Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hotel Modera

4 stars
515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
180 reviews
Best Night Ever

This has to be one of the best Hotel experiences I've ever had. It started with the front desk... See full review

  • pfelte1
  • Oct 26, 2014
Great small space!!

We loved our stay at the modera... always love the people of portland! See full review

  • Andersen
  • Aug 14, 2014
Hotel Modera is the newest boutique hotel in downtown Portland, and a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, it is ideally located in the heart of the business district. bordering Portland State University. Within walking distance of the waterfront park, Keller Auditorium, Arlene Schnitzer Hall & Portland Art Museum. We are also walking distance to the main shopping area of downtown Portland with tax free shopping and easy access to the MAX and the Street Car. This downtown hotel offers 100% non-smoking rooms, free wireless internet, and a full service restaurant. Free passes to 24-Hour Fitness, located on the adjacent block with a lap pool, weights, aerobic classes and much more. We also offer a business center for your business needs and a private courtyard for a retreat away from the downtown scene. Onsite valet parking available November 1-May31 for $20, June 1 - October 31, for $27 per night with unlimited in and out privileges. Total meeting and banquet spaces are approximately 2400 square feet with audio-visual equipment.

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5136 -122.6808
Area served
Located on the corner of 5th and Clay, in the heart of the business district and bordering Portland State University.
Nearby airports
(PDX)Portland International Airport is 12 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Modera is located in downtown Portland, in the heart of the Business District, bordering Portland State University. The hotel is walking distance to all major performing art centers and museums;the Keller Auditorium, Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, Newmark Theatre, Dolores Winningstad Theatre, the Brunish Hall and the Portland Art Museum. The Gerding Theatre, the Rose Garden, the Convention Center, the Loyd center mall and the Oregon Zoo are all short ride on the MAX or the Streetcar just few blocks away. Otherwise enjoy the Saturday morning market, the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI) or the Tom McCall Waterfront Park, just few blocks away, offers running, biking, and in-line skating along the Willamette River. The Waterfront Park offers all the summer festivities including Brew Fest, Blues Festival, Bite of Oregon, and much more. Hotel Modera is also short walking distance to the main downtown shopping areas where you can take advantage of the tax free shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CelCour
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Great Hotel, great location

This hotel was great for our weekend getaway to Portland. We were able to walk to all of our destinations. The staff was really accommodating, helpful and friendly. Restaurant at the hotel was amazing as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Octo DC
Business
Eugene, OR
Feb 24, 2014

Great downtown hotel

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful two nights at hotel Modera. This is a great downtown hotel that's centrally located. Rooms are very nice and staff was helpful and friendly. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler7757
Business
West Coast
Feb 25, 2014

Great place to stay

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were so modern and stylist! Marble everywhere, super clean too. There was some kind of fur blanket on the bed. Very classy. Only thing I didn't prefer was the location of the gym, it was down the street. I would like it to be in the hotel. Besides that small detail, this place is the best place I've stayed in Portland. Free small bottles of wine upon check-in just because I told them I was having a rough day! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iampoor
Business
Redmond, Washington
Apr 1, 2014

Nice hotel, would stay there again.

Staff was courteous and hospitable. The hotels and rooms were beautiful. The attached restaurant was trendy and fun. Public transit is really close, and you're also close to the university district. Shopping and trendier shops are further north and will require a bit of walking or short transit ride to get there. There is a 24 hour fitness a block away, which you have free access to. I wish there was a pool and hot tub located in the hotel itself though. Overall, not bad for $200 in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland has a good public transit system, so take advantage of it.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovedPortlandOR
Business
Port Twonsend, WA
Apr 21, 2014

great place to stay

Gorgeous hotel, downtown, friendly staff. Parking is not included in the room price but street parking is available as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the blue line to get a nearly free tour around the river area.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young RN
Business
Seattle, WA
May 25, 2009

Great place to stay in Portland

Really great stay at this hotel. The decor and vibe is great. Makes you feel like you're on a vacation just by entering the hotel. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Room was very cute with nice sized flat screen TV, very cool bathroom and fixtures, comfy sheets. My boyfriend and I were visiting Portland for the first time this holiday weekend mainly to explore, relax, and shop. Marina Fish House floating restaurant was a must. Great food. Weather was excellent which topped off a nice overnight trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel's newly opened restaurant was wonderful for Sunday brunch. The French cuisine was surprisingly delicious for a first timer.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Impressed

1 night rest stop from motorcycle road trip. Although the room could've been a little larger, impressed with plush, modern furnishings/fittings and the great customer service. What a surprise. Now I know what boutique hotel mean. With the low room rates through CheapTickets, it's a bargain. Even 2 large screen Macs in the lobby area available to guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Luloff
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 30, 2011

lux on the cheap

The Hotel Modera is everything you could want from a high end location. Quality bedding, in room amenties and superior staff that are willing to answer any question you have. THe location on Portland's mass transit network was beyound compare. You could get where you wanted without needing to rent a car or spend money on cabs. I will be staying here on my next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
columbinehill
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Friendly, Efficient, Beautiful

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff was both friendly and efficient. Valet parking & check-in were easy and pleasant. Room was beautiful. Everything worked well, from the temperature level to the really spacious sink to the comfy robes to the luxurious shower. Elevators were quick. On premises restaurant was also great for cocktails and brunch, with excellent food at a very good price. Free in-room wi-fi. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at the beautiful bar at Nel Centro is 4 to 6 pm, and many dishes from the regular menu are half-off. We arrived at the hotel hungry after our trip and appreciated being able to get their fantastic small plates (macadamia-crusted baked goat cheese & tapenade with toasts) before we met our friends for dinner.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyson S
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

A Wonderful Stay

I went to Portland for 5 days and wanted to get a hotel in the down town area, within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. I researched for over a week, checking prices, amenities, parking costs, and then seeing what the most common complaints were in the reviews for each place. I can honestly say I made the best possible choice by staying at Hotel Modera. The one and only thing I regret is that the room did not have a microwave, but I'm nitpicking to even come up with that. There was a coffee maker, a refrigerator, free wi-fi, and an iPod dock. The room was small-ish but not cramped, and it was fine for the price, especially compared to other hotels in the area. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was mostly marble. The location itself is fantastic. You're not very far from a few of the bridges to cross over the Wilamette River in to the eastern side of the city, and the Zoo and Rose Gardens are only a few miles away as well. There are several high end restaurants within walking distance, as well as some food carts. The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful. Valet cost was $27 per night, but in my research I found that most area hotels charged that much or more, and I've paid nearly twice that in other cities. Also, the valet staff always had my car pulled up in less than a minute, they were extremely polite and pleasant, and always asked if I needed directions anywhere. I never tried the restaurant in the hotel, but it looked nice, and the patio area outside is gorgeous. Also, I stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear a peep of noise the entire time. One of the nights while I was there the hotel was sponsoring a film festival in town and they were hosting a private party with a jazz band at the restaurant. They put notes on everyone's door notifying all of the guests and advised to contact the front desk if there were any issues. I was not thrilled to see this because I was afraid it would be a noisy night with party goers and the band keeping me from getting any sleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. I never heard a thing, and the party stayed contained in the restaurant. I'll stay at Modera any time I make it back to Portland. It was significantly cheaper than some of the other hotels in the downtown area, without being run down or covered with cheap decor. I feel completely satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little french style bistro a few blocks away called Carafe that has the best burger I've ever eaten. It was hormone free organic beef with camamere cheese, bacon and a fried egg on a ciabatta bun. It came with a good sized pile of pomme frites also. It was only $11 and worth every single penny.

Back to menu Return to top