Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Great location

Location is excellent, all the good stuff is within walking distance. A little expensive for what... See full review

  • Seby
  • Oct 2, 2014
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Charleston Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7866 -79.9335
Area served
Chareston Historic District
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 11.10, MI, S; Charleston Executive Airport, (JZI), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 64
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deannei
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2014

Charleston stay

Hotel was very nice. Loved having a balcony. The staff was friendly. My only problem was the elevators took a long time and could not find any stair way to take. Also, the parking needs to be addressed. There was parking adjacent to the hotel and some overflow parking across the street (needed to cross a fairly busy road). We had to park in this overflow section, but saw employees going to cars in the adjacent lots. You would think the hotel would have the employees park in the overflow lot and leave the closer spots for the guests especially considering the guest are carrying suitcases/baggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keromo
Business
Florence
Jul 7, 2014

Fun fourth

Enjoyed the hotel. Great location. The staff wS quite helpful with what to do and where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flordia Boy
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 26, 2014

Floridaboy

The hotel itself was very nice. The room was very clean and well decorated. The bed was a little softer than we would like, but OK. You do get charged for parking, but no problems with the self parking. The hotel is approximately one mile from the main downtown area of Charleston. No problem for us. If you want something closer the price goes up. Breakfast is a charge. The only two complaints. A small one: most hotels have free coffee for guests even when they have a restaurant. They did not. It was a charge. Come on guy! The big one was the concierge service. They had a big sign in your room about why you should use their concierge. We just had a simple question of a few seafood restaurant recommendations. I waited a few minutes for the first guest to finish. Then the next person. After a while I stood up and she noticed me. She said she would be a while. The guest was scheduling her whole week out? I told her I had a quick question on seafood restaurants. She shoved a few menus at me and said look at these. Waiting a while longer. Finally just looked up restaurant on my phone. I questioned if you have to make an appointment?? Not impressed with a service they advertise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Again, the hotel is about a mile from the downtown area of Charleston. If you don't mind walking it is find. Otherwise you will have to drive and then find and pay for parking.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Walkabout
Business
Alaska
Jan 30, 2014

Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in everyway! Would highly recomend this property for its ease to get around the city. THe free trolly stop just around the corner made it perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddddddddddddddddddd
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 29, 2012

Family Get away

This hotel is very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is walking distance to King St. (Shopping and dining), Meeting St, Market Square, and the French Quarter. It was a very pleasurable stay and I would stay there again. The value was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Pope St was a very nice restuarant across from the Visitor Center. It was called "Rue De (I forgot the rest)" but is has a sign out front with a big 39 on it. Definitely worth having a nice lunch there.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
last one
Business
Ada Oklahoma
May 23, 2012

school trip

Staff was the best of any hotel That I have stayed in, will be making many trips to Charleston over the next three years and will be staying there exclusively. Do you offer discounts for the number of times you stay? Staff was helpful on directions, transportation, and all aspects of my trip. Very satisfied!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zelkabets
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Nice, but overpriced.

We had a one night stop in Charleston and wanted to try to get a glimpse of the city. The hotel is located close to the sites of the historic area. The hotel was expensive with it's room rate which does not include a $14 fee for car parking. The food at the restaurant within the hotel was also expensive. We had an overall good experience. We just felt that we overpaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge for excellent local fare.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yepr
Business
raleigh, north carolina
Nov 28, 2011

raleighncvisitor

The staff was really welcoming and the hotel was really clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Nov 27, 2010

Great way to see Charleston

Great location and very helpful concierge. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Magnolia Restaurant on Bay St. It Certainly lived up to its reputation of one of the best restaurant's in the south.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Chicago Visitor
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 15, 2010

Stay here and walk Charleston!

The room was clean and good sized. The service from ALL the staff was polite. The location is an easy walk to the ferry to Fort Sumter, the Aquarium, The Charleston Museum, many restaurants, several historic homes, the water taxi over to Patriot's Point (USS Yorktown and a WWII submarine), and so much more we didn't have time to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Concierge was busy at the time, but all the staff is so helpful and friendly so the front desk clerk tipped us off to have dinner at "Coast" and the meal nearly made me cry it was so good!

Back to menu Return to top