Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Andrew Pinckney Inn

3 stars
40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
77 reviews
great hotel

loved this hotel, great location, nice breakfast on terrace. Very helpful reception See full review

  • jabtw
  • Aug 27, 2013
Perfect Location

The Andrew Pinckney is one of the few Charleston hotels located on a quiet street within easy... See full review

  • Cytar
  • Apr 21, 2013
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Junior Suite
The Deluxe King features an oversized sitting area with sleeper sofa writing desk King bed and dressing area. These accommodations are located in the Atrium of Church Street Building with views onto one of Charlestons colorful rooftops.
Standard
Decorated in the same tasteful style as our suites and townhouses our spacious Traditional Inn Rooms feature one king bed or two double beds. These rooms feature modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions.
Standard
Our quaint historic value rooms are located in the Church Street Building with views either into the atrium or street. These value rooms feature one queen bed along with modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions WiFi and Gilchrist And So
Standard
Decorated in the same tasteful style as our suites and townhouses our spacious Traditional Inn Rooms feature one king bed or two double beds. These rooms feature modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions.
Standard
Our quaint historic value rooms are located in the Church Street Building with views either into the atrium or street. These value rooms feature one queen bed along with modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions WiFi and Gilchrist And So
Suite
Our two story townhouse suites feature a living area on the first floor with a pullout sleeper sofa 42 flat screen television half bath and a wet bar area complete with refrigerator and microwave. The master bedroom located on the second floor features a

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7824 -79.93
Nearby airports
Charleston AFB/Intl Airport, (CHS), 11.50, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lexington, SC
Aug 16, 2009

"great locations and friendly staff"

Traveled to Charleston for a girls night out. Could not ask for a closer place to everything. Appreciated the complimentary soaps and shampoos(bath & body works). Great stay for the money. Would definetly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans seafood

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Linda M.
Spring Grove Pa
Aug 10, 2009

Beautiful & Quaint

We found the Inn to be charming when we drove in. However, we were very disappointed to learn we were staying across the street & not actually at the Inn. The first room was very tiny with one small bed. The office claimed it was a queen size but we have a queen size & this was NOT a queen. The room was horribly tiny & we would have left if another room was not available. Fortunately for us, there was a cancellation & we were able to move down the hall to a larger room with two beds. This was what we originally requested.Upon leaving we discovered we had to pay $14 a day for parking which we did not realize before booking.Charleston is a beautiful & charming city. A city tour is the best way to enjoy it & learn the history. The architecture is unparalled in style & beauty. The gardens are exquisite. The dining was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the local small eateries. The food is fabulous & the pricing is fair. Dine early (lunch or dinner) to avoid a long wait.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
Morris trip
Savannah GA
Aug 6, 2009

College shopping overnighter

The location was excellent! We were within walking distance from everything we wanted to do. Will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Tennessee
Aug 1, 2009

Great lcation for visiting on foot

We had to have a roll away bed brought into the room for our child which was fine, but made the room way too crowded. We had to climb over her to get to the bathroom while the bed was out. Other than that the stay was fine. The continential breakfast was good for a small a.m. snack. Graeat location for walking around historic Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Folly Beach is a short drive to visit a quiet spot on the ocean.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Mary & Ricky are 50
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2009

romantic historic property...but noisy

This small hotel is located in the heart of old Charleston, so it's walking distance to everything. Our room was on the corner so the street noise with trucks early in the morning & during the night was a nuisance. The nicely decorated rooms were very charming,comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed every meal we had there...Hank's, SNOB, Cru, Mercato...all very good! The beach at Isle of Palms was very very crowded... Beachwalker near Kiawah is worth the drive because it's much less populated. Both beaches had umbrella and chair rentals at reasonable prices. Overall, a great destination for a couples romantic get-away...lots of beautiful architecture & history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks at sunset at the rooftop bar of the Pavillion Hotel is a must!

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bradenton Florida
Jul 14, 2009

Lovely hotel -cold desk staff

The hotel is lovely and very well kept. Like a walk back in time to match lovely Charleston. The rooms were clean but a tiny bathroom (toilet/bathtub-shower)with the sink outside the bathroom. We had a two dbl bed room. The location is fantastic within walking distance of the market, shops, restaurants and the trolley stops. The desk staff was less than friendly (actually a bit rude)but overall the stay was quite nice. Price was good. A pool would have been a delight in the hot, muggy July weather but it was just as good without one. The desk/chair furniture was too big for the room and would have made it roomier with a small desk and chair. The placement made the room tight to move around in with our suitcases and purchases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Sticky Fingers and had no wait at all. Service was excellent and food was quite good. Just down the street people waited for a long time to eat seafood and sat out on the HOT sidewalk for their tables. Too hot for us. Lots of places to eat though within easy walking distance down near the market.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
dallas, pa
Jul 13, 2009

comfortable stay

Room was very nice clean quiet comfortable we liked the location and enjoyed sitting at the outside restaurant for breakfast. The continental breakfast was very good, nice selection. Loved the use of glass dinner plates, not plastic or paper. Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

large selections. Hanks was right around to corner and the food was delicious

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
Lite Weight
Greenville, SC
Jul 13, 2009

Ultimate Boutique Hotel Experience

Excellent hotel, perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Nice, but street noise.

The hotel has a good location in the historic district. The only downside was hearing street noise - not just people walking by, but a bar(?) dumping class periodically through the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jun 4, 2009

Nice Location But Poor Service

The hotel (we were in the four-story building across the street from registration) was quiet...probably because few people were staying there. We won't stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone. Our room was casually maintained and visited by ants and palmetto bugs. BIG palmetto bugs. But, worse, the room smelled like fish for the entire three days we were there. When I mentioned that to the day manager he replied, "Huh. I haven't heard THAT one before." He did not investigate the smell at all...and I wasn't asking for any compensation for the inconvenience. But it sounded like he'd already been hearing complaints from other guests. Our flight on check-out day was at 5:55am, so we tried to set the alarm on the clock radio. It didn't work. When I mentioned THAT to the front desk, the reply was, "Well, you can request an automated wake-up call." I did, and, because we couldn't afford to miss our plane, I requested a human call at 3:30am to make sure. I was assured the night manager would do so, and I was assured we'd have a statement under our door by the time we checked out at 4am. Not only was there no bill (apparently we don't need one if we've prepaid through Orbitz...which the night manager didn't know), but the night manager forgot to make that wake-up call. (Fortunately I had an alarm program on my laptop.) When I entered the lobby to check out, the night manager looked up and said, "Oh, I was a bad person. I forgot to call you." Speaking of computers, the free WiFi is fine...if you can work with dial-up speed. It was slow enough to be useless for anything but short emails. We were only two blocks from Meeting Street or the marketplace, which was great, so I guess we were paying the high price for location and not for service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town shuts down after 6pm, so shop early or get a good meal. Stickey BBQ is as good as Colbert says. Don't miss the first and only MoonPie General Store.

Back to menu Return to top