Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,392 reviews
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
family trip

As we were checking in a young lady by the name of Caroline said that she was going to find us a... See full review

  • GB nanny
  • Aug 24, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1392)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1392 out of 1392
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World City Explorer
Business
Boone, NC
Jul 10, 2009

Great Location!

The bed and pillows were not the most comfortable I have ever encountered, but they were not the most uncomfortable either. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is amazing! And it was clean! If you are going to be out experiencing the city during most of your trip, this is the hotel for you. If you plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, this is probably not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead. Get your tickets for harbor cruises and broadway shows online, we were so happy that we did this. Not only did it save time, but in some cases events were sold out.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 10, 2009

Pleasant Stay

This was our first time in NYC and the staff at the hotel was very helpful in telling us where to go, what to see, and how to get there. A couple of times I even called down to the front desk to ask for directions and they gave it to me without complaint. Our room was pretty small, but that is what you'll get in NYC because the city is so packed. The room seemed a bit outdated, but overall we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down on 46th street and 8th Ave there are a bunch of great restaurants (called Restaurant Row). We ate at three of the restaurants there during our stay and actually ended up going to one twice because it was so good. It was called La Revista and they had a prix fix for $36 which included and appetizer, salad, main course, dessert, and tea or coffee. It was definitely the best meal we had while in the city. Highly recommend it!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 9, 2009

Perfect location and reasonably priced

We loved the location. We were in walking distance of most everywhere we wanted to go. The price fit our budget and the staff was very helpful in providing recommendations and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The double-decker bus tour is an awesome way to get around in the city and see all that there is to see. I would highly recommend it. We got our tickets through the gift shop at the Wellington Hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Jul 8, 2009

Super location! We walked everywhere!

Since this was our first time in New York, we had no idea where to stay. The Wellington was a great choice for us. Close to the subway and all the action of NYC, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and the Broadway shows are just minutes away.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dhagen
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 7, 2009

Fourth in NYC

At check in, we received a complimentary upgrade to a King Room. Wellington is older hotel and still has long-time residents. We were lodged in residential tower, which was rather inconvenient and the soiled laundry cart and clean laundry cart never left the hallway. Great location and we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Eye Grill has a great surf & turf that can be shared between two. Astro Diner (6th & 57th) is good for breakfast, as well as the diner at the Wellington.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Jul 7, 2009

Great location, but...

Overall the service and stay at the Wellington was ok. The hotel is only about an 8 minute walk from Times Square which was fantastic. The room itself was rather small, but that was expected for NYC. The only issue I had with the hotel room was that it was a little dirty (lots of hair in bathroom, dust bunnies on floor behind vanity in bedroom, peeling wallpaper in bathroom). We also had a major issue with the water in the shower in that it seemed as though if someone in another room close to ours used their water, we would get scalded in the shower (not fun) - probably should have mentioned this to the hotel staff. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful too, although it was rather frustrating trying to check in a little early (check in is at 3pm).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kansas Lobster
Business
Kansas City
Jul 7, 2009

Pleasant, affordable hotel

The staff is courteous, even when minor problems arise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good-quality restaurants and delicatessans within walking distance.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darty
Business
Eden, NC
Jul 7, 2009

Great stay

It was a very nice stay. The hotel was close to all of the attractions. Staff was good and the rooms were clean. The bellman helped with dinner reservations and limousine service. There was a problem with the air conditioning in the room, but it was promptly repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frank, the boss
Business
michigan
Jul 7, 2009

Needs that special something

I was not impressed with the look and feel of the facility. Room very outdated with uncomfortable bed. I did not like the facility and checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee at UT
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Thank goodness for an upgrade...

The first night, we checked in to a room with a double bed that took up nearly the entire room. The restroom was ridiculously small. It appeared to be a storage closet converted to a room and clearly not for more than 1 person. We were offered an upgrade to a room with 2 single beds, but they only had a smoking one initially. We requested a non-smoking the next day if at all possible. Once we had our upgraded room at no extra cost, the space was double the original room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The best thing about the Wellington is that the subway terminal is right outside the side entrance from check-in. You can go one stop downtown to Times Square or one stop uptown to Central Park/5th Avenue. Also, all of the shows are in/around the area as Broadway cuts diagonally through this part of NYC-Manhattan. We were able to see 2 shows, 2 zoos, Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, and a whole host of other sites due to the convenient access to the subway. Just request an upgrade ASAP if you booked online.

Back to menu Return to top