Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Lucia

4 stars
400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
195 reviews
Great spot

First time in Portland and Hotel Lucia treated me right. Stayed in room 708 which was a corner room... See full review

  • scbeachboy
  • Jun 9, 2014
Friendly staff and nice hotel

This was our first time in Portland and the hotel staff could not be more welcoming and helpful... See full review

  • Jasus
  • Oct 22, 2013
Minimalist elegance located in the heart of downtown Portland
The award-winning Hotel Lucia brings hip decor and top-notch service to downtown Portland. The hotel was named a "Reader's Choice Top 100 Hotel" by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and one of the "Top 500 Hotels in the World" by Travel + Leisure magazine. The elegant lobby features gorgeous artwork, a fireplace and formally clad workers to give the space an upscale feeling. The hotel also offers two restaurants, Typhoon! and Bo Bistro, that serve excellent Thai and Asian cuisine in gorgeous surroundings.
Highlights
  • Two widely praised restaurants
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Gorgeous artwork, including pictures by Pulitzer-Prize¬≠¬≠-winning photographer, in the lobby
  • Luxurious rooms with high-thread-count duvets, mahogany furnishings and more
  • Situated in the heart of downtown Portland
Rooms
The stunning 127 rooms at Hotel Lucia offer comfort and elegance. All rooms feature high-thread-count duvets, high-definition TVs and gorgeous mahogany furniture. The rooms offer a "spiritual menu" that provides guests with books from the Bible to the Tao Te Ching. Guess also receive complimentary organic coffee and a pillow menu that lets them choose options from soft to extra-firm. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).
Dining
Hotel Lucia features two restaurants that offer top-notch fare. Both are helmed by chef Bo Kline, who was named "one of the hottest chefs in America" by Bon Appetit magazine. The hip Bo Asian Bistro melds several influences into its scrumptious dishes like a duck spring roll and Thai sashimi. Typhoon! features a more traditional Thai menu with panang curry and Thai barbecue chicken.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.2 mi/3.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • A 24/7 business center with computers, print, fax and copying services available
  • Two meeting rooms with 1,900 square feet for 185 people total
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $30 USD per night
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to check in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Lucia Rooms

Deluxe Queen
One Queen Bed. 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, custom pillow-top mattress, pillow menu, iPod docking station, flat screen television, designer bath soaps and lotion, Portland Roasters coffee and Smith tea, in-room safe, complimentary fiber optic WiFi, in-room safe and turndown service (upon request).
Premium King
One King Bed. 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, custom pillow-top mattress, pillow menu, iPod docking station, flat screen television, designer bath soaps and lotion, Portland Roasters coffee and Smith tea, in-room safe, complimentary fiber optic WiFi, in-room safe and turndown service (upon request).
Superior King
One King Bed with ample floor space. 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, custom pillow-top mattress, pillow menu, iPod docking station, flat screen television, designer bath soaps and lotion, Portland Roasters coffee and Smith tea, in-room safe, complimentary fiber optic WiFi, in-room safe and turndown service (upon request).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lucia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5211 -122.6783
Area served
Portland
Nearby airports
Portland International - PDX
Area description
Located in the heart of Portland's business, cultural and retail districts. The Hotel Lucia is a stroll from Pioneer Courthouse Square, the Performing Arts Center, and the Portland Art Museum. The very best that Portland has to offer. We are on the corner of Broadway and Stark in the center of it all!

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.2 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.4 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Lucia Portland - Meeting Facilities: The Hotel Lucia's meeting facilities provide an intimate environment for your next event - from a board meeting of five to a reception of more than 70 attendees. Hotel Lucia, a top downtown Portland Oregon hotel, provides the perfect setting for your next event.

The Monterosso: The Monterosso Room is the ideal setting for a personalized social event, company meeting or formal presentation with its spacious and flexible seating capacity and chic atmosphere.

The Genoa: The Genoa Room provides the perfect environment for a cocktail party or business function. The walls are adorned with one-of-a kind photography to encourage creativity and mindfulness.

Dining

Imperial
Featuring perfectly executed, elegant and soulful cuisine, Imperial explores heritage cooking methods using ingredients from Portlands diverse bounty and a custom-made wood-fired grill. Inspired by campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and serves uncomplicated fare in a warm, welcoming environment.
Portland Penny Diner
Named after the coin that Frances Pettygrove and Asa Lovejoy used to decide Portlands name in 1845, Portland Penny Diner investigates the intersection of Pacific Northwest immigrant food cultures and the Native Americans pure approach to food. A counter service diner, it features relaxed seating and grab-and-go options, including handcrafted sandwiches and milkshakes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lucia

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
F and M
Albany, OR.
May 3, 2009

A great place to stay

We have stayed at Hotel Lucia several times in the past, and we are never disappointed. The rooms are small, but great. The location is perfect, close to the Pearl District and great shopping and restaurants. We look forward to our next visit. Be sure and take the time to enjoy a drink at Bo, the hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Sel Gris. It's a fantastic restaurant on Hawthorne, but be sure to make a reservation.

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Master of Money Orgami
Newport News, Virginia
Jul 6, 2011

A pleasurable experience

I was here for a Mensa convention. I could not get a hotel at the convention site because they were filled up with the block that was set aside. I searched all the hotels around and decided to sty at Lucia. Beleive it or not,I got the better end of the deals that were offered.The acomodations were better than anything that I could have hoped for.Everybody at the hotel helped me on several occasions. They always greeted me as soon as walked in and ask how things were going. The restaurant was fantastic. The food was great and the service was seven star. This is better than five star. I like to thank the waitresses and the cook for the attention to details to ensure that my stay was a pleasant experience.I would like to especially thank ([...]). I am sure I have her name spelled wrong.I apologize if I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clairee
Vancouver, BC
May 2, 2009

We were very pleased with the Lucia.

I would return to the Lucia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rab1
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

great weekend getaway

This was my first trip to Portland and our stay was great. The location of the hotel was great. The room was very comfortable and cozy. I will definitively stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 21, 2010

Hotel Lucia, a good deal on a great plac

Small rooms, but great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Master of Money Orgami
Newport News, Virginia
Jul 6, 2011

A pleasurable experience

I was here for a Mensa convention. I could not get a hotel at the convention site because they were filled up with the block that was set aside. I searched all the hotels around and decided to sty at Lucia. Beleive it or not,I got the better end of the deals that were offered.The acomodations were better than anything that I could have hoped for.Everybody at the hotel helped me on several occasions. They always greeted me as soon as walked in and ask how things were going. The restaurant was fantastic. The food was great and the service was seven star. This is better than five star. I like to thank the waitresses and the cook for the attention to details to ensure that my stay was a pleasant experience.I would like to especially thank ([...]). I am sure I have her name spelled wrong.I apologize if I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naperville IL
Jun 16, 2009

Sweet

Sweet. Great spot. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasus
San Jose, CA
Oct 22, 2013

Friendly staff and nice hotel

This was our first time in Portland and the hotel staff could not be more welcoming and helpful with getting around. I would absolutely stay here again when I return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cnoel
Business
michigan
Apr 29, 2013

package deal through an internet travel site

This boutique hotel is a comfortable, friendly, secure and unpretentious but yet sophisticated Hotel staff were exceptionally outgoing,customer-oriented and helpful. Location was central to fine restaurants and downtown shopping. great place for a couple; not for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Nov 2, 2009

Lovely Lucia

The beds are extremely comfortable. I was in Portland to snowboard in a contest...I couldn't have asked for a better nights sleep. I will come back next year for the same event and stay the the Lovely Lucia. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top