Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Planters Inn

4 stars
View map of 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
40 reviews
Great Boutique Hotel

I would love to stay here again. Andrea at the front desk is amazing. This hotel is wonderful. They... See full review

  • Sarah B.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Expensive, but worth it

The staff and service at this hotel was impeccable. We also loved the little parlor room with free... See full review

  • Hillary G.
  • Mar 16, 2015
Award-winning hotel in The good life and Southern elegance in Charleston historic district offers fine dining
The Planters Inn stands out in a city known for its charm and aesthetic delights. The 64-room hotel combines the charm of old world hospitality with 21stcentury amenities such as high-speed Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the property. The antique decor helps create an illusion of staying in one of Charleston's great mansions in the heart of downtown.

 

 

Highlights
  • Planters Inn is the recipient of numerous awards in the past decade from Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler, Forbes Traveler, Departures and others
  • Awarded 4 stars by Mobil, 4 diamonds by AAA
  • One of the city's top restaurants is on-site
Rooms
The original building, built in 1844 to house a dry goods store, has 43 rooms and suites, including two penthouse king suites with private rooftop terraces. All boast high ceilings, four-poster beds, oversized bathrooms, bathrobes and slippers, umbrellas, electronic safes and Wi-Fi. Some rooms at the Planters Inn have gas fireplaces. The 21 rooms in the hotel's 1997 addition are characterized by king-sized four poster beds, marble bathrooms with soaking tub and access to breezy loggias overlooking the Inn's courtyard, as well as 21st century communications.

 

Features
The Planters Inn has 24-hour concierge service. Complimentary orange spice tea is served daily in the parlor with fresh apples. Complimentary coffee is served in the parlor each morning and evening. Valet parking is available (fee apply).

 

Dining
Breakfast and dinner are served daily in the 100-seat Peninsula Grill, rated 4 stars by Mobil. It has been named "Best Restaurant" every year since 2001 by Charleston City Paper's Annual Best of Charleston Readers' Poll. The same team also operates two other restaurants nearby.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.9mi/1.4km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

Business
  • The Charleston Room accommodates up to 36 guests for meals or meetings
  • The Garden Room handles up to 200 people, and opens onto the courtyard
  • Both have wireless and wired Internet
  • A custom-made tent encloses the courtyard for as many as 75 guests
  • The business center is fully equipped

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Planters Inn Rooms

Double Queen
Our Double Queen offers two handmade queen beds and a spacious sitting area within the bedroom
Piazza King
Deluxe King-4-Poster King Bed-Opens to shared terrace-Bath with shower-jetted tub combination.
Grand King
Grand King-Spacious with 4-Poster King Bed and Small Sitting Area
Governor's Suite
Governors Suite offers a fine King Bed in bed -room. Living room with full convertible sofa.
Plantation King
Plantation King- Oversized one-room with King Bed and full living room ensemble in bedroom.
Double Queen Governor's Suite
Description not provided
King Governor's Suite
Description not provided
Premier Plantation King
Description not provided
Penthouse King
Description not provided
Deluxe Double Queen
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Planters Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7812 -79.9314
Nearby airports
Charleston AFB/International Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.8 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.9 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.8 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.4 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Dining

Peninsula Grill
Type- Full Service Restaurant Cuisine- Regional Hours of operation -Breakfast 0700-1000 -Dinner 1730-2130 Dress Code- Business Casual Voted best restaurant in the city every year since 1999.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Planters Inn

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sumter, SC
Sep 6, 2009

Empty Expectations

We did not get to experience the hotel, as upon arrival we were told that they had experienced a "maintenance" problem with our room and had booked us at sister property close by at a comparable rate. As Orbitz got us a great rate, that meant a chain hotel room with little character and atmosphere, which is exactly why we booked the Planters Inn for a get-away weekend in the first place. It was quite apparent that we were bump as the lowest paying fare for the weekend, especially since we showed-up early in the check-in window. The staff was curt, matter of fact and less than appologetic. At a minimum suspect behavior and lacking integrity as a service related business. Although the accomodations appeared to be what they are advertised to be, a charming, historic and a uniquely Charleston Inn, I can not recommend this property nor will we look to go there in the future. Charm and atmosphere don't make-up for dishonesty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barefoot Transportation
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 27, 2010

Snobby... Lack of Service!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Upon arrival on Friday, I elected to have the hotel valet park my rental car for an extra $18 per day. Which I thought was a good deal considering the limited parking options in downtown Charleston. On Saturday evening when I had them bring my car up for a little outing, I was shocked to discover under the wiper blade not one but TWO parking tickets for $45 each. Both written on the car hours after turning over the car to the valet. Upon check out door man didn't even help load the car. Bottom line: Overpriced! Under Serviced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaRob design
Business
Maryland
Sep 12, 2012

Great location in the heart of Charleston

This inn is located right in the historic market area in walking distance to loads of things. Our room was gorgeous and all the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Peninsula Grill courtyard dining is superb and worth every penny!

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie doll
Business
Savannah GA
Dec 17, 2012

ANNIVERSARY GETAWAY

Disappointed with room size (small) and location (very noisy) - spoke to management and they told me that because I booked through a third party I was allocated 'run of the house' room...I have stayed here several times before making my reservations direct with hotel and received much better accommodations. If I am to receive this type of treatment from hotel, why would I book through a third party, as hotel will guarantee same rate? - Disappointing overall. Hotel has a great location, service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay street restaurants - great

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 25, 2013

Weekend getaway

The Planters Inn is delightful B&B located in the heart of downtown Charleston. The hotel is right across the street from the market and ideally situated to many of the cities best restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel is also one of my favorites especially if someone else is paying. We found the beds a little uncomfortable, but we are spoiled as we sleep on a memory foam mattress at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reichert
Business
Virginia
Mar 10, 2013

Nice place to stay for exploring the historic district and King Street.

Would have been perfect had the restaurant not been closed for breakfast due to remodeling. The second morning the room they were using was full and we were told there would be a 20 minute wait. I requested a lamp be put in the room by the chair for reading and was assured it would be there when we returned. It was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
married with grown kids
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Apr 20, 2013

beautiful inn in a great location

one of the nicest places we have stayed....everyone was very cheerful and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 2, 2010

Nice

Dat was ballin', yo! This place be off da heezy fo sheezy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sticky Fingers. Best ribs around.

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhaveed
Business
James Island, SC
Apr 16, 2010

The Planters Inn

My wife and I had dinner at Peninsula Grille and stayed at The Planter's Inn for our 9th anniversary. Our spacious room had a King size bed, complimentary h2o and biscotti, and a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence, SC
Jul 27, 2008

Good weekend getaway

my wife and I were able to get away for our anniversary weekend and the Planters Inn was an ideal spot. It was comfortable and right in the heart of town. Our only complaint was that there had been a wedding reception at the hotel in the courtyard, which is visible from most rooms. The clean up crew felt it needed to break down tables and tents EARLY the next morning making our peaceful sleep not so peaceful. In my opinion this could have been done much later in the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop close by

Back to menu Return to top