Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J K Milky way
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 16, 2013

We'll stay there again

The Walcott was the perfect hotel for my husband and me for a special weekend in New York. The location was outstanding. We walked almost everywhere. The rooms are very clean, but small. We got the junior suite and it was perfect for the 2 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Lis
Business
MA
Dec 16, 2013

Weekend Away

It was an old hotel. The room was clean and warm. Subway was near by but it was not far to walk to several attractions. There were several types of muffins, coffee and tea for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John goes to NYC
Business
Baltimore
Dec 16, 2013

Great find

Friendly staff, nice size room for Manhattan and great location add up to a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the High Line elevated park.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaxFaz
Business
York UK
Dec 16, 2013

Fab location

This hotel in a great location, the staff are very friendly, the complimentary coffee and muffins were very welcome too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks up on 33rd st or 34 great shops, with great discounts, heading towards Maceys

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cryd
Business
Austin tx
Dec 16, 2013

Good but could have been great

The hotel is a beautiful old ornate hotel that was a good buy for the money for NYC. The staff was helpful though businesslike. Location was good very near Madison Squ Garden and Empire State Bldg. We felt very safe there. The things that detracted from our experience were: hotel rooms were uncomfortably warm even when the maintenance men turned off the radiator, which knocked loudly at times making it difficult to sleep. We slept with the air conditioner on though the highs were below freezing and it was snowing. However, it blows right on your head at night so we had to put a chair in front of the window a/c to divert the blowing air at night. There is not much insulation between rooms so we heard doors slam all night. We were close to the cleaning closet and elevators as all junior suites are in the middle of the hotel so we would recommend a room further from the center hallway. Showers went from scalding hot to cold when another guest must have flushed or run water, so we took tub baths. Free coffee tea and muffins each morning was nice though they were exactly the same muffins every day of five, which we wondered why they couldn't rotate another choice occasionally. No cream for coffee, just weak skim milk, so that could easily be fixed too at little cost to the hotel. And one of our guests didn't drink tea or coffee so juice or better milk would have been welcome. Beds slept well, towels were nice and fluffy. If the hotel can fix these items, I would have rated them 4 or 4 1/2. Even just whole milk or cream for coffee, more variety of muffins, and maybe a juice choice would have made a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Martinique on Broadway was a great experience. Good value, variety and excellent food.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christmas Traveler
Business
Phoenix
Dec 16, 2013

Wolcott Hotel is great

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately impressed with the decor. It is fabulous. Thenight staff greeted us enthusiastically. The rooms have twin beds, but for us, it was just right. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are big and clean. The location is good - it is just 3 blocks from the Empire State Building and 1 long block and 4 or 5 short blocks to Macy's.. It would be good to know ahead of time where the restaurants are located, but we did find some good pizza places. And there is a Dunkin Doughnuts and Subway just across the street. There was coffee and muffins in the morning. I would stay here again. Note, if it rains, ask the staff to put a towel on the A/C unit outside the window to deaden the sound of water dripping. Again, good hotel, good price, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bintang Oka
Business
Boston, ma
Dec 15, 2013

Couples getaway

Owh I really recommend this hotel to others and I'm going back to this hotel for sure coz naim the name of the staff who is helping me is very nice and helpful and the other staff to nice information while they give. I love this place. I would like to get a special price when I'm staying so I can stay any longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place for shopping sightseeing tour and a lot of activities you can do it and to know the area that you have never know. The price you pay the service you get

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
briblack
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 14, 2013

ultimate crash pad

Stayed one night after the office party. Woke up had the free coffee muffin walked to work. Perfect. What a lobby! Like a walk back to the 20th c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is two blocks away.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charuchan
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 14, 2013

Great hotel

Love muffin they served in the morning :) staff is very kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidder
Business
Stoke- On- Trent, England.
Dec 13, 2013

Brilliant Christmas getaway.

The Wolcott Hotel is in a fantastic location just off fifth avenue. It is ideally situated for all midtown places of interest. With the Empire State Building and Macys only 3 streets away. Times Square and the fantastic Christmas tree at Rockerfeller just a short stroll away. The hotel itself is small and cosy and you are made to feel welcome. We had the junior suite which was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were coffee and muffins in the foyer for breakfast which were very tasty and set you up for the morning. We would definitely go back to the Wolcott if we visit New York again. We have previously stayed in the Waldorf Astoria but felt cosier in the Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick Tock Diner on 35th /8th avenue( under New Yorker hotel). Very good value meals. Set you up for the day. Portions are massive. Used it 3 times during our 5 day stay and each time it was great.

Back to menu Return to top