Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
474 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (474)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 474
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HHHRC3
Chicago
Mar 27, 2012

Make sure you don't get the handicap accessible room

Without being told ahead of time I was given a room with a handicap accessible bathtub/shower. It was very annoying to have to hold the shower nozzle that sprayed water while I was showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill, best man/maid of honor
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Basic sleeping needs, only!

Visit was for a wedding. The bathroom was filthy and I could not sit on the toilet because the 4 inch sink was in my lap! I will be much pickier when I book another hotel through a service. The only convenience was the location and even there I could have done better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill, best man/maid of honor
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Basic sleeping needs, only!

Visit was for a wedding. The bathroom was filthy and I could not sit on the toilet because the 4 inch sink was in my lap! I will be much pickier when I book another hotel through a service. The only convenience was the location and even there I could have done better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex W
Manchester, UK
Nov 27, 2012

Pretty decent actually!

The Wolcott is more or less what it describes itself as, clean, functional (if a bit gaudy) and with an exceptional location. Subway stations were close by and the area was safe and quiet at night. Free wi-fi would have been a decent perk, rather than the high rates charged to get it yoursef. The room was on the small side and could have benefited from a tad more storage, but was clean and the standard of housekeeping was great. If you plan on being out and about rather than in a hotel, then that's not much of a problem! There was an issue with our reservation as *this website* had not released the funds to the hotel but the staff at the Wolcott assisted with this on our behalf and resolved the situation quickly. I did find some other staff members and the concierge a little on the brusk side, although I would happily return if on the same budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get a Zagats guide and stick to it! There are a lot of wonderful places to eat in the city but around tourist areas, not so much.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mk1977
Oklahoma City, OK
May 13, 2014

Small, but cozy rooms in a great location

The room was much smaller than I anticipated from the pictures, but they were still comfortable and meet our needs (a place to sleep, shower and change clothes.) The thing I was must concerned about staying in Manhattan was not being able to sleep with all the noise in the streets. This was not an issue at The Wolcott. It was quiet. We had an interior facing room, so not a lot of light coming through the windows. This, plus the quiet was nice for sleeping in! The location was great. Not a lot of traffic in front of the hotel, but close to several Subway stations, which made it great to get to different attractions. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Although hotel has that antique look and feel, the bedding and furnishings were nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast here was ok if you are in hurry (muffins and coffee.) At the end of the block, across the street is a great deli (bread and butter) that has great prepared, made-to-order and buffet style food. We ate there every morning for a reasonable price. Lots of options, healthy or otherwise

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RaySFO
San Francisco
Apr 23, 2013

Classic Hotel Find

The Wolcott Hotel is a delight. The staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean, bright and cheery, and its location is wonderful, only blocks from New York Penn Station, several restuarants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short cab ride from Broadway theatre district. Or, short walk to subway, or busses.

Back to menu Return to top