Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
View map of 729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom Bone
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 20, 2013

Ok if you're into historical parts

The hotel itself is beautiful but do have to realize it is very old. They dress it up in the holiywood motif and that's cool but a little stuffy for us. Felt underdressed most of the time in lobby and restaurant/bar wearing jeans. Room was small, a little stuffy but nice. Convenient to the light rail, which was handy as the hotel itself isn't near much but very easy to get into pearl district where we spend most of our time. So I guess in summary, its a nice hotel but mainly if you are really into the historical "golden age" motif (that seems to be what you are paying for over room amenities/size), and an OK launching off point for pearl district without actually being in it. Next visit to portland may find something more laid back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking trick to avoid valet/exorbitant deck fees. If you get car into the parking deck before 10am (self park) it's only $8.50 for the day, then if you move it out onto the street after 7pm its free for overnight. So saves you the $22-$28 overnight charges

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nina84
Business
irvine, ca
Sep 12, 2013

great hotel

we stayed here for four nights so we got a good feel of the hotel. the staff is really friendly and ready to help. our room was a bit small, but it was very clean and we had a corner unit with lots of windows making the room very bright and happy. the bathroom was also clean, which is most important. good location - we walked to pearl district, nob hill, 21 & 23 streets, and downtown - but we like to walk so don't think that everything is 5 minutes away. the parking is expensive, but to be expected at big hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler Jerry12345
Business
Paso Robles
Aug 27, 2013

Luxury is a misnomer

I found hints of past luxury from days gone by (the 40's) but no way is the hotel luxurious now. I have no problem paying high bucks for a good value - but such did not occur here. In fact, I noticed for example on the room service bill, that they try to deceive the guest in adding a tip to the bill (there is a large "tip" line theron) - but in reality, they have "ALREADY added a "service charge of 20%!! I verified that with the guy who brought up the food. He chuckled and said "yep, that is what they do". The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. The valet folks were good but it's operation is a JOKE. The hotel charges $29 per day to park your car via valet - but the valet lot is RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET!! So, we jokers who bring a car are required to tip a kid who does nothing more than walk 30 feet to get our car. On checkout, instead of ensuring that all went fine in our stay, the clerk simply made sure my bar bill and parking bill were paid then she dismissed me saying "Anything else?? The room was small by the way but comfortable. Location was OK. The lobby was big disappointment - not even a hint of luxury like one would expect. Poor choice of couches, singularly located so that two people could not sit close and chat - not at all what i expected. Would not recommend this hotel to a friend. And the "lounge"- that was the biggest joke of all - was very small and people piled on top of each other - not a bit of luxury there - except high prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the time to study the MET routes and operation. It's use gets you anywhere in town (with use of regular bus also) and we found a car was not needed whatsoever. We could have done our entire trip, including trip to/from airport, vistiing in Beaverton and other stuff without a car and it's expemse =- saving around $350!!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelR
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Old style charm

Nice older hotel with a fun vintage movie theme. Great bar with two happy hours 4 30 - 6 and 9 30 till close - and plenty of champagne cocktails ! Gracie restaurant was good for breakfast but we thought a bit uninspired for an evening out - especially as there are so many really good choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Veritable Quandry for a great evening meal Veritable Quandary 1220 Southwest 1st Avenue Portland, OR 97204 (503) 227-7342 veritablequandary.com‎

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kschiltz12
Business
San Francisco
Aug 2, 2013

Chic Cozy Hotel

Great helpful staff. Easy walking distance to many attractions. Hotel room decor is chic and fun but rooms are tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christineth
Business
California
Jul 31, 2013

Good location

Hotel maintains rooms built when the building was built, so, rooms are smaller then regular hotels. However, great staff, great location & rooms are beautiful. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car if you are staying in the area of this hotel. Public transportation is good.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zbootvp
Business
New York
Jul 26, 2013

Overnight stay for business in downtown Portland

This is a lovely hotel with lots of Hollywood Charm. The front desk was very friendly and polite. There is a quaint bar tucked into the corner of the Hotel which is perfect for winding down after a long day's travel. Pity last call is 11pm. Two small nits - one more annoying the other just an observation: 1. The observation: The room I stayed as was very, very small. A bed, the bathroom and a small desk. This was more reminiscent of a NYC hotel room where space is always at a premium. 2. The annoyance: There was not a single outlet with which I could plug in my electronics. Unless I wanted to leave my phone on the bathroom sink overnight - which doesn't really work when I use my phone as my alarm clock as well. There was no place to plug in my laptop! even at the desk area. I had to unplug a lamp so that i could use the outlet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

had a lovely dinner at Tasty and Alder. Great food and nice atmosphere.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sushimichael
Business
Hong Kong
Jul 10, 2013

Great hotel experience

Lobby was beautifully designed and the staff was great. Our room was small but decorated nicely. The hotel location was walking distance from a ton of great restaurants and tasty food trucks. Will definitely be back as this is our preferred hotel in downtown Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the front desk about the food truck parking lots a few blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
campsoup
Business
oregon
Jul 8, 2013

couples date

This hotel was nice but very small and thought clean was not entirely worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Jo
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 3, 2013

Friendly Staff

The hotel is a good place to stay in downtown Portland. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist you with whatever you request. My room was quite small but I was gone most of the time so it didn't matter that much. If you were going to spend any time in your room ask for one that is larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top