Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK momo
Business
Coral Spring, FL
Jun 5, 2013

It was a beautiful historic hotel

Great location. Very clean and nice. Would stay there again. We walked on King street and had a great time exploring the restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bday Girl '13
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 2, 2013

Birthday Trip

This hotel had a lot of character. For the type of hotel, it was near perfect. Having had the opportunity to read reviews prior to visiting, the size of the bathroom was not a surprised. Yes, it was tiny, but who plans to stay in there all day?! The location was perfect and the staff was especially friendly and helpful. We will definitely book a room the next time we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Virginia's has the BEST breakfast!! Andolinis has the BEST pizza...it's a must visit!!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Decker
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 23, 2013

Very Nice!

This hotel is great! The location is the best. The restaurant at the hotel wasn't too great but there are SO many others to choose from close by. The rooms are small but have everything you would need. Free wi-fi which is rare. There was a bit of an odor in the room but nothing that would cause me to complain or not want to stay here again. Price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many wonderful restaurants in the area. Too many to waste a meal at Swamp Fox. Skip it and explore the others in town.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abbyw
Business
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Aug 26, 2013

Bach Party

This hotel is in the best location you can walk to all the best places!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelForever
Business
Rhode Island
Sep 2, 2013

Good Value

This hotel is in Marion square, a good location in Charleston, close to the Visitors Center and near one of the free trolley pickup spots. Also, the farmer's market is across the street on Saturdays. Charleston College is right next door, so lots of parents and college kids staying at the hotel. The Barnes and Noble college bookstore is next door. The hotel lobby is luxurious with many comfortable chairs and couches and great chandeliers. The lobby was kept at a very cool temperature, needed a sweater and socks sitting in the lobby to read. Also, Starbucks is right in the hotel, which is convenient. The room was comfortable, though the bathroom and closet were small, and it was a tight fit with the doors so close together. There are two doormen at the front door, a nice touch. The front desk staff was friendly, though better do your own research on tours as they are very limited in what they suggest. The restaurant/bar was okay, it's a real mix of professional and unprofessional people (experienced and not-at-all-experienced) who work there. It showed in service and food/drink presentation. It's not all that interesting to walk around in Marion Square though, found it too quiet. If I go to Charleston again, I might stay in the Battery section, which is near the park by the water and closer to the shops and restaurants, maybe I would stay at the Anchorage on Vendue. Charleston itself is great, I would recommend it as a vacation spot. Fun things to do there are a carriage ride, city tour, plantation tour, house tours and shopping in the Old Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would suggest bringing a good tour book that shows a lot of information in one place (like the AAA book) or have access to an internet travel site on a tablet or cell phone while in Charleston. The maps in Charleston do NOT show complete information needed in one place, like tour open/close times, plus addresses, plus trolley stops, plus pricing. You'll be looking at 2 or 3 Charleston maps to get all of the info that you need. Also, I would do some research beforehand, as there are a mind-boggling number of choices, and if your time is limited it might take up a good chunk just deciding what to do, how to get there, when to get there, etc.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zac Buchanan
Business
Decatur, Alabama
Sep 4, 2013

Great value!

Old hotel, great ambiance. Amenities are dated, but gives the hotel character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have brunch at Virginia's!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allison28
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 14, 2013

Best Location in Charleston

When booking a hotel for Charleston we were tempted by all the pricey inns that offered social hours with wine & cheese or sherry. We went with Francis Marion mostly based on price & were glad we did. This hotel's location is so convenient for accessing everything in downtown Charleston - Couldn't have asked for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra E
Business
Traverse City, MI
Sep 20, 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, comfy beds

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and an amazingly accomodating staff. The room was fine, nicely decorated and in good condition. Bathrooms are small, but that is to be expected from a hotel built in 1924. However, there was a huge walk-in closet. The tub didn't drain very well, which we informed the front desk of when we were leaving. Nothing we couldn't live with, and certainly we would go back. We've stayed in many old hotels in Europe and this compared very well with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Restaurant week is a great time to visit Charleston!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.G. Here for the wedding
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2013

Comfy stay in a great location

We came to Charleston for a wedding. We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. It was nothing too extravagant. The beds were very comfy and everything was clean. No fridge or microwave in the room, but the nice girls at the front counter microwaved our leftovers for us. When we came it was really hot and I think it would have been nice to stay at a hotel with a pool, but this was slightly better priced than those hotels. Location-wise it was great. It was extremely close to the shopping on King Street and the museums. We loved the Charleston museum. Definitely a comfortable stay. I slept like a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Charleston museum. Tons of history packed into a medium sized museum.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oft on the road
Business
Greenville, SC
Dec 4, 2013

Great location, classy

A reasonably-priced historical hotel in a great location. Directly across from a square that was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and right at all of the shopping and dining of King Street. We had an appointment at the medical university....a five minute straight shot down Calhoun Street. Much more enjoyable than the chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish is a good spot for seafood with a twist, just a few blocks down on King St.

Back to menu Return to top