Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
irving,texas
Feb 8, 2011

best location In NY

Hotel was very nice and close to park and time square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

it had all kinds of restaurant and shopping.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J&D Lexington VA
Business
Lexington, VA USA
Feb 13, 2011

A Return Visit to Wellington

Came to NYC for Met, MoMa and two Broadway shows, a Wed to Saturday stay at Wellington. We stayed there on previous visit and will do so in the future. Why? Location is perfect. The price is right. It has helpful, friendly staff and the in-house diner offers good basics. Rooms are very spartan, but bathroom is clean. Heating/cooling system is antiquated, but manageable. The Ben Ash deli next store was perfect for after show coffee and pastries. Paid three late night visits there. It was a personable, well run deli. The waiter from Ohrid was a genuinely nice guy. Also The Famous Oyster Bar and Carnegie Deli are across street. Great food. Kudos to NYC. We did not meet one unpleasant NYC person during our three day stay. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is a block away, Carnegie Hall across street, Met six blocks, MoMA five blocks, Radio City five blocks, etc. etc. Great location.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim Winn
Business
Portland, OR
May 20, 2009

Upgraded

Was booked for the Wellington, however, they were full and upgraded me to a larger bed in the beautiful Blakely across the street. No fassles, no extra charges, great restaurant and customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 1, 2008

great location

I was expecting a little nicer and a lot cleaner room. The bathroom was extremely small and not very clean. I also thought there was going to be a coffee pot in the room and there was not. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and professional. My father passed away during our stay and we had to leave earlier than planned. The hotel handled the situation with professionalism and compassion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park very close Times Square very close

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Oct 28, 2009

Great location! Good service!

Friendly, helpful staff! Room had a musty smell!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greeley, CO
Oct 28, 2009

very clean, comfortable, and friendly

The Wellington Hotel was probably the best choice we could have made. The staff was awesome all the way from the front desk to the hotel security, to the doorman and housekeeping. The location was centralized to just about everywhere. I would recommend it to anyone. We stayed 5 nights and by the first day it felt like we were family coming home every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is right at your doorstep.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waukesha, WI
Feb 9, 2011

Wellington Hotel Review

It was a sight seeing trip. It was as good as my earlier trip when I stayed in a **** hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to down town.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Fan
Business
North Carolina
Jan 31, 2011

Location, Location, Location

This Hotel is close to EVERYTHING in Times Square! The hotel staff was extremely nice and courteous. Rooms are a little on the older side but if your coming to New York to sight see your not gonna be in the room other than to sleep. Great hotel choice and we plan to stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If its more than just you, take a cab from the airport verses any type of shuttle service. It will basically be the same price but the cab will get you to your destination quicker!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent Family weekend holiday

Overall excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, IL
Dec 24, 2010

Great Service, Decent Rooms

Service at the Wellington is phenomenal--for instance, the staff immediately honored our request for conditioner. However, the room (particularly the bathroom) left a lot to be desired...the shower was EXTREMELY high pressure, which caused a weird breeze in the room when it was turned on. On the other hand, the location is wonderful for visiting Times Square to the south and Central Park to the north. I would stay in the Wellington again for this reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the hotel staff for maps and coupons. You'd be amazed how much money you can save this way.

Back to menu Return to top