Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, n.c.
Jun 28, 2011

Extremely disappointed

This was the second time my wife and I stayed at the Francis Marion. Obviously being the second time staying with them, the first time was pleasurable. Our room this time seemed as if it were a storage room transformed into a hotel room and was not the most comfortable, nor was it even clean. The bathroom seemed as if it was an afterthought at best. If you could fit two people in there uncomfortably, you were doing well. We were in room 330 which was a corner room. Normally in corner rooms, when you have two windows, chances of a decent view are pretty high. Out of one of our windows, we saw the roof of the building across the street, and the other window was a view of a brick wall. Why even bother putting a window there? The air conditioning seemed as if it was about to retire as it never stopped running the entire time we were there and it never reached reasonable temperature. We set it on 72 and the lowest we saw it while we were there was 74 and that was at 2:30 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Wet willies

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

Not Happy

For the price it was a great location. However no clean towels, the cleaning lady left the hair dryer inteh sink and her bottle of tilex in our bathroom with no clean towels. Shady business with the cab/shuttle services, felt like they directed us to more expensive modes of trasnportation. Overall i felt they were shady and not helpful but the price was right at the time for hte location. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Yellow Cabs everywhere and not shuttles. Yellow cabs charge based on the meter and shuttles are per person. If you have more that one person in your group the shuttles are a BIG rip off. Our hotel was shady and kept directing us to shuttles. Trip to beach in a shuttle costed us $60, the trip back to the hotel in a yellow cab was $24.....

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 29, 2010

Could have been great...but

We upgraded to a King room which was good size and being in a corner had windows on two walls. However, the bathroom was very small and the strong odor of high power cleaning agents was very evident which suggests they are trying to control some unpleasant bacteria or something. Wireless worked initially and then died never to return. Worse, the Air Conditioning fan began clattering very loudly at about midnight waking us up and ruining a night's sleep (too hot and humid with it off - impossible to bear the noise with it on - too late to switch rooms). Then, in the morning upon checkout I informed the agent of the issue - they made no offer of compensation, no apology - they just took the information...won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast Restaurant - best Carolina Crab Cakes I've ever had.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1Dude1
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 25, 2014

Old

Old and poorly renovated. location is good but for the money i would rather stay at the holiday inn around the corner they probably have water pressure in their showers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Dude Kasper
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Francis Marion

Hotel was nice and historic. There is a Starbucks in the front of the building, as well as the upscale Swamp Fox Restaurant. It's location is perfect, being located right at the head of the King St. shopping disctrict and next to the College of Charleston campus.I paid $109 per night. Parking is $12 per night, which was really the only option and a bit expensive. I suppose the location justifies the room rates, but I wouldn't pay the $150/ night rate they were asking. The bathroom was extremely small, but I'm a guy and didn't really care. I was on the 3rd floor. My friends who were on the upper floors (10+) had constant issues with their heat and air as well as hot water. Overall, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For the craft beer lovers, "Closed for Business" is about 2 blocks north on King St. and feature some great craft brews. Charleston Beer Works is a distant second. Go to Sullivan's Island and eat at Poe's. Not touristy, but a great little place to get cool burgers and seafood and beer.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandydc
Business
miami
Dec 21, 2011

nice getaway

Nice free upgrade to king room with sofa on 9th floor. Very nice staff. Location was good for people like us who like to walk everywhere. Absolutley beautiful town to see. Only one complaint about hotel was grout in tub needs to be changed. Lower floors might be noisy. Got a very good rate for a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at Wentworth grill. Good crabcakes and hush puppies at Hymans. Carriage ride a must.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmmm
Business
Trinity Florida
Jul 6, 2012

Fun get away

This hotel is nice and historic. The bathrooms are extremely small. The hotel needs some painting to clean it up. The rooms do not look like you would expect they would after going through the lobby. Much less. The historic tours and shopping are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes for walking.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jweisler
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nov 5, 2012

Needs a little bit of an overhaul

The staff was friendly. The room had charm, but for the price was lacking. Furniture (not antiques, newer furniture) had dings/marks. Marks on the walls that needed to be fixed. Large bright orange electrical cord running through the middle of the room. I wouldn't even sit on the sofa. Furniture was dusty. Just wasn't the experience I was hoping to receive from a hotel of this price. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spedhead1
Business
Mount Sinai, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Charleston Getaway

The hotel is a bit dated and the walls of our room were nicked and dinged up quite a bit. Our room did have a beautiful view of Marion Park and the staff was both helpful and accomodating. There were two big events going on in the hotel while we were there. Both were very loud and poorly supervised and we were a bit put off upon returning to the hotel after dinner to find the attendees (young and obnoxious) roaming the lobby and trying to crash each other's events. It was unfortunate that hotel guests had to be subjected to the mayhem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Saturday is Market Day in Marion Park. Charleston is a city of animal lovers so bring your family pet along. Magnolias for dinner a must do!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NormaJ
Business
Alexandria, Va
Jan 16, 2013

Weekend Get Away

We had beautiful weather in Charleston for quick weekend get away! Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We had to get the air conditioning turned on and staff was friendly but needed to fix it. Also TV needed repaired but they did do it right away. The only thing that was uncomfortable was the extremely tiny bathroom. Barely enough room to stand in let alone turn around in. Efficient use of space but not comfortable. Location is excellent and the staff friendly and for this reason, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O Ku is an excellent restaurant and within a short walk.

Back to menu Return to top