very close by!

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CycloneDrew
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 24, 2013

Just OK

The main hotel building is nice but unfortunately my room was in the separate "motel" building which wasn't as nice. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled within the past 5-10 year and was clean but the rest of the room needed some updating. There may also be a bug problem as I found a couple of dead cockroaches in my room the last morning I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shelbyandfords
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 18, 2013

Good Value & Location

Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and pesonable. Wirelss is pretty fast and reliable throughout the hotel. Room service is just passable, the breakfast buffet is just OK, and the eggs are powdered! Rooms need more elctrical outlets, there is maybe 2 in the room, no accomidation for a phone and computer charger, without unpluggng a light. Lights are a bit dim in the rooms. Overall a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunters & Gatherers. Great Micorbrewery and food.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LampCord
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 21, 2012

Dark & Dreary

On the upside, the staff was attentive and friendly. And the price was inexpensive relative to other Clarion properties I have stayed in. If my wife had been with me, I doubt we would have stayed more than one night. My room was in the back side of the main hotel in the U-block of rooms behind a parking lot. While the room was spacious, room lighting was depressingly ineffective, and given the open walkways, window curtains had to be kept closed for privacy. A small writing table served as a desk for my small laptop. The wireless internet access was good. On the down-side, the couch on the west wall had no side-tables or lamps. So i moved the coffee table to three feet in front of the old fashioned cathode-ray TV which was was tucked into a massive cabinet placed on the north wall, sat in one of the chairs to watch TV because it was awkward to watch TV from the couch...and it was impossible to watch TV from the bed. The small remote was functional but the Closed Caption option wasn't functional which may be a deal breaker for those who take advantage of the captioning. A Channel guide would have been nice. In-wall Under window by the TV an in-wall window Heat/AC unit was incredibly noisy on the lowest cool setting..for which captioning would have been helpful. Both straight-back chairs were stained. I am sure this was a much nicer property twenty years ago. In 2012, it is clearly dated and lacking. If you are considering this hotel I suggest you Inspect your room before checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Preston5280
Business
Colorado
Jul 27, 2012

Nothing Special

I've stayed at worse places, and I've stayed at better. If you're looking for a basic roof over your head while you're in town, this place has you covered, so to speak. If you're looking for a resort style hotel with great amenities and you don't plan on leaving the hotel grounds often, it's probably not your best choice. Overall, the price is more expensive than it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eodus
Business
Indiana
Nov 20, 2011

Cozy and ...

Well.. This hotel was cozy and convenient. It was good except the internet speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mdjef
Business
India
Oct 19, 2011

Demand for better rooms

1) Allocated outside rooms near parking, though I do not know their basis of descrimination even though the rooms were available inside the hotel. 2) Charged 25$ higher even though i have booked a week before. My colleague was charged 25$ LESS for on the spot check-in In a nut shell charged higher and provided outside rooms. Just thinking, this treatment because i booked through orbitz ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sorin
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Oct 10, 2011

a good place

Room was very clean, staff was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top