Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

4 stars
319 SW Pine Street, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
111 reviews
Great hotel in awesome location

If you are looking for a hotel in downtown Portland, you probably realized they are expensive! When... See full review

  • wickedwhimsy
  • Jul 26, 2014
Great spot to stay

Had a great experience, except for receiving some pushback from the staff one night. Each night, I... See full review

  • CLaw315
  • Jun 30, 2014
Historic hotel in elegant building in downtown Portland
Situated in the heart of Portland, the Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown puts guests within walking distance of the top attractions in the city. The hotel is situated in the famous Multnomah Hotel building, which was built in 1912. The Embassy Suites has kept architecture and accents from this era, while also giving the hotel a modern makeover. The hotel boasts a pool and fitness room, and provides guests with free cooked-to-order breakfasts and a free drink before or after dinner. The hotel also houses the excellent Portland Prime restaurant.
Highlights
  • Convenient downtown location
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and before- or after-dinner drink
  • Indoor pool, fitness room, salon and spa
  • ­14,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms
The rooms in the Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown offer excellent upscale amenities. Options include standard rooms, suites and executive suites. All of the rooms include high-definition TVs, microwave ovens and refrigerators. The suites feature spacious living rooms with sleeper sofas, two TVs and other luxurious features.
Features
The Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown combines old-school charm with modern convenience. The hotel boasts an indoor pool and a fitness room with Precor machines, as well as a salon, spa and barber shop. The hotel also has a recreation area with a pool table, air hockey and video games.
Dining
In addition to a robust room service menu, Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown provides guests with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast that includes eggs, bacon, fruit and yogurt. The hotel also offers a manager's reception before and after dinner, where guests can enjoy a complimentary drink. The top dining option is the Portland Prime restaurant, which features fresh Northwest seafood, an oyster bar, prime steaks and chops and more.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-5 (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Portland International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (0.8 mi/1.3 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.5 mi/4 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
Business
  • Offers 14,000 square feet of meeting space
  • A 24/7 business center with computer, printing, fax and copying services available
  • Audio-visual equipment available for rental

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5221 -122.6741
Nearby airports
Portland Intl Airport, (PDX), 9.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.9 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.9 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 1 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 2.1 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.2 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.2 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.4 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.2 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.9 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.8 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.4 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Davenport, IA
Nov 3, 2009

Awesome Stay

This hotel is great! I am a single 30 something female who came to visit friends. The hotel was clean and my room was very spacious with two big HD TVs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Max train runs only a couple blocks away and is very easy to catch. There was plenty of night life within walking distance. I will definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern CA couple
Southern CA
Jul 11, 2010

Great first-time experience in Portland

This was our first trip to Portland. The hotel is in a great location, close to many restaurants, great shopping and the Max. We like to explore cities by foot so by the end of a day, we are usually wiped out. The bed was so plush and comfortable we slept like babies and always woke up feeling rested. The temperature in the room was always perfect and the room always clean! We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Portland City Grill has the best view of Portland

Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 20, 2010

Embassy Suites Portland Downtown

Hotel was really nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CLaw315
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 30, 2014

Great spot to stay

Had a great experience, except for receiving some pushback from the staff one night. Each night, I called down and asked for a knife so I could portion out food I had in my room. The first two nights, it was sent up without hesitation. The third night, I spent 20 minutes being passed back and forth from the front desk to the restaurant, with everyone exclaiming that it "wasn't their job". Never did get that knife, due to Amanda at the front desk. Wasn't a problem with anyone else I asked. That said, it was generally a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yerington, NV
Mar 9, 2009

Beautiful old hotel with modern updates

Loved the architecture and the building's charm. Rooms were large and had everything one could need. Beautifully decorated. Bed was extremely comfortable. We were there for a nearby wedding. Very convient location and wonderful free breakfask the next morning before we left. Wish there were staff milling around the lobby to help with questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great in hotel free dinners and breakfast!!

Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaminlee
seattle, WA
Nov 21, 2009

location, location, location

The helpful staff, comfortable bed, fresh and plentiful breakfast buffet, and convenient location close to Old Town, Chinatown, and downtown shopping made this the perfect place for us to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose CA
Feb 25, 2011

Great Hotel

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and clean, and beds were comfortable. Helpful and friendly staff. Location worked well too, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. However, you need transportation to the Pearl and NW districts. Wasn't a problem for us since we had a car. Parking garage across the street if you don't want to pay the $28 for valet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pioneer Square with many fine stores is located just blocks away.

Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern CA couple
Southern CA
Jul 11, 2010

Great first-time experience in Portland

This was our first trip to Portland. The hotel is in a great location, close to many restaurants, great shopping and the Max. We like to explore cities by foot so by the end of a day, we are usually wiped out. The bed was so plush and comfortable we slept like babies and always woke up feeling rested. The temperature in the room was always perfect and the room always clean! We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Portland City Grill has the best view of Portland

Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doug-tahoe[...]
Incline Village, NV
Sep 3, 2009

Location and Value Great

We had a spacious corner suite. We loved the beautiful architecture of this refurbished historic hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the brew pubs and restaurants in the NW and Pearl Districts.-Can use the all-day public transportation pass to get around.

Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 20, 2010

Embassy Suites Portland Downtown

Hotel was really nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top