Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winchester, VA
Dec 16, 2009

Very nice

The hotel was very nice, clean and the staff helpful. Even with the heat turned off; heat still came out of the unit. I had the windows open and that didn't really help; the second night I had to have them come in and physically shut off the unit itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be shocked by the prices; even chain restaurants are $4-6 more per item.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Dec 15, 2009

Great Location for the Price!

I live on the UES, but I stayed at the hotel because the heat in my apartment wasn't working. The hotel is great for the price because of the proximity to Times Square, Central Park, and 5th/Madison Avenue. However, I didn't appreciate being told that my room was still not ready after 3pm. The lady at the front desk finally gave me the key and said to check to see if the room was ready. She wasn't sure if the room was ready. Don't they communicate with the housekeeping staff?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Dec 14, 2009

noisy this time

I've stayed here before & had better rooms - we had an unusually noisy room. The location for us is ideal and the lobby is pretty & it's so convenient. But the noise made it hard for me to sleep which is unusual for me. The heater shrieked and roared a lot during the night; it clattered a lot going on & off & we needed it on a bit because it was cold; the room was OK but not as big as other rooms we've had there; we were right by the elevators which were very noisy & one was out of commission so they were slow. The bathroom was claustrophobically small.We would not avoid Wellington in future[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyc vacationer
Business
texas
Dec 13, 2009

Great Time

great hotel at a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Al
Dec 11, 2009

Short walks to everything!

Very nice staff. The Complimentary Breakfast(s) were super- just off the Lobby on 7th Ave. Subway with steps of the Lobby. Quick walks to the theaters, The Park, Times Sq, Today Show, Letterman, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 11, 2009

I would do it again, every year ...

I could NOT ASK for a better hotel. Located between Central Park and Times Square, this hotel deviates from a major chain and brings with it the charm of New York. I nice walk through Central Park and we were at the Natural History Museum. We were a 7min walk away from both Wicked and Avenue Q ... I would stay at this hotel every year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from anything that looks too touristy in the area. Many of the bigger "nicer" looking places had meals between $18-25. When you could get better food for one third of the price by shopping around. The only exception: Dallas BBQ. Yes it's pricey and touristy ... but duper (as in "super") good.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lea21
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Dec 10, 2009

***Great Choice of Hotel*********

Chose to stay in the Wellington Hotel on my trip to NY because of it's great location and have to say I think the choice was excellent. The Hotel is such close proximity to Times Sq, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave, Broadway and the subway is literally on your doorstep. The hotel room we stayed in was the basic double and yes it was small however it was very clean & Noise free. The hotel staff were very helpful and I would definitely stay in the Wellington on my next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahuntindog
Business
Bismarck, ND
Dec 10, 2009

Great location, good value

The location is centrally located in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Dec 10, 2009

Good location for price in NYC

Hotel was nice. But the rooms were really small, maybe 8x10 total in size. I checked the reviews on [...] before booking and was still shocked by how small it was. Our bed was a double which was comfy, but you could put two of their pillows together to get the thickness of a regular one you buy at the store. So we had to fold them in half as times to be comfy. Also, at 2 am the heater decides to clank and do whatever and wakes you up. Otherwise it would have been a great QUIET location. That was the only thing we heard. And you could not adjust the heat yourself. We were on the 18th floor and had to open the window so that we would not die of heat. Otherwise good location for the Christmas tree and Central Park, and lots of food nearby. We especially liked Rosie O'Grady's. Great food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Christmas Tree and Central Park and FAO Schwartz. Not a bad trek to Empire State Bldg and 34th street shops

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lea21
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Dec 10, 2009

***Great Choice of Hotel*********

Chose to stay in the Wellington Hotel on my trip to NY because of it's great location and have to say I think the choice was excellent. The Hotel is such close proximity to Times Sq, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave, Broadway and the subway is literally on your doorstep. The hotel room we stayed in was the basic double and yes it was small however it was very clean & Noise free. The hotel staff were very helpful and I would definitely stay in the Wellington on my next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top