Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

3 stars
1943 SAVANNAH HIGHWAY, CHARLESTON, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
36 reviews
Charleston & Area Plantation retreat

Had a great time visiting Charleston and some of the areas plantations. The Holiday Inn Express at... See full review

  • '71Rebel
  • Feb 10, 2014
Charleston bucket list!

My husband and I decided to visit Charleston and wanted to find a place close to the downtown area... See full review

  • Terry David
  • Apr 16, 2014
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7886 -80.0277
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 6.00, MI; Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport, (SAV), 100.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • American Military Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.5 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.5 mi
  • Theater99: 5.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.5 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.5 mi
  • Theater99: 5.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.7 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 5.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 5.7 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 5.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 5.8 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 5.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 5.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 5.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 5.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 6.4 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 7.2 mi
  • Middleton Place: 10 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 10.4 mi

Dining

Ruby Tuesdays
Menu featuring American food including ribs, burgers, and a full salad bar. Full bar available with televisions to watch the game. Ask about special's.
Bessinger's BBQ
Great "fallin' off the bones" Carolina BBQ. Eat in or Take out. Thursday through Sunday they do a Southern Buffett.
Gilligan's
Menu features fresh local seafood specializing in seafood platters, oysters and crab cakes. See Front Desk for coupons.
Al Di La
Al Di La is a neighborhood trattoria serving simple, authentic Northern Italian cuisine. Al Di La strives to create an elegant, seasonally inspired menu while usuing the freshest, LOCAL ingredients available. Rustic dining room, adjoining wine bar and ou
Charleston Crab House
Waterfront dining, indoor and outdoor. Menu items made wth the freshest ingredients avaialable, from greens to local seafood. Cocktail lounge available. Fun filled atmosphere great for families and groups. Happy Hour food and drink Monday through Friday.
Zen Asian Fusion
Modern and relaxing atmosphere serving fresh Sushi with amazing presentation. Japanese and Chinese Menu selections available.
The Glass Onion
Moderately priced lunch dinner menu that changes regularly. This midscale comfort food draws heavily from the rural South, New Orleans and the Lowcountry. We all grew up with food as a focal point in our lives and want to remind customers of the simple j
The Early Bird Diner
As seen on the Food Network's Diners, DriveIns and Dives, Guy Fieri visited this mom and pop place doing southern cooking right. Locals can't get enough of the fried pork chops with sweet pepper jelly and the world famous Chicken and Waffles. Vegetarian f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Overall score

4 / 5
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
Terry David
Belmont NH
Apr 16, 2014

Charleston bucket list!

My husband and I decided to visit Charleston and wanted to find a place close to the downtown area while not paying the big downtown prices. We found it with Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526. Downtown was about 8 or 9 minutes away, depending on traffic, it was a straight shot down Rte 17. The hotel was also close to all the other points of interest. As for the hotel staff they were great! Very helpful all around. They gave us great suggestions for place to visit, eat at, etc. Everything was always clean, and well presented. The breakfasts served where fine; depending on the time it could be a little crowded, but overall it was good. The only drawback, and it is very minor, was a “stale,” perhaps cigarette smoke smell that lingered in the hallways. This hotel accommodates both non-smokers and smokers. Maybe a better filtration systems is needed, it would not stop me from going again and enjoying myself. TM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The horse drawn carriage rides are well worth the money spent. It provides a great overview of Charleston, along with an informative history lesson on the city.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
Exploring Charleston
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 21, 2014

Convenient, comfortable hotel in West Ashley

Staff was helpful and courteous, beds were comfortable, and having the free continental breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
John's Woman
Columbia, South Carolina
Feb 20, 2014

weekend stay

Overall it was a nice stay. Although first thing I saw was a spider! But that is hard to prevent 100%. Other than that everything was great! Great breakfast, nice staff clean sheets, nice tv, and not a bad location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

5
'71Rebel
Clayton, NC
Feb 10, 2014

Charleston & Area Plantation retreat

Had a great time visiting Charleston and some of the areas plantations. The Holiday Inn Express at 17 & I526 was perfect for our stay. Staff was very courteous and the room was clean and comfortable. They have a good breakfast in the morning and cookies & lemonade late afternoon. Coffee is available 24 hrs. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
Minnesota Fun Dad
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 28, 2014

I would stay here again.

The room was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. I would stay at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
MikeLangella
Estero, FL
Oct 31, 2013

5miles from Magnolia Plantation

Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good place to stay on the south side of Charleston.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

3
Ray63
Monroe, NY
Jul 25, 2013

Stay in Charleston, SC

It was okay. Hotel did not have a bar/lounge like the on line ad said it did. That is the reason I chose this hotel and was very disappointed about that. The hallways smelled of cigarettes especially by the entrances. Breakfast was very good. I am not sure I would chose Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
Moving to SC
Virginia
Jul 2, 2013

Good location

The staff was very friendly from the moment we checked in until we left. Location was great for us. Close enough to downtown if you want to visit or to many of the other local historical site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Bessinger's Barbeque! Only a mile away. Awesome BBQ and onion rings!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
Schoolgirl
Council Bluffs, IA
Jun 12, 2013

Great hotel for the money

The hotel staff was super-friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great location, close to everything. There was a wide selection of items for the free breakfast. It was not too far from Folly Beach. Great hotel for the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book this hotel online; it will save you some money.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
cleanliness stickler
Washington, DC
May 28, 2013

Clean and afforadable option- would do it again!

Let me start by saying, I am a stickler for hotel cleanliness and was crossing my fingers that this great deal wasn't going to let me down. I was SO pleased! The hotel and room were very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, there was a decent free breakfast that made my kids very happy, and a great outdoor pool! The hotel was only 5-10 min from downtown and very easy to get to/from. I was overall VERY pleased with this hotel. Holiday Inn Express pleasantly surprised me and I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely do a carriage ride to get some history and get an overview of the whole city We used Palmetto Carriage- they were great and by reserving tickets ahead of time online, we got 4 free hrs of parking while we checked out downtown!

Back to menu Return to top