Rate based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
View map of 301 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
138 reviews
great location!

The location of this hotel is great because when you dine or have drinks you can see all of... See full review

  • Urban W.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Weekend Away

Awesome hotel in a PERFECT location. If you stay here (even if you don't), be sure to head to the... See full review

  • Zachary F.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Charleston hotel overlooking Ashley River with free shuttle to sites
The Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the historic district. Guests enjoy an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and free parking. Kids eat free when accompanied by a paying adult at the full-service restaurant on the Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel's top floor. Business guests make use of the free high-speed wireless Internet access and two meeting rooms.

 

 

Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant
  • Free parking, shuttle to downtown historic district
  • Fitness center
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel features 178 rooms (including four accessible) and four suites on 14 floors. Smoking is permitted in some rooms. Rooms with views of the Ashley River and historic Charleston area are available upon request. Some connecting rooms are available. All accommodations include coffee makers, iron/ironing board and hairdryers. Suites boast king beds, wet bars, kitchenettes, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel is FEMA-approved for government travelers.

 

Features
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a free scheduled shuttle to the historic district. Outdoor parking is free. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal) and all rooms have free high-speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

 

Dining
The Harborview restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hot breakfast and lunch buffets are on the menu, and there is a Sunday afternoon brunch. Children 12 and under eat free with a paying adult. Guests at the Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview also enjoy the High Spirits Lounge. Room service is available from morning until late evening.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.8 mi/19 km)
  • Adjacent to U.S. 17
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Garden (12.2 mi/19.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • 24-hour business center with computer, fax, copier and Internet access

 

Policies and fees
No pets (service animals allowed).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7813 -79.9647
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, E; Myrtle Beach Metropolitan, (MYR), 119.00, MI, NE; Savannah International Airport, (SAV), 109.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 2.1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 2.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 2.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.3 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 12.9 mi

Dining

Harborview Restaurant and Lounge
The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge offers fine dining and lighter fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Bring your kids and enjoy a delicious meal while overlooking the river. Kids 12 and under eat free with paying adult! Open 6:30am to 11:00am, 11:30
Waffle House
American Breakfast
Harborview Restaurant & Lounge
The newly renovated Harborview Restaurant & Lounge has been refurnished with new cloth and leather lounge chairs. We've mounted 4 new 40-plus inch flat screen TVs to catch your favorite team or even check the forecast, or you could peek out the window and

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Short getaways2
Business
Marietta Ga
Jul 19, 2013

Have Stayed before and better

Stay is ordinary. Location to downtown is great. Easy in and out of downtown. Had numerous little issues. Outlets in short supply, no room safe. Clean and friendly staff. Decent value for the price but missing little touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citadel Mom
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 30, 2013

Beautiful views!

The views are spectacular! We needed to be close to The Citadel and were only minutes away. Breakfast buffet was great and convenient. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CWWW
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Weekend Stay

Hotel was fine for a one night stay. Easy access to downtown and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delightful Danny
Business
Bluefield WV
Jun 19, 2013

Beach 2013

I lived in Charleston SC for many years and always thought it would be nice to stay at this hotel. My stay exceeded my expectations, I have traveled many times over the years and this hotel has to be one of the best....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many top quality dining establishments in such a short distance......

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jzafrican
Business
columbia sc
May 28, 2013

Pleasantly surprised!

Since my last stay a few years ago the hotel had refurbished its rooms and decor. Very comfortable rooms and well kept. Will stay here next time I'm in Charlestn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keep a smile on her face
Business
Columbia, sc
Mar 31, 2013

good but not great

Our stay here was pleasant. We expected for the price that breakfast would be included but it was not. Small room but clean. You can tell the carpet was old from wear that was visible. The staff was great and very friendly. The location of this hotel is great and also there is a shuttle into downtown. We avoided the shuttle the first few hours, but the parking downtown is crazy. The shuttle saved us some headache, but it runs a schedule. Over the stay was nice and the view from the top floor restaurant was spectacular. Good stay for a couple that just wants to get out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beaufort Traveler
Business
SC
Feb 26, 2013

Location!

You see this bldg. coming and going from Rt. 17. Everything is fine other than the highway noise as the hotel is between the the two lanes of Rt. 17 going across the Ashley River. Beautiful view. Noise quiets down later in the evening and picks up around 7AM. Restaurant served a great breakfast and the bar (both on the top floor with spectacular views) was great, the bartender (young man recently moved from NJ) was friendly and made a great martini (or two). We'd recommend it for the view, location and friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KTVAH
Business
Follansbee, WV
Feb 7, 2013

Good location with easy access

This was our second trip to Charleston and while this hotel wasn't as nice as the first place we stayed I'd come back to this one for the following reasons. The views from our 6th floor rooms were fantastic! Our rooms were facing the two draw bridges on the Savannah hwy over the Ashley River...I guess if you were on the back side of the hotel the views wouldn't be so great. The rooms were somewhat small and oddly shaped due to the round constructions of the building, but we were able to fit an extra fold out bed in the room with the king sized bed in it. The staff was quick to respond to our request for a fold out bed, extra towels and blankets. We were traveling with 7 people so we had two rooms, one double and one king. Both rooms had nice flat screen TV's and good WIFI. We really only had two complaints about our stay, no microwave oven or fridge in the rooms and no separate light for the bathroom. When you turn on the light for the bathroom it also turns on the light in front of the vanity which in turn lights up the rest of the room, just a little inconvenient for others when making that late night run! I’ve seen other reviewers complain about the loud a/c unit and I do have to say that it is rather loud but I actually like the white noise while sleeping so for me that was a plus! The hotel was very easy to get to and offers a free shuttle service to historic down town Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba Gumps! You can't go wrong ordering their hush puppies.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgia History Teacher
Business
Atlanta Georgia
Nov 26, 2012

Room with an Awesome View

Great room, but don't eat at the restaurant. Terrible Food, Over Priced, Poor Service. The room was very good, Bathroom was too small for more than 2 people at a time. Getting into and out of the parking is DANGEROUS. The worst Entrance and Exit I have ever seen. Almost got into a couple of accidents. didnt want to drive but the shuddle service was not timely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WheelchairMD
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving weekend

Good staff. The beds in our room were double sized, not queen. A fridge and microwave in the room would have been great. Breakfast buffet was a good value-if biscuits and gravy were available it would have been an excellent meal. Pool was closed. Great location. You can spot the hotel from a good ways off. We paid extra for a room with a view. Sunrises were great. Older building but was OK. Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a guided tour of the historic district first, then put your walking shoes on.

Back to menu Return to top