Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sophiayumeng
Business
Ithaca
Mar 24, 2012

Great Location

Went to visit NYC and felt it was really convenient place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigeastvisitor
Business
DC
Mar 11, 2012

Location location

positive - old property, but clean and quiet. You cannot beat the location for MSG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Female apex
Business
Euless, TX.
Mar 10, 2012

Near Macy's

The Lobby's old architectural detais are amazing, Just wish the rooms were as equally well decorated, the bed was old and uncomfortable, but, overall, still a Great value!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian Restaurant Bella Napoli is wonderful, a Great Value for delicious italian Cusine. I suggest to arrive with a helthy apetite for the portions are LARGE!!!!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spen
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 9, 2012

Good location

it locates at an excellent area! only about 10 mins walk to Empire state building. but no free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmydgreek
Business
North carolina
Mar 9, 2012

Good location

Small room smallest bathroom I've ever seen hard mattress good coffee and muffins great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants on fifth ave and broadway great food venders on broadway 10 min walk to times squares

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spen
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 9, 2012

great location

only 10 mins walk to Empire state building, but no free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orrn
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 4, 2012

Good Value if you get the Right Room

Went to NY with my fiance for 4 days. We were satisfied with the Wolcott primarily, I think, b/c we were able to book a junior suite. The suite, while not large, was roomy enough for two people to occupy comfortably. Anything smaller would have tested our patience. The hotel room was clean and stayed clean, which is not always a given in NYC. The TVs in the room were from the early `90s, and only one of them actually worked (and about half the channels at that). Still, we didn´t end up spending much time in the room, and if you´re watching TV in your hotel room when NYC is in front of the door, you probably deserve a lousy TV from the `90s. Front desk personnel weren´t unfriendly and were helpful when given a request. Overall, a good experience in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarge´s Deli on 3rd Ave at 36th Street. Homemade pastrami or lox, fresh corned beef, and large portions. Great for breakfast or lunch.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MikeyH
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Eh, it's fine if you don't plan on spending any time in it

In Hotel Wolcott's favor, they did let us check in several hours early, free of charge. This was a lifesaver as my wife and I and just gotten into town on the redeye and felt terrible. However, everything else was either mediocre or just plain annoying. Reasonably close to the subway. Nothing in the bathroom worked well. The wifi was overpriced and only usable on one device and one location. The bed was extremely hard. No thermostat controls. Windows in our 12th floor room opened easily and had no screens. Only one nightstand. There were three electrical sockets in the bedroom, two of which were inaccessible and the other was as far from the nightstands/desk as it could get. We'll be trying someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kibao
Business
ex Mombasa, Kenya
Jan 13, 2012

Needs drastic improvement in terms of hospitality and more attention to customer needs

The Hotel location is ideal for business people but the staff are not friendly/helpful and have very little time to listen to customers. I did not like the hotel as my room was not what I requested for and when I enquired, the response was not encouraging and I let it stay. Cannot be a repeat customer nor recommend the hotel to any one. No meals offered at the Hotel or at least we were not told of the existence of such facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S'ito
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 5, 2012

In the shadow of Empire State Building

Be sure to read the interesting history of the hotel in the room information notebook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's, the World's Largest Department Store.

Back to menu Return to top