Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 7, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

After researching many different hotels online, I found the Wolcott Hotel to be the best fit with regard to price and location. I made reservations for a room with a queen-size bed, and I figured it would be a small and cramped room, considering it's NYC. Surprisingly, there was an actual living room, in addition to the bedroom. All together, there were two TVs, a desk, a sofa, two room air conditioners, and of course, the bed. The room was very clean and tidy. Additionally, the hotel provides muffins, tea, and coffee from 6:30-10:30 am, everyday. My only complaint has to do with the noise--from doors slamming in the middle of the night and the room air conditioners. The room air conditioners looked antiquated, and made a whole lot of noise without providing cool relief. Besides that, I would stay at the Wolcott again. It's reasonably priced, and the location is great...you can literally walk to the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Buffalo, NY
Dec 14, 2009

decent location for decent price

We expected the room to be small, but we also were stuck with 2 twin beds, and the heater was very noisy at 4am! Bathroom was clean enough, concierge was helpful, and we were right off 5th avenue - easy to get a cab and close enough to walk to many different attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located between 5th and Avenue of the Americas, there is plenty of shopping within 10-15 minute walk. Easy walk to Empire State Building, Rockefeller Ctr, Times Square. 15-20 min walk to Central Park.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Travel
Business
Prague
Nov 2, 2009

Adequate Hotel

An adequate hotel for 2-3 night stay on a budget. Very small rooms (even for NYC). English is a second language for nearly all staff. Very courteous staff. Beware the Wi-Fi charge despite the hotel claiming it is free. Free Wi-Fi signals not from the hotel were easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 5, 2009

Good Hotel but with a drawback

I chose to stay at the Wolcott because of the great price and location. The room was small, but housekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean and well stocked. We were only in the room to sleep, so the size wasn't really a factor. The biggest drawback to this hotel is that wireless internet is not free. The internet is $10 for 24 hours and there is a bit of a discount for multiple days of use. I might not have chosen this hotel if I had realized ahead of time that the internet was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk 8 blocks south on 5th Avenue to check out the Flatiron Building. Then have lunch in Madison Square Park at the Shake Shack. The burgers are excellent, I would say they are some of the best in the city.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wedding Guest
Friends
San Mateo, California
Sep 21, 2009

Location, Location, Location

Hotel is in a great location. Could walk to many of the top places in New York City. The staff was friendly but not instrusive. Rooms were very old but adequate. We used the day bed and the separate bedroom. It would of been more private had the bathroom not been attached to the separate bedroom and if there was a door to separate the "living room/daybed area" from the bedroom. But very reasonably priced for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
He who loves.
Single
Chilliwack, British Columbia
Aug 29, 2009

The location was nice!

I ate like a prince! the restaurants were good, and so were the wine lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie in the city
Family
Utah
Aug 16, 2009

Great location for the price.

Even though the rooms are a little small, they are clean and the hotel staff are friendly. I do wish our room comes furnished with a small microwave and a fridge though. Overall, we're happy with the service and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a weekly pass for the subway. It takes you to most attractions in the city and it's well worth the cost.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speed Racer Ann
Family
California and Maryland
Aug 15, 2009

hotel wolcott

Our room was ready before check in time so we were able to put our stuff in as soon as we arrived in new york. Our rooms were clean and the maid even folded an article of clothing she/he found on the floor. The staff was helpful with subway directions and looked things up for us. I liked how they gave us the options to change the sheets or not in order to preserve water. It was a very environment friendly option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a subway restraunt.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rogerd
Family
Oslo, Norway
Jul 11, 2009

centrally located hotel

as a weekend hotel this is good for the price. No luxury but what you need for a weekend hotel. We had room in to the backyard which was quiet. Empire state is just around the corner and the Time Square is only 15-20 minutes walk so it is very central. We actually walked to the 5th avenue to central park in about 30 minutes. The fitness room is not big but there is some basic equiement available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 10, 2009

Great Breakfast

The room facing the backstreet is much quiet than the room facing 31st street. Ask the front dest give you the room in back. The free breakfast was great. The rooms are not sound insulation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of fast food within 2 blocks.

Back to menu Return to top