Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
63 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Charleston, SC Hotel

We stayed at the Courtyard for a two night visit to Charleston, SC on business and for a quick... See full review

  • Athens Visit
  • Jul 21, 2014
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Charleston Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7866 -79.9335
Area served
Chareston Historic District
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 11.10, MI, S; Charleston Executive Airport, (JZI), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anderson, SC
Sep 2, 2009

highly disappointing

I have been to better Holiday Inns in rural areas. The room was tiny and very noisy. We requested a room with a balcony and we got one... too bad the door to the balcony had no latch and wouldn't close properly. we were kept up all night by the non-stop traffic below. Also, kepping the room cool was next ot impossible due to the crack in the door. We love the Charleston area and will return but we will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrplatoguy
St. Charles, IL
Jul 1, 2009

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel, not especially close to market you can walk it, but it's quite a walk. The rooms were great with plenty of room. The parking is very tight for larger cars, and cost $11.00 a day, something I didn't see on the web site. Some nights there wasn't enough room and you park across the street in the church parking lot. The concierge was very friendly and a great help in planning tours, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Former Charlestonian
Atlanta, GA
Jan 1, 2010

Fair for the price, but expected more

Good price, great location. Located in the heart of Charleston -- easy access to great restaurants and bars on upper King St. and shopping areas. Staff consistently greeted upon arrival and departure. Overall, hotel is clean and fairly comfortable, however the guest rooms could use some love and attention to detail (wallpaper border peeling in areas, dust on baseboards and vents). The room was in need of a deep clean. Dusty, dusty, dusty. The windows did not open which did not allow guests and/or hotel staff to clear the allergans from the air. In closing, to be fair, I am accustomed to higher end hotel chains and boutique hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upper King St. has several wonderful restaurants and bars within 2 blocks of the hotel.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beverly715
Chattanooga, TN
Aug 16, 2009

Adequate

Good location; convenient to dining and historical attractions. Parking additional $11/daily. No microwave/fridge in room; no continental breakfast. Air conditioner noisy. Nice front porch area with fans and rocking chairs. Highly touted concierge never available. Because of location, this was an adequate place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justene's is a short walk from hotel. Decent home cooking. Less impressed with Hominy Grill, which is not within walking distance.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zelkabets
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Nice, but overpriced.

We had a one night stop in Charleston and wanted to try to get a glimpse of the city. The hotel is located close to the sites of the historic area. The hotel was expensive with it's room rate which does not include a $14 fee for car parking. The food at the restaurant within the hotel was also expensive. We had an overall good experience. We just felt that we overpaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge for excellent local fare.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Oct 30, 2009

Good location for the price

Great helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deannei
New York
Jul 21, 2014

Charleston stay

Hotel was very nice. Loved having a balcony. The staff was friendly. My only problem was the elevators took a long time and could not find any stair way to take. Also, the parking needs to be addressed. There was parking adjacent to the hotel and some overflow parking across the street (needed to cross a fairly busy road). We had to park in this overflow section, but saw employees going to cars in the adjacent lots. You would think the hotel would have the employees park in the overflow lot and leave the closer spots for the guests especially considering the guest are carrying suitcases/baggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College of Charleston parent
Long Island, New York
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, super friendly, clean

This Holiday Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The staff could not have been nicer. I requested extra hangars for the room and within 5 minutes they were delivered. I asked for water bottles twice daily and they gave them to me for no charge. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike on the run
Business
Hartford, CT
Oct 3, 2012

Nice to Deal with Pros

This was a business trip for me - which means I had a lot to get done in a short amount of time. The hotel made it easy to check in, get comfortable, do all I needed to do, check out, store bags for the day after checkout and get a cab to the airport right on schedule. Well done! It's a pleasure dealing with competent, pleasant, accommodating professionals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Oct 10, 2010

Holiday Inn Charleston

We booked the hotel based on the experience of a friend who had a student at College of Charleston and loved the location. We needed to go to a wedding in Mt. Pleasant, but wanted to be able to spend time in the historic district, as well as other touristic areas like the plantations, the waterfront and the beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining is awesome. There is so much to do and eat in every location.

Back to menu Return to top