Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2015 Check-out: Feb 22, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
371 reviews
Business Trip

Great for what I needed... I was a short walk from Penn Station , I had a layover and needed to be... See full review

  • Jameson C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
great experience

Grear service for affordable price...not far from different tourist attractions and many shopping... See full review

  • Christopher C.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (371)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Traveled
Business
Savannah Georgia
Aug 5, 2011

Well Traveled here!

The hallways stunk literally. The ac in the room was old,, and I came down with allergys that ended me up almost in ER before leaving. I would sneeze when in the room,, and eventually came down with closed ears,, and very swollen throat. Water puddled in the tub shower window. Otherwise the bed was very comfy. I have stayed in many other hotels for same price with much better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for buyers in the wholesale area of accessories. Not much restaurant choice in the immediate area.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbednarowski
Business
Poznan, Poland
Aug 5, 2011

Very Good!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2011

OK, not great, centrally located

Very close to Empire State Building. Long walk to Times Square. Safe neighborhood - felt comfortable as lone female walking around at night. Annoyed that had to pay extra for internet to work in room. Co-worker's room didn't even have a desk - had to work on the bed! Nice to have muffins and coffee in the morning, but everyone sat around in the regular lobby chairs balancing plates and cups on their laps trying to eat - would be nice to have an actual eating area with tables, or at least more coffee/end tables. Room decor rather tired and worn, window sill tile grout in shower had black mildew. Teeny slow elevators. Staff didn't seem very happy to be there at all. But overall everything just OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill, best man/maid of honor
Business
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Basic sleeping needs, only!

Visit was for a wedding. The bathroom was filthy and I could not sit on the toilet because the 4 inch sink was in my lap! I will be much pickier when I book another hotel through a service. The only convenience was the location and even there I could have done better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leftry
Business
wisconsin
Jul 30, 2011

Wolcott

Great location, loved being so close to the empire state building

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOGOTA, COLOMBIA
Jul 26, 2011

Best choice for short stay

Hotel is an old building in an excelent condition, very clean y comfortable despite room was small. There were always clean sheet and towels. Staff could be more polite. It´s a very good option for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stahn Aileron
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Short Stay

Pros:-Location - Located dead smack in the middle of Midtown, Manhattan. Easy access to plenty of locations, like: Herald Square, Times Square, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Union Square (the last one is a long walk or a short train ride; rest are within reasonable walking distance).Cons:-Internet - NOT included in the room fee and the user experience I had with it was poor. I paid for 72 hours of use (effective from the moment of purchase at the hotel) and half the time I wanted to use it, it wasn't fully functional. I'd be connected to the network, but not access to the 'Net itself. I wound up using the free hotspots out in town just as often, if not more so. When it did work, the speed was reasonable, at least.-Small-ish room - No desk, so trying to use a laptop in my room wasn't exactly simple. Also a mild lack of plugs, so don't expect to be able to plug in a bunch of electronics for use or charging at once.Overall:-For what it was, it served my purposes (save for the lack of internet access included in the room price.) It had a very nice cozy feel to the place. The floor layout took me a moment to figure out (the interior is segmented into 3 areas by the stairwells).-I'd recommend this for the location and if you just need a place to stay for a couple days. I don't know if I could stay there for more than maybe a week, though. It's perfect if you travel light and don't expect too much or if you plan on spending more time roaming the city than staying in the hotel. Otherwise, I don't think it's a very good deal for the price if you take certain things for granted when it comes to hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2011

Definitely not modern

Had trouble finding the place due to all the scaffolding obscuring the front of the building. The lobby is really nice, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time there. The room was tiny, just slightly larger than the double bed in the room. Everything in the room... bed, carpet, furniture, curtains, wallpaper, was quite worn and shabby. The bathroom didn't look like it had been updated since at least the 1960s. For the price and the amount of time I was staying (1 night), it met my minimum requirements, but I doubt if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewis5806
Business
liverpool uk
Mar 10, 2011

Great place

Everythink is close by great for any first timer to nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Feb 1, 2011

Elegant, comfortable, attentive staff

This trip was for our 5th wedding anniversary.I really liked this hotel. The location was five star. The lobby staff was friendly and professional. The maid service was excellent. The king room was not too small and the bathroom was huge for NY. Aside from the staff and the ambience of this ornate jewel,the location of the Wolcott is great. Subway stations close by, Keen's Steakhouse within walking distance as are so many major NY attractions. We stayed for three days and it was the best hotel experience out of the four trips I've made. Previous stays including the Hyatts and the Waldorf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin Donuts is within 150 feet of the lobby entrance at 31st and Fifth Avenue.

Back to menu Return to top