Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
355 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Proudly celebrating its 110th anniversary in March 2014, The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York; three blocks south of the Empire State Building on 31st Street between 5th Ave. & Broadway. Walkable to many attractions including the United Nations, Macy's, Chelsea, Circle Line Boat Cruise, Flatiron, Meatpacking and Highline neighborhoods, Broadway theater district, Times Square and all public transportation. The Wolcott has been offering clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices since 1904. In fact the lobby and many of the guest rooms still retain their original architectural detailing. The Hotel has been written about in many domestic and international guides.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (355)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 16, 2010

An Excellent Value

I stayed at this hotel because New York was extremely full for Fashion Week and it was the only hotel around Midtown that I could get for less than $600/night. I am a business traveler and accustomed to staying in fairly high end hotels. The Wolcott worked out great for me. This is not a luxury hotel for sure, but it was super clean----none of those critters that have been plaguing NYC lately! I am in my 40's, but the hotel was somewhat nostalgic for me, as it was packed with European backpackers--The lobby was often filled with young people talking and it reminded me of my own travels around Europe with a backpack when I was much younger. The hotel is no-frills, but the lobby is exquisite---a reminder of a period gone by in NY. Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Macy's famous store, Times Square and many other attractions are within easy walking distance. My meetings at Lexington and 49th were a pleasurable brisk walk away. The gym was small, but the Europeans don't seem to like to work out and I worked out all three days and only saw only one other person. Wi-Fi is provided for free and the hotel has a nice continental breakfast with muffins, bananas, other fruit and coffee provided free each morning. If you are a prima donna and are used to the four seasons don't stay here. But if you are on a budget and want to spend time in new york, this is an absolutely excellent value and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking Garage on 32nd street 25 a night with validation from hotel!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bratislava, Slovakia
Sep 10, 2010

Nice stay

We stayed 4 nights (August 22-26 2010) at Wolcott. It was nice hotel for very reasonable price, situated just in the middle of Manhattan. We have beautiful view from room windows at the Empire State Building. Attractions, subway and shopping were in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macsk
Toronto, ON
Sep 4, 2010

Nice hotel with great service

After reading some awful reviews about the state of the rooms and the service, I must say that I was a bit apprehensive about booking the hotel. But being on a budget, we could not pass on the special price of $115 for a junior suite (1 queen and 1 sofa-bed) in such a great location.The 3 of us arrived at the hotel at 7:00 a.m after a long bus ride from Toronto. We thought we could just leave our luggage somewhere in the hotel and then come back to check in later in the afternoon. To our surprise, the extremely helpful front desk person (thank you, [...]) let us check in. He even invited us to have some breakfast in the lobby. The suite was small but clean as was the bathroom. We did not expect anything fancy and therefore were not disappointed with it. We did not spend any time in the room except to take a shower and sleep anyway. The suite had a t.v in each room but I have no idea whether they worked because we never switched them on. It also had a rollaway bed under the sofa-bed (no mention of it in the room description). We did not find out until just before we left when we were checking under the beds to make sure we did not leave anything behind.I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone on a budget and needing a place close to the Penn Station. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8acwm
Budapest
Aug 31, 2010

Wolcott2010

Check in takes long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, Ca
Aug 29, 2010

My First Time In New York City

The Wolcott Hotel was a fun place to stay at. It wasn't so busy, I felt comfortable. Also, it was near time square and many convenient locations, such as restaurants, shopping center, and the subway stations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2010

Nice room, good location

This was a vacation with my girlfriend. The location was great because it was 1 mile from Time Square, 3 blocks from Empire State building, 4 blocks from the Museum of Sex, and 3 blocks from a subway station entrance. It is located in the middel of Korean Town and next to a drug store (CVS). Due to the fact that it's not in Time Square, the price is much lower. Not all rooms come with a fridge, but you can request and see if you get lucky. Room cleaning is good and front desk respond fast too. It must be a NY thing, but the front desk person at night was not too friendly or talkative. He just gave one word answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a City Pass which will include tickets to Statue of Libery, Ellis Island, Empire State Building, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Metropolitan Museum (MET), Cloister Museum, Guggenheim Museum, a buy one get one free ticket to Manhattan Island boat tour.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Aug 20, 2010

perfect for the simple traveler

My teenage son and I wanted to experience New York. The rooms offered two twin beds in turn was perfect for us. (He cringed at the idea of sharing a bed) The location was a block away from the Empire State Building and subways were only a block or two away as well. The concierge at the hotel were wonderful in informing us what train to take to each destination. We even spent a day at Coney Island and swam in the ocean. The hotel is very ornate and simple, but the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. For you coffee drinkers, there is a Dunkin Donuts/Subway across the street. It was the first thing I made sure, that coffee was near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I usually take a cab from LaGuardia airport, but a person on the plane that lives in Manhattan said to take the "Manhattan Express" bus to Grand Central station and then a cab to our hotel. The cab ride would have been $50, the bus was $10 each person and the cab ride was $6.00. To get back, the hotel offered an airport shuttle from the hotel to La Gauardi airport for $38.00.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikoletta
Europe, Lithuania
Aug 14, 2010

Fabulous stay!

We did a lot of sightseeing. In comparison to the previous stay in February which was in Chinatown, 91 Hotel Wolcott's location (on the corner of Broadway and 5th avenue) was time saving as a great many attractions are a stroll away (Empire, Broadway theatres). However, if you wish to go further (Metropolitan museum, for example, or the Statue of Liberty)a subway (line B and D) is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's shopping mall. We were lucky to see the presentation of Madonna's new collection Material Girl at Macy's. The hotel has convenient lockers (for 50 cents) so if your departure is after check-out time(11am)you may leave your suitcases in the lockers and explore NY. Complimentary coffee and muffins in the morning is a nice addition if you want light breakfast. And most important, the staff was awesome!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
el paso tx
Aug 7, 2010

Nice hotel great location friendly

Had two twin beds in one room and another twin bed in the other room each room had own tv alarm clock dresser and closet...Less than two blocks to the empire state and a combation of dunkin donuts subway and baskin robbins accross the street...also 4 blocks to penn station which was great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
me
Aug 6, 2010

good hotel

staff was great. very kid friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top