Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201 Market, Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
198 reviews
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The location is perfect. It's near Chinatown and all places of interest and also is near from... See full review

  • belindar
  • Mar 4, 2014
Large Center City hotel with direct access to convention center
The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown offers guests unmatched convenience. It is the largest hotel in Philadelphia, and it enjoys an enviable Center City location. The hotel is linked to the Pennsylvania Convention Center by a covered skybridge and is adjacent to the Reading Terminal Market. Guest rooms feature luxury bedding and large bathrooms. With 92,000 square feet of event and meeting space and a tourist's dream location, this hotel is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.
Highlights:
  • Hotel amenities include a full-service salon and spa, an indoor pool, a spa tub, a sauna, and two fitness rooms
  • Hotel connected to Pennsylvania Convention Center by covered walkway
  • Largest hotel in Philadelphia, with 23 floors, more than 1,300 rooms and 76 suites and 92,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms:

All rooms are nonsmoking and are located in either the 23-story main building or the nine-story renovated historic building next door, connected via a skywalk. The 1,332 guest rooms and 76 suites feature Marriott's Revive Collection bedding, including 300-thread-count linens and a plush mattress topper. The room decor is traditional, with dark-wood furnishing and neutral colors. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels/pay movies, large bathrooms with robes and hairdryers, a club chair with ottoman, desks and coffee/tea makers. Marriott's "Wired for Business" service is available, including high-speed Internet access and more. Refrigerators are available on request.

Features:

Dining options at the hotel include Circ, which offers a modern setting in the center of the lobby and features signature cocktails along with a menu of light snacks and appetizers. Marriott's main restaurant, 13, serves American classics with a contemporary twist. In addition, a Starbucks is located on-site.

 

Marriott's on-site salon and spa, Ettore, has been featured on TLC, Fox and NBC and in Modern Bride and Philadelphia Magazine.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (Across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions:
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4
Business:
  • 92,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 72 meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities/event catering
  • Business center and services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Secretarial services

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Philadelphia Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
StarbucksĀ®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy StarbucksĀ® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
TNic
Orlando, FL, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Weekend getaway

Great view, comfy bed, spotlessly clean. This is my favorite hotel in Philly. Have stayed several times, always enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Three words- Reading Terminal Market. Across the street, awesome!!!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Small Al
Vermony
Apr 7, 2013

Great location in Philly

Spent 5 days here. Service and amenities terrific. Can't beat the location. Not very close to any superb restaurants and line at Starbucks in the morning quite long. Otherwise, a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walnut St. Club. Excellent food, service and music

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
FaithWorks
Buffalo, New York
Mar 25, 2013

Perfect location,great room

It was a beautiful clean hotel. Staff was eager to assist and the location was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Travelin G
Detroit, Mi
Mar 19, 2013

Pleasant Stay

I liked the location of this hotel easy to get to many places in the city. The room was clean but could have used a frig. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were quiet at night. Overall good price for location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal is through the convention center and has a flea market, fresh produce, and a mall. All connected so in bad weather you never need to even walk outside to get to it.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Indyhoopskirt
Indiana
Mar 19, 2013

Great experience

Our room was very comfortable, attractive and clean. Only quirky thing was - the bathroom ceiling was peeling! The bed was beyond comfortable, lots of pillows and cushy comforter. The Marriott is ideally located, with a connecting bridge to the train station. The train goes directly to the airport -25 minutes and you're there-couldn't be easier, cost is $7. Its within walking distance of lots of historical sites as well as shopping,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Birdmangeorge
Mobile, Al
Mar 17, 2013

Nice visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show.

My wife and I travel to Philly almost every year to attend the fantastic flower show. It just happens the the Marriott is right across the street from the show. AND they have an overhead, enclosed bridge crossing the street right to the show entrance. No need for a coat in cold weather. The Marriott showplace restaurant, 13, is excellent. The coffee shop is convenient for a quick breakfast. My only complaint is the extra cost for internet access. Small cheap motels give the visitor free access when they could really use an extra fee. A big company like Marriott could afford free access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab from the or to the airport. For $27 it is much quicker and less hassell. The limos save a few bucks, but they stop at so many hotels the trip takes forever.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Disgusted in Dallas
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 14, 2013

Excellent Service

I encountered fantastic service from everyone: the front desk, bellman, and the restaurant. Everyone had a cheery and helpful attitude. Such a pleasure when rushing around on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market is across the street. Don't miss. Pop in for a bite or bring a treat home. The atmosphere is great is you just need a break from meetings.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Deb and Curt
Lakewood, Washington
Feb 25, 2013

Great hotel!

We loved the hotel. It is close to everything in downtown Philly. The convention center is attached so we could avoid the wind and rain while getting to our event. The room was clean. All the staff that we talked to were pleasant, helpful, and anticipated our needs before we knew what they were. The only drawback was that internet cost $12.99 a day from the room. It was free in the lobby, but we didn't always want to go down to there to check email. Otherwise, it was one of the best experiences we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Reading Terminal Market. There are many and varied food stalls and wonderful things for sale. We ate there almost every meal and didn't need to repeat any stalls, except our favorites.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Mountain MD
Sylva, NC
Feb 25, 2013

Great Hotel for Business

The bed was very comfortable and the room was large and quiet. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Wanderboyd
Atlanta GA
Feb 17, 2013

Weekend in Philly

THe Marriott has a great location and is cetrally located to many great places. The staff was very gracious and accomodating. We will definitly stay there again when we return in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Lynny Lou
Tampa
Feb 12, 2013

Mom's 70th bday

We thought the hotel staff was poor at best.They were not friendly nor helpful. After check in our room key didn't work and security had to let us in because the battery was dead for the lock. Our room was tiny and uncomfortable. We called to ask for an upgrade (that we gladly would pay for# the woman on the phone was rude and treated me like I was bothering her. Our room had no toilet paper #waited a half hour at 2am for it.) We will not return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal market was directly accross the street. A must see and do

Back to menu Return to top