Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever... See full review

  • EastCoastGirl
  • Jul 27, 2013
incredible 2-day trip

The location, staff, and amenities were fantastic! See full review

  • cool whip
  • Jul 14, 2013
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.779 -79.9257
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport
Area description
12 miles away from the charleston international airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momsully
Wilmington, De
Apr 4, 2010

Great stay in Charleston

Great location the staff was professional and helpful with dinner reservations. You are right there by the pier and a park for a quick stroll any time during the day. Walk to anything you want, dinner, the open market, tours of any kind. The only drawback is they don't have a restaurant so there is no room service but the wine and cheese social is a nice touch,limited breakfast but we did not have any trouble finding a good breakfast elswhere. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel doesn't offer any in house dining, but there is plenty of options around.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Total luxury and warm hospitality

We stayed 4 nights at the Harbour View during our Charleston vacation. From the moment we arrived, the staff was super-accomodating, polite and professional. No need was left unmet. The warm cookies in the evening and the 24-hour availability of M&Ms in the lobby was great too! The beds here were incredibly comfortable--so much so that we didn't get as much sightseeing done as we'd have liked, because we slept in every morning! The in-room breakfast was also a nice treat. We walked everywhere due to the hotel's great location in the historic district. We took the car out only once in 4 days. I would definitely recommend the Harbour View to all my friends, and I know we'd stay there again during our next visit to Charleston. Thanks to the excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe--we ate a meal there every day during our stay. The food is wonderful.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Total luxury and warm hospitality

We stayed 4 nights at the Harbour View during our Charleston vacation. From the moment we arrived, the staff was super-accomodating, polite and professional. No need was left unmet. The warm cookies in the evening and the 24-hour availability of M&Ms in the lobby was great too! The beds here were incredibly comfortable--so much so that we didn't get as much sightseeing done as we'd have liked, because we slept in every morning! The in-room breakfast was also a nice treat. We walked everywhere due to the hotel's great location in the historic district. We took the car out only once in 4 days. I would definitely recommend the Harbour View to all my friends, and I know we'd stay there again during our next visit to Charleston. Thanks to the excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe--we ate a meal there every day during our stay. The food is wonderful.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlando, florida
Feb 2, 2010

Wonderful Venue

Excellent service and the room was beautiful. Close to everything and staff made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlando, florida
Feb 2, 2010

Wonderful Venue

Excellent service and the room was beautiful. Close to everything and staff made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Funkster
Winnipeg
Jan 27, 2010

Charleston

Great city with lots to do. Enjoyed the history and dining experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Funkster
Winnipeg
Jan 27, 2010

Charleston

Great city with lots to do. Enjoyed the history and dining experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheboro NC
Nov 21, 2009

Great Place

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheboro NC
Nov 21, 2009

Great Place

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Nov 6, 2009

Great location and service

My wife and I took a special anniversary trip and had a great time. The location is great, the room was lovely, and the hotel has some great extra touches - breakfast served in room on on their rooftop deck, wine and cheese receptions every afternoon, and milk and cookies in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of top flight restaurants nearby, but one you might overlook is Pearlz Oyster Bar, which has a bit of a divey look but has a great raw bar and seafood.

Back to menu Return to top