Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2014 Check-out: Apr 17, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved... See full review

  • trey72
  • Apr 8, 2014
great hotel.great location.great price

The hotel was a very enjoyable stay.the bed was so comfortable to sleep in.quiet location but only... See full review

  • sandra and james
  • Mar 22, 2014
Get some rest and rejuvenation in a centrally located NYC hotel

From the moment that guests lay their eyes on the Wolcott Hotel, they will notice its impressive construction, complete with classic French style and decor.  This hotel prides itself on providing accommodation that is rich with elegance, but that is also reasonably priced.  It is situated in a prime location, thus making it convenient for guests to walk to the many desirable sights, including shops, dining, world-famous attractions and theaters.  Visitors can also obtain tickets to the numerous local attractions via the concierge desk.  For those traveling on business, the Wolcott Hotel has a 265 square foot meeting room.

Reasons to stay
  • Within walking distance of theaters, shops, dining and attractions
  • Plush, luxurious accommodation at affordable rates
  • Several room size options, including two-room suites
Wolcott Hotel rooms

The Wolcott Hotel features 200 guest rooms, including 63 two-room suites that come with two or three beds and a common parlor area.  Standard rooms come with either two twin-sized beds or one queen-sized bed.  No matter what size room a guest chooses, in-room amenities include TVs with pay-per-view and Nintendo gaming systems, telephone with voicemail service, iron and ironing board, safe and bathroom with shower/tub combinations and hair dryers.  Some rooms also provide great views of the Empire State Building.

Things to do nearby
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Theater District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Central Park (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ground Zero (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
37 out of 327
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
HMCK
Business
Moscow, Russia
Aug 2, 2013

good hotel for a reasonable price

The best thing about this hotel is its location, next to the Empire State Building, a few blocks away from Madison Square Garden, a block away from 34th street with its shopping areas. Rooms on the lower floors (mine was on the third) which face internal square space inside the building are not very good: the air is too humid likely because of the huge ventilation machines on the roof of the ground floor. Air conditioning does not help as the air comes from the same space. So, try to take upper floor rooms facing the street. Coffee and muffins are provided in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building, Broodaway

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
jo124
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2013

Perfect Hotel for Convenience

Needed a hotel near Penn Station. Reviews on this said rooms were small but the room was just right. bed comfortable, spacious bathroom with nice bath products. friendly staff. even offered continental breakfast which I did not know about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Lorraine Book Lover
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2013

Great Koreatown location & beautiful lobby

Koreatown is a great location when staying in NYC. Hotel Wolcott is over 100 years old, the lobby and rooms have beautiful, ornate ceiling work, so you feel like you're in a majestic hotel. The rooms are very clean and the one we stayed in was perfect for a family of 3 (3 twin beds). Probably renovated recently, nice carpets in the hallways. Coffee and muffins was handy, served in the gracious lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DennisB6060
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Decent value, but that's about it...

This is a very nice, clean, older hotel in a good spot near Macys and Madison Square Garden, and within quick walking distance to the Flatiron and Gramercy areas. It tends to attract younger and foreign groups travelling together as I witnessed during my stay. My room was very small but quite usable for sleeping and not much more. They gave me a high floor so it was fairly quiet. The bathroom sink and shower were very slow to react. And I was disappointed that the room lacked free internet. I'd recommend this to someone who needs very basic rooming for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
World Travel Bug
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2013

Budget-friendly but missing key perks

Staff were nice and liked they offer coffee and muffins each morning. You cannot beat this location - it is perfect and allows you to walk everywhere. My disappointments were that the room was out of date and felt musty and old, there were crumbs in one corner of the room. Also didn't like that wifi is an extra charge when so many hotels in the same neighborhood offer for free. Surprised that upon checkout they don't keep your bags free of charge but instead you have to pay for a locker - first time I've ever seen this in any hotel. My room also faced inside so no nice view or natural light. Won't go back because I like my perks and for the same price I can get a much cleaner room with a nice city view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
JGB953
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 14, 2013

NIce for the price

Nothing special but very good for the price. Got upgraded for free when I checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DLCT
Business
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Feb 10, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, but too old school for me

The location, its grand lobby, and helpful staff are the best parts about the Wolcott. I think it had good enough value, but I doubt I'll stay there again. The problem was the room: the radiators, while charming, clanked; the shower had scalding water I couldn't control, so I resorted to taking a bath; and the TV was not HD. I know this last part sounds stupid, but I the blurry images were a drag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Charles K
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 18, 2012

Better than expected

Got a great rate in a great location just a few walkable blocks from Penn Station. Small but clean room. Only two complaints -- really bad tv picture, barely watchable, and the room was VERY hot -- the heating definietly works (was an unusually mild December night). But the windows do open, and with the help of staff I did figure out how to reduce the heat (old style circulating water heat), so just an hour or two of mild discomfort. Well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire Pizza a block away on 5th Avenue serves a mean, old-style New York pizza. Yum!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Unhappy in NYC
Business
Denver
Dec 10, 2012

Needs a freshining up

We reserved a non-smoking room, however, upon checkin were told that "non-smoking" was merely a REQUEST and not a given. We were placed in a smoking room and the lingering stale tobacco got to be just too much. We were then placed in another smoking room (they didn't have any non-smoking rooms available) which didn't smell as bad. Unfortunately at 6 am we smelled aweful, ethnic food odors wafting up the central air shaft and permeating our room. I went down to the front desk and was informed that not only were about half the floors in the hotel dedicated to smokers, but they also had permanent residents and it was likely one of them cooking. They did eventually change our room to a non-smoking room, facing 31st. Despite the significant street noise (we slept with the TV on) and the difficulty regulating the temperature in the room, we were so elated to have a room which was palatable. I would be hard pressed to stay there again tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Bizz Traveller
Business
Sweden
Dec 8, 2012

5.12.2012

Worn down hotel in small side road of 6thAve. Has certainly seen better times - maybe 70 years ago. Room micro small. Bath room at least warm water but sink was made for dwarfs. Heater in the room was a one hot iron piece from 1930's that started to make music with 10 knocks every 1 hour. Good night sleep guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top