Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
207 reviews
Perfect Location with Elegance and History

We stayed at the Francis Marion while moving our daughter into College of Charleston. The hotel is... See full review

  • Jewellnut
  • Aug 14, 2014
Dropping Off Daughter for College

Perfect location for families visiting children at College of Charleston! See full review

  • CofC Family
  • Aug 12, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Charleston.
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries - 1 block, college of charleston - 0.25 mile, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, n.c.
Jun 28, 2011

Extremely disappointed

This was the second time my wife and I stayed at the Francis Marion. Obviously being the second time staying with them, the first time was pleasurable. Our room this time seemed as if it were a storage room transformed into a hotel room and was not the most comfortable, nor was it even clean. The bathroom seemed as if it was an afterthought at best. If you could fit two people in there uncomfortably, you were doing well. We were in room 330 which was a corner room. Normally in corner rooms, when you have two windows, chances of a decent view are pretty high. Out of one of our windows, we saw the roof of the building across the street, and the other window was a view of a brick wall. Why even bother putting a window there? The air conditioning seemed as if it was about to retire as it never stopped running the entire time we were there and it never reached reasonable temperature. We set it on 72 and the lowest we saw it while we were there was 74 and that was at 2:30 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Wet willies

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

Not Happy

For the price it was a great location. However no clean towels, the cleaning lady left the hair dryer inteh sink and her bottle of tilex in our bathroom with no clean towels. Shady business with the cab/shuttle services, felt like they directed us to more expensive modes of trasnportation. Overall i felt they were shady and not helpful but the price was right at the time for hte location. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Yellow Cabs everywhere and not shuttles. Yellow cabs charge based on the meter and shuttles are per person. If you have more that one person in your group the shuttles are a BIG rip off. Our hotel was shady and kept directing us to shuttles. Trip to beach in a shuttle costed us $60, the trip back to the hotel in a yellow cab was $24.....

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Oct 29, 2010

Could have been great...but

We upgraded to a King room which was good size and being in a corner had windows on two walls. However, the bathroom was very small and the strong odor of high power cleaning agents was very evident which suggests they are trying to control some unpleasant bacteria or something. Wireless worked initially and then died never to return. Worse, the Air Conditioning fan began clattering very loudly at about midnight waking us up and ruining a night's sleep (too hot and humid with it off - impossible to bear the noise with it on - too late to switch rooms). Then, in the morning upon checkout I informed the agent of the issue - they made no offer of compensation, no apology - they just took the information...won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast Restaurant - best Carolina Crab Cakes I've ever had.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PR Maven
New York, NY
Jan 5, 2014

Needs some work

Great location but no atmosphere. Lobby is very sterile. Could use a good bar and restaurant. Room was a little weirs as bathroom was literally next to the bed. You could open and close door while in bed. Beds were very comfortable and room was fairly spacious. I believe we were in a handicapped room because our door was double wide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chipsquack
Schwenksville, PA
Apr 14, 2014

So-so hotel, but great location

We stayed here over the weekend and had a wonderful time in Charleston. The hotel is across the street from Marion Square and we really enjoyed the farmers market Saturday morning. The room itself was small, but clean and I always appreciate free wi-fi. Unfortunately, we didn't have much of an opportunity to try the restaurant or room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Woos
Atlanta, GA
Apr 28, 2014

Francis Marion

The bathrooms are way too small and something just bothers me even about stained chairs even in a historic hotel. We were next to a wedding party celebration which kept us up literally all night. The beds were comfy enough though and the location was pretty good, especially if you want to walk over to Marion Square. They let my car sit out on the street long enough for me to just ask for the keys back so we could go out to dinner. Ok, probably would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Dude Kasper
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Francis Marion

Hotel was nice and historic. There is a Starbucks in the front of the building, as well as the upscale Swamp Fox Restaurant. It's location is perfect, being located right at the head of the King St. shopping disctrict and next to the College of Charleston campus.I paid $109 per night. Parking is $12 per night, which was really the only option and a bit expensive. I suppose the location justifies the room rates, but I wouldn't pay the $150/ night rate they were asking. The bathroom was extremely small, but I'm a guy and didn't really care. I was on the 3rd floor. My friends who were on the upper floors (10+) had constant issues with their heat and air as well as hot water. Overall, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For the craft beer lovers, "Closed for Business" is about 2 blocks north on King St. and feature some great craft brews. Charleston Beer Works is a distant second. Go to Sullivan's Island and eat at Poe's. Not touristy, but a great little place to get cool burgers and seafood and beer.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandydc
miami
Dec 21, 2011

nice getaway

Nice free upgrade to king room with sofa on 9th floor. Very nice staff. Location was good for people like us who like to walk everywhere. Absolutley beautiful town to see. Only one complaint about hotel was grout in tub needs to be changed. Lower floors might be noisy. Got a very good rate for a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at Wentworth grill. Good crabcakes and hush puppies at Hymans. Carriage ride a must.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmmm
Trinity Florida
Jul 6, 2012

Fun get away

This hotel is nice and historic. The bathrooms are extremely small. The hotel needs some painting to clean it up. The rooms do not look like you would expect they would after going through the lobby. Much less. The historic tours and shopping are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes for walking.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jweisler
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nov 5, 2012

Needs a little bit of an overhaul

The staff was friendly. The room had charm, but for the price was lacking. Furniture (not antiques, newer furniture) had dings/marks. Marks on the walls that needed to be fixed. Large bright orange electrical cord running through the middle of the room. I wouldn't even sit on the sofa. Furniture was dusty. Just wasn't the experience I was hoping to receive from a hotel of this price. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top