Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
359 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (359)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rome, Italy
Jan 14, 2011

Great location

Spent only one night in the Hotel, but was great. Liked the old fashion atmosphere and the great location. The bathroom probably needs some restyling and definitely the showers need to be replaced with something working, as waiting for the hot water to come out was not that funny, in mid january. The front desk staff needs sometimes to be reminded about how to be friendly to guests, but overall it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ICHIUMI, 6 East 32nd ST, NEW YORK, NY, 10016 Tel : 212-725-1333. Best sushi you can have in town with an all-you-can-eat formula!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffy D.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Excellent

The staff was friendly and helpful. Although it was an older hotel, their service wasn't bad at all. Our shower was a little bit jankie, but everything else was good. I love the location of the hotel, it's in the center of everything and I was able to cab everywhere under $7 from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkl
Business
wisconsin
Sep 27, 2010

very reasonable, good location

hotel is an older one. lobby was beautiful. room was good size. bathroom could use hooks & shelves to place toiletries. couple blocks from subway. dunkin donuts across the street. good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
starwar mom
Business
san juan, Puerto Rico
Sep 21, 2010

great arquitecture

it was realy quiet.clean, friendly, great location,great arquitecture. it would been better if the breakfast was fresher and had more variety.overall i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block away from fifth avenue

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 16, 2010

An Excellent Value

I stayed at this hotel because New York was extremely full for Fashion Week and it was the only hotel around Midtown that I could get for less than $600/night. I am a business traveler and accustomed to staying in fairly high end hotels. The Wolcott worked out great for me. This is not a luxury hotel for sure, but it was super clean----none of those critters that have been plaguing NYC lately! I am in my 40's, but the hotel was somewhat nostalgic for me, as it was packed with European backpackers--The lobby was often filled with young people talking and it reminded me of my own travels around Europe with a backpack when I was much younger. The hotel is no-frills, but the lobby is exquisite---a reminder of a period gone by in NY. Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Macy's famous store, Times Square and many other attractions are within easy walking distance. My meetings at Lexington and 49th were a pleasurable brisk walk away. The gym was small, but the Europeans don't seem to like to work out and I worked out all three days and only saw only one other person. Wi-Fi is provided for free and the hotel has a nice continental breakfast with muffins, bananas, other fruit and coffee provided free each morning. If you are a prima donna and are used to the four seasons don't stay here. But if you are on a budget and want to spend time in new york, this is an absolutely excellent value and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking Garage on 32nd street 25 a night with validation from hotel!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bratislava, Slovakia
Sep 10, 2010

Nice stay

We stayed 4 nights (August 22-26 2010) at Wolcott. It was nice hotel for very reasonable price, situated just in the middle of Manhattan. We have beautiful view from room windows at the Empire State Building. Attractions, subway and shopping were in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macsk
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 4, 2010

Nice hotel with great service

After reading some awful reviews about the state of the rooms and the service, I must say that I was a bit apprehensive about booking the hotel. But being on a budget, we could not pass on the special price of $115 for a junior suite (1 queen and 1 sofa-bed) in such a great location.The 3 of us arrived at the hotel at 7:00 a.m after a long bus ride from Toronto. We thought we could just leave our luggage somewhere in the hotel and then come back to check in later in the afternoon. To our surprise, the extremely helpful front desk person (thank you, [...]) let us check in. He even invited us to have some breakfast in the lobby. The suite was small but clean as was the bathroom. We did not expect anything fancy and therefore were not disappointed with it. We did not spend any time in the room except to take a shower and sleep anyway. The suite had a t.v in each room but I have no idea whether they worked because we never switched them on. It also had a rollaway bed under the sofa-bed (no mention of it in the room description). We did not find out until just before we left when we were checking under the beds to make sure we did not leave anything behind.I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone on a budget and needing a place close to the Penn Station. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
k8acwm
Business
Budapest
Aug 31, 2010

Wolcott2010

Check in takes long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, Ca
Aug 29, 2010

My First Time In New York City

The Wolcott Hotel was a fun place to stay at. It wasn't so busy, I felt comfortable. Also, it was near time square and many convenient locations, such as restaurants, shopping center, and the subway stations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2010

Nice room, good location

This was a vacation with my girlfriend. The location was great because it was 1 mile from Time Square, 3 blocks from Empire State building, 4 blocks from the Museum of Sex, and 3 blocks from a subway station entrance. It is located in the middel of Korean Town and next to a drug store (CVS). Due to the fact that it's not in Time Square, the price is much lower. Not all rooms come with a fridge, but you can request and see if you get lucky. Room cleaning is good and front desk respond fast too. It must be a NY thing, but the front desk person at night was not too friendly or talkative. He just gave one word answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a City Pass which will include tickets to Statue of Libery, Ellis Island, Empire State Building, Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Metropolitan Museum (MET), Cloister Museum, Guggenheim Museum, a buy one get one free ticket to Manhattan Island boat tour.

Back to menu Return to top