Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1478 out of 1478
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Location

The Wellington Hotel is a very good deal. It is close to most of the main attractions in New York City. We woke up every morning and ran at Central Park that is located 2 blocks away. There is a Starbucks across the street so I could get my coffee fix immediately. Few blocks south you will have Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, and the lovely Bryant Park. The room was clean but you can tell is old style. Some days we had to call service so we could get some towels. But overall it was worthy the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Hall is across the street.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grantley
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 12, 2007

Short Term Business Trip

The room was comfortable, but the bathroom was very small. The toilette seat was too close to the tub, so for a big person like myself the fit was uncomfortable. The decor was satisfactory but would prefer hard wired internet service as opposed to wireless only. PS Able to pick up wireless internet routers from nearby locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broad Way - Theatre district

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tester
Business
ohio
Mar 21, 2011

great location

great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to everything you want to see in NYC

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funnybrother
Business
Carbondale, IL
Mar 21, 2011

Cheap but awesome hotel

We spent 8 days in New York and got upgraded at the first day so we had a really cheap stay in a nice big room. It was clean. The best about the Wellington is that it's 3 minutes from Central Park and 8 walking minutes to Times Square and a Subway Station right in front of the door. Even the Hilton is further away...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't book breakfast. There is a Street Vendor right out the door where you get good breakfast. And then you can enjoy it in Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Mom Terri
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 30, 2009

Great location, good hotel for the price

My 19 year old daughter & I came for a 3 night, 4 day trip to check out a school and have a bit of fun in the big city. The location is excellent for walking to most of the great sights(Central Park, Broadway,shopping-5th ave. & restaurants/deli's. Also easy access to subways, & the tour buses are everywhere- a great way to see Manhattan. Would do it all again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Largo, FL
Jun 30, 2009

Great location for the price

Overall, I was happy with the room. The location and price was great. Staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms could use some updating, but were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Broadway, Time Square and Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pasadena night
Business
Los Angeles CA
Jun 29, 2009

Good location best price

Go around NY for shopping and hanging around. NY is not a place for sleep too much good stuff to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Time Squares and many atractions

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamapie
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Great location

It's a great location in Manhattan, if you are first time in New York. The Subway(metro) is right by hotel. Make sure you bring a map and ask for directions. You get free map in hotel. If you are into art, the best Museums are Metropolitan (need 3 days to see all) and MOMA. Don't brother with other museum especially Guggenheim Museum, the staffs are rude in the museum, my friend were treated badly, it ruined our day. I like the hotel room were made up really comfy feeling when you come back every evening. Chinatown, New York pizza, Chickpea -get the salad, Subway tuna sandwich-right next door. You don't have to spend a fortune to have great food, if you are on the budget. If you are into theater, Broadway shows are near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

New York Subway 7 days pass, you get unlimited ride in and out of the subway or bus ride. It is very economical. Westerly Health food got the water with great price, it is in walking distance.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Shopper
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jun 8, 2009

NYC - Wellington Hotel

The Wellington is a great location for anyone who wants to see NYC on foot. The hotel rooms are small and there are not many ammenities to speak of...not even a soda or ice machine?! The shower goes from scalding hot to freezing cold without warning. But, the location is soooo great that these were small things to worry about!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit all of the stores on 7th Ave. They have great deals for gifts to bring home to family and friends. Little Italy has the bEST food and service!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 8, 2009

Very Nice , location perfect

Easy access to subway. Easy walking to Times Square (which we did many times), Central Park, Museums and lots of places to eat in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top