Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
115 Meeting Street, PO BOX 1013, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
Great one night stay

We booked this hotel last minute and though a little on the pricey side we thought the lobby and... See full review

  • Tp726
  • Oct 4, 2014
Beautiful in downtown Charleston

This was my second time in Charleston and during my first trip I fell in love with this hotel just... See full review

  • Elle B
  • Sep 8, 2014
Charleston hotel with pool combines modern luxuries with historic charm
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel combines opulent accommodations, historic ambiance and modern conveniences in the heart of the city's historic district. It is the only hotel on the city's Museum Mile. Boasting Victorian decor, it was originally built as a hotel in 1853. One of Charleston's top restaurants is on the premises and kids eat free. Guests of the Mills House Wyndham Grand enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, sun deck, fitness center and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Courtyard with fountain, sun deck, outdoor pool
  • On-site dining
  • Extensive in-house art collection
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms

 

Rooms
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel provides standard rooms and three types of suites. The suites include wet bars and refrigerators. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel offers three accessible and some connecting rooms. All rooms feature free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Features
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel features a courtyard with a 19th-century fountain, sun deck, outdoor swimming pool and a fitness center. Self-parking and valet parking are available (fees apply).
Dining
The on-site Barbadoes Room features regional cuisine in a formal dining room overlooking a fountain. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunches. Kids eat free, when accompanied by an adult hotel guest. Many other restaurants are within a few blocks. Room service is available. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also includes the First Shot and Best Friend lounges.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic City Market and Confederate Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Children's Museum 25 Ann Street (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

 

Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Two ballrooms and three meeting rooms
  • Rental privileges at adjacent Hibernian Hall, with 6,000 square feet of space and a small stage
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy, print, computer and Internet services

 

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking costs $25 per day plus tax.
  • No pets other than service animals. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7778 -79.9317
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 25, 2011

I had expected more

Had read other reviews about parking so anticipated additional charge for valet/parking convenience. Wish I had taken the opportunity to seek out the public parking garage right behind the hotel. It was a bit inconvenient factoring in the 20 minute wait for vehicle retrieval each time we went out. Upon arrival we chose to carry in our luggage. Since we didn't request the services of the bell hops they just watched us and didn't even bother to open the door as we approached. That's one of my issues, holding open the door should be a courtesy afforded to all! Where's the hospitality? Several bulbs were out in the lamps in room. Housekeeping could have been a bit more diligent. (Not very thorough in wiping down bathroom counter.)Dining room opened for breakfast at 7 AM, a bit late for those wishing to get a early start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lowcountry traveler
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 29, 2009

Elegance in the heart of the city

This is a great hotel: clean and quiet in the heart of downtown Charleston, The location couldn't be more convenient for seeing the city. It has the charm of the old historic inn that it is, but you don't lack for any of the modern essentials. Elegant decor and gracious staff. Our room was a bit small, with very little shelf space in the bathroom, but that is really the only complaint I have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast in the hotel's Barbadoes Room is good but pricey. For a less expensive but still delicious option, walk two doors north on Meeting St. and try Joseph's. And for lunch or dinner, you can't beat Poogan's Porch, right across Queen Street from the hotel.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garner, NC
Jul 13, 2010

Great Location, bit pricy

overall the hotel is nice. the rooms are a bit small for the price but its in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 14, 2010

Paying for the location

Our stay was great, loved the location. Hotel was beautiful, but our room was on the 2nd floor next to the patio above the courtyard. The staff was noisy as they cleaned up after a wedding reception our first night. Not a lot to complain about, but I just expected more for the price per night. It was just an average stay. I'm sure there are just as nice hotels in the vicinity at a lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Poogan's Porch across the street on Queen.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jun 27, 2009

Weekend getaway

Great location. Close to dining, carriage tours, historical homes, shopping. Rooms were on the small side and the bathrooms even smaller, but nice. Staff not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful meals at Magnolias and High Cotton

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N. Hampton, NH
May 17, 2011

Mills House: Great for Carless Couples!

We stayed in a "city view" room on the 6th floor. Nice views to the east over the city and room was very quiet and private. This hotel has a lot of Southern charm in furnishings and decor- lovely! During our long weekend we toured a plantation, took a carriage ride, visited Fort Sumter, Nathaniel Russell House, the Market, Waterfront Park, Rainbow Row the Yorktown ship and several fine eateries and shops. We never ate at the hotel. We felt it was too pricey, esp. breakfast... Maid service was fine; staff was pleasant and the strong signal free wifi was great! The biggest plus at Mills House is LOCATION- right downtown in the middle of everything. You can walk most everywhere and if you like you can take a pedicab or ride the FREE trolley shuttles all over the city! No wonder Charleston is such a popular tourist destination! ONE CAVEAT: there is only one OFFICIAL VISITORS CENTER but a lot of "fronts" for a wholesale travel company called VACATION STATION, disguised as tourist info shops that try to steer you listen to a 60 minute talk about pricey memberships with the company. We listened but did not buy. Google "Vacation Station" and draw your own conclusions... The city is very clean and people are helpful and friendly. We would gladly go back and would stay at Mills House again. It also has a mice outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT MISS THE PEACH BOURBON BREAD PUDDING at A. W. Shucks on Market St. OMG; a taste of heaven!!

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noneyabiz
Business
OH
Apr 4, 2010

Nice and clean

Excellent location 2 blocks from the open market and all the stores. Rooms and beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingsport, TN
Aug 12, 2010

Excellent Hotel...Cheap Price

Great trip to Charleston. Hotel was excellent. We only spent three days in Charleston, but tried to see all the sights. Fort Sumter was cool. Rainbow Row was pretty neat but expected more. Carolina Polo Carriage Tours was very fun. Did a lot of walking. Will definitely stay at Mills House again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are people on the street that ask if you are going to do any tours while in Charleston. If you are willing to spend about 2 hours, they will give you free tour tickets. It is not a time share. My wife and I were prepared to say "NO" before we went and we stuck to our guns. Just be prepared to be treated rudely when you tell them the last "NO."

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 28, 2011

Great Charleston Hotel, But.....

The hotel was great -- historic building and wonderfully appointed. Staff was very helpful and attentive in the hotel. Restaurant was not quite as good from a service standpoint -- the food was very good but the servers seemed to be confused about what to do and how to do it. The only meal we had there was breakfast so it might have been the "B" team. Many other dining options in the area however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask where locals prefer to dine.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Sep 14, 2009

Great location

Old world charm with all of the modern amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location cannot be surpassed...close to everything

Back to menu Return to top