Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,342 reviews
better than expected!!!

For our first time in NYC.. we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing, down the... See full review

  • qbolt
  • Apr 3, 2014
Perfect location

We had such a good time in NY and the Wellington definitely contributed to the visit. I would... See full review

  • Carol from SATx
  • Apr 1, 2014
Classic comfort in the heart of Midtown
The Wellington Hotel's classic style and location close to many attractions, restaurants and theatres make this a popular choice. Just three blocks south of Central Park, five blocks north of Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center, the Wellington is within easy walking distance of all Broadway theaters, museums, many restaurants of different styles and cuisines and Times Square. The Art Deco lobby and classically decorated rooms provide a warm atmosphere. All suites have a refrigerator and microwave, making the Wellington perfect for business and family travel. The smoke-free property also provides on-site services including 24-hour business center, hairdresser and two gift shops.
Highlights
  • All suites (and some rooms) have a refrigerator and microwave.
  • Walk to Braodway theatres, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, New York City Center and much more.
Location

Popular stores such as the Apple Store and American Girl Place are within a short walk and the David Letterman Show is just two blocks.

Rooms
The Wellington Hotel has 700 rooms including 85 one-bedroom suites. In-room amenities include Wi-Fi access (fee applies), flat-screen TV with Pay Per View movies, clock radio, hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
There are three on-site gift shops. The Piccolo Gift Shop on the lobby level offer snacks and souvenirs as well as theatre tickets, sightseeing and airport transportation.
Dining
  • Molyvos, located on the lobby level, offers Greet cuisine for lunch and dinner from 12 noon, Monday to Friday. In addition, on Saturday and Sunday brunch starts at 11am (1130am in July and August).
  • The Park Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and after-theatre snacks from 6am to 1am every day.
  • Room Service is available from 6am to 12midnight every day.
  • There are more than 100 restaurants within a seven-minute walk including the Carnegie Deli, known for its enormous sandwiches, is across the street.
Transportation
  • Parking: Valet parking for standard size cars is $35 for 24 hours; $45 for oversized vehicles.
  • Subway: N, R, Q right outside the 55th Street entrance; E two short blocks; F one block.
  • Bus: 7, 20, 104 across the street; 31, 57 on 57th Street at Seventh Avenue.
Attractions
  • Theatre District - all Broadway theaters are within walking distance
  • Carnegie Hall
  • Central Park
  • David Letterman Show
  • Good Morning America
  • MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
  • New York City Center
  • Radio City Music Hall
  • Rockefeller Center
  • TODAY
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • In-room WiFi ($4.99 for 1 hour; $11.99 for up to 24 hours; $24.99 for up to 72 hours; $39.99 for up to 120 hours.
  • Send or receive faxes at the front desk (fees may apply)

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1342)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
1342 out of 1342
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jun 24, 2007

Great for students on a budget

For our stay in New York, we chose the Wellington for its location and price. It's only a few blocks from Times Square with easy access to all locations and attractions. The hotel room was pretty small, but it was recently remodeled. Overall, it's a cozy hotel that met all of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Metro is two blocks down from the hotel, and they have a lunch special of a sandwich, drink, and bag of chips for about $6, which is an amazing deal in NYC. Also, try all of the street vendor food--it's amazing!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Mexico City
Apr 6, 2010

Great time!!

The hotel is so good, my trip was with my sister and we really enjoyed the hotel, it has a very good location and everything that you need if you go to know and visit the city, it is on a safety street, with many restaurants, entertainment places to go near from there. We found all the staff so friendly, and their restaurant is delicious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the reacreations and attractions are near from the hotel, you just need to walk some blocks, the bus and train station is so near, in the corners, as this hotel is in 7th avenue, you can walk one more block and you are on 5th avenue, so nice!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
hudson n.h. 03051
Jul 5, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

great room clean and cool thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

good central location to all things we needed to see and do thanks

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
The Netherlands, Europe
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic hotel!

The hotel was great! When we arrived, the bedlight wasn't working, so we called the reception, and they came within 5 minutes! Everything looked great, they were cleaning the room every day. As for the location, it coudn't get any better. 10 minutes to times square, 5 minutes to central park, 5 minutes to 5th avenue! We really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury's common shopping! An outlet where you'll find Chanel, Prada, Dolce & Gabbana, and other stores, for less money.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
shazaboo
leicester england
Sep 22, 2013

Really great hotel.

Myself and my daughter spent a three night break at this great hotel the location couldn't have been better, only about 5 mins walk from times square. the room was large and we had two three quarter beds.The wellington was spotlessy clean ,staff were helpful and pleasant. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this fantastic city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Frankfurt Germany
Dec 17, 2009

Christmas shopping in NY

Friendly personal, great location, perfect for a short stay and a good start point for trips in NY. Metro right beside the hotel exit. Super breakfast in Park Cafe !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Oct 26, 2009

Fantastic Location

We were within walking distance of the shows we wanted to see and ate at several wonderful restaurants. The staff was helpful and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Londonguy
Toronto, Canada
Apr 5, 2011

Location Location Location

The Wellington Hotel is superbly located and is a very Clean and Pleasant Hotel.. My Daughter and I stayed there for 3 nights and the Service was Excellent. The staff from the Doorman, The Front Desk, and the staff on duty were very pleasant and courteous to deal with. Our trip was based upon my Daughter's 25th Birthday and we attended 2 theatre shows, walked and shopped from lower to upper Manhatten.My favourite Deli is Carnagie located just across the street. A wonderful visit to NYC and a wonderful hotel to stay at. The Wellington, Totally Recommended and we will definately revisit and rebook there again. The item missing in the room is an ice bucket, availability of an ice machine on the floor, a tea maker would be nice and a small bar fridge would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located at 55th and 7th. The Theatre Disrict stretches from 42nd to 60th,so therefore you are in the heart of the Theatres. Dining is all around you. You cannot walk a half a block and not find something to eat. Shopping is everywhere. Enjoy NYC

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Dora....Dance Mom
McAllen, Texas
Jul 12, 2012

Mother/Teenage Daughter Trip

Booking with Value in mind and not knowing what to excpect. I was very pleased with our 9 day stay at the Wellington Hotel. The location could NOT BE MORE PERFECT. The staff was so friendly and had a GREAT SENSE OF URGENCY. The room was nice size nothing big or fancy but it was VERY CLEAN AND VERY NICE AND COLD. On my next trip to NY I will certainly book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of choices near by

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
southern belle
New York, New York
May 10, 2011

everything and more

Times Square, Madame Tussand's Wax Museum, Empire State Building, Clipper Boat around Statue of Liberty,pedicab around Central park, Central park zoo, ate real NY pizza,one of the best times ever. Being from the south it was like another world. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top