Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Andrew Pinckney Inn

3 stars
40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
77 reviews
great hotel

loved this hotel, great location, nice breakfast on terrace. Very helpful reception See full review

  • jabtw
  • Aug 27, 2013
Perfect Location

The Andrew Pinckney is one of the few Charleston hotels located on a quiet street within easy... See full review

  • Cytar
  • Apr 21, 2013
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Junior Suite
The Deluxe King features an oversized sitting area with sleeper sofa writing desk King bed and dressing area. These accommodations are located in the Atrium of Church Street Building with views onto one of Charlestons colorful rooftops.
Standard
Decorated in the same tasteful style as our suites and townhouses our spacious Traditional Inn Rooms feature one king bed or two double beds. These rooms feature modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions.
Standard
Our quaint historic value rooms are located in the Church Street Building with views either into the atrium or street. These value rooms feature one queen bed along with modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions WiFi and Gilchrist And So
Standard
Decorated in the same tasteful style as our suites and townhouses our spacious Traditional Inn Rooms feature one king bed or two double beds. These rooms feature modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions.
Standard
Our quaint historic value rooms are located in the Church Street Building with views either into the atrium or street. These value rooms feature one queen bed along with modern amenities such as our new 32 flat screen televisions WiFi and Gilchrist And So
Suite
Our two story townhouse suites feature a living area on the first floor with a pullout sleeper sofa 42 flat screen television half bath and a wet bar area complete with refrigerator and microwave. The master bedroom located on the second floor features a

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7824 -79.93
Nearby airports
Charleston AFB/Intl Airport, (CHS), 11.50, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
JEBinNC
North Carolina, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Ask for details about each room

The Andrew Pickney Inn is an amalgamation of several historic buildings. As such, some rooms are quite small and oddly configured. Room #306 is pretty tiny -- not big enough for a dresser -- and had a window that looked onto an interior stairwell -- basically windowless. The bathroom was cute but equally tiny -- you had to close the door to access the shower or sit on the commode. Overall it's not a comfortable place to spend much time. That said, the rooftop deck where they serve breakfast is quite attractive, and the breakfast options are better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
fotojunkie
Upstate South Carolina, United States
Sep 9, 2011

Great Charleston lodging.

My Sept. 2011 stay at the Andrew Pinckney was wonderful. I had read reviews prior to arrival and was well aware that the building was very old, but well renovated. I found that it had character and was a very comfortable place to stay. As a woman traveling alone I was very at ease here and slept wonderfully both nights, in spite of a little noise from neighbors coming in about 1 am. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they allowed me to check in early. The location was great, I parked my car and spent two days walking all over Charleston. The inn is close to Market Street and convenient to many restaurants and attractions. I had never been to the city before and I didn't even need to consult the maps to find my way back to the inn since it was at the end of Church St., all I had to do was find Church St. and get going! The rooftop breakfast was what I expected from a complimentary breakfast and I found it nice that they use real plates and silverware. If I had to change anything about the room (210) it would have been the view. I didn't have one, but next time I will request a street side room. However, the view is really unimportant when you have all of Charleston to see and who wants to look at it from the room when you can see it from the street. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercato italian restaurant at 102 N.Market St. is a nice place that I found. I am vegetarian, and they had a few options on the menu that the waiter was able to recommend for me. The service was wonderful and they had live jazz music during dinner. Short walk from the inn.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
columbus, ohio
Aug 2, 2011

Very Good

Very nice place with a great location. Far enough off from the main noisy area, but very walkable. Close to everything. Service was very good. When we arrived we realized that the building we were in did not have an elevator, which is a problem for my wife who has two new kness. They moved upgraded our room and moved us to the bulding with the elevator. The entire staff couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Georgia
Jul 25, 2011

Charleston Visit

Great hotel. Very close to market area and dining. Enjoyed the breakfast on the hotel balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
First timer to Charleston
Massachusetts
Mar 21, 2011

Fantastic location, gracious inn!

The inn was just lovely. We arrived early and tired and were greeted by two very gracious and friendly clerks. They could not check us in due to our early arrival, but offered us a place to freshen up and held our bags for us. We were given a map and recommendations of what to visit and how to get there. Everything was in walking distance of the inn! Our room was simple, charming and clean. The rooftop sitting area where the continental breakfast (but plenty of food was served) was like sitting in a garden that overlooks the ocean in the distance. I would definitely go back to the Andrew Pickney Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Grandmarmie
Austin, Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Lovely room, great breakfast!!

Great location for restaurants, sightseeing, church,and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Newly relocated to Charleston
Jan 1, 2011

Good value

The location of this hotel was fantastic. The room was pretty nice, and pretty clean. The continental breakfast on the rooftop, while not a culinary miracle, was adequate with a really nice view. When looking for hotel rooms in downtown Charleston, this was the best deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several really great places to eat within a short walking distance to the hotel

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Aiken SC
Dec 20, 2010

Graduation Weekend !!

We loved the Andrew Pinkney Inn ! The beds were the most comfortable we've slept in away from home .Breakfast was wonderful, coffee right outside the rooms on the 2nd floor , the Balcony was beautiful . The Inn employees were very friendly and always willing to help .Thank you we had a great visit , with hopes of returning again soon .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mercato's was excellent !

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
myrtle beach, sc
Nov 20, 2010

nice over-nighter

was attending a college basketball tournament. hotel was great, would ask for a room in the back. alot of street noise, with trucks unloading and people traffic coming from the night clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

out-door market was very good, all shopping and dining was a short walk away.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chesapeake, Va
Oct 24, 2010

Charming!

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Charleston and the Andrew Pinckney Inn was a perfect fit for what we were looking for. Right in the center of the Historical District, we walked everywhere we wanted to go. The rooftop Terrace served a lovely breakfast...we also escaped there in the evening after a full day of sightseeing. The managment is very helpful. Parking is available in a parking garage next door for $14.00 a day. If I had to mention something negative it would be that the bathrooms are on the smaller side, and there is only 1 mirror in the room. This can be overlooked being that everything else was exceptional, I'll go back gladly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charleston is loaded with restaurants, we stumbled upon Gilligans right down the street the first night we were there. It was not crowded, had the fried oyster plate and it was delicious.

Back to menu Return to top