Rate based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
12 reviews
Day off

Hotel is very nice and allows dogs. We were very happy with the decor and the staff and how... See full review

  • Zachary J.
  • Dec 12, 2015
Perfect for a couple

We are a younger ( late 20's) couple that wanted a weekend getaway in our own town. Clean room,... See full review

  • bryan c.
  • Oct 4, 2015
Hotel Modera is the newest boutique hotel in downtown Portland, and a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, it is ideally located in the heart of the business district. bordering Portland State University. Within walking distance of the waterfront park, Keller Auditorium, Arlene Schnitzer Hall & Portland Art Museum. We are also walking distance to the main shopping area of downtown Portland with tax free shopping and easy access to the MAX and the Street Car. This downtown hotel offers 100% non-smoking rooms, free wireless internet, and a full service restaurant. Free passes to 24-Hour Fitness, located on the adjacent block with a lap pool, weights, aerobic classes and much more. We also offer a business center for your business needs and a private courtyard for a retreat away from the downtown scene. Onsite valet parking available is available in our privately secured lot for $35 per night with unlimited in and out privileges. There is a one time pet fee of $35.00. Total meeting and banquet spaces are approximately 2400 square feet with audio-visual equipment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5136 -122.6808
Area served
Located on the corner of 5th and Clay, in the heart of the business district and bordering Portland State University.
Nearby airports
(PDX)Portland International Airport is 12 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Modera is located in downtown Portland, in the heart of the Business District, bordering Portland State University. The hotel is walking distance to all major performing art centers and museums;the Keller Auditorium, Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, Newmark Theatre, Dolores Winningstad Theatre, the Brunish Hall and the Portland Art Museum. The Gerding Theatre, the Rose Garden, the Convention Center, the Loyd center mall and the Oregon Zoo are all short ride on the MAX or the Streetcar just few blocks away. Otherwise enjoy the Saturday morning market, the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI) or the Tom McCall Waterfront Park, just few blocks away, offers running, biking, and in-line skating along the Willamette River. The Waterfront Park offers all the summer festivities including Brew Fest, Blues Festival, Bite of Oregon, and much more. Hotel Modera is also short walking distance to the main downtown shopping areas where you can take advantage of the tax free shopping.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Fresno, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Impressed

1 night rest stop from motorcycle road trip. Although the room could've been a little larger, impressed with plush, modern furnishings/fittings and the great customer service. What a surprise. Now I know what boutique hotel mean. With the low room rates through CheapTickets, it's a bargain. Even 2 large screen Macs in the lobby area available to guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young RN
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 25, 2009

Great place to stay in Portland

Really great stay at this hotel. The decor and vibe is great. Makes you feel like you're on a vacation just by entering the hotel. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Room was very cute with nice sized flat screen TV, very cool bathroom and fixtures, comfy sheets. My boyfriend and I were visiting Portland for the first time this holiday weekend mainly to explore, relax, and shop. Marina Fish House floating restaurant was a must. Great food. Weather was excellent which topped off a nice overnight trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel's newly opened restaurant was wonderful for Sunday brunch. The French cuisine was surprisingly delicious for a first timer.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bryan c.
Couples
portland
Oct 4, 2015

Perfect for a couple

We are a younger ( late 20's) couple that wanted a weekend getaway in our own town. Clean room, modern touch and good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zachary J.
Couples
N/A
Dec 12, 2015

Day off

Hotel is very nice and allows dogs. We were very happy with the decor and the staff and how considerate they were of our dog

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Prineville
Nov 18, 2014

Pleasant stay

There were a few things that could improve, nothing major. It was a nice stay, the bed was good, and we would stay again. A complimentary wine reception like the vintage plaza would be top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Seattle, WA
Jun 15, 2011

Lovely stay

Very friendly & accomodating staff. Love the red orange soap/shampoo and the outdoor fire pits. Comfy bed, good location. Would definitely recommend it and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 4, 2009

Hotel Modera

We were on an Art/Architectural tour with the Seattle Art Museum, Decorative Arts and Painting Council. Our main objective was a comfortable, modern hotel to use as our home base within easy walking distance of the Portland Art Museum and good restaurants. It is a wonderful, friendly, small hotel that suited our purposes perfectfully. As we traveled by charted bus, we can't comment on parking convenience, but saw nothing that would make us expect any particular difficulty using a rental car or personal automobile there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Granada Dad
Couples
Phoenix
Mar 13, 2011

OR trip

Hotel was clean and neat. Maid service was great and staff was very customer oriented. Took several bags of southwestern foods to my son and the staff at the hotel stored them for a day in their break room freezer. The rooms were a touch small with only one chair at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Jakes Famous Craw-fish

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
seattle wa
Dec 10, 2010

very posh hotel!

very nice hotel with a very nice staff, however the cold shower in the morning wasn't too awesome, apparently they were having issues. oh well, made it funny!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

take the train around town, very convenient!

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazy travler
Single
Ball, LA
Dec 27, 2010

Beautiful, just beautiful

They were there for anything I needed, I have never stayed at a better hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top