Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
17 reviews
Amazing trip !!!

Everything was perfect , excellent location , everyone at the hotel was extremely professional. See full review

  • Elsa J.
  • Apr 24, 2015
Great location

Very professional clean very comfortable bed and room. You have plenty to walk to from this location See full review

  • Unedeuxtrois
  • Nov 30, 2014

The Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston is a National Trust Award-winning hotel. The award was due to various features of the hotel, one of them being the Spa Adagio. This spa provides first-class pampering done by a professional staff. The moment you enter the spa, you surrender yourself to a world of soothing aromas and relaxing sounds.

The staff takes you on a journey that restores and replenishes your mind, body and spirit. As the only high-rise hotel in the area, rooms in the Francis Marion give you an unsurpassed view of the Charleston Historic District.

Highlights

A visit to the hotel puts you right in the middle of the Charleston District just steps away from the College of Charleston and Marion Square. It is also in close proximity to the Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art and the Charleston Music Hall.

For exquisite cuisine, the Swamp Fox Restaurant & Bar gives you a chance to savor sumptuous dishes prepared using locally sourced farm products.

The restaurant also offers Southern dishes for breakfast, lunch and supper. You can enjoy award-winning shrimp and grits served by experienced resident chefs, or you can sip cocktails at the Swamp Fox Bar as you sway to live jazz piano music on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Downtown Historic Charleston on Upper King Street Across from Marion Square
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries, college of charleston, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 17
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time Charleston visit
Business
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2013

Comfy upscale hotel

A great choice for our first time in Charleston. The beds were super comfortable. The staff is extremely accommodating and pleasant. It was off season so they upgraded our room and great rate in the off season! A very nice surprise. The location is perfect, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The attached parking garage was very convenient with special rates for hotel guests. We are staying at the Francis Marion the next time we visit Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sojourning gardener
Business
Seven Valleys, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, would recommend for a special occasion

My daughter and I stayed there for her 18th birthday and our first trip to Charleston. Positives: beautiful hotel, helpful staff, great room with two double beds and two bathrooms. We did not mind the bathroom size at all, unlike some reviewers. Restaurant was very good, excellent wait staff. We were within walking distance of all downtown Charleston sites, and the hotel is also right on the trolley line. Parking garage a short walk from the hotel was a few dollars cheaper than valet parking at hotel. Could be better: HVAC was difficult to balance--too warm, so we turned it off at night. A mini-fridge would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking tour with Ed Grimball in the morning, followed by a Gullah tour (African American perspective) bus tour in the afternoon. Both were excellent and gave us a good grounding in Charleston history and flavor.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Hotel for my daughter's orientation at the College Of Charleston. The location was perfect. It was only a block away from the College and at the same time it was right in the middle of the main King Street shopping/restaurant district. It's an old Hotel that has been beautifully restored. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable with great linens and it was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small but functional. All employees that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most shops on King Street close early.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Hotel for my daughter's orientation at the College Of Charleston. The location was perfect. It was only a block away from the College and at the same time it was right in the middle of the main King Street shopping/restaurant district. It's an old Hotel that has been beautifully restored. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable with great linens and it was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small but functional. All employees that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most shops on King Street close early.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lovettsville, VA
Feb 24, 2011

Sister's only weekend

My sister and I were away for a long weekend and decided it would be best to stay in the historic district of Charleston, where we would be able to walk everywhere. This hotel fit the bill! It is full of old city charm and service. It is the oldest hotel in Charleston, and though remodeled, still carries the flavor from a different era. It has a grand foyer and doors are opened for you upon your arrival. The concierge was so helpful in making plans, reservations, etc, they went out of their way to be accomodating. It is about a 5-7 block walk downtown, and there are many terrific shops and restaurants all the way up and down the street on your way! If you don't want to walk, you can catch the free trolley just across the street, it runs most of the day but does shut down by about 8-9 pm. We felt safe walking everywhere,, even late at night and it never seemed like it was too far (but we do love to walk!) Wearing comfortable shoes is a must. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable, but if you like big bathrooms, don't come here! Ours was tiny, but completely functional, we didn't mind it at all. There is no pool here so that could be a drawback in the summer when it is hot. If you don't have bottled water in your room upon arrival, just ask the front desk and they will send it up. All in all, we were very happy with our choice of hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants downtown can be quite expensive, ask the concierge about where the "locals" go to eat, we saved money this way and the food was all delicious!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lovettsville, VA
Feb 24, 2011

Sister's only weekend

My sister and I were away for a long weekend and decided it would be best to stay in the historic district of Charleston, where we would be able to walk everywhere. This hotel fit the bill! It is full of old city charm and service. It is the oldest hotel in Charleston, and though remodeled, still carries the flavor from a different era. It has a grand foyer and doors are opened for you upon your arrival. The concierge was so helpful in making plans, reservations, etc, they went out of their way to be accomodating. It is about a 5-7 block walk downtown, and there are many terrific shops and restaurants all the way up and down the street on your way! If you don't want to walk, you can catch the free trolley just across the street, it runs most of the day but does shut down by about 8-9 pm. We felt safe walking everywhere,, even late at night and it never seemed like it was too far (but we do love to walk!) Wearing comfortable shoes is a must. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable, but if you like big bathrooms, don't come here! Ours was tiny, but completely functional, we didn't mind it at all. There is no pool here so that could be a drawback in the summer when it is hot. If you don't have bottled water in your room upon arrival, just ask the front desk and they will send it up. All in all, we were very happy with our choice of hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants downtown can be quite expensive, ask the concierge about where the "locals" go to eat, we saved money this way and the food was all delicious!

Back to menu Return to top