Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Planters Inn

4 stars
112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
37 reviews
Tybeelite Charleston

From the time that we arrived until the time we left, the staff was exceptional. Bellmen William... See full review

  • Tybeelite
  • Aug 4, 2014
Wonderful Inn

Our room was very large and the bed was very comfortable. We were in room 404 and had a nice view... See full review

  • foppy
  • Sep 29, 2013
Award-winning hotel in The good life and Southern elegance in Charleston historic district offers fine dining
The Planters Inn stands out in a city known for its charm and aesthetic delights. The 64-room hotel combines the charm of old world hospitality with 21stcentury amenities such as high-speed Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the property. The antique decor helps create an illusion of staying in one of Charleston's great mansions in the heart of downtown.

 

 

Highlights
  • Planters Inn is the recipient of numerous awards in the past decade from Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler, Forbes Traveler, Departures and others
  • Awarded 4 stars by Mobil, 4 diamonds by AAA
  • One of the city's top restaurants is on-site
Rooms
The original building, built in 1844 to house a dry goods store, has 43 rooms and suites, including two penthouse king suites with private rooftop terraces. All boast high ceilings, four-poster beds, oversized bathrooms, bathrobes and slippers, umbrellas, electronic safes and Wi-Fi. Some rooms at the Planters Inn have gas fireplaces. The 21 rooms in the hotel's 1997 addition are characterized by king-sized four poster beds, marble bathrooms with soaking tub and access to breezy loggias overlooking the Inn's courtyard, as well as 21st century communications.

 

Features
The Planters Inn has 24-hour concierge service. Complimentary orange spice tea is served daily in the parlor with fresh apples. Complimentary coffee is served in the parlor each morning and evening. Valet parking is available (fee apply).

 

Dining
Breakfast and dinner are served daily in the 100-seat Peninsula Grill, rated 4 stars by Mobil. It has been named "Best Restaurant" every year since 2001 by Charleston City Paper's Annual Best of Charleston Readers' Poll. The same team also operates two other restaurants nearby.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.9mi/1.4km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

Business
  • The Charleston Room accommodates up to 36 guests for meals or meetings
  • The Garden Room handles up to 200 people, and opens onto the courtyard
  • Both have wireless and wired Internet
  • A custom-made tent encloses the courtyard for as many as 75 guests
  • The business center is fully equipped

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Planters Inn Rooms

Junior Suite - 1 King Bed
Junior Suite/Plantation King is an oversized accommodation offering a full living room ensemble within the bedroom. A fine four poster king bed from Baker Furniture is featured in the bedroom, while the period furnishings and generous square footage lend to these rooms an extraordinarily comfortable atmosphere. The attention to detail and thoroughly residential feel of the room has placed our Plantation King easily among the most preferred rooms in the city.
Grand Guest Room
One king four-poster bed hand-carved from mahogany, with triple sheeting. 300-350 square feet. View of the historic district or garden courtyard. Sitting area. Reproduced period furnishings. Bathroom with Italian marble counters, telephone, scale, and bathrobes and slippers, and Dorothy Prentice toiletries. Complimentary wireless Internet access. TV with cable. CD clock radio. Nightly turn-down service.
Superior Guest Room
1 queen bed. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. Individually decorated. Television - Cable service. Cable/satellite TV. Television. Multi-line phone. Telephone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom telephone. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Slippers. Bathroom scale. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper (M-F). Turndown service. Refrigerator (on request). Air conditioning. Climate control. Non-smoking rooms only.
Superior Guest Room
2 queen beds. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. Individually decorated. Television - Cable service. Cable/satellite TV. Television. Multi-line phone. Telephone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom telephone. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Slippers. Bathroom scale. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper (M-F). Turndown service. Refrigerator (on request). Air conditioning. Climate control. Non-smoking rooms only.
Luxury Guest Room
One king four-poster bed hand-carved from mahogany, with triple sheeting. 375-500 square feet. View of the historic district or garden courtyard. Sitting area. Reproduced period furnishings. Bathroom with Italian marble counters, telephone, scale, bathrobes and slippers, and Dorothy Prentice toiletries. Complimentary wireless Internet access. TV with cable. CD clock radio. Nightly turn-down service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Planters Inn also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7812 -79.9314
Area served
Historic District, South Carolina,United States of America.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown historic Charleson on the corner of Market and Meeting Streets.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.8 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.9 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.8 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.4 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Garden Room -1475 sq. ft. 11' ceilings Seats 80 in rounds,120 Theater Style, 70 Classroom. Charleston Room- 437 sq.ft. 10' ceilings seats 32 in rounds, 50 Theater, 20 Classroom.

