Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
205 reviews
Great hotel, great location!

I stayed at the Windsor Suites for business in mid-April. The room was very clean and spacious. The... See full review

  • Mom of fantastic Marine
  • Apr 16, 2014
A M A Z I N G !!!!!

This was an amazing deal and I'm glad to have had an opportunity to use it!!!! The staff was very... See full review

  • BOTTOMDOLLAR
  • Mar 2, 2014
Comfort and convenience at Center City all-suites non-smoking hotel
The Windsor Suites is an all-suites hotel with apartment-style accommodations and is also home to private residents. This non-smoking hotel is a popular choice for families and extended-stay travelers seeking more spacious accommodations and a convenient Center City location. The hotel provides a range of services and amenities, including a 24-hour fitness facility, a seasonal rooftop pool and a sundeck, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a laundry facility on every floor, and a 24-hour concierge desk.
Highlights:
  • Rooftop pool 24 stories up offers great city views
  • All-suites hotel includes separate living and bedroom spaces and fully equipped kitchens
  • Hotel amenities include free high-speed Internet, a laundry facility on every floor, and a 24-hour fitness center
  • Non-smoking facility
Rooms:

Rooms at Windsor Suites include two double beds or one queen bed, a separate living area and a large, fully-equipped kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/tea maker, pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. The 200 traditionally decorated suites range in size from 450 to 750 square feet, and most have balconies with city views. The suites also feature work areas and complimentary high-speed Internet access, walk-in closets, and a pull out sofa.

Features:

The Windsor Suites has two on-site restaurants. Con Murphy, an Irish gastropub with 18 beers on tap, serves lunch and dinner daily and breakfast/brunch on the weekends. Asia on the Parkway offers an Asian fusion menu for lunch and dinner daily.

 

Located in Philadelphia's museum district, Windsor Suites is a short walk to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Franklin Institute of Science and the Academy of Natural Sciences.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin Institute of Science (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Academy of Natural Sciences (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Historic District (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business:
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Event planners
  • Catering services
  • Guest amenities center, with computers, printer, and Internet access
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment and technical support
  • Same-day dry cleaning
Policies and Fees:
  • Valet Parking is on a per-night basis up to 6 p.m.; additional charges apply for parking after 6 p.m. on departure day
  • The Windsor Suites will require a valid credit card to be presented upon check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1678
Area served
Philadelphia.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport(PHL) - 8 miles.
Area description
Philadelphia Free Library - across the street, Academy of Natural Sciences - 4 blocks, Franklin Institute Science Museum - 5 blocks, Philadelphia Museum Of Art - 5 blocks, Pennsylvania Convention Center - 6 blocks, Rodin Museum - 0.5 mile, Independence Visitor Center - 1 mile, Independence Hall/Liberty Bell - 1 mile, Betsy Ross House - 2 miles, Philadelphia Zoo - 2.5 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

4.3 / 5
45 out of 205
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
love2travellots
Rochester, NY
Mar 7, 2014

Nice stay in Center City

Quick check in. Convenient parking. Comfy bed. Location felt safe for walking around even at night. Room fairly quite, except for normal city sounds that you hear even 11 floors up. Keurig machine was a plus. Kitchen a bit spartan, but we never used it anyways. As was the bottled water. Location convenient to BF Parkway attractions, Convention Center, Reading Terminal, City Hall, Eastern State Pen. City is very walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save some $$ by self parking at the garage on Cherry between 18th and 19th

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
Diana from Vegas
Las Vegas
Feb 27, 2014

Why does thus hotel not gave more stars?!!

I have no idea why this place doesn't have better reviews. I loved it! The price was super affordable and it's in a great location. I got a full king studio suite and was upgraded for free to a room with a balcony during check in. My room had an awesome view of everything on Ben Franklin parkway. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. I forgot to bring toothpaste so they had someone bring some up to my room for me. Room service did a great job every morning and even replaced the shampoo conditioner bottles for me even though I did not finish the previous bottles. There are two restaurants downstairs that are open late. Con Murphy's and asia on the parkway. I tried both of them during my stay and thoroughly enjoyed each one. Don't forget to use your room card because hotel guests get a discount. The location was perfect for me to get around everywhere. Just a block away from suburban station and there are many bus stops around the area. Two taxi lines always available around the corner. It's right next to restaurant row so you have a huge variety of places to eat within walking distance. The museums are also right up the street. The room itself was quite impressive. I had a full kitchen with stove, microwave, refrigerator, dish washer, keurig coffee maker.. Couldn't have asked for more. There was also a full walk in closet with hangers. Sleeping area had a VERY comfortable king sized bed, small dining table, office desk and tv. I will definitely be staying here again during my next trip to Philly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums are all along Ben Franklin parkway! Short walk to the rocky steps!

