Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,406 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1406)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1406 out of 1406
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lesty C.
Business
DE
Jul 16, 2009

Great Location

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wellington Hotel. My husband and I were there for two nights. The room was very clean and quiet. We went to two Broadway shows and the hotel was just a few minutes walk to both. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami , fl
Jul 16, 2009

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

We went on a Family Vaction. The rooms need to be renovated, but the location is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Express Pass to see several attractions

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 16, 2009

Great hotel for tourists!

Wanted to be in the heart of NYC and the Wellington is walking distance from lots of major destinations...central park, rockefeller plaza, broadway, museums, time square, 5th avenue, etc. Great staff and comfortable rooms too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTNancy
Business
Louisiana
Jul 14, 2009

Good for Borat, not for us.

We booked a kitchenette so we could prepare some meals in-room, but aside from four small glasses, there were no pots, pans, dishes, utensils for that purpose. We chose this hotel because my search for a handicapped friendly property showed this one to be accessible, but that was not the case. My husband uses a cane; but I am left wondering how a wheelchair-bound individual can even get in the building. There are no ramps at either entrance. Hallways are very narrow, and our bathroom was ridiculous. No handholds; I had to physically lift my 180 pound spouse off the toilet after each use. The bathtub-shower was dangerous even for someone in shape - slippery, did not drain well, no way I could get my husband into the tub. I sat him on the side of the bed and ferried washcloths back and forth until he "got that clean fresh feeling." This is the room that was given to us after we discovered the first room assigned was down a short flight of five steps from the lobby level. I love old hotels; they are romantic and elegant and show off any city to best advantage; however, the owner is best served by scraping and saving and doing a first-class renovation and showing realistic photos to potential visitors. The rest of our NYC experience was amazing. We saw an incredible dance performance at Lincoln Center, dined at Cognac and Serafina and the Carnegie Deli; shopped at the Apple store. Even bought a purse on the street. I have been to New York on both personal and professional business; while the hotel stay was disappointing, the staff was kind, helpful and tried their very best to assist us when we had questions. And oh, yeah, a couple of scenes from Borat were filmed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great local delis all around. New York's delis are a culture unto themselves with unmatched people watching and generous, tasty portions - breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canyon Lake, Texas
Jul 14, 2009

Good Price and Location

Very good location within walking and subway distance to all NYC has to offer.Rooms were small but adequate and all staff very helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

MaMa Mia , The Broadway Show was awesome. 5 minute walk. Likewise for Times Square.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 14, 2009

Great family experience at Wellington

When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a suite! With our two boys at ages 15 and 18, the extra room was much appreciated! The room wasn't extravagant but it was clean and roomy. We even had a little kitchenette although there are not any kitchen items there to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3 short blocks from central park. About 7 short blocks from Times Square. A fabulous location! We even walked to the Empire State Building and to Fox News channel. So many delis are near too.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jul 13, 2009

Can't complain at all

The Hotel is very old and you can hear people outside of your door but other than that it was great. The staff was really nice and the location is perfect. Could not have asked for a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale,AZ
Jul 13, 2009

Location Location Location

The location and price of this hotel makes it the best in the city for bang for the buck, stay at the Wellington and you will not be dissapointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabs.....use em

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romantic Escape
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful location

This was a wonderful hotel. What surprised and pleased me upon entering our hotel room was what a lovely atmosphere it possessed. I guess I'm just used to the bland hotel chain kind of rooms. The room was small, but it didn't need to be large, it was a standard room. There was a wonderful view of a few rooftop gardens and even Central Park. We were able to walk to most of all the places we wanted to see. If you're willing to walk, we were able to eat at Serendipity, see Times Square, get cupcakes at Magnolia, see Rockafeller Center and a bunch of other things along those streets and avenues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is within walking distance as well as a couple other fun places. Such as Magnolia bakery, amazing cupcakes, and even Times Square is within walking distance.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jul 12, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Manager

we are native new yorkers home for a visit from Mexico, looking for some neutral ground. It was a great trip because we had the hotel room which was located between family members. OF SPECIAL NOTE: [...], a manager at the hotel was VERY VERY helpful on many accounts, accommodating and reasonable. He made the stay a pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

HIT THE NEW YORK DELIS, KATZS, 2ND AVENUE DELI, CARNEGIE.

Back to menu Return to top