Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
louie
Business
manchester england
Jan 9, 2015

Great hotel & Location

The Wolcott Hotel was fanatastic a few reasons. Firstly: Great location. me and my fiancé was suprised at just how many places were within walkable distances from the hotel. As the hotel was 3 minutes away from the empire state building, if you got lost you were able to use the empire state building as a go to. Secondly: The hotel was clean and tidy. Coffee and muffins every morning around 6:30 till 10am. The hotel staff left us to ourselves and eventually it felt like an apartment as it was so quiet. The shower was amazing and the bed was comfy. The hotel served it's purpose it wasn't ultra fancy nor was it shabby. We spent most of the day exploring and using it for a resting spot and for sleep. Really recommend the wolcott hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state building if you go early in the morning you will miss the queue. Every wants a night picture try and get there just before dark. Usually queues around the block of up to 3 hours waiting times

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldies
Business
Ireland
Jan 9, 2015

Sight-seeing 'Oldies'

Had three nights to spend sight-seeing: ideal location beside the Empire State Building. Staff very helpful & room spacious & clean. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For 'Oldies' like us take the sight-seeing tour buses: even for just getting from one area to another.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynnet
Business
Leicestershire
Jan 2, 2015

Brilliant hotel

Don't listen to any negative reviews on this 'budget' hotel. The location is fantastic you step out the front entrance and have a glorious view of the Empire State building. Keep left and you will find a fantastic Irish bar great staff, drinks and food!! (One crossing then past car park). Beds so comfortable temperature in room and whole hotel just right, and quiet night (there was building work happening elsewhere by I didn't hear it! ) Staff on 24/7 and so helpful. Any problems ( I locked myself out of safe!!) instantly dealt with. Decor is fantastic everywhere immaculately clean. Coffee excellent and muffins set you up for a fantastic day in New York. On a previous visit stayed in Hyatt hotel which was amazing but pricey. If we are lucky enough to return to NY would choose Wolcott!! Don't twice book it. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irish bar

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry P.
Business
Chelsea
Dec 29, 2014

Son Visit

Great location and an interesting historic hotel. Rooms are a good size though dated in some areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidder
Business
Stoke- On- Trent, England.
Dec 7, 2014

Another WOW holiday in NYC

This is our fifth visit to New York and the second time we have stayed at the Wolcott Hotel. Recommend this hotel for its great location. Beautiful lobby area and good clean rooms. It is no more than a 3 star but does everything you should require. If we do go to NYC again we would definitely think of revisiting the Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick Tock diner at the New Yorker. Lovely retro American diner . Very good value!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrsH
Business
Hastings, UK
Dec 3, 2014

Great Location

The location is great, walking distance of Time Square and the loads of shops! Empire State building round the corner, bus stop for sightseeing buses (definitely recommend). Muffins and coffee in the morning very nice. Love the original features of the old building but some parts a little shabby. We booked a junior suite, bed super comfy, room clean, BUT the wall paper was very green and overwhelming and we didn't realise we had booked a room with no view apart from a flat roof at the back. So the room seemed dark, however we were out most of the time. Had to pay for wifi, and not much TV channel choice. thought the concierge could have been a little bit more helpful New York is a great city though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a round trip bus tour to get your bearings of New York - its smaller than you realise!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mew12
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 24, 2014

Great location

Within walking distance of Penn Station, Macys, Empire State Building and so much more. Hotel is quaint with beautiful detailing. Room was clean and comfortable, nice touch was complimentary coffee and muffins for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meditating on Margins
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2014

One Night In New York

I was only in NYC for a Saturday evening, and all I needed was a place to sleep. I prepaid for my room, so I wouldn't have a wait at check-in. When I checked in at 3pm, there was a line and a wait, even though there were 3 people on duty at the desk. After check-in, I went up to my room on the 6th floor and the hallway smelled like raw sewage. My room smelled fine, but the hallway was almost unbearable. The twin beds were something out of "Leave it to Beaver", so my 6'4" frame didn't get any rest that night. The toilet in the bathroom was so close to the wall, I had to sit on it almost sideways. The sink was like one in an army barracks; there was no room for any toiletries. Oh, and if you want ice or a vending machine, you have to take the elevator back to the lobby and descend stairs to the basement for the lone ice machine. ESPN didn't work on the tv. And they charge you $20 for 24 hours of internet. The sale price for this flop house was $130 for the night. I've stayed at a Motel 6 for $40 that was waaaaay better than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigmoose1981
Business
Albany ny
Nov 18, 2014

Nice location

Location was good but bed were small and room decor was outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bhell c
Business
scotland
Nov 17, 2014

second time here

Second time at the wolcott and will definetly be back next year !! Spotless rooms and comfy beds .great location for buses and subway and also tour buses. Have stayed at 2 other midtown hotels and payed almost double the price .really cannot imagine staying anywhere else in new york.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Metro card cost $30 for a weeks unlimited bus and subway travel ,excellent value and the fastest way to get around. 34 th subway station is only 5 minutes away where you can reach just about anywhere in the city

Back to menu Return to top