Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
View map of 301 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yellow nut
Business
shallotte, nc
Jul 19, 2013

disappointed

guess we expected something better with it being holiday inn but we were dissapointed very much. the wifi service didnt work, we had to go to service desk to get our key to work on the second day. vanity light was the only light switch to make light come on in the shower/toliet area which would shine in the bedroom area. we do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Short getaways2
Business
Marietta Ga
Jul 19, 2013

Have Stayed before and better

Stay is ordinary. Location to downtown is great. Easy in and out of downtown. Had numerous little issues. Outlets in short supply, no room safe. Clean and friendly staff. Decent value for the price but missing little touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citadel Mom
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 30, 2013

Beautiful views!

The views are spectacular! We needed to be close to The Citadel and were only minutes away. Breakfast buffet was great and convenient. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CWWW
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Weekend Stay

Hotel was fine for a one night stay. Easy access to downtown and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delightful Danny
Business
Bluefield WV
Jun 19, 2013

Beach 2013

I lived in Charleston SC for many years and always thought it would be nice to stay at this hotel. My stay exceeded my expectations, I have traveled many times over the years and this hotel has to be one of the best....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many top quality dining establishments in such a short distance......

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jzafrican
Business
columbia sc
May 28, 2013

Pleasantly surprised!

Since my last stay a few years ago the hotel had refurbished its rooms and decor. Very comfortable rooms and well kept. Will stay here next time I'm in Charlestn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keep a smile on her face
Business
Columbia, sc
Mar 31, 2013

good but not great

Our stay here was pleasant. We expected for the price that breakfast would be included but it was not. Small room but clean. You can tell the carpet was old from wear that was visible. The staff was great and very friendly. The location of this hotel is great and also there is a shuttle into downtown. We avoided the shuttle the first few hours, but the parking downtown is crazy. The shuttle saved us some headache, but it runs a schedule. Over the stay was nice and the view from the top floor restaurant was spectacular. Good stay for a couple that just wants to get out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beaufort Traveler
Business
SC
Feb 26, 2013

Location!

You see this bldg. coming and going from Rt. 17. Everything is fine other than the highway noise as the hotel is between the the two lanes of Rt. 17 going across the Ashley River. Beautiful view. Noise quiets down later in the evening and picks up around 7AM. Restaurant served a great breakfast and the bar (both on the top floor with spectacular views) was great, the bartender (young man recently moved from NJ) was friendly and made a great martini (or two). We'd recommend it for the view, location and friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KTVAH
Business
Follansbee, WV
Feb 7, 2013

Good location with easy access

This was our second trip to Charleston and while this hotel wasn't as nice as the first place we stayed I'd come back to this one for the following reasons. The views from our 6th floor rooms were fantastic! Our rooms were facing the two draw bridges on the Savannah hwy over the Ashley River...I guess if you were on the back side of the hotel the views wouldn't be so great. The rooms were somewhat small and oddly shaped due to the round constructions of the building, but we were able to fit an extra fold out bed in the room with the king sized bed in it. The staff was quick to respond to our request for a fold out bed, extra towels and blankets. We were traveling with 7 people so we had two rooms, one double and one king. Both rooms had nice flat screen TV's and good WIFI. We really only had two complaints about our stay, no microwave oven or fridge in the rooms and no separate light for the bathroom. When you turn on the light for the bathroom it also turns on the light in front of the vanity which in turn lights up the rest of the room, just a little inconvenient for others when making that late night run! I’ve seen other reviewers complain about the loud a/c unit and I do have to say that it is rather loud but I actually like the white noise while sleeping so for me that was a plus! The hotel was very easy to get to and offers a free shuttle service to historic down town Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba Gumps! You can't go wrong ordering their hush puppies.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgia History Teacher
Business
Atlanta Georgia
Nov 26, 2012

Room with an Awesome View

Great room, but don't eat at the restaurant. Terrible Food, Over Priced, Poor Service. The room was very good, Bathroom was too small for more than 2 people at a time. Getting into and out of the parking is DANGEROUS. The worst Entrance and Exit I have ever seen. Almost got into a couple of accidents. didnt want to drive but the shuddle service was not timely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top