Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

3 stars
550 SW Oak Street, 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
95 reviews
Great place!

I will definitely return! I was very pleased with my stay here. ALL STAFF were friendly,... See full review

  • Ms. Professor
  • Apr 14, 2014
Fun getaway

This hotel is the ideal location in downtown Portland. Close to local resturants (including the... See full review

  • Clash SF
  • Apr 1, 2013
Downtown hotel offers guests both convenience and luxury
The Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center provides an excellent stay, whether guests come for business or pleasure. The Pearl District-area hotel offers nine meeting rooms for business guests and more than 5,300 square feet of meeting space. Experienced event planners are on-hand to ensure business guests have everything they need. The on-site restaurant, Mez on Broadway, provides locally grown fare, and the 249 spacious rooms include everything from flat-screen TVs to marble countertops.
Highlights
  • Gorgeous lobby with marble floor and spiral staircase
  • Mez on Broadway, a restaurant that offers local, organic fare
  • Business center with 5,300 square feet of meeting space
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
Whether guests are in Portland for business or pleasure, the spacious rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center includes top-notch amenities. Rooms feature luxury bedding, large desks, high-speed Internet access, flat-screen TVs and marble countertops. The hotel offers 238 rooms and 11 suites.
Features
With a spacious lobby that features an elegant spiral staircase and marble flooring, the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center offers sophistication from the first glimpse. Mez on Broadway restaurant, located on the second floor, offers local and organic ingredients and a comprehensive Oregon-based wine list. The restaurant also boasts a hip bar with a stunning view of the city. The 24-hour fitness center has many exercise machines, as well as flat-screen TVs.
Dining
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center may be located near many fine restaurants, but the airy Mez on Broadway offers a great in-house option. Much of the fare is organic and local, including organic chicken and filet mignon with Oregon blue cheese butter. The restaurant also offers many local wines, and the Lounge at Mez on Broadway features a lovely view and local spirits.
Transportation
  • Portland International Airport (10.1 mi/16.1 km)
  • 24-hour shuttle to airport (fees apply)
  • Walking distance to MAX stop
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Rose Garden Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Computers, copy, printing and fax service available
  • Nine business rooms offer 5,300 square feet of space
  • Catering for meetings and seminars
  • In-house audio-visual equipment available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5216 -122.6767
Area served
Portland
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport, (PDX), 12.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.1 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.5 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.1 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.9 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.6 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.9 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.5 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.4 mi

Dining

The Original
A new kind of neighborhood eatery, The Original is a cultured yet casual, swank restaurant near Portland's Pearl District. Unique amongst Pearl District area restaurants in downtown Portland, The Original updates American favorites with a modern twist.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Overall score

4 / 5
35 out of 95
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
James P.
Seattle WA
Apr 9, 2014

Solid Downtown Portland Hotel

Stopped through Portland for a weekend and stayed at the Marriott Courtyard instead of the typical boutique hotel. Good service, room size, downtown location, and serviceable restaurant/bar. Not much to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
Clash SF
San Francisco, CA
Apr 1, 2013

Fun getaway

This hotel is the ideal location in downtown Portland. Close to local resturants (including the Portland City Grill), bars, and iconic Portland food trucks (perfect for a quick lunch or late night cravings). The nearby waterfront is great for an early morning run/walk, an evening stroll, or a river tour. As in any busy downtown, street parking is difficult but a car isn't needed. The MAX transit is around the corner and the local farmers market (Saturday Market) is only blocks away. The hotel is not as large as other Marriotts but very clean and fresh with an urban/downtown feel. I was extremely pleased with our room. It had a large comfortable bed and a clean and spacious bathroom/shower. I recommend this hotel to anyone but mostly to young adults because of the nearby bars and night life. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland City Grill. Go for happy hour. Great food, cocktails and beautiful views.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
wennybug
Salem, OR
Mar 26, 2013

Almost but not quite

We wanted to get out of town for our anniversary. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. In the room, it was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect!! We were only a short walk away from everything downtown. We enjoyed playing tourist for the weekend. The only annoyance we had was the TV only had 30 channels on it and 25 of them were either sports or news. We have been to other Marriotts in Portland and this will rate in the middle. The Riverfront has more amenities, however, the City center has a better location. We would definitely stay in this hotel again, if we are not going to just relax and sit around a hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend Portland Prime on 3rd ave. The chef really knows what he/she was doing and the service was excellent.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
katydid01
Tacoma, Wa
Jan 17, 2013

Comfortable place to stay

My husband and I have stayed here about 5 times. We always have a great experience. The rooms are clean and nicely sized. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely need to check out Powell's if you're a book reader!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
MrsJBolt
Washington, DC
Aug 31, 2012

Great Location in Downtown Portland...but...

We arrived at the Courtyard on a Monday afternoon, check in and went to our rooms...I noticed a water bottle cap and some nuts on the floor by the bed, but figured those could potentially be missed by housekeeping, but then went to put my things in the bathroom and there was dirty water or a soft drink all over the floor...we called and got moved a few rooms down. Fast forward to getting back after dinner and I pull down the sheets to get in bed and there is a stain on the sheets. We call and they have someone come up and change it. Well he puts on the new fitted sheet and its dirty...so he pulls that off and notices that the mattress pad is soiled...so he goes and get another mattress pad which tears, then new sheets...so after four attempts we finally have sheets we can sleep on. I realize things like this can happen and I spoke with the manager to give feedback so other customers did not experience this, but it is still a let down. Positives of the place is the location is AWESOME, the lobby is nice, and if the housekeeping had paid more attention to detail the rooms would have been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get ice cream at Salt & Straw!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
Maralynn Rae
Ashland, OR 97520, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great Location

Great location walked everywhere and the employees are quick to call you a taxi if needed. But overall the hotel is nothing special but a comfortable place to sleep at night. It might be worth it to spend the extra money to stay somewhere a little more fancy in the downtown Portland area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
23 years together
Cottage Grove, OR 97424, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Excellent Anniversary Weekend

The staff were very helpful. Their recommendation were so helpful to us as we weren't familiar with the area. From restaurants, bus schedules, directions to museums and other attractions in the area. It was a wonderful weekend thanks to the staff. I would highly recomnend the Marriott Courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland Grill & Bar is right across the street. It is located on the 30th floor fo the US Bankcorp building. Food is excellent and the view is priceless!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, AM
Jul 5, 2011

Great location and decent stay

We came for the Riverfront Blues Festival. Overall, our stay was quite decent and the hotel was in a pretty good location (not far from the park or public transit). Our room was on the 15th floor with a terrific view of Mount Hood and the city. I love that it is a LEED Gold hotel, but wish the staff was more consistent with cleaning (on the second day they didn't refill our coffee, change the towels and sheets or sweep while every other day we came back to a clean room with refilled supplies). The restaurant was surprisingly decent (although I will never understand Portland's fascination with Froot Loops or the restaurant choosing it as a topping for pancakes - though I didn't actually try it). I would stay here again even though I don't normally care for chains (and didn't understand why there were SO many Marriott's in Portland).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 29, 2011

Weekend in Portland

This Courtyard was unexpectedly Chic and had impressive service at every process - concierge, valet, and reception. Room was clean and well kept

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Voodoo donuts!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
portland,or
Apr 23, 2011

Date Night

Great night on the town! Took the max to old town pizza and walked around and enjoyed the nice weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top