Rate based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 19, 2016

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time Charleston visit
Family
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2013

Comfy upscale hotel

A great choice for our first time in Charleston. The beds were super comfortable. The staff is extremely accommodating and pleasant. It was off season so they upgraded our room and great rate in the off season! A very nice surprise. The location is perfect, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The attached parking garage was very convenient with special rates for hotel guests. We are staying at the Francis Marion the next time we visit Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ahenson
Friends
South Carolina
Aug 18, 2013

Charleston getaway

Had a girls weekend in charleston. The Frances Marion Hotel was fabulous! The bathroom was a little small. The staff was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Pasta has a great menu!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elsa J.
Couples
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

Amazing trip !!!

Everything was perfect , excellent location , everyone at the hotel was extremely professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Family
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Hotel for my daughter's orientation at the College Of Charleston. The location was perfect. It was only a block away from the College and at the same time it was right in the middle of the main King Street shopping/restaurant district. It's an old Hotel that has been beautifully restored. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable with great linens and it was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small but functional. All employees that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most shops on King Street close early.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoAnn H.
Family
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

Time with granddaughter

Arrived a little early. Room was ready. Staff very friendly. Location is perfect for shopping on King St as well as a short walk to Market. Many restaurants close enough for walking. Garage parking close and you feel as if you are in a safe location. Help with bags is always available. This was our second stay this season. Very enjoyable visit to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MB
Couples
N/A
Aug 31, 2015

Awesome first trip to Charleston!

Just had a short stay at this hotel with my wife, we couldn't have been happier with the the location and quality of the hotel. First off, you can't beat the location. My wife and I walked everywhere on King street and beyond, the only time we used our car was when we were leaving the hotel. Second, the staff were extremely friendly. We had a late arrival, past midnight to be exact. The security guard looked after my wife in the lobby when I went to park the car and gave her great suggestions on where to eat in the surrounding area. Then there's the hotel itself, a testament to a bygone era only seen and read about in history. The large lobby with it's ornate decorations and grand piano to the rooms keeping their original footprint in design. I will gladly stay at this hotel again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Still In Love
Couples
N/A
Sep 8, 2015

Great Location

We spent our 41st Wedding Anniversary there. A friend of ours had special treats delivered to our room and the Hotel followed with cards of Congrats and chocolate covered strawberries both nights. Hotel staff members were excellent in meeting our needs and answering questions and giving us information about restaurants etc. Parking fee was not advertised and at $21(valet) plus tips became a little pricy. However, great place to spend a mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top