Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
45 reviews
Historical reverence

If you are a history buff you will love this hotel. It reminded us of hotels in Europe. You may not... See full review

  • R C.
  • Aug 8, 2015
Very pleasant stay

This place is wonderful, very nice staff, free coffee and delicious muffins every morning, close to... See full review

  • Joseph Y.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Location
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Highlights
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Policies
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 45
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven L.
Business
Boynton Beach
Aug 3, 2015

Great hotel

The hotel was a great value and the staff is beyond great. The only problem is that the area has become a little seedy, especially at night -- not dangerous, just seedy. I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jameson C.
Business
Massena
Jan 14, 2015

Business Trip

Great for what I needed... I was a short walk from Penn Station , I had a layover and needed to be at the station early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanits
Business
Fairhaven, MA
Jul 15, 2014

3 NIght Stay

My daughter stayed at the Wolcott for 3 nights. She said the room was nice, clean but small. The only downside to the room was there wasnt a refrigerator. It was an inconvenience to constantly get ice to keep drinks cold and any food she brought back to room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JGB953
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 14, 2013

NIce for the price

Nothing special but very good for the price. Got upgraded for free when I checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Traveled
Business
Savannah Georgia
Aug 5, 2011

Well Traveled here!

The hallways stunk literally. The ac in the room was old,, and I came down with allergys that ended me up almost in ER before leaving. I would sneeze when in the room,, and eventually came down with closed ears,, and very swollen throat. Water puddled in the tub shower window. Otherwise the bed was very comfy. I have stayed in many other hotels for same price with much better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for buyers in the wholesale area of accessories. Not much restaurant choice in the immediate area.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tulipomania
Business
milwaukee
May 21, 2010

nice hotel

staff made extra effort to get my usual room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

jewejry

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 7, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

After researching many different hotels online, I found the Wolcott Hotel to be the best fit with regard to price and location. I made reservations for a room with a queen-size bed, and I figured it would be a small and cramped room, considering it's NYC. Surprisingly, there was an actual living room, in addition to the bedroom. All together, there were two TVs, a desk, a sofa, two room air conditioners, and of course, the bed. The room was very clean and tidy. Additionally, the hotel provides muffins, tea, and coffee from 6:30-10:30 am, everyday. My only complaint has to do with the noise--from doors slamming in the middle of the night and the room air conditioners. The room air conditioners looked antiquated, and made a whole lot of noise without providing cool relief. Besides that, I would stay at the Wolcott again. It's reasonably priced, and the location is great...you can literally walk to the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Travel
Business
Prague
Nov 2, 2009

Adequate Hotel

An adequate hotel for 2-3 night stay on a budget. Very small rooms (even for NYC). English is a second language for nearly all staff. Very courteous staff. Beware the Wi-Fi charge despite the hotel claiming it is free. Free Wi-Fi signals not from the hotel were easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top