Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

3 stars
1201, Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
203 reviews
Good game experience

Flew in for Philadelphia Eagles opening day. Couldn't have had a better experience. Everything I... See full review

  • Makk Dogg
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great girls weekend

Spent 1 night for the flower show. Very comfortable! Wished there was a hot tub though. Overall a... See full review

  • Time well spent
  • Mar 10, 2014
Experience the famous birthplace of freedom, without wasting time in traffic, at the centrally located Philadelphia Marriott Downtown. With its skybridge to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 72 meeting rooms, and impressive Grand Ballroom for events, business travelers have access to anything they could possibly want. The on-site Starbucks certainly doesn't hurt in the mornings, either. Guests staying for pleasure will find plenty in the classy environment of the Circ restaurant, comfy alfresco snacking on the 13 Terrace, or the taste of signature Chesapeake striped bass in 13 Restaurant. It doesn't have to be all about lazy days, however; the rowing machines at the Fitness Center and all-weather pool will make sure that visitors break a healthy sweat.
Key facts
  • 1,408 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor pool
  • Valet parking
  • Business Center
  • 8,547-square-feet of meeting space
  • 2 restaurants: 13 and Circ, with open-air terrace
  • On-site Starbucks cafe
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Conveniently located in downtown Philly, with the Pennsylvania Convention Center just around the corner and the Liberty Bell only eight blocks away, the Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia is ideally located in every way. SEPTA subway 13th street station is right across the street, as is the Reading Terminal Market, for the oldest consecutive running farmer's market in the nation (and where the Amish community comes to sell their produce). At night the city is all abuzz, with spectacular shows at the Forrest Theatre and plenty of excellent Center City restaurants in the hotel's direct vicinity.
Hints and tips
Valet parking can be fairly expensive and the valet bay is usually quite busy, so if you need directions, get them before you slide behind the wheel, because staff will try to get you going as soon as possible to clear the lane.

Dinner-wise, walk two blocks from the hotel and you'll be in the city's Chinatown district - an essential stop for authentic dim sum and other Asian fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Area served
We are in the heart of Center City
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Circ
One of the chic hotel restaurants in downtown Philadelphia, Circ serves as an urban retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city while offering guests signature cocktails and a menu filled with light snacks and tasty appetizers.
13 Restaurant
Serving American classics with a contemporary twist, 13 Restaurant's tantalizing menus feature something for everyone including seared filet mignon, grilled pork chops and Chesapeake striped bass for a tasty dining experience in downtown Philadelphia.
StarbucksĀ®
Quick and easy, favorite drinks, light menu items and snacks are available at this handy StarbucksĀ® which provides busy travelers and locals with a convenient option over traditional downtown Philadelphia restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErikN
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 16, 2011

In the heart of Philly

I went on a business trip with a few destinations around Philadelphia. The Marriott Downtown was centrally located for my business needs and a close walk to a major train depot for SEPTA trains. Only draw back was that I didn't like how a major hotel would charge extra for internet usage when it's tailored for business travelers. Overall, hassle-free convenience when traveling Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
p.b.
steamboat springs, co
Nov 7, 2011

School Reunion

Sorry, but the hotel Lobby, entrance and innitial presentation was sub par. The room was nice but with no views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CP18
Business
Chicago
Nov 1, 2011

Great Rooms and Location, but High Charges for Internet

Room was comfortable and location was great. The room was clean and the staff was very friiendly and quick to assist with anything you needed. The place looks great and has been recently rennovated, awesome place to stay. The only real complaint I have is more of an irritance than anything. This place is connected to the convention center, which means a majority of their guests are there for business and have work to do while they are there. Myself being one of those guests, was a little irritated to discover you had to pay to use the internet in your room. In the convention center, I was able to access the internet for no charge, but once I crossed the lobby into the rooms, I needed to pony up some cash. And they wanted 12.95 per day for slow speed or 14.95 per day for high speed. Besides having to work off my phone because I could not justify the cost for a few minutes of work here and there, this bugged me for another reason. The cable line coming into the rooms was delayed and spotty. I wanted to use my laptop to access some movies I had saved on a cloud, but I could not do this without paying more than it would have cost me to rent a movie from the hotel. It is bad enough that hotels are charging for internet on top of the high rates you already pay just to stay there, but 12.95 per day is a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MariaComfort
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 25, 2011

Rooms are great! Restaurant needs improvement

The room and the staff, coupled with location was an excellent experience. Service and offerings at the restaurant were not up to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market one block away was a great experience.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pine Valley
Business
NYC
Oct 24, 2011

Comforts of home on a business trip!

Friendly, clean, quiet. Hotel is in the middle of the action and within walking distance to business venues. Had breakfast at Redding Market which is right across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly fanatic
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Busy Center City

The room was clean, comfortable. The exercise room was the best with alot of equipment, free weights and complimentary headphones. The valet parking, although the drivers were wonderful was a zoo!! Very daunting. Also the location is good if you want to be in that area, but if you need to drive away too much congestion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Auntie Jackie
Stamford, CT, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Our 2nd anniversary trip to Philly

Everything was great - location was centralized, room was beyond clean, staff was very polite, loved the pool and gym area. Could not be more pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The terminal market is around the corner and Macy's across the street - could not be more convenient

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
BALTIMORE MD
Oct 4, 2011

great place, easy to get to from highway. easy in and out check in-out.

great experience. Staff couteuos and friendly. one minus: no parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre. Great dining experience at a short distance from hotel.

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James B
Laguna Niguel, C
Sep 30, 2011

Downtown Philadelphia Marriott

The hotel was nice and in a perfect location for vistors looking to do all the tourist acitivities. It is mainly a business hotel though which didn't effect my wife and I either way but I thought I should throw that out there. The staff could have been a bit more friendly but they weren't horriable. Nice hotel in a accessiable area. We liked it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to eat w/in walking distance. Loved it!!

Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
History Buffs
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Walking the Revolution

The reason for our trip was to learn about American history. Although the walk to the Independence Hall Visitor's Center was about seven blocks, we walked it each day. From there, we went to the Constitution Center, the President's House, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Carpenter's Hall, the First and Second Banks in the U.S., Washington Square, Franklin Court and the Betsy Ross House. We ate at City Tavern. In each of these places, we touched the same had railing and ate at the same tables as Washington and Franklin. The best part about the hotel was that the beautiful 1860's City Hall was right outside our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

No City Hall tours on weekends of holidays. Penn Square was closed at 4 p.m. on Sunday before Labor Day for a private party. Most of the Revolutionary War sites in Germantown were closed on Labor Day, but Cliveden was open. Our tour book suggested we begin that walk closer to town, but I suggest beginning at Cliveden and walk toward downtown, then ride the bus when you feel the surroundings getting dangerous. Some historical sites are in a questionable neighborhood. The city bus came right to the front of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top