Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

3 stars
550 SW Oak Street, 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
good

marriott is my feb to stay. i always feel like my own place. i love the rooms, the bed is confi See full review

  • keffa
  • Oct 19, 2014
Weekend away with my wife

This hotel was fabulous. the staff was very friendly and efficient. I like that I can text the... See full review

  • Andy W
  • Sep 2, 2014
Downtown hotel offers guests both convenience and luxury
The Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center provides an excellent stay, whether guests come for business or pleasure. The Pearl District-area hotel offers nine meeting rooms for business guests and more than 5,300 square feet of meeting space. Experienced event planners are on-hand to ensure business guests have everything they need. The on-site restaurant, Mez on Broadway, provides locally grown fare, and the 249 spacious rooms include everything from flat-screen TVs to marble countertops.
Highlights
  • Gorgeous lobby with marble floor and spiral staircase
  • Mez on Broadway, a restaurant that offers local, organic fare
  • Business center with 5,300 square feet of meeting space
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
Whether guests are in Portland for business or pleasure, the spacious rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center includes top-notch amenities. Rooms feature luxury bedding, large desks, high-speed Internet access, flat-screen TVs and marble countertops. The hotel offers 238 rooms and 11 suites.
Features
With a spacious lobby that features an elegant spiral staircase and marble flooring, the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center offers sophistication from the first glimpse. Mez on Broadway restaurant, located on the second floor, offers local and organic ingredients and a comprehensive Oregon-based wine list. The restaurant also boasts a hip bar with a stunning view of the city. The 24-hour fitness center has many exercise machines, as well as flat-screen TVs.
Dining
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center may be located near many fine restaurants, but the airy Mez on Broadway offers a great in-house option. Much of the fare is organic and local, including organic chicken and filet mignon with Oregon blue cheese butter. The restaurant also offers many local wines, and the Lounge at Mez on Broadway features a lovely view and local spirits.
Transportation
  • Portland International Airport (10.1 mi/16.1 km)
  • 24-hour shuttle to airport (fees apply)
  • Walking distance to MAX stop
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Rose Garden Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Computers, copy, printing and fax service available
  • Nine business rooms offer 5,300 square feet of space
  • Catering for meetings and seminars
  • In-house audio-visual equipment available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5216 -122.6767
Area served
Portland
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport, (PDX), 12.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.1 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.5 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.1 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.9 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.6 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.9 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.5 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.4 mi

Dining

The Original
A new kind of neighborhood eatery, The Original is a cultured yet casual, swank restaurant near Portland's Pearl District. Unique amongst Pearl District area restaurants in downtown Portland, The Original updates American favorites with a modern twist.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 110
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy W
Business
Graham, WA
Sep 2, 2014

Weekend away with my wife

This hotel was fabulous. the staff was very friendly and efficient. I like that I can text the valet that I want my car ans he has it all ready for me. The room was beautiful. The location was right in the heart of the city, just a short walk from the Pearl District, waterfront, and Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clyde's Common has a great bar. The bartender is a real artist when it comes to the art of making unique cocktails. The barrel aged cocklails are ownderful.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FiveOh
Business
Stanislaus California
Aug 14, 2014

Couple getaway

We had a great experience with the staff, from the first meeting at the curb to the checkout; they were knowledgeable about the area and were very helpful getting us to the places we had to see. Location was awesome, walking distance to just about everything downtown! Room was very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

It's worth the extra $9 for the valet parking

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fklassen
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 10, 2014

Excellent location and very comfortable

This was our first trip to Portland and we were happy to find that our research paid off. The location could not have been better, and our top-floor room was so quiet that we never heard anyone else, even though the hotel was booked. The rooms were always very clean, and the beds were so comfortable that we had a hard time getting up. The only slight complaint was that we didn't always get good recommendations on restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers for Saturday/Sunday Brunch. It's the only day you can get Eggs Benedict.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JarrQ
Business
Alhambra, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Great first stay/trip to Portland Oregon

First trip to Portland Oregon was great. Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Room larger than expected and very quiet at night. Would stay at this hotel again if visiting Portland in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FITSQUIT
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Mediocre facility, good location

It was fine for a quick trip to Portland (beautiful and fun city!) but definitely overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Screen Door for dinner! Get the fried chicken and the screen door plate. Amazing Southern food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yosser
Business
Bend, OR
Jun 5, 2014

Standard Downtown Hotel

There's nothing special about this hotel, but everything is very reasonable and the only caveat we would have is the lack of any kind of a view from the tiny window. Otherwise, the room was large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a memorable dining experience, we recommend the Petit Oiseau (Little Bird) restaurant just around the corner. Outstanding in every way.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SophiaFC
Business
San Francisco, California
May 12, 2014

Just average, good location

Pros: -Near the downtown area/water front\ -Many restaurants and breweries within walking distance -Room was clean -Bed was comfortable Cons: -Overall, the hotel was pretty average and the room size did not quite reflect what we saw in photos Overall: -Comfortable stay, would go back again, but would not pay more than $120 per night....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginae
Business
Albany, OR
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing Couples Weekend

We got away for a night without the kids and enjoyed the weekend in Portland. Loved the central location. We let valet park our car, and didn't need it again until we were ready to go home. Our hotel room was very swanky, very modern, comfortable and clean. Great experience! We can't wait to go back and know exactly where we'll stay. The Courtyard City Center Marriot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thirsty Lion is the BEST Breakfast!!! Way better then Mothers. We were seated immediately, staff & service was awesome. We might go back to Portland just for that breakfast again. I am still craving it!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James P.
Business
Seattle WA
Apr 9, 2014

Solid Downtown Portland Hotel

Stopped through Portland for a weekend and stayed at the Marriott Courtyard instead of the typical boutique hotel. Good service, room size, downtown location, and serviceable restaurant/bar. Not much to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clash SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 1, 2013

Fun getaway

This hotel is the ideal location in downtown Portland. Close to local resturants (including the Portland City Grill), bars, and iconic Portland food trucks (perfect for a quick lunch or late night cravings). The nearby waterfront is great for an early morning run/walk, an evening stroll, or a river tour. As in any busy downtown, street parking is difficult but a car isn't needed. The MAX transit is around the corner and the local farmers market (Saturday Market) is only blocks away. The hotel is not as large as other Marriotts but very clean and fresh with an urban/downtown feel. I was extremely pleased with our room. It had a large comfortable bed and a clean and spacious bathroom/shower. I recommend this hotel to anyone but mostly to young adults because of the nearby bars and night life. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland City Grill. Go for happy hour. Great food, cocktails and beautiful views.

Back to menu Return to top