Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
433 out of 433
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA country folk
Business
central PA
Jul 22, 2012

Were pleased

Room and facilty were certainly nice enough. We would go back. We did not hang out in our room. So asthetically and functionally the room met our needs. Of course having a refrig in the room could have helped out with keeping food left overs-- but it's absence was not a deal breaker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert likes to travel
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 19, 2012

Great Location, Clean Hotel

The hotel was within 3 blocks of the Empire State building and 4 longer blocks to Penn Station. They have lockers to store your items in prior to and after checking out. This makes for light travel around the city. Clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A 2 block walk to the Empire State Building.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debby
Business
Portsmouth England
Jun 27, 2012

good value

Staff were not really very welcoming or helpful. A smile costs nothing after all. The reception area is beautiful and worth popping in just for a look. We had a junior suite which was ideal for the three of us.The cleaning staff were very friendly and kept the room very tidy and clean, top marks to them. Some nice bars close by.Bit of a,walk to Times Square, so wear low heals. Penn station is only a short distance from the hotel so you can get the train any where and its very cheap. Overall I would stay there again, but please some one get the staff to smile and be more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frankvoice
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 18, 2012

Great location

This hotel was a bit above average, if a little pricey. Room was small. Enjoyed coffee and muffins in the morning. Concierge very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get lots of subway tickets.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichardSS
Business
Newark, Delaware
Jun 13, 2012

Old fashioned hotel

The room and hotel were fine. The hotel is quite old and this is reflected in the room, but it was fine and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E5t4
Business
Lincoln
Jun 10, 2012

Sisters yearly getaway

We always stay in this hotel, although a budget hotel it still provides a great place to stay and looks fabulous you should see the reception area it is beautiful. We find the hotel perfectly situated. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms clean, some of the rooms are a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Catch the subway to Brooklyn and experience another aspect of NYC.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claire1039
Business
New york
May 27, 2012

Good value and good location

The hotel was an okay standard, perhaps a little bit tired. It was really clean and tidy and the staff were great. There is free coffee and muffins for breakfast which was a nice touch and unexpected. In terms of location it was great for a first trip- close to all of the sights - empire state building, times square & walk able distance to central park, however not great if you want to find somewhere good to go for a drink in the evening, we usually had to get a cab or the subway over to Greenwich. Overal though a really good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is really close to the empire state building. Try to get there as early in the morning as possible as it means beating the queue which can be up to 5 hours sometimes!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYU mom
Business
Doylestown, PA
May 18, 2012

Perfecto

I was more than pleasantly surprised with our stay. We arrived early and needed to have our luggage held before check-in, which was not until 4:00 p.m. We were able to check-in when we arrived at 11:30 a.m. - this was a life saver for us as we all came from different areas. The staff was professional, jovial and courteous. There were muffins and coffee and tea available in the lobby in the mornings. The location is great - walking distance to many areas, near subway, and taxis easy to access. Room was very spacious, clean, comfortable, and just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Too many places to mention - dined in SoHo, The Village, Upper Eas Side - all great and worth the subway trip...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr.t
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 15, 2012

Great

very clean and the room I was staying was really comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bexx
Business
UK
Apr 17, 2012

Take Ear Plugs!

The only complaint about this hotel is the noise at night. Lorries, cars, taxis, dust carts, and music until 3am from the bar down the street. Everything else about the hotel was absolutely fine - including the free hot drinks and muffins provided by the hotel each morning. My advice would be to take ear plugs, as the city that never sleeps, tries to make sure that you don't sleep either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Don't take the subway - you never know what you'll discover enroute to your destination.

Back to menu Return to top