Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
84 reviews
Best Value for Downtown Charleston

I was looking to book our honeymoon and was questioning whether or not to stay downtown. I am so... See full review

  • Traveling Summers
  • Nov 21, 2014
Best hotel in town

This hotel is in the perfect location. To one side you have the Charleston Museum and King Street... See full review

  • Just MeMyselfandI
  • May 14, 2014
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7824 -79.93
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
CHS
Area description
Located in close proximity to many of Charleston's attractions. Within a mile of the hotel is the IMAX Theatre, SC Aquarium, Powder Magazine,Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon, Gibbes Museum of Art, Charleston Museum, Confederate Museum and the Nathaniel Russell House.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nickname No
Business
Virgina
Dec 28, 2012

This may be our last stay with Andrew Pinckney

First of all, the Inn changed to "valet" parking and added a $20 fee per day to its overall charges, something that those of us who've stayed with them before were not expecting. Secondly, we got to our room and the staff was still in it, so we had to wait for a few minutes, even though the Lobby/Front Desk staff told us the room was ready. Then, I found that there was sand in the bed on the fitted sheet and that it was stained, which indicated the sheets had not been changed! Once reported, they moved us immediately, but the room we got had its issues as well. They told us we'd have a window, which was true, but the faux wood blinds were broken, so you couldn't open them properly to see out. The bathroom tiles were cracked and the grout was dirty. The carpet was dirty. No extra pillows. No where to plug in anything other than the bathroom because the outlets were hidden. I suppose that I could go on and on, but I just wish that the management would overhaul the Inn, make repairs, and alert the staff that going through the motions is not enough. I hope that the Andrew Pinckney will revive that "special something" that made them a great place to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clark and Menefee fan
Business
Virginia
Aug 10, 2012

Pleasant morning awakening

I have stayed here a few times, and all of my experiences at the hotel have been great. The staff are very helpful and accommodating, and the room was clean and comfortable. I really like the original wood floors in the rooms, and the continental breakfast on the roof terrace is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wedding tripper
Business
georgia
Jul 1, 2012

Great Location

Service was great, especially the woman who checked us in, gave us good information on where to go. Couldn't have asked for a better location, walking distance to the market and all the shopping and restaurants. As noted in other reviews, rooms and bathroom were small, not as bothersome as the low water pressure, which was a little frustrating. Walls were thin, you could hear people coming and going & I would recommend your own ambient-noise maker or something similar if you are AT ALL a light sleeper. The rooftop area was awesome for an evening drink if you have your own beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Let the front desk staff know what you're doing! They have tons of coupons for restaurants and tours that they can give you!

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Parry
Business
France
Feb 21, 2012

Nice location, bit dated

Its a nice place with a nice roof top breakfast. Jut the rooms are a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gzork the Martian
Business
Earth
Jan 28, 2012

Easy Going

Well positioned in the heart of the French Quarter, pleasant walk in any direction to splendid assortment of places to eat/drink etc. Price very reasonable for downtown high-tourist-traffic area. Staff friendly, helpful, gave me late check-out and free bike parking. Building has charm and aura of genteel Old South. Safe at night, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish we were there
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Christmas in Charleston

We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms/bed were comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for enjoying historic Charleston. The dining experience could have been improved as the rooftop breakfast was too cold to be enjoyed and the 2nd floor alternative was outside of guest rooms which was not optimal. The breakfasts were not as good as other B and Bs. But, the free access to EcoFitness and Blue Turtle Yoga was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmy1
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Perfect lil getaway

very friendly,clean and comfortable. Wonderful location to all the shops and restaurants. Had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there when I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a killer dinner at basil. The front desk was extremely helpful to all the great restaurants.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JEBinNC
Business
North Carolina, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Ask for details about each room

The Andrew Pickney Inn is an amalgamation of several historic buildings. As such, some rooms are quite small and oddly configured. Room #306 is pretty tiny -- not big enough for a dresser -- and had a window that looked onto an interior stairwell -- basically windowless. The bathroom was cute but equally tiny -- you had to close the door to access the shower or sit on the commode. Overall it's not a comfortable place to spend much time. That said, the rooftop deck where they serve breakfast is quite attractive, and the breakfast options are better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fotojunkie
Business
Upstate South Carolina, United States
Sep 9, 2011

Great Charleston lodging.

My Sept. 2011 stay at the Andrew Pinckney was wonderful. I had read reviews prior to arrival and was well aware that the building was very old, but well renovated. I found that it had character and was a very comfortable place to stay. As a woman traveling alone I was very at ease here and slept wonderfully both nights, in spite of a little noise from neighbors coming in about 1 am. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they allowed me to check in early. The location was great, I parked my car and spent two days walking all over Charleston. The inn is close to Market Street and convenient to many restaurants and attractions. I had never been to the city before and I didn't even need to consult the maps to find my way back to the inn since it was at the end of Church St., all I had to do was find Church St. and get going! The rooftop breakfast was what I expected from a complimentary breakfast and I found it nice that they use real plates and silverware. If I had to change anything about the room (210) it would have been the view. I didn't have one, but next time I will request a street side room. However, the view is really unimportant when you have all of Charleston to see and who wants to look at it from the room when you can see it from the street. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercato italian restaurant at 102 N.Market St. is a nice place that I found. I am vegetarian, and they had a few options on the menu that the waiter was able to recommend for me. The service was wonderful and they had live jazz music during dinner. Short walk from the inn.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus, ohio
Aug 2, 2011

Very Good

Very nice place with a great location. Far enough off from the main noisy area, but very walkable. Close to everything. Service was very good. When we arrived we realized that the building we were in did not have an elevator, which is a problem for my wife who has two new kness. They moved upgraded our room and moved us to the bulding with the elevator. The entire staff couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top