Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LoCFo22
Business
Blountville, TN
Aug 18, 2009

Dissapointed-terrible bathrooms

Our hotel seemed nice upon arrival. First things first, being pregnant on the 8th floor and then realizing neither of the keys are programmed after your checking in & being sent up is no good-the guy at the desk asks me if I know how to use the key..QUESTION IS-does he know how to program it...let me hobble my wide self back up the hike..very slow elevators. The bathrooms are equivalent of a motorhome bathroom-it was miserable..so uncomfortable-you can't change clothes w/o hitting the walls. Maid service only 1 out of 3 days. The first day they did a half-a job anyway and didn't even take the trash out. Very irritated with the hotel. Location is nice but not GREAT and across from a park that has vendors on Sat. morning however it was NOT w/in walking distance of the market unless you want a HIKE. Not happy..at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, n.c.
Jun 28, 2011

Extremely disappointed

This was the second time my wife and I stayed at the Francis Marion. Obviously being the second time staying with them, the first time was pleasurable. Our room this time seemed as if it were a storage room transformed into a hotel room and was not the most comfortable, nor was it even clean. The bathroom seemed as if it was an afterthought at best. If you could fit two people in there uncomfortably, you were doing well. We were in room 330 which was a corner room. Normally in corner rooms, when you have two windows, chances of a decent view are pretty high. Out of one of our windows, we saw the roof of the building across the street, and the other window was a view of a brick wall. Why even bother putting a window there? The air conditioning seemed as if it was about to retire as it never stopped running the entire time we were there and it never reached reasonable temperature. We set it on 72 and the lowest we saw it while we were there was 74 and that was at 2:30 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Wet willies

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

Not Happy

For the price it was a great location. However no clean towels, the cleaning lady left the hair dryer inteh sink and her bottle of tilex in our bathroom with no clean towels. Shady business with the cab/shuttle services, felt like they directed us to more expensive modes of trasnportation. Overall i felt they were shady and not helpful but the price was right at the time for hte location. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Yellow Cabs everywhere and not shuttles. Yellow cabs charge based on the meter and shuttles are per person. If you have more that one person in your group the shuttles are a BIG rip off. Our hotel was shady and kept directing us to shuttles. Trip to beach in a shuttle costed us $60, the trip back to the hotel in a yellow cab was $24.....

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 29, 2010

Could have been great...but

We upgraded to a King room which was good size and being in a corner had windows on two walls. However, the bathroom was very small and the strong odor of high power cleaning agents was very evident which suggests they are trying to control some unpleasant bacteria or something. Wireless worked initially and then died never to return. Worse, the Air Conditioning fan began clattering very loudly at about midnight waking us up and ruining a night's sleep (too hot and humid with it off - impossible to bear the noise with it on - too late to switch rooms). Then, in the morning upon checkout I informed the agent of the issue - they made no offer of compensation, no apology - they just took the information...won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast Restaurant - best Carolina Crab Cakes I've ever had.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1Dude1
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 25, 2014

Old

Old and poorly renovated. location is good but for the money i would rather stay at the holiday inn around the corner they probably have water pressure in their showers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PR Maven
Business
New York, NY
Jan 5, 2014

Needs some work

Great location but no atmosphere. Lobby is very sterile. Could use a good bar and restaurant. Room was a little weirs as bathroom was literally next to the bed. You could open and close door while in bed. Beds were very comfortable and room was fairly spacious. I believe we were in a handicapped room because our door was double wide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chipsquack
Business
Schwenksville, PA
Apr 14, 2014

So-so hotel, but great location

We stayed here over the weekend and had a wonderful time in Charleston. The hotel is across the street from Marion Square and we really enjoyed the farmers market Saturday morning. The room itself was small, but clean and I always appreciate free wi-fi. Unfortunately, we didn't have much of an opportunity to try the restaurant or room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Woos
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 28, 2014

Francis Marion

The bathrooms are way too small and something just bothers me even about stained chairs even in a historic hotel. We were next to a wedding party celebration which kept us up literally all night. The beds were comfy enough though and the location was pretty good, especially if you want to walk over to Marion Square. They let my car sit out on the street long enough for me to just ask for the keys back so we could go out to dinner. Ok, probably would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Dude Kasper
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Francis Marion

Hotel was nice and historic. There is a Starbucks in the front of the building, as well as the upscale Swamp Fox Restaurant. It's location is perfect, being located right at the head of the King St. shopping disctrict and next to the College of Charleston campus.I paid $109 per night. Parking is $12 per night, which was really the only option and a bit expensive. I suppose the location justifies the room rates, but I wouldn't pay the $150/ night rate they were asking. The bathroom was extremely small, but I'm a guy and didn't really care. I was on the 3rd floor. My friends who were on the upper floors (10+) had constant issues with their heat and air as well as hot water. Overall, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For the craft beer lovers, "Closed for Business" is about 2 blocks north on King St. and feature some great craft brews. Charleston Beer Works is a distant second. Go to Sullivan's Island and eat at Poe's. Not touristy, but a great little place to get cool burgers and seafood and beer.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandydc
Business
miami
Dec 21, 2011

nice getaway

Nice free upgrade to king room with sofa on 9th floor. Very nice staff. Location was good for people like us who like to walk everywhere. Absolutley beautiful town to see. Only one complaint about hotel was grout in tub needs to be changed. Lower floors might be noisy. Got a very good rate for a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at Wentworth grill. Good crabcakes and hush puppies at Hymans. Carriage ride a must.

Back to menu Return to top