Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever... See full review

  • EastCoastGirl
  • Jul 27, 2013
incredible 2-day trip

The location, staff, and amenities were fantastic! See full review

  • cool whip
  • Jul 14, 2013
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.779 -79.9257
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport
Area description
12 miles away from the charleston international airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jimser
Colorado
Dec 6, 2012

Much better places

I stayed here for at get together with my sister and her family. I am somewhat handicapped and when I got there a valet opened the cab door and put my luggage on the curb then vanished. Waited 20 minutes-- no one came. Had to carry my three bags upstairs myself. I get to my room and lay down and FIND A NEEDLE in the bed. When I go into the bathroom there is a pink mold all around the tub. I go to check out and go to another hotel and am told I will be charged for all three days NO REFUND. But they would take 10% off one room for one night (out of 2 rooms for 3 nights at $300 a night). Great location though and bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several great cafes close by. Charleston is a great city with lots of fun things to do.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
P.W.
Houston, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Not what I expected

My expectations were much higher. I did not feel it was worth the money. The valet parking would have been better if you didn't have to hunt someone down. The vending machine was out of order the entire weekend. They need to have the exterminator come. Not very pleasant when you get up to go to the restroom in the night and when you turn on the light and see a roach running across the floor. I was not at all impressed. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
P.W.
Houston, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Not what I expected

My expectations were much higher. I did not feel it was worth the money. The valet parking would have been better if you didn't have to hunt someone down. The vending machine was out of order the entire weekend. They need to have the exterminator come. Not very pleasant when you get up to go to the restroom in the night and when you turn on the light and see a roach running across the floor. I was not at all impressed. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Burger fans
Boston
Jul 8, 2013

View of Electric transformers

Horrible view of electric transformers for $400 a night. This was extremely disappointing experience. I may never book with you again because of it. The vaunted cookies and milk at night were no better than grocery store cookies. The free breakfast, while nicely served on the roofdeck, is quite limited and more on the continental side. Certainly not a hot breakfast. Staff was supercilious and condescending. not helpful when i inquired about rental car. Sent me off on my own and did not help. Room was entirely mediocre.We also stayed a night at the Vendue Inn, which by conrast was spectacular and the staff far nicer and friendlier. I would never return to this place. SO DISAPPOINTED with hotel and with you for this horrible horrible room at anoutrageous rate for a dumpy view and rather ordinary everything else, other than a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at SNOB--great food

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLaw
Long Island, NY
Dec 26, 2010

Poor Service

My husband and I were in Charleston to attend my nephew's wedding. Although the Harbour View Inn has nice rooms and amenities, I was extremely disappointed in their service to me as guest. At 8:00 am on Saturday morning, I requested that my dress for the wedding be sent to the cleaners to be pressed. I was told by the lady at the front desk that all the cleaners were too busy and my dress would not be back before 6:00 pm, which was too late since my nephew's wedding was at 5:30 pm. I walked over to the Charleston Place Hotel and asked the concierge for assistance. He picked up the phone called a cleaners and the dress was pressed by 2:30 pm. Next time we will stay at the Charleston Place Hotel. Accommodating a guest's simple request is most important. The wine and cheese in the afternoon does not suffice for poor service. Finally, when we left the hotel the bellhop forgot to give us one of our bags so we had to make a return trip to the hotel from the airport, which cost us a double fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amen Street Restaurant for lunch or dinner. Great Food at reasonable prices.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fred Retired
M P, NJ
May 25, 2014

Not quite up to our expectations.

For the cost, $500 a night, my wife and I would have expected more. The hotel has no pool, or restaurant and bar. The view we had was an electric generating plant for the hotel. The amenities included breakfast, a wine and cheese and a cookies and milk at 9pm. Although very nice, for $500 a night?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chloe's Dad
New Milford, NJ
Jul 13, 2013

Great location low on amenities

No pool, gym or hot tub...staff is great but, be careful to request harbourviewi or they stick you in the back over looking electric lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momsully
Wilmington, De
Apr 4, 2010

Great stay in Charleston

Great location the staff was professional and helpful with dinner reservations. You are right there by the pier and a park for a quick stroll any time during the day. Walk to anything you want, dinner, the open market, tours of any kind. The only drawback is they don't have a restaurant so there is no room service but the wine and cheese social is a nice touch,limited breakfast but we did not have any trouble finding a good breakfast elswhere. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel doesn't offer any in house dining, but there is plenty of options around.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLaw
Long Island, NY
Dec 26, 2010

Poor Service

My husband and I were in Charleston to attend my nephew's wedding. Although the Harbour View Inn has nice rooms and amenities, I was extremely disappointed in their service to me as guest. At 8:00 am on Saturday morning, I requested that my dress for the wedding be sent to the cleaners to be pressed. I was told by the lady at the front desk that all the cleaners were too busy and my dress would not be back before 6:00 pm, which was too late since my nephew's wedding was at 5:30 pm. I walked over to the Charleston Place Hotel and asked the concierge for assistance. He picked up the phone called a cleaners and the dress was pressed by 2:30 pm. Next time we will stay at the Charleston Place Hotel. Accommodating a guest's simple request is most important. The wine and cheese in the afternoon does not suffice for poor service. Finally, when we left the hotel the bellhop forgot to give us one of our bags so we had to make a return trip to the hotel from the airport, which cost us a double fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amen Street Restaurant for lunch or dinner. Great Food at reasonable prices.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momsully
Wilmington, De
Apr 4, 2010

Great stay in Charleston

Great location the staff was professional and helpful with dinner reservations. You are right there by the pier and a park for a quick stroll any time during the day. Walk to anything you want, dinner, the open market, tours of any kind. The only drawback is they don't have a restaurant so there is no room service but the wine and cheese social is a nice touch,limited breakfast but we did not have any trouble finding a good breakfast elswhere. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel doesn't offer any in house dining, but there is plenty of options around.

Back to menu Return to top