Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,385 reviews
family trip

As we were checking in a young lady by the name of Caroline said that she was going to find us a... See full review

  • GB nanny
  • Aug 24, 2014
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1385)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1385 out of 1385
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dhagen
Orlando, FL
Jul 7, 2009

Fourth in NYC

At check in, we received a complimentary upgrade to a King Room. Wellington is older hotel and still has long-time residents. We were lodged in residential tower, which was rather inconvenient and the soiled laundry cart and clean laundry cart never left the hallway. Great location and we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Eye Grill has a great surf & turf that can be shared between two. Astro Diner (6th & 57th) is good for breakfast, as well as the diner at the Wellington.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
Jul 7, 2009

Great location, but...

Overall the service and stay at the Wellington was ok. The hotel is only about an 8 minute walk from Times Square which was fantastic. The room itself was rather small, but that was expected for NYC. The only issue I had with the hotel room was that it was a little dirty (lots of hair in bathroom, dust bunnies on floor behind vanity in bedroom, peeling wallpaper in bathroom). We also had a major issue with the water in the shower in that it seemed as though if someone in another room close to ours used their water, we would get scalded in the shower (not fun) - probably should have mentioned this to the hotel staff. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful too, although it was rather frustrating trying to check in a little early (check in is at 3pm).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee at UT
Austin, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Thank goodness for an upgrade...

The first night, we checked in to a room with a double bed that took up nearly the entire room. The restroom was ridiculously small. It appeared to be a storage closet converted to a room and clearly not for more than 1 person. We were offered an upgrade to a room with 2 single beds, but they only had a smoking one initially. We requested a non-smoking the next day if at all possible. Once we had our upgraded room at no extra cost, the space was double the original room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The best thing about the Wellington is that the subway terminal is right outside the side entrance from check-in. You can go one stop downtown to Times Square or one stop uptown to Central Park/5th Avenue. Also, all of the shows are in/around the area as Broadway cuts diagonally through this part of NYC-Manhattan. We were able to see 2 shows, 2 zoos, Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, and a whole host of other sites due to the convenient access to the subway. Just request an upgrade ASAP if you booked online.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bal
bed ford, tx
Jul 6, 2009

Not so great

Good thing is very good location...Close to timesquare and all famous attractions as they mentioned in the hotel site. Bad part is... We had given a old remodelled family room, which had 2 beds in 2 different room... Room is so small. Everything is pay channel so you cannot watch TV..There are 3 free videos that you can watch but it is not entertainining. Also they were charging for the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mitchell, SD
Jul 6, 2009

Great location, perfect for a family

A block from Times Square, two blocks from Central Park, subway entrance just up the block - we could not have asked for a better location. Our room was comfortably large enough for four, plus had the added bonus of a refrigerator. The property is old and run-down, but certainly adequate for a New York vacation - you're not there to be in the room! I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Ellen's Stardust Diner - at about 50th and Broadway. The waiters and waitresses take turns performing and they are great!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
hudson n.h. 03051
Jul 5, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

great room clean and cool thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

good central location to all things we needed to see and do thanks

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lima Peru
Jul 5, 2009

Wellintong Hotel

Quiet and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dutchess
Houston, Texas
Jul 3, 2009

New York 3

Staff was excellent service was fast check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 10 minute walk

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County CA
Jul 3, 2009

A good deal for a great location

We had a suite which was perfect and large enough for our family. The rooms were clean and large and had adequate furnishings. Hotel staff was helpfull and friendly and did a very good job cleaning the room and making sure we had pleanty of soap, towels, blankets etc. The location was perfect close to Central Park, Times Square and the Theaters. We were able to walk easily to anywhere we neded to go. There are several subway stations close to the Hotel. If you check out right at noon be prepared for the Hotel staff to be very busy and you may have to wait a while for help with your bags and or car. Just check out early to avoid the rush. Fotunately we did not have a deadline or a plane to catch so we did not lose our cool like some of the other Hotel Guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just two doors up from the Hotel on 7th Ave is a Subway Sandwich shop. When you get tired of paying too much for meals stop in and get some five-dollar footlongs.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 2, 2009

Super location but basic room

We had booked a double room, which was clean, and had been refurbished but still had some of the original fittings. We were surprised that there weren't tea and coffee making facilities available. Even in the 2 star hotels we have stayed in all over the world have had a kettle and complimentary tea and coffee. The location is excellent with the subway entrance just outside the hotel and a short walk to other subway lines and to times square and the theatre district. The staff are quite helpful and friendly. But the lifts are extremely slow and the first bellman that greeted us was not especially friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top