Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
45 reviews
Historical reverence

If you are a history buff you will love this hotel. It reminded us of hotels in Europe. You may not... See full review

  • R C.
  • Aug 8, 2015
Very pleasant stay

This place is wonderful, very nice staff, free coffee and delicious muffins every morning, close to... See full review

  • Joseph Y.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Location
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Highlights
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Policies
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charuchan
Friends
Orlando, Florida
Dec 14, 2013

Great hotel

Love muffin they served in the morning :) staff is very kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jameson C.
Business
Massena
Jan 14, 2015

Business Trip

Great for what I needed... I was a short walk from Penn Station , I had a layover and needed to be at the station early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 11, 2007

Nice place, very nice value

The Wolcott was the perfect choice for our first stay in Manhattan. It was clean, has a beautiful lobby, the room was larger than expect and the staff was helpful and friendly. Located only a block or two from both the Empire State Building and the subway system, and an easy walk to Times Square, the Wolcott was convenient for getting to just about anything. I would stay here again when we next visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 20, 2007

1st trip to NY

My boyfriend and I were very happy with The Wolcott. The room was comfortable and very unique. Around the corner from the hotel was a place that would deliver all different kinds of food 24/7-better than room service because the prices were very reasonable and the food was great. The location of the hotel was perfect. We were close to the Empire State building, subways, and walking distance from Time Square. We will definatly stay at the Wilcott the next time we visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire Pizza-Only $2 for a huge slice of cheese pizza and it is yummy

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frederik
Friends
Amsterdam
May 16, 2007

comfertable, friendly, helpfull

From rooms on the frontside a nice view on Empire State Bulding. Subway in next street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Free coffeee and muffins each morning in the lounge. For breakfeast good opportunities nearby the hotel.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven L.
Business
Boynton Beach
Aug 3, 2015

Great hotel

The hotel was a great value and the staff is beyond great. The only problem is that the area has become a little seedy, especially at night -- not dangerous, just seedy. I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph Y.
Single
N/A
Aug 4, 2015

Very pleasant stay

This place is wonderful, very nice staff, free coffee and delicious muffins every morning, close to all major attractions. I recommend this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R C.
Couples
N/A
Aug 8, 2015

Historical reverence

If you are a history buff you will love this hotel. It reminded us of hotels in Europe. You may not get the big box hotel luxuries – but you will get a great location at historical landmark hotel. We hope to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty Texan
Friends
Belton, TX, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade Weekend

The Wolcott is a beautiful, historic hotel that is updated and well-kept. The lobby is beautiful. Our room was very clean and spacious for NYC. We liked the option of three twin sized beds for a group of 3. The check-in/out was very smooth and easy. Our luggage was stored on the last day at no cost. There were delicious muffins, coffee, and tea served each morning in the lobby. The hotel location is great....close to subway, Herald Square, Empire State Building. Our price was great especially for a holiday weekend. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kandr
Couples
New York City
Aug 21, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Friendly staff, clean & adequate size room. Muffins were a treat for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top