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
J battle great time
Boston, MA
Jan 22, 2014

an enjoyable stay

i enjoyed the four day stay i had at the hotel. the kitchenette allowed for me to cook in instead of going out to purchase food at a restaurant. parking was a bit pricey, but it is understandable being that it is in the downtown area of Philadelphia. the staff were very kind and helpful when i needed their assistance, this was my second time staying at the Windsor suites the first time being a one day stay about six years ago, i was pleased then which is the reason that i returned, the location is great as well if you do want to go out on the town to eat, Chinatown is not far away as well as the Philadelphia museum of art and the Franklin institute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

imperial Inn, Chinatown

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
chris wilson
sao paulo, br
Jan 2, 2014

visit to philly

I lived in Philly for ten years and have been living in Brazil for the past two years. Went back to pass new years with friends and decided to grab a hotel. The Windsor was really great, apartment style rooms very comfortable and classy. The location is perfect for the Philadelphia tourist or business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
Phili Vacationer
Washington, DC
Nov 14, 2013

Just okay

The hotel was nice enough to provide free coffee and water bottles. Each room is very spacious and the King size bed is a major plus. There was also silverware and dishware plus a Whole Foods within walking distance. In fact, everything was walking distance. However, the pillows were pretty flat and the hotel fitness center was very dirty. Most of he machines did not function that well. The elevators were very small and slow. There was no option to take the stairs. In addition, the LOUDEST fire alarm I have ever heard went off on Friday night at 4am. It did not stop until 6:15am. I was hoping that in the morning the hotel would give us something in return for such an obnoxious problem. I found out the next day that the fire alarm went off because of an issue with a sprinkler, not a real fire. The front desk had the nerve to blame it on the fire department. The worst part was that the fire alarm was so loud and all it said was that we should remain in our rooms, not use the stairs, and not use the elevators. So basically, no information from the desk and we had to shelter in place? Some people in my hall and I tried to call the front desk, but no one would answer. So, we didn't know what was going on and attempted to sleep, but the alarm was blaring through our ear plugs. Overall, I liked the location of the hotel. I could have done without the street noise, like the garbage trucks that woke us up Monday morning. But hey, we had fun around Phili and it was pretty nice weather... sunny and mild all weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
usarugbyfan
Providence, RI
Nov 11, 2013

The Fire Alarm Fly in the Ointment

We really would love to give this place more praise for how much we enjoyed it. The location is AWESOME. You can walk to a ton of good restaurants and bars. It is a little far from the main historical sites, but not so far that you can't walk. The rooms are nice suites, good modern little kitchenettes. The TV service was a little lacking, but I wasn't in Philly to watch TV. Staff was kind and capable. At times the garage was pretty backed up, but I thought they handled the situations well to minimize my wait time. The ONLY major problem was the fire alarm that went off at 4AM. And was still going off at 5AM. They threw the FD under the bus saying they wouldn't let them turn it off, but frankly it was clear they didn't know how to work their own system. At one time I barely-English speaking employee came over the intercom and said, "If....emergency....naa.....call.....911, thank you." Are you saying to call 911 or not to call 911? Is there no one who could have spoken that clearly? Given the nearly 75 minutes the alarm was going, was there no manager that could at least explain the situation? My guess is that most guests will never experience this, but I was bothered by how inept they were in handling the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Cafe can be walked to in about 15 minutes. Incredible food and best Belgian beer selection not in Belgium.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
Russoruristo
PA
Oct 15, 2013

Good experience

We spent only one night and we're very satisfied. Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
Mary is a Foodie
New York, NY
Oct 10, 2013

King Studio Suite Room Review

We stayed in the king studio suite on the 16th floor and it was a comfortable room with 2 walk in closets, a vanity next to the bathroom, and a full kitchen. Concierge was friendly and check-in/out was a breeze. The valet had our car ready in under the estimated time which was appreciated. Most of the attractions are within walking distance and there was public transport nearby, though we did not use it. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and will be booking this hotel again if we're in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
I give up on a nickname
AZ
Sep 29, 2013

rang the liberty bell

good location, quite room, you do not need a car, if so Hertz is next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

about 10 minute down 17th ST, Little Pete

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
Spades McAlister
New Mexico
Sep 26, 2013

Good home base/home away from home in Center City

Staff was always friendly, polite, professional, and helpful. Clean rooms in older high-rise, modernized, but not trendy. Great beds! Room good sized, with fully-equipped kitchen. Nice, north-facing view of City Hall or Parkway with balcony upgrade. Rooftop pool looked nice, but locked-up after Labor Day :( You don't need a car! Very good location; short walk to Rittenhouse Sq., SEPTA, stores, museums. Everything you need either at the hotel or nearby stores. Airport to hotel is about 25 min by SEPTA (Suburban Station 3 Block walk $8.50) or shuttle ($10 per person).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Asia On The Parkway Restaurant downstairs has very good Chinese/Thai food. DiBruno Bros. (down 17th 5 blocks, right on Chestnut) is a great (but pricey) gourmet grocer and lunch spot where you can stock the kitchen in your room with classy grub. It's also a cheese-lover's Mecca, with free samples for the asking. Hit the state wine and liquor store on the walk back to the room, and you're set for a romantic night in. Beer lovers should check-out Monk's Cafe for Belgian beers + mussels.

Back to menu Return to top