Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
216 reviews
Relaxing mini vacation

Every employee at the hotel are very professional and friendly, they assisted us. Perfect location... See full review

  • Rupert my little boy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Loved this hotel

Recommend Valet Parking for the convenience of getting in and out quickly- great staff - so... See full review

  • Cotton Club
  • Aug 25, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Charleston.
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries - 1 block, college of charleston - 0.25 mile, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Oh
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 9, 2014

Enjoyable stay

Great location with friendly staff. Bathroom is pretty small but acceptable. I would recommend this hotel to those who are traveling to Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Rosie
Business
Manning, SC & San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2014

Wonderful sister trip

My Sister and I visited Charleston for the first time and we wanted to see some historical sights, do some shopping, fine dining, and just have fun in general. This hotel was perfect in every way and made our stay excellent. The accommodations were charming and comfortable and the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied. The concierge was so helpful in arranging tours and the restaurant staff was very attentive. We would highly recommend the Francis Marion to folks visiting Charleston for its convenient location and fine quality services provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free trolley provided to most areas and attractions.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jag656
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2014

Fantastic hotel!

I lived in charleston for 6 years and always wanted to stay here. Glad I finally did. Can't beat the location. Great room and view. I would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Hotel for my daughter's orientation at the College Of Charleston. The location was perfect. It was only a block away from the College and at the same time it was right in the middle of the main King Street shopping/restaurant district. It's an old Hotel that has been beautifully restored. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable with great linens and it was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small but functional. All employees that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most shops on King Street close early.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DTraveller
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great experience

I had a fantastic one night stay. Ive stayed at other premier hotels in the Historic Downtown area of Charleston, but the comfort and class of Francis Marion is a cut above. Very happy with the hotel and its staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The upper King Street area has awesome places to dine if you don't mind waiting a few minutes for a table and once your done, there are several top notch night clubs in the immediate vicinity. Francis Marion is perfect location to start from.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TobyH
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Quick visit

The room was large with a nice King bed. It had ample closet space and two full (albeit small) bathrooms. The location is good; easy to get to upper King as well as to the tip of the peninsula. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaelin
Business
New York, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Enjoy my stay at an old lovely classy hotel. Love the architect of the hotel.

Staff are friendly and informative. Service are impecable. Would stay there again! I wish they provide tea bags as well as coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wichita Lineman
Business
Lockport, New York
May 6, 2012

Yankee Carpetbaggers Invade Charleston

On our way back north after an Easter visit with our daughter. My wife and I decided to take in the sights of Charleston SC. Our decision to stay at the Francis Marion was based on price and location to the city center. We were not disappointed! The Francis Marion set us just on the outer edge of the Charleston shopping strip and almost next door to the university. A short morning walk through the opening stores placed us directly in the center of the "old town". Free trolleys were available on a regular schedule, but the walk was pleasant. Our first room was huge, but my wife desired more of a view and with a quick call to the front desk, we were given a smaller room, but with a window view to the main street and a view of the harbour. The small bar in the resturant was a pleasant stop at the end of a busy day. Our only complaint is the necessity of paying for parking in the lot next door. Valet parking was available (in the lot) if one didn't want to park themselves, but just add the price of parking into the room charge and have done with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The carrage rides don't know which part of town they will be able to view until they are loaded and leaving the staging area. Too late if you already seen that part of town. The ride was pleasant and informative, but we were glad that we had already walked the area we wanted to see. Because the carriage ride took a different location.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RAVENCONNORGAVIN GRAMMIE
Business
MERRITT ISLAND, FLORIDA
Jul 6, 2012

AWESOME

THIS WAS MY FIRST VISIT TO CHARLESTON AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. I LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

SWAMP FOX WAS JUST LOVELY.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHN and PAT
Business
FARMINGVILLE, NY
Aug 25, 2012

great short getaway

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL WAS NOTHING SHORT OF WONDERFUL FROM THE BELL STAFF TO THE FRONT DESK, THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE HOTEL IS A BEAUTIFUL OLD STYLE HOTEL. THE BEDS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN. LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR TOURING THE HISTORIC DISTRICT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top