Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,121 reviews
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
wellington hotel - great hotel

the staff was very kind and helpful! the room was very clean and organized ! great location ! See full review

  • benurit7
  • Apr 18, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2121)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2121 out of 2121
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jun 24, 2007

Great for students on a budget

For our stay in New York, we chose the Wellington for its location and price. It's only a few blocks from Times Square with easy access to all locations and attractions. The hotel room was pretty small, but it was recently remodeled. Overall, it's a cozy hotel that met all of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Metro is two blocks down from the hotel, and they have a lunch special of a sandwich, drink, and bag of chips for about $6, which is an amazing deal in NYC. Also, try all of the street vendor food--it's amazing!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico, DF.
Oct 11, 2009

I Loved visitingNY from Wellington Hotel

I loved visiting New York. I visited many places of interest along Manhattan. I enjoyed my Stay a lot. The only thing that I miss on the trip was my husband, he could not travel with me as it was suppoused to be, so it was not the same without him. But anyway my Stay was great. I hope the next time we can travel together and show him New York and all the wonderfull thing that I´ve seen .[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to dinner in New York and you are Staying at the wellington Hotel, you can`t miss a dinner at the Italian Restorant that is located at 900 Seventh Avenue at 57st.Just across the street from the Carnagie Hall. It´s name is "Trattoria dellárte" They have a sea food bar full of delicious meal and a lot of excelent Italian dishes so there is no way that you don´t find something that you like. Go there and enjoy the excelent ambiance and a delicious meal. The prices are great for the quality they have.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico City
Apr 6, 2010

Great time!!

The hotel is so good, my trip was with my sister and we really enjoyed the hotel, it has a very good location and everything that you need if you go to know and visit the city, it is on a safety street, with many restaurants, entertainment places to go near from there. We found all the staff so friendly, and their restaurant is delicious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the reacreations and attractions are near from the hotel, you just need to walk some blocks, the bus and train station is so near, in the corners, as this hotel is in 7th avenue, you can walk one more block and you are on 5th avenue, so nice!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
hudson n.h. 03051
Jul 5, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

great room clean and cool thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

good central location to all things we needed to see and do thanks

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Netherlands, Europe
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic hotel!

The hotel was great! When we arrived, the bedlight wasn't working, so we called the reception, and they came within 5 minutes! Everything looked great, they were cleaning the room every day. As for the location, it coudn't get any better. 10 minutes to times square, 5 minutes to central park, 5 minutes to 5th avenue! We really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury's common shopping! An outlet where you'll find Chanel, Prada, Dolce & Gabbana, and other stores, for less money.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shazaboo
leicester england
Sep 22, 2013

Really great hotel.

Myself and my daughter spent a three night break at this great hotel the location couldn't have been better, only about 5 mins walk from times square. the room was large and we had two three quarter beds.The wellington was spotlessy clean ,staff were helpful and pleasant. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this fantastic city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frankfurt Germany
Dec 17, 2009

Christmas shopping in NY

Friendly personal, great location, perfect for a short stay and a good start point for trips in NY. Metro right beside the hotel exit. Super breakfast in Park Cafe !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Oct 26, 2009

Fantastic Location

We were within walking distance of the shows we wanted to see and ate at several wonderful restaurants. The staff was helpful and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maria freindly girl
cypress,tx
Mar 20, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel location was increadable, just in the rigth place, the people at the hotel was very friendly, helpfull even super smily so it was very plasent vacation.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

it is just a few bloks from Time Square and Central Park......

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Jul 16, 2009

Great hotel for tourists!

Wanted to be in the heart of NYC and the Wellington is walking distance from lots of major destinations...central park, rockefeller plaza, broadway, museums, time square, 5th avenue, etc. Great staff and comfortable rooms too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top