Rate based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 19, 2016

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
17 reviews
Great Location

We spent our 41st Wedding Anniversary there. A friend of ours had special treats delivered to our... See full review

  • Still In Love
  • Sep 8, 2015
Awesome first trip to Charleston!

Just had a short stay at this hotel with my wife, we couldn't have been happier with the the... See full review

  • MB
  • Aug 31, 2015

The Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston is a National Trust Award-winning hotel. The award was due to various features of the hotel, one of them being the Spa Adagio. This spa provides first-class pampering done by a professional staff. The moment you enter the spa, you surrender yourself to a world of soothing aromas and relaxing sounds.

The staff takes you on a journey that restores and replenishes your mind, body and spirit. As the only high-rise hotel in the area, rooms in the Francis Marion give you an unsurpassed view of the Charleston Historic District.

Highlights

A visit to the hotel puts you right in the middle of the Charleston District just steps away from the College of Charleston and Marion Square. It is also in close proximity to the Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art and the Charleston Music Hall.

For exquisite cuisine, the Swamp Fox Restaurant & Bar gives you a chance to savor sumptuous dishes prepared using locally sourced farm products.

The restaurant also offers Southern dishes for breakfast, lunch and supper. You can enjoy award-winning shrimp and grits served by experienced resident chefs, or you can sip cocktails at the Swamp Fox Bar as you sway to live jazz piano music on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Downtown Historic Charleston on Upper King Street Across from Marion Square
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries, college of charleston, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipstrr
Single
Philadelphia PA
Nov 24, 2012

Fantastic history and architecture

From the minute you enter main lobby, the staff is fantastic. My experience rated with"W" hotels in Manhattan ! Try the " she crab" soup at Swamp Fox. Great location to everything...pack walking shoes for serious shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine with locals up on King St. I enjoyed "Mercury" Never saw so much duck- my favorite- on a menu!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time Charleston visit
Family
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2013

Comfy upscale hotel

A great choice for our first time in Charleston. The beds were super comfortable. The staff is extremely accommodating and pleasant. It was off season so they upgraded our room and great rate in the off season! A very nice surprise. The location is perfect, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The attached parking garage was very convenient with special rates for hotel guests. We are staying at the Francis Marion the next time we visit Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ahenson
Friends
South Carolina
Aug 18, 2013

Charleston getaway

Had a girls weekend in charleston. The Frances Marion Hotel was fabulous! The bathroom was a little small. The staff was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Pasta has a great menu!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elsa J.
Couples
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

Amazing trip !!!

Everything was perfect , excellent location , everyone at the hotel was extremely professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Family
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Hotel for my daughter's orientation at the College Of Charleston. The location was perfect. It was only a block away from the College and at the same time it was right in the middle of the main King Street shopping/restaurant district. It's an old Hotel that has been beautifully restored. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable with great linens and it was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small but functional. All employees that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most shops on King Street close early.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoAnn H.
Family
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

Time with granddaughter

Arrived a little early. Room was ready. Staff very friendly. Location is perfect for shopping on King St as well as a short walk to Market. Many restaurants close enough for walking. Garage parking close and you feel as if you are in a safe location. Help with bags is always available. This was our second stay this season. Very enjoyable visit to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MB
Couples
N/A
Aug 31, 2015

Awesome first trip to Charleston!

Just had a short stay at this hotel with my wife, we couldn't have been happier with the the location and quality of the hotel. First off, you can't beat the location. My wife and I walked everywhere on King street and beyond, the only time we used our car was when we were leaving the hotel. Second, the staff were extremely friendly. We had a late arrival, past midnight to be exact. The security guard looked after my wife in the lobby when I went to park the car and gave her great suggestions on where to eat in the surrounding area. Then there's the hotel itself, a testament to a bygone era only seen and read about in history. The large lobby with it's ornate decorations and grand piano to the rooms keeping their original footprint in design. I will gladly stay at this hotel again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Still In Love
Couples
N/A
Sep 8, 2015

Great Location

We spent our 41st Wedding Anniversary there. A friend of ours had special treats delivered to our room and the Hotel followed with cards of Congrats and chocolate covered strawberries both nights. Hotel staff members were excellent in meeting our needs and answering questions and giving us information about restaurants etc. Parking fee was not advertised and at $21(valet) plus tips became a little pricy. However, great place to spend a mini vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JHLP
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great place to visit! So much to see and do. So much history.

Very nice and friendly hotel. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sojourning gardener
Family
Seven Valleys, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, would recommend for a special occasion

My daughter and I stayed there for her 18th birthday and our first trip to Charleston. Positives: beautiful hotel, helpful staff, great room with two double beds and two bathrooms. We did not mind the bathroom size at all, unlike some reviewers. Restaurant was very good, excellent wait staff. We were within walking distance of all downtown Charleston sites, and the hotel is also right on the trolley line. Parking garage a short walk from the hotel was a few dollars cheaper than valet parking at hotel. Could be better: HVAC was difficult to balance--too warm, so we turned it off at night. A mini-fridge would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking tour with Ed Grimball in the morning, followed by a Gullah tour (African American perspective) bus tour in the afternoon. Both were excellent and gave us a good grounding in Charleston history and flavor.

Back to menu Return to top