Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruthie7777
Couples
Southern California
Dec 12, 2013

Amazing Location and Great Staff!

The price is great for what you get. The rooms aren't amazing but you're in the middle of everything. Walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Empire State Building. It doesn't get any better than that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Eataly! It is an amazing Italian restaurant!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christmas Traveler
Family
Phoenix
Dec 16, 2013

Wolcott Hotel is great

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately impressed with the decor. It is fabulous. Thenight staff greeted us enthusiastically. The rooms have twin beds, but for us, it was just right. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are big and clean. The location is good - it is just 3 blocks from the Empire State Building and 1 long block and 4 or 5 short blocks to Macy's.. It would be good to know ahead of time where the restaurants are located, but we did find some good pizza places. And there is a Dunkin Doughnuts and Subway just across the street. There was coffee and muffins in the morning. I would stay here again. Note, if it rains, ask the staff to put a towel on the A/C unit outside the window to deaden the sound of water dripping. Again, good hotel, good price, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanits
Business
Fairhaven, MA
Jul 15, 2014

3 NIght Stay

My daughter stayed at the Wolcott for 3 nights. She said the room was nice, clean but small. The only downside to the room was there wasnt a refrigerator. It was an inconvenience to constantly get ice to keep drinks cold and any food she brought back to room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtney S.
Couples
Azle
Feb 10, 2015

Great location and nice room

Great views, nice room, close to the subway and lots of stuff....we enjoyed it and will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 7, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

After researching many different hotels online, I found the Wolcott Hotel to be the best fit with regard to price and location. I made reservations for a room with a queen-size bed, and I figured it would be a small and cramped room, considering it's NYC. Surprisingly, there was an actual living room, in addition to the bedroom. All together, there were two TVs, a desk, a sofa, two room air conditioners, and of course, the bed. The room was very clean and tidy. Additionally, the hotel provides muffins, tea, and coffee from 6:30-10:30 am, everyday. My only complaint has to do with the noise--from doors slamming in the middle of the night and the room air conditioners. The room air conditioners looked antiquated, and made a whole lot of noise without providing cool relief. Besides that, I would stay at the Wolcott again. It's reasonably priced, and the location is great...you can literally walk to the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
starwar mom
Family
san juan, Puerto Rico
Sep 21, 2010

great arquitecture

it was realy quiet.clean, friendly, great location,great arquitecture. it would been better if the breakfast was fresher and had more variety.overall i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block away from fifth avenue

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Melbourne Beach, FL
Jun 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Staff was very helpful. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great shower. Older a/c so might be hot in the heat of the summer but great hotel for the price. Would recommend and stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 5, 2009

Good Hotel but with a drawback

I chose to stay at the Wolcott because of the great price and location. The room was small, but housekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean and well stocked. We were only in the room to sleep, so the size wasn't really a factor. The biggest drawback to this hotel is that wireless internet is not free. The internet is $10 for 24 hours and there is a bit of a discount for multiple days of use. I might not have chosen this hotel if I had realized ahead of time that the internet was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk 8 blocks south on 5th Avenue to check out the Flatiron Building. Then have lunch in Madison Square Park at the Shake Shack. The burgers are excellent, I would say they are some of the best in the city.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rogerd
Family
Oslo, Norway
Jul 11, 2009

centrally located hotel

as a weekend hotel this is good for the price. No luxury but what you need for a weekend hotel. We had room in to the backyard which was quiet. Empire state is just around the corner and the Time Square is only 15-20 minutes walk so it is very central. We actually walked to the 5th avenue to central park in about 30 minutes. The fitness room is not big but there is some basic equiement available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 10, 2009

Great Breakfast

The room facing the backstreet is much quiet than the room facing 31st street. Ask the front dest give you the room in back. The free breakfast was great. The rooms are not sound insulation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of fast food within 2 blocks.

Back to menu Return to top