Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BurrrrColdShower
Business
London, KY, USA
Dec 3, 2013

Great with a pedigree

Very nice and comfortable historic hotel. Weather was terrible, but we can't fault the hotel for that! Great staff and service. Very nicely updated rooms while keeping the historic feel intact. Arrived early and hotel graciously provided an upgraded room that was immediately available at no additional expense!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMH89
Business
California
Dec 1, 2013

DON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE!!!!!

Fantastic location next to park and King Street shopping and dining. Short distance to waterfront. Rooms were huge with 2 bath rooms and two large beds! Good views over looking Marion Park. Only bad thing, but it's an area thing, is paying for parking next door for $14/nite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mumdrum
Business
Vienna, Virginia
Nov 18, 2013

Southern Hospitality at its Best

This lovely grand old hotel was a superb choice for us. We had the most enjoyable weekend which started the minute we arrived at the hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and terrifically kind. Thanks to all who welcomed us to the wonderful city of Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick up a city map and start your journey on King St. Do a loop and visit the old Market and shops all along the way. There were too many cute and fun shops to name. Enjoy!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.G. Here for the wedding
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2013

Comfy stay in a great location

We came to Charleston for a wedding. We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. It was nothing too extravagant. The beds were very comfy and everything was clean. No fridge or microwave in the room, but the nice girls at the front counter microwaved our leftovers for us. When we came it was really hot and I think it would have been nice to stay at a hotel with a pool, but this was slightly better priced than those hotels. Location-wise it was great. It was extremely close to the shopping on King Street and the museums. We loved the Charleston museum. Definitely a comfortable stay. I slept like a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Charleston museum. Tons of history packed into a medium sized museum.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trinxs
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 7, 2013

My best hotel stay, EVER!

The Francis Marion was an excellent hotel in every way. The staff in every department went above and beyond in friendliness and to accommodate our needs. The most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel. Lovely room and very clean. The only thing lacking was we did not have a small refrigerator in the room. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Strret is only a short wlak from the hotel, but right there on King Street there is exceptional shops and restaurants, just cross Calhoun St. and you're there.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NCOD
Business
Graham, NC
Oct 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel.. Smells like puke!!

All of the elevators smelled like vomit every day, which was less than enticing when we were going out to or returning from dinner. NOT ACCEPTABLE. Also the air conditioning was broken in our room and with temperatures in Charleston soaring into the 90's in September, this was a BIG PROBLEM. We will not be back, needless to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book a hotel either close to Market Street or King Street in the historic downtown district if you plan on touring Charleston by foot.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra E
Business
Traverse City, MI
Sep 20, 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, comfy beds

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and an amazingly accomodating staff. The room was fine, nicely decorated and in good condition. Bathrooms are small, but that is to be expected from a hotel built in 1924. However, there was a huge walk-in closet. The tub didn't drain very well, which we informed the front desk of when we were leaving. Nothing we couldn't live with, and certainly we would go back. We've stayed in many old hotels in Europe and this compared very well with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Restaurant week is a great time to visit Charleston!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2005alumni
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 16, 2013

Wedding

The Francis Marion is a historic gem located in the heart of downtown Charleston. It's within walking distance to most of the city and has all the amenities you'd expect, well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allison28
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 14, 2013

Best Location in Charleston

When booking a hotel for Charleston we were tempted by all the pricey inns that offered social hours with wine & cheese or sherry. We went with Francis Marion mostly based on price & were glad we did. This hotel's location is so convenient for accessing everything in downtown Charleston - Couldn't have asked for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Ultimate Traveler
Business
Cartersville, Georgia
Sep 7, 2013

Highly Suggested

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Francis Marion hotel. The hotel was clean, friendly, and accommodating. Additionally, the price was not overwhelming like many of Charleston's downtown hotels. That makes this hotel and its amenities a huge value. I highly suggest staying at the Francis Marion when visiting Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Charleston Crab House. Wonderful food and atmosphere that's not far from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top