Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
142 reviews
Best hotel in town

This hotel is in the perfect location. To one side you have the Charleston Museum and King Street... See full review

  • Just MeMyselfandI
  • May 14, 2014
great hotel

loved this hotel, great location, nice breakfast on terrace. Very helpful reception See full review

  • jabtw
  • Aug 27, 2013
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.
Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7824 -79.93
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
CHS
Area description
Located in close proximity to many of Charleston's attractions. Within a mile of the hotel is the IMAX Theatre, SC Aquarium, Powder Magazine,Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon, Gibbes Museum of Art, Charleston Museum, Confederate Museum and the Nathaniel Russell House.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 2, 2010

3 day getaway

It was a great trip. The location was perfect because it's close to everything downtown so we didn't have to drive except when we went to the beach. There were great restaurants, bars and fun things to do just outside our hotel doors. The only thing was the breakfast was good for the average person but I have celiac's disease so carbs are not my friend and almost everything on the breakfast buffet was bread related. Everthing else was great. I would go back and stay again at the Andrew Pickney Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hanks is right beside the hotel and we had a delicious meal there. There is a rooftop bar (market inn?) around the corner from the hotel which is great to sit outside have a cocktail and enjoy the view of the city.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost chasers
Richmond, VA
Mar 30, 2010

Old Charleston charm

Stayed in Charleston one night on the way to Kiawah. Found this place online and it looked like a good value and nice atmosphere. It exceded my expectations. It was different than I thought from the photos as it is made up of two buildings across the street from each other. We stayed on the first floor on the side with the registration office. The room was beautifully renovated and very nicely appointed. The bed was so comfortable that my wife jotted down the manufacturer so we could order one when we got home. The staff was wonderful and accomodating. The location was central to the areas we planned to visit (Market Streets, etc). The only drawbacks were that it was a little difficult to find if you aren't used to one way, old city streets. Don't trust your navigation system. Our room was on the street level which was fine until about 7AM when the street sweeper came by several times and traffic picked up. The continental breakfast is modest but held on a rooftop cafe area in the building opposite from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

East Bay Street is a short walk (3-5 blocks) and loaded with great dining. We ate at Cypress at the recommendation of a local friend and it was fabulous (pricey but worth it). Everyone in our party raved about their food. The atmosphere is a great mix of old warehouse and Manhattan chic. The wine cellar rises 3 stories and is something to behold. The waiter was extraordinary. After dinner we stopped by Social, a wine bar for the younger crowd. Their wine list is made of many unique wines that aren't found in most big box stores. The Rooftop Bar near Cypress was also a great place for a pre-dinner drink with a rooftop view of the city.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost chasers
Richmond, VA
Mar 30, 2010

Old Charleston charm

Stayed in Charleston one night on the way to Kiawah. Found this place online and it looked like a good value and nice atmosphere. It exceded my expectations. It was different than I thought from the photos as it is made up of two buildings across the street from each other. We stayed on the first floor on the side with the registration office. The room was beautifully renovated and very nicely appointed. The bed was so comfortable that my wife jotted down the manufacturer so we could order one when we got home. The staff was wonderful and accomodating. The location was central to the areas we planned to visit (Market Streets, etc). The only drawbacks were that it was a little difficult to find if you aren't used to one way, old city streets. Don't trust your navigation system. Our room was on the street level which was fine until about 7AM when the street sweeper came by several times and traffic picked up. The continental breakfast is modest but held on a rooftop cafe area in the building opposite from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

East Bay Street is a short walk (3-5 blocks) and loaded with great dining. We ate at Cypress at the recommendation of a local friend and it was fabulous (pricey but worth it). Everyone in our party raved about their food. The atmosphere is a great mix of old warehouse and Manhattan chic. The wine cellar rises 3 stories and is something to behold. The waiter was extraordinary. After dinner we stopped by Social, a wine bar for the younger crowd. Their wine list is made of many unique wines that aren't found in most big box stores. The Rooftop Bar near Cypress was also a great place for a pre-dinner drink with a rooftop view of the city.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PGC
chicago
Mar 29, 2010

Great location

Great location and good breakfast. But room 306 is next to the roof power vent for the restaurant next door and can be a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

centrally located and easy walking distance to downtown historic district.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PGC
chicago
Mar 29, 2010

Great location

Great location and good breakfast. But room 306 is next to the roof power vent for the restaurant next door and can be a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

centrally located and easy walking distance to downtown historic district.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Small hotel

A nice little hotel, but the rooms are small with no closests. The insulation was poor and there was a lot of street noise and some from other guests when they came back to the hotel late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyman's Seafood. Very good food at reasonable prices.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Small hotel

A nice little hotel, but the rooms are small with no closests. The insulation was poor and there was a lot of street noise and some from other guests when they came back to the hotel late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyman's Seafood. Very good food at reasonable prices.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta ga
Feb 7, 2010

nice

It was a bed to sleep in the breakfast was very nice each morning but no place to sit except outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jumpint
North Carolina
Jan 27, 2010

Wonderful location and filling breakfast

A great place to stay. We parked the car and it never moved until we left Charleston. Breakfast on the terrace saved us money from eating out every morning. This is a comfortable place to stay. It is welcoming and more casual than others like Frances Marion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Toast on Meeting St. We dined there twice for lunch.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jumpint
North Carolina
Jan 27, 2010

Wonderful location and filling breakfast

A great place to stay. We parked the car and it never moved until we left Charleston. Breakfast on the terrace saved us money from eating out every morning. This is a comfortable place to stay. It is welcoming and more casual than others like Frances Marion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Toast on Meeting St. We dined there twice for lunch.

Back to menu Return to top