Dining

Penisula Grill
The Peninsula Grill at the Planters Inn captures the true essence of Charleston in both ambiance and cuisine. Enjoy four-star, four-diamond dining in the heart of the City Market. Acclaimed Executive Chef Robert Carter and staff combine a passion for the culinary arts with the freshest, finest ingredients available. From celebrated chef and unparalleled fare to each and every scrutinized detail of restaurant's decor, deliver the finest dining experience in Charleston. The Peninsula Grill offers both indoor and alfresco dining. Indoor diners will be delighted by Amelia Handegan's stylish and sophisticated design, dubbed a study in subtle luxe. There is a captivating vibrancy to the ambiance that seamlessly blends the rich elements of world-class fine dining and the laid back air that permeates the region. The bordering-on-rustic bar, with spacious booths, gives way to the understated opulence of the dining room, surrounded by cypress wainscoting.
Hank's Seafood
Hank's, overlooking the historic market, is located in a turn-of-the-century warehouse now designated as a national historic landmark. New York-based architectural firm Bentel & Bentel, famous for designing some of New York City's most popular restaurants, set the stage for local interior designer Amelia Handegan to create a convivial atmosphere. Authentic details abound with mahogany frames, hand-blown leaded glass windows, and custom-distressed stained pine. Antique tiling accents the pine plank floors and zinc and copper encase the exhibition raw bar, which serves as a focal point within the restaurant. The menu at Hank's offers Southern specialties such as Fried Seafood Platters, Low Country Bouillabaisse and She Crab Soup. Specialties include Oysters Casino, Shellfish Cocktail with Lobster, Charleston Oyster Stew, Hank's signature pan fried crab cakes, Roasted Grouper, Rare Seared Tuna, Shrimp and Grits and much more.
Mercato
MERCATO provides the colorful setting for Executive Chef Eddie Moran's intriguing blend of Italian regional culinary styles. Richly hued Venetian plaster walls frame the restaurant's two levels, and the banquets and chairs are covered with Italian leather in the same browns and Tuscan reds. A 1950's Italian chandelier hanging from the dramatically-domed second-floor ceiling illuminates a menu designed to appeal to those in the mood for specialties of the house including: ~ Potato Gnocchi with slow braised short rib, cipollini onions & oven dried sweet tomato - - Tagliatelle Bolognese with classic hearty veal meat sauce - - Pork Osso Bucco with Anson Mills creamy polenta, citrus gremolata & rosemary pork sauce - - Grilled Pizza with tasty toppings such as prosciutto and arugula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Planters Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sumter, SC
Sep 6, 2009

Empty Expectations

We did not get to experience the hotel, as upon arrival we were told that they had experienced a "maintenance" problem with our room and had booked us at sister property close by at a comparable rate. As Orbitz got us a great rate, that meant a chain hotel room with little character and atmosphere, which is exactly why we booked the Planters Inn for a get-away weekend in the first place. It was quite apparent that we were bump as the lowest paying fare for the weekend, especially since we showed-up early in the check-in window. The staff was curt, matter of fact and less than appologetic. At a minimum suspect behavior and lacking integrity as a service related business. Although the accomodations appeared to be what they are advertised to be, a charming, historic and a uniquely Charleston Inn, I can not recommend this property nor will we look to go there in the future. Charm and atmosphere don't make-up for dishonesty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barefoot Transportation
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 27, 2010

Snobby... Lack of Service!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Upon arrival on Friday, I elected to have the hotel valet park my rental car for an extra $18 per day. Which I thought was a good deal considering the limited parking options in downtown Charleston. On Saturday evening when I had them bring my car up for a little outing, I was shocked to discover under the wiper blade not one but TWO parking tickets for $45 each. Both written on the car hours after turning over the car to the valet. Upon check out door man didn't even help load the car. Bottom line: Overpriced! Under Serviced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florence, SC
Jul 27, 2008

Good weekend getaway

my wife and I were able to get away for our anniversary weekend and the Planters Inn was an ideal spot. It was comfortable and right in the heart of town. Our only complaint was that there had been a wedding reception at the hotel in the courtyard, which is visible from most rooms. The clean up crew felt it needed to break down tables and tents EARLY the next morning making our peaceful sleep not so peaceful. In my opinion this could have been done much later in the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop close by

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie doll
Savannah GA
Dec 17, 2012

ANNIVERSARY GETAWAY

Disappointed with room size (small) and location (very noisy) - spoke to management and they told me that because I booked through a third party I was allocated 'run of the house' room...I have stayed here several times before making my reservations direct with hotel and received much better accommodations. If I am to receive this type of treatment from hotel, why would I book through a third party, as hotel will guarantee same rate? - Disappointing overall. Hotel has a great location, service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay street restaurants - great

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaRob design
Maryland
Sep 12, 2012

Great location in the heart of Charleston

This inn is located right in the historic market area in walking distance to loads of things. Our room was gorgeous and all the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Peninsula Grill courtyard dining is superb and worth every penny!

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reichert
Virginia
Mar 10, 2013

Nice place to stay for exploring the historic district and King Street.

Would have been perfect had the restaurant not been closed for breakfast due to remodeling. The second morning the room they were using was full and we were told there would be a 20 minute wait. I requested a lamp be put in the room by the chair for reading and was assured it would be there when we returned. It was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 2, 2010

Nice

Dat was ballin', yo! This place be off da heezy fo sheezy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sticky Fingers. Best ribs around.

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhaveed
James Island, SC
Apr 16, 2010

The Planters Inn

My wife and I had dinner at Peninsula Grille and stayed at The Planter's Inn for our 9th anniversary. Our spacious room had a King size bed, complimentary h2o and biscotti, and a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ponte Vedra, FL
Oct 19, 2010

Great Experience!

Our stay at the Planter's Inn was terrific. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the accommodations were wonderful. The Inn has a combination of homey charm and elegance. In addition, it is in a convenient location to all local attractions. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hank's Seafood Restaurant just down the street from the Inn was terrific.

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
married with grown kids
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Apr 20, 2013

beautiful inn in a great location

one of the nicest places we have stayed....everyone was very cheerful and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top