Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
285 reviews
Fantastic location and wonderful staff

Great place to stay. Walked everywhere. The staff was wonderful! See full review

  • Jandybe
  • Jul 10, 2014
Perfect Location

Historic hotel at the perfect location. Staff was pleasant and room was clean. See full review

  • Bugjar
  • Jul 2, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Charleston.
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries - 1 block, college of charleston - 0.25 mile, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (285)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couples therapy
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 11, 2010

great spot

great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleston Parent
Boston, MA
Aug 24, 2010

Great location, Great hotel!

I was taking my grand-daughter to orientation at College of Charleston. It was our first visit to Charleston.The hotel was in the perfect location for our needs. It was also very comfortable, clean and attractive. The rooms were lovely. It was quiet and restful. All The staff courteous and friendly. The front desk staff was knowlegeable and very helpful. The only negatives were the WIFI system which didn't work during much of our stay. We kept calling the front desk and it was always reported that they were working on the problem. It did improve by our last day there. They also have two computers in the lobby that are available for guests and that was helpful. The only other problem was the bathroom which was small and attractive but had NO storage space for personal toiletries. However, in spite of the negative comments, I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly recommend it to other Charleston visitors and will plan to stay there myself on my next trip to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the dining and shopping were right there. King street is a shoppers paradise. The hotel was able to recommend many great restaurants, both fine dining or a quick lunch. The hotel is located right in the center of "Old Charleston" and next to the College of Charleston. Almost everything was in easy walking distance.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Thomas & Hugo ventriloquist
Orlando FL
Nov 19, 2009

great hotel

The maid could have pulled the duvay stuffing up when she made the bed. I am a touring ventriloquist and the staff were great posing for pictures with me and Hugo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The cabs are very reasonable.Be sure to have she-crab soup.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James and Rhonda
Wilmington, NC
Jan 16, 2010

Great Location

We had a great visit to Charleston. The location of this hotel was great, the room was a little small but very nice. I would ask for a room with a view, because it is a beatiful. We enjoyed being able to walk in the downtown area from the hotel and felt very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We opted for a great little local place called Joe Pasta, about two blocks from hotel. Great food and very reasonalbe pricing. Breakfast was at Virginia's on King about a block from hotel and and it was also very good.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra E
Traverse City, MI
Sep 20, 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, comfy beds

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and an amazingly accomodating staff. The room was fine, nicely decorated and in good condition. Bathrooms are small, but that is to be expected from a hotel built in 1924. However, there was a huge walk-in closet. The tub didn't drain very well, which we informed the front desk of when we were leaving. Nothing we couldn't live with, and certainly we would go back. We've stayed in many old hotels in Europe and this compared very well with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Restaurant week is a great time to visit Charleston!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lina girl
Durham, NC, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Great location

We've stayed in this hotel many times. It's very pricey but elegant and comfortable. The staff could not accomodate our request to check in 2 hours early or the request for a queen or king sized bed. When you pay that much for a room, you kind of expect to get what you want. There is no pool, but it's quiet and the rooms and beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are tiny, but we would stay here again especially with a better rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the visitor's center for the best discounts

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky115
Garwood, New Jersey
Apr 15, 2012

Romantic getaway

The Francis Marion Hotel had a great deal of oldtime charm which you will not get from the major Hotel chains. The employees were all very friendly and accomodating. The Hotel had a great location and was very competitively priced We would definately stay there again if we came to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boone's Plantation was not worth the trip.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 16, 2010

Cute old Hotel with excellent service

I'd been to the Francis Marion once before for a conference, and decided to travel again to Charleston with my girlfriend for a little R'n'R. The hotel staff was excellent during our stay, very helpful whenever we needed a recommendation or assistance. The rooms are what would be expected at an older hotel, smaller, fewer conveniences, but nice and cozy if you don't need a ton of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Poogan's Porch on Queen St has excellent Lowcountry dining, and is within easy walking distance of hotel.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids
May 24, 2009

nice older european feel

The hotel location was great for us! Close to restaurants and many other sites....the starbucks was awesome to have right in the hotel! The rooms were fine...not brand new, but nicely kept up, minus a few small details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant, Basil, was just down the street and was fabulous! We had dinner there twice in one week and the sweet potato fries at Sermats were only $5 and a great afternoon snack. We could easily walk all over town from our hotel...in fact, we never even needed any transportation other than to and from the airport.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkandLori
michigan
May 18, 2013

We loved the Francis Marion

Spent two nights during a vacation visit to Charleston... Beautiful, spacious room with two bathrooms for a reasonable price. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location close to King Street shops but a long walk to south side and the Battery. 41/2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike... Much to see but parking a hassle. Try the crepes at Queen Street Grocery.

Back to menu Return to top