Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
617 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Proudly celebrating its 110th anniversary in March 2014, The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York; three blocks south of the Empire State Building on 31st Street between 5th Ave. & Broadway. Walkable to many attractions including the United Nations, Macy's, Chelsea, Circle Line Boat Cruise, Flatiron, Meatpacking and Highline neighborhoods, Broadway theater district, Times Square and all public transportation. The Wolcott has been offering clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices since 1904. In fact the lobby and many of the guest rooms still retain their original architectural detailing. The Hotel has been written about in many domestic and international guides.

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (617)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
617 out of 617
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 21, 2011

it was a little far to walk to

it was a little far to walk to times square but other than that it was all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grace in West Texas
El Paso
Aug 8, 2011

Can't beat the location!

You can't beat the location of this hotel--it's just around the corner from the Empire State Building, and it's within walking distance of Times Square. I found the location to be particularly convenient due to its proximity to so many subway stations. Can't beat it for the price. We've stayed at the Wolcott before, and we'll stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ayza--a wine and chocolate bar--is right across the street from the hotel. It has fantastic food at a reasonable price. If you like beer, the Heartland is around the corner on 5th Ave. Great beer and good food.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Traveled
Business
Savannah Georgia
Aug 5, 2011

Well Traveled here!

The hallways stunk literally. The ac in the room was old,, and I came down with allergys that ended me up almost in ER before leaving. I would sneeze when in the room,, and eventually came down with closed ears,, and very swollen throat. Water puddled in the tub shower window. Otherwise the bed was very comfy. I have stayed in many other hotels for same price with much better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for buyers in the wholesale area of accessories. Not much restaurant choice in the immediate area.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbednarowski
Poznan, Poland
Aug 5, 2011

Very Good!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2011

OK, not great, centrally located

Very close to Empire State Building. Long walk to Times Square. Safe neighborhood - felt comfortable as lone female walking around at night. Annoyed that had to pay extra for internet to work in room. Co-worker's room didn't even have a desk - had to work on the bed! Nice to have muffins and coffee in the morning, but everyone sat around in the regular lobby chairs balancing plates and cups on their laps trying to eat - would be nice to have an actual eating area with tables, or at least more coffee/end tables. Room decor rather tired and worn, window sill tile grout in shower had black mildew. Teeny slow elevators. Staff didn't seem very happy to be there at all. But overall everything just OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill, best man/maid of honor
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Basic sleeping needs, only!

Visit was for a wedding. The bathroom was filthy and I could not sit on the toilet because the 4 inch sink was in my lap! I will be much pickier when I book another hotel through a service. The only convenience was the location and even there I could have done better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leftry
wisconsin
Jul 30, 2011

Wolcott

Great location, loved being so close to the empire state building

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BOGOTA, COLOMBIA
Jul 26, 2011

Best choice for short stay

Hotel is an old building in an excelent condition, very clean y comfortable despite room was small. There were always clean sheet and towels. Staff could be more polite. It´s a very good option for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stahn Aileron
Buffalo, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Short Stay

Pros:-Location - Located dead smack in the middle of Midtown, Manhattan. Easy access to plenty of locations, like: Herald Square, Times Square, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Union Square (the last one is a long walk or a short train ride; rest are within reasonable walking distance).Cons:-Internet - NOT included in the room fee and the user experience I had with it was poor. I paid for 72 hours of use (effective from the moment of purchase at the hotel) and half the time I wanted to use it, it wasn't fully functional. I'd be connected to the network, but not access to the 'Net itself. I wound up using the free hotspots out in town just as often, if not more so. When it did work, the speed was reasonable, at least.-Small-ish room - No desk, so trying to use a laptop in my room wasn't exactly simple. Also a mild lack of plugs, so don't expect to be able to plug in a bunch of electronics for use or charging at once.Overall:-For what it was, it served my purposes (save for the lack of internet access included in the room price.) It had a very nice cozy feel to the place. The floor layout took me a moment to figure out (the interior is segmented into 3 areas by the stairwells).-I'd recommend this for the location and if you just need a place to stay for a couple days. I don't know if I could stay there for more than maybe a week, though. It's perfect if you travel light and don't expect too much or if you plan on spending more time roaming the city than staying in the hotel. Otherwise, I don't think it's a very good deal for the price if you take certain things for granted when it comes to hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2011

Definitely not modern

Had trouble finding the place due to all the scaffolding obscuring the front of the building. The lobby is really nice, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time there. The room was tiny, just slightly larger than the double bed in the room. Everything in the room... bed, carpet, furniture, curtains, wallpaper, was quite worn and shabby. The bathroom didn't look like it had been updated since at least the 1960s. For the price and the amount of time I was staying (1 night), it met my minimum requirements, but I doubt if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top