Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 11, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Friends
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Tempe,AZ
Jan 15, 2010

Awsome location

The hotel got the best location right by the time square. There is also a subway station right outside the hotel. The main purpose of our visit to NewYork is sightseeing, and visiting famous and fun places. So even tho the room and service is not the best, but it was good enough to allow us to have a wonderful rest after everyday walking around in the city. If you are looking for great location, Wellington is one of the best to choose, and on top of everything, the price was quite reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

less than 5 mins to time square

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollajooj
Friends
Rochester, NY
Jan 25, 2011

Great location!

Great location- we were able to walk to Times Square & Broadway or get right on the subway. Pricing was reasonable and when we arrived we learned they upgraded us to a king from standard! Definitely would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRob
Family
Landsberg, Germany
Sep 25, 2009

A Trip to Remember

The location of the Wellington is superb enough, which is why I chose it in the first place, but I was pleasantly surprised at the large size of the rooms (especially for New York) and the almost complete quiet despite its central location. I will definitely choose the Wellington again on my next trip to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Equidistant from Times Square and Lincoln Center and right next door to Carnegia Hall. This is the perfect hotel for "culture vultures."

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twins
Couples
Niagara Falls, Canada
Jun 29, 2009

Excellent. All that we expected.

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Hotel met our expectations. Had little dealings with hotel staff but were not disappointed in any way. Rooms on the small side and some traffic noise but this is expected in the The Big Apple. Location excellent. Everything worked perfectly, including showers and air conditioning. Would return to this hotel without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choice of restaurants and delis for breakfast and dinner in immediate vicinity should you decide to stay in the area of the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 28, 2007

good location

wellington is dated physical plant but centrally located...good value but the room had some maintenance issues. staff did upgrade me to a suite but elevator service was poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

carnegie deli

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Honolulu
Feb 7, 2010

spacious but lacking customer service

We had 2 beds, which is the key to space!! We had tons of room with each bed in a separate room plus a couch. It was totally worth the extra $50. I can see where noise would be a problem. My bed was on the inside courtyard side to be away from the noise. Luckily my roommate didn't mind the noise from the street. Keep that in mind. The metro is literally right outside the hotel which is why I picked this hotel in the first place, but we didn't even use it. My only problem was the staff, which I was warned about on this site. It was right!! The concierge was of NO help!! I was a bother to him. He finally realized I was not going away until I had my answers, so he made a phone call to find out information he should have known. Where is the Intrepid and how should I get there? easy enough. NO!! Took an act of congress. Make sure internet is included in your reservation as it is expensive if not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WBL mom
Family
St Paul, MN
Jun 26, 2010

Wellington Hotel

I thought we were getting one room with 2 double beds. Turned out we got two rooms with a tiny kitchen in between. One room had a sleeper sofa and the other room had one double bed. The sofa wasn't so comfortable. It was great to have a lot of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Louisville, Ky.
May 14, 2009

stars come out

Maid was very efficient,personable and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Northern California
Jul 27, 2009

Pleasantly surprised....

Rooms were a decent size, considering New York and being several blocks from Times Square. Friendly staff. Most helpful people during my stay were the New York police officers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 5, 2008

Great Location

The Wellington is well located for access to Carnegie Hall, Broadway Plays, the subway, and restaurants. The room was adequate but somewhat small. The soap provided was laughably tiny and there are no ice or ice buckets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top