Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smith Girls Birthday Trip
Business
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Jan 24, 2010

Fantastic location for the price

We came as part of my daughters birthday and wanted to experience New York and all its sights. The location of the hotel is amazing and while a busy road outside the noise in the hotel was fairly minimal. The rooms are basic but they are exactly what you need and always clean. The reception staff were always ready to help and the use of the free safety deposit box was essential. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice in the room but all in all it was a fantastic trip that we will never forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The New York pass which is available at Planet Hollywood which is about 7 blocks away in Times Square was fantastic. It gets you into all the major sites and tours and many others that you would possibly over look. The guide book and information that comes with it is also amazing. Another real benefit is to get an unlimited metro card for the subway. It allows you to travel as many times as you need in a day up to midnight and was essential in making sure we got to all the sites we wanted to see as it includes bus travel as well. Both are a definite must if you are on a budget.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yarie
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 24, 2010

A great vacation

I think that the room is contaminated with bed bugs that cause me every night an allergy response. Also, the tiles of the room has mold. For the other hand, the location and the value of the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick Marathoner
Business
Pequannock, NJ
Jan 24, 2010

Overnight at the Wellington - Fantastic

I need to book a room to do the Half Marathon in Central park, give the fact that it was rated as a 3 star hotel I was very surprised. [...] I stayed in Room 48, I got the room for $150.00 (very good price) Large room, King size bed, Wide screen TV and Shower with a full Tub. Down the street from Times Square and about a block from Central Park. The Valet parking was a nice feature ($35). The room was very clean and all Towels and sheets were very clean. This hotel had a Coffee shop attached and also a Greek upscale restaurant. Very nice area with Radio City and Carnegie hall right next door, No complaints at all and I will absolutely be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired/Happy Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 24, 2010

Old school NYC hotel in the heart of it

The hotel was good. We were far up the building so the heat seemed to radiate up through all the floors and center in our room. We slept with the AC on full blast and were still hot. Other than that, you can't beat the location, the rooms were adequate for sleep, rest and making little forts. Hotel has shuttle service to the airports for flat rates too. Enjoyable overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gordon Ramsey's MAZE at London.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yarie
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 24, 2010

A great vacation

I think that the room is contaminated with bed bugs that cause me every night an allergy response. Also, the tiles of the room has mold. For the other hand, the location and the value of the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smith Girls Birthday Trip
Business
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Jan 24, 2010

Fantastic location for the price

We came as part of my daughters birthday and wanted to experience New York and all its sights. The location of the hotel is amazing and while a busy road outside the noise in the hotel was fairly minimal. The rooms are basic but they are exactly what you need and always clean. The reception staff were always ready to help and the use of the free safety deposit box was essential. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice in the room but all in all it was a fantastic trip that we will never forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The New York pass which is available at Planet Hollywood which is about 7 blocks away in Times Square was fantastic. It gets you into all the major sites and tours and many others that you would possibly over look. The guide book and information that comes with it is also amazing. Another real benefit is to get an unlimited metro card for the subway. It allows you to travel as many times as you need in a day up to midnight and was essential in making sure we got to all the sites we wanted to see as it includes bus travel as well. Both are a definite must if you are on a budget.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzlite
Business
Christchurch
Jan 24, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Our stay in New York was made enjoyable by the location of the hotel , which was close to Time Square , Central Park and Broadway. The staff where very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dublin ireland
Jan 23, 2010

excellent value and location

we were travelling to new york on a shopping holiday and found the hotel to be the ideal location for us. there is a subway directly outside the door which brings you downtown to times sq and macys and all the way down to century 21. this was our second stay in the wellington hotel and both times the service was very good. the deluxe double room was great value as it comprised of two separate rooms, linked by a small kitchen area. the only downfall with the hotel was the noise of the water pipes during the night, but this probably cannot be helped in an old hotel. i only experienced this during this visit as i stayed in a different wing on my last journey. overall excellent value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very good value shoe shop close to hotel which stocks specialized boots which are very expensive in ireland

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ToughCanuck
Business
Toronto, ON
Jan 23, 2010

Simply Fantastic!

This hotel is all about location, location, location. The room was small, but it was clean. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look into the CityPass or New City Pass if staying for more than a week. Also you can combine it with a hop on, hop off bus pass. We saved a ton of cash this way

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sparky
Business
Cambridge UK
Jan 22, 2010

disapointed start!!

Disapointed with the first two rooms we were given,as they were more like a hostel than hotel. After a heated discussion we were shown to the south side of the hotel 11th floor upwards where all the rooms have been refurbished this was fine. Feel they thought being English we wouldnt make a fuss. Manager explained first rooms were used for school parties?? Suites are not provided with crockery or cutlery so no tea in mornings!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Grey line bus tour to see NY as they give loads of history and useful info.

Back to menu Return to top