Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sadsack
Business
Southern Illinois
Sep 5, 2009

Wellington Hotel

Location was excellent to Midtown Manhattan and Times Square. Food establishments are plentiful. The Diner in the hotel premesis was very good. I did have a problem with the Bathtub handle (it fell off) but this was remedied immediately. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bus fares are $2.25... have exact change and they don't take dollar bills. But, the drivers are very helpful.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Sep 3, 2009

Great location and room

Stayed in a deluxe room with double beds. We were very pleasantly surprised when we saw that our room had separate sleeping areas for the 2 beds + 2 separate bathrooms. This was really great! I would highly recommend the Wellington to anyone traveling to New York. Great value for the room we had. Extra plus to this - 2nd stop of the downtown tour we took, was directly across the street from the Wellington Hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try the NewYork City Sightseeing All Around Town Tour. I paid $49 each for a 48 hour on/off bus. We took tours of downtown and uptown. Also went on the Circle Boat Tour (1.25 hours). All of this was included in the $49 price. Best value I found on the internet.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2009

Good Enough

One needs to realize that this is Manhattan and unless you pay a lot of money you are just NOT going to get a great room. This was a perfectly adequate small room. My biggest complaint is that Orbitz booked for my 16-year-old nephew and me, a room with a double bed. It cost $20 a night to upgrade to two twin beds. That seems ridiculous to me. Also, the bathroom door didn't lock. There was nowhere to put your clothes except on the floor or on the toilet seat. On the upside we could walk to the theater. And honestly I would definitely stay there again. Just don't expect more than a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take a cab through Times Square on a Friday or Saturday.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PrettyMuchArt
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 1, 2009

Good hotel, excellent location

The Wellington is really a no frills kind of place, but if you're looking for the basics, it's very nice. We really didn't intend to stay in the room much, and we didn't. The location made it a great place to stay, and close enough we could go there midday for a nap, which we did. We very well may stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a City Sights bus pass and New York pass combo. Use the buses to get around and for the great informational tours. Use the New York pass to get into almost all attractions free and avoid the long ticket lines.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shopgal
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Sep 1, 2009

Average

The hotel was disappointing. It was very old and dated and I certainly wouldn't class it as 3 star accomodation. The staff were very helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mulberry Street in Little Italy for great Italian restaurants.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michiagan
Sep 1, 2009

Great location but small rooms

Just a poor hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana,pa
Aug 28, 2009

good location for the price

Great location to see all of Manhattan-either by foot or subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Netherlands, Europe
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic hotel!

The hotel was great! When we arrived, the bedlight wasn't working, so we called the reception, and they came within 5 minutes! Everything looked great, they were cleaning the room every day. As for the location, it coudn't get any better. 10 minutes to times square, 5 minutes to central park, 5 minutes to 5th avenue! We really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury's common shopping! An outlet where you'll find Chanel, Prada, Dolce & Gabbana, and other stores, for less money.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChitownSuperGrl
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2009

Not very bad

Not very bad considering the price and the fact that I was in Manhattan. The hotel was better than I've expected, because at this price, you can find some nasty hotels in the city. The location was great. The hotel is at walking distance to Central Park, Columbus Circle, Times Square, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, close to pretty much everything to do in manhattan.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida.
Aug 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Very small room, view ?? to the next window bilding, ugly,old, not even a coffe machine in the bed room. I will never recomend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top