Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
188 reviews
Excellent experience.

We had a wonderful stay at the Wellington. The location was perfect. Everything about the facility... See full review

  • Marilyn P.
  • Nov 15, 2015
AWESOME TRIP

It's super convenient the place, and beautiful hotel See full review

  • Lilliana f.
  • Jul 9, 2015

The Wellington Hotel in New York is a luxury establishment that has welcomed guests in New York City for over 113 years. Known for its classic design, the style of the hotel captures the true spirit of the Big Apple with elegant chandeliers and gold accents in the interior space. Each room features luxurious decor with free access to WiFi, Kewl bath amenities and a 32-inch flat screen television.

Highlights

The Wellington Hotel is located just a few blocks from Central Park and is half a mile from Times Square. It's conveniently located on the corner of West 55th Street and Seventh Avenue. For breakfast, guests can enjoy dining at the Park Cafe for traditional American menu items that include French toast and omelettes. Molyvos Greek Restaurant is an award-winning restaurant on the lobby level and offers a variety of Greek dishes. It is most commonly known for its flavorful grilled fish that is served throughout the day. Room service is also available in each room. A gift shop is located on-site for a great place to pick up souvenirs or snacks. Outside of the hotel, over 100 restaurants are available within walking distance. Guests can also visit some of the most popular attractions nearby, which include Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center and the Museum of Modern Art.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herb World Traveler
Couples
Louisville, Kentcky
Feb 16, 2014

Perfect Location

The Wellington is a great value. Only recommendation for improvement would be free coffee in the room or a pot in the lobby for guests. The Park Café located within the confines of the hotel building is fantastic to breakfast. New York can be expensive, so deal with that and put it in perspective, you will find it doesn't disappoint. Staff was outstanding and the cleaning maids outstanding, timely and friendly...not what I was led to believe about New Yorkers. I am sure a few folks would have a complaint about something, but then again your expectations are out of whack and you are too spoiled. If you want perfection and snobby type service...then head to a Ritz type hotel. This place is perfect couples, families and small groups that want to really enjoy the town. It is close to everything from the Park to Theatre District and most of the sites that anyone would care to visit. ALSO IF YOU ARE THERE, GO ACROSS THE STREET AND HAVE A PASTRIMI SANDWICH AT THE CARNEGIE DINER. FANTASTIC!!! I also tried KATZ's, another outstanding deli...but, I have to say, Carnegie is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show tickets in Times Square. Same day performances for half price and the lines moves quickly.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Jazzed up
Single
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Great stay !

The hotel is old with lots of charm. Clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful The location was just great for me I highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E and M
Couples
St. Petersburg, FL
Aug 12, 2012

Great Experience!

We spent 2 fantastic nights at the Wellington. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The hotel is in a great location being walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, & other places we wished to visit. We were even upgraded to a suite free of charge and were able to check in 5 hours before their normal check in time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to Benash Deli right across the street... They lure you in with gorgeous pastries in the window but it's WAY overpriced and the staff is rude.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rikisa
Family
San Francisco,California
Oct 3, 2012

Our first family visit to New York

We had a great experience. We arrived early morning with very little sleep. The manager arranged to get us into a room at a much earlier time which was greatly appreciated. The staff was courteous,pleasant and helpful. We will definitely recommend the Wellington Hotel to all of our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the hotel shuttle. Worth every penny.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MBA123
Family
Illinois
Jan 21, 2013

Convenient location, friendly staff!

Great experience. Friendly desk staff. Very good location. Walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rockerfeller Center etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stef
Family
Florida, USA
Jun 20, 2013

Ok.

No amenities like bottled water. Other than that, located very close to Times Square in front of Carnegie Deli.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica F.
Single
Knoxville
Apr 8, 2015

Nice place

Really happy here, loved our room and the staff was great. Fantastic location. The only complaint would be no free wifi when we stayed here, and when I asked for a razor because I forgot mine, they did not have that either. Minor issues, would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pascual H.
Couples
Hammond
Apr 16, 2015

great vacation

pretty good location near central park and walking distance to Mayor subways and times Square. A couple of issues were Overpriced rrestaurant, no free WiFi, and not working AC. Overall an ok hotel for the zone and the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NEW ORLEANS,LA
Jan 8, 2010

MERRY CHRISTMAS IN NEW YORK

VERY COLD !!!!!! WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK IN THE SPRING OF 2011. WOULD LIKE TO SEE A YANKEE BASEBALL GAME. I ENJOYED MYSELF WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK TO THE WELLINGTON HOTEL !!!GREAT PALCE TO STAY!!!!! THANKS FOR THE HELP !!!!GOOD JOB!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wofeys
Couples
Newport Beach, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location minutes from time square, but away from the noise close to central park, and tour buses close to great restaurants liked that most of the guests were european loved the wellington only thing that would make it 100% perfect would be if they had a small coffee maker in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants to chose from

Back to menu Return to top