Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
216 reviews
Relaxing mini vacation

Every employee at the hotel are very professional and friendly, they assisted us. Perfect location... See full review

  • Rupert my little boy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Loved this hotel

Recommend Valet Parking for the convenience of getting in and out quickly- great staff - so... See full review

  • Cotton Club
  • Aug 25, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Charleston.
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries - 1 block, college of charleston - 0.25 mile, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

Not Happy

For the price it was a great location. However no clean towels, the cleaning lady left the hair dryer inteh sink and her bottle of tilex in our bathroom with no clean towels. Shady business with the cab/shuttle services, felt like they directed us to more expensive modes of trasnportation. Overall i felt they were shady and not helpful but the price was right at the time for hte location. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Yellow Cabs everywhere and not shuttles. Yellow cabs charge based on the meter and shuttles are per person. If you have more that one person in your group the shuttles are a BIG rip off. Our hotel was shady and kept directing us to shuttles. Trip to beach in a shuttle costed us $60, the trip back to the hotel in a yellow cab was $24.....

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K RAS
Alpharetta, GA
Jul 8, 2013

Not as I Expected

Other than location and high class lobby area, I didn't see anything more than a basic $80 hotels to impress me, with close to $400 a night you expect cleaner shower, a refrigerator, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cleanmoto
Austin, TX
Jul 8, 2013

it's old folks!

Great location but the hotel is very old and needs updating. The elevators took forever and every morning would stop at every floor even though it was full. The bathrooms were tiny and the carpet very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, n.c.
Jun 28, 2011

Extremely disappointed

This was the second time my wife and I stayed at the Francis Marion. Obviously being the second time staying with them, the first time was pleasurable. Our room this time seemed as if it were a storage room transformed into a hotel room and was not the most comfortable, nor was it even clean. The bathroom seemed as if it was an afterthought at best. If you could fit two people in there uncomfortably, you were doing well. We were in room 330 which was a corner room. Normally in corner rooms, when you have two windows, chances of a decent view are pretty high. Out of one of our windows, we saw the roof of the building across the street, and the other window was a view of a brick wall. Why even bother putting a window there? The air conditioning seemed as if it was about to retire as it never stopped running the entire time we were there and it never reached reasonable temperature. We set it on 72 and the lowest we saw it while we were there was 74 and that was at 2:30 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Wet willies

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PR Maven
New York, NY
Jan 5, 2014

Needs some work

Great location but no atmosphere. Lobby is very sterile. Could use a good bar and restaurant. Room was a little weirs as bathroom was literally next to the bed. You could open and close door while in bed. Beds were very comfortable and room was fairly spacious. I believe we were in a handicapped room because our door was double wide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edisto mama
Doylestown, PA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Should not be a 4 star rating

While the lobby and amenities are fine, our room had an awkward arrangement. One of the beds were about 2 foot from the bathroom and the bath was very small. Although the room was clean, it was not a 4 star room based on the furnishings or the layout. This is a 3.5 star at best in comparison to other Charleston hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

High Cotton!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Dude Kasper
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Francis Marion

Hotel was nice and historic. There is a Starbucks in the front of the building, as well as the upscale Swamp Fox Restaurant. It's location is perfect, being located right at the head of the King St. shopping disctrict and next to the College of Charleston campus.I paid $109 per night. Parking is $12 per night, which was really the only option and a bit expensive. I suppose the location justifies the room rates, but I wouldn't pay the $150/ night rate they were asking. The bathroom was extremely small, but I'm a guy and didn't really care. I was on the 3rd floor. My friends who were on the upper floors (10+) had constant issues with their heat and air as well as hot water. Overall, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For the craft beer lovers, "Closed for Business" is about 2 blocks north on King St. and feature some great craft brews. Charleston Beer Works is a distant second. Go to Sullivan's Island and eat at Poe's. Not touristy, but a great little place to get cool burgers and seafood and beer.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NormaJ
Alexandria, Va
Jan 16, 2013

Weekend Get Away

We had beautiful weather in Charleston for quick weekend get away! Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We had to get the air conditioning turned on and staff was friendly but needed to fix it. Also TV needed repaired but they did do it right away. The only thing that was uncomfortable was the extremely tiny bathroom. Barely enough room to stand in let alone turn around in. Efficient use of space but not comfortable. Location is excellent and the staff friendly and for this reason, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O Ku is an excellent restaurant and within a short walk.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 28, 2009

excellent location & a charming hotel

Vacation activites included Harbor Tour, City Tour & Harbor Fest. Good restaurants, jazz in evening & shopping at the Market. A lot of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Tricycle to Market Sreet for shopping, restaurants, & bars. Very cheap. $4.50 per person one way. College student pedals cycle.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Towson, MD
Dec 23, 2010

Superb location

We are considering relocation to the Charleston area. It is important for us to be close to a city that has a "history", performing arts, culinary delights,etc. Charleston proved to be charming. The hotel location was wonderful, being within walking distance of all the local attractions day & night, yet easily accessible to the roads that would take us elsewhere on our excursions to the surrounding areas. What was missing? FREE parking for hotel guests. We were not anticipating the additional parking expense daily for the 5 days we were there. Missing? Shower caps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite a few dining,historical sites, shopping and entertainment events are within a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Don't take your car. Walk through the city and have fun.

Back to menu Return to top