Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,441 reviews
Great room

Loved the location. Helpful staff. Very clean. This review needs to be at least 50 characters? See full review

  • bigman4by4
  • Jan 27, 2015
What a great holiday

This hotel was perfect. we couldnt believe how grand it was. the location could'nt have been better... See full review

  • shazaboo
  • Jan 19, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1441)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1441 out of 1441
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apimark
Business
New York
Aug 12, 2009

great family get away

great location walking distance 10 min. to Time Square, Broadway Shows, and Centeral Park. Subway stop next to hotel. Double decker bus stop 1 block up. Nice deli (Fluffy's)nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of activity with in short distance

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New hubby
Business
Salem, OR
Aug 10, 2009

Small room in a great location.

My wife and I stayed at the Wellington for our honeymoon. We had never been to New York before. The room that I booked was terribly small; like smaller than most bedrooms. But then when I talked to the front desk they were happy to move us to a better room the following day free of charge. This made me very pleased of the service. The new room was still small but the view was perfect. Wellington is less than ten blocks from times square and when your looking out the window on the 22nd floor it was even closer which was pretty cool. We kinda got the feeling that all room at Wellington are small(?), maybe because its an older hotel(?). Overall we were pleased with the hotel; the weather on the other hand could have been much better. Dont go to NY the last week of July/first week of August. Actually we only had 2 days of bad weather but those 2 were terrible. The news even confirmed tornado touchdowns in nearby states. There are really no ammentities but we werent really expecting anything fancy; just a place to lay our heads down after a day of sightseeing/fun. Probably wouldnt stay here again but not because of our experience; only because I think I would be willing to spend more money and stay somewhere fancier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nana betty
Business
York, ME
Aug 10, 2009

Awesome, safe nice walk to times sq

a comp breadfast or comp juice and fruit would be a nice touch, even if u had to go down and get it yourself w/a voucher. But, we got a bed upgrade and couldn't beat the price of orbitz for this location and safety and access to all. loved it, would go again. Easily!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the take out buffett deli's were a plus, that way u can spend more on a nice rest later but for staples, they had the best, right across the street. 55th st./7thave

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Aug 10, 2009

Needs a makeover

We thought other reviews were so good that we booked this hotel and were greatly disappointed. I wish we had spent a little more money and stayed at one of the many other nearby hotels. At the Wellington, the room, halls, and elevator were all dingy and badly in need of updating. The bathroom light didn't work, the TV couldn't maintain a signal and cell phone service from the room was also very difficult. The staff was attentive. As others have said, it's a great location if you like theater and museums - we do - and the subway is right there so you can easily get to any place in the city. There are also many restaurants and delis nearby in every price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 10, 2009

Great New York Experience

The Wellington was perfect. Gave us a great New York experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Often
Business
Midwest
Aug 8, 2009

Great Location, Average Everything Else

I've wanted to try the hotel for quite awhile; however, I knew it didn't have all of the amendities, such as a workout facility, that I need when I stay more than a few days. Thus, our recent two-day trip was just right for this hotel. The location is very near Central Park, great restaurants, and a short walk to the theaters. The noise from the street was not a problem; however, our air conditioner was quite loud (at least it was working). Dirt and layers of soap scum in the bathroom make me believe they do not do any thorough cleaning between guests. In addition, the carpet and bedding is in desparate need of replacement--very worn and musty. For the amount of time we spent in the hotel itself (literally just to sleep) the price and location made it worthwhile. When I go back next--for a few days or longer--I wouldn't pick this hotel unless I hear that they have invested in a major upgrade (refurbishing, painting, and deep cleaning). Most other hotels in the area have--time to make an investment in the property. It would be a wise move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to head to Central Park, the Mac Store, and the Metropolitan. They are all within walking distance.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jan & john
Business
7th ave, 55th street
Aug 7, 2009

good location only

After arriving they never had our booking, then we were given a terrible small not clean room, which I complained. We then stayed at there sister hotel which was lovely and they said we could stay for the week. went back next day to see what room we would be given 2nd room not cleaned, again I told them we did not want the room so the manager was very good and gave us a mini suite which was very nice. I beleive quite a few people were complaining about there rooms. So all in all the trip went well in the end. New York was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wellington Hotel is in a good position for all dining, nightlife, etc

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner Lisa
Business
North Little Rock, AR
Aug 6, 2009

Great Locatation, helpfull people

The Wellington was just what we needed. Walking distance from Times Square, Central Park and the Theater District. There is a subway station right out the front door. It can't get any more convenient. The room was tiny, but I was never in it except to sleep anyway! The staff was helpful and friendly. Very welcoming. Great showers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Serafina - delicious Italian food.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thedabbs
Business
London
Aug 4, 2009

Perfect location

Great hotel right on the edge of Central Park but close to Time Square and Metro stations. Excellent service and friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble and very helpful. We used the hop on hop off bus tour to see the sights and visit tourist spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 4, 2009

Wonderful time

I had heard that the hotel rooms in NY were very small but I was surprised to see that our room was of perfect size. I did not feel like I was in a box, great location, friendly staff, extremely friendly bell men. I will definetely stay there our second time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We could see Central Park on one end of the street from our hotel window and Times Square on the other end. It was beautiful.

Back to menu Return to top