Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1478 out of 1478
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alois
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Nov 10, 2009

Business Trip w/some play time

Hotel was just Okay. Little problems spoiled an otherwise better than average stay. Front desk staff was wonderful and very helpful. Room problems throughout hotel: Shower curtains too short causing much water on bathroom floor. Lack of ability to control heat was horrible and forced us to leave window open. TV was small and old. Lack of a general business room w/computer for internet access to use to print out airplane boarding passes at no charge was unacceptable. This hotel is not really "business traveler" friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Tks in Times Square for great buys on Broadway shows. AND a must do: Visit Ellen's Stardust Diner on Broadway ... great meal and fantastic entertainment.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAUXIS
Business
MEXICOCITY
Nov 10, 2009

Good Location and excellent service

WE TAKE A VERY COMFORTABLE REST IN THE HOTEL, WE WERE SO WARM WAS GREATFUL, I RECOMMENDED THAT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE A WALK ARROUN, YOU CAN FIND MOMA. AND SO MUCH ATTRACTIONS. ALSO ITS VERY FAST TO TAKE THE GRAY LINE TO THE TOUR IN NY

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 10, 2009

Not a Great Experience

The location for this hotel is really good, and I assume that this is why the Wellington Hotel continues to stay in business. My wife and I were visiting New York for our 10 year wedding anniversary. This hotel was NOT a good choice for this type of stay. The heater made extremely loud banging noises throughout the night and cool air conditioning was not available during this time of the year so once the room became overheated, our only option was to crack the window a bit to cool things down. After the first rough night, I explained to reception that we were at the hotel for a special occasion and requested that we be moved to another room. I was told that the hotel was old and then was asked to call back in the morning. Both times that I dealt with reception, there was a total disregard for what were politely requesting. In the end, we decided to just deal with the noise instead of wasting more time arguing with management. If you are concerned about location alone, this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, do yourself a favor and spend a little more on another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
motivatordan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Ok Place to Stay

the Hotel was ok... The location was great and great prices but the room was tiny and not clean. The pillows had mold on them and my sinus went nuts during my stay. If you are there for a quick stay and are not looking for frills this is your place. a short walk to Times Square or Central Park. The restaurant across the street RedEye is a place to eat. I would not have my family stay here but for business its ok....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to visit the RedEye Restaurant and ask for [...] the host...She will take good care of you!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Nov 7, 2009

Great location, don't expect luxury...

Excellent location for visiting Manhattan. I picked it mostly because it was near the NY Marathon finish line in Central Park, but it worked great for sight-seeing as well. Having said that, the hotel experience itself was only OK. The staff is quite helpful and competent, but the rooms themselves need sprucing up (new carpet, etc...), as do the hallways, etc... Clean enough, though not spotless. Good, but not great, restaurant at street level (Park Cafe). Our room, which was really more like a suite with two separate bedrooms all to ourselves, was in the back of the building, which meant it was dark (no sunlight at all), no view, but on the other hand very quiet. It had a small kitchen which we did not use. Bathroom amenities were average, though I appreciated having a full-size bathtub after the marathon. Overall, I did not regret booking this hotel considering the bargain price (for Manhattan, that is!). The superb location and the nice staff more than make up for the minor shortcomings in other areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hobe Sound, FL
Nov 6, 2009

Wonderful location for NYC sightseeing

We visited MOMA, Rockefeller Plaza, Times Square, lower Manhatten, Staten Island Ferry, Central Park, Met Opera, Metropolitan Museum--walked or took subway. This is a no frills, but comfortable hotel in one of the best and most central locations in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blighty
Nov 6, 2009

Clean and basic good location

Very clean and a good central location staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hint - Drinks at the hotel bar are expensive

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champaign. IL
Nov 4, 2009

Wellington hotel in NY

While old, the hotel is kept in decent repair. The rooms are small and not full of amenities, but the location is excellent. It is a short walk to many of the great sites of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Nov 1, 2009

location, location, location

The hotel was full and the elevators, lobby, and front desk were not large enough to handle the crowds. The staff did their best and were helpful but at times were simply overwhelmed. However, being able to walk to the Met and Avery Fisher Hall makes up for a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
Nov 1, 2009

vivian

no windom and carpet wet so bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top