Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kalola
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Oct 31, 2009

Will stay at the Wellington again

Don't know why but they upgraded us to a suite which was great. Nice having separate bedrooms for four ladies. Older hotel with warmth and character, convenient location to all attractions. We used their gift shop to buy tour tickets and gifts. The bellmen were always handy...front desk people were efficient. Elevators were small but never slow and seemed to accommodate all. Our overall experience at the Wellington was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to go to Ellen's Stardust Diner (by the Winter Garden Theater where Mamma Mia show is). The food was excellent and the singing waitstaff were all top notch performers. Great entertainment!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tidyboy
Business
london uk
Oct 30, 2009

great location for the price

cant get more central than that .very good value for money.the staff are brilliant .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk away from time square area for good and cheap food.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scranton, PA
Oct 29, 2009

Location is great

The central location is fantastic for seeing a lot of NYC. My room was is good shape and for NYC, it wasn't as small as I expected. Bathroom was in good shape, everything was clean, and staff were friendly. Lots of tourists, and many runners for the marathon. My only complain was that there was no internet access in the room. Other than that, I would easily stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nolan's Mom
Business
Albany NY
Oct 29, 2009

Not bad

This hotel was in a good location especially for subway access. The room they gave me was a good size suite - always a treat for NYC. There were plenty of delis (Carnegie) and stores nearby that are convenient for a business traveller. The lobby was a bit overwhelming and cramped with many travelers checking in at the 4pm hour but check in was quick. The hotel was clean but a bit shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Oct 28, 2009

Great location! Good service!

Friendly, helpful staff! Room had a musty smell!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greeley, CO
Oct 28, 2009

very clean, comfortable, and friendly

The Wellington Hotel was probably the best choice we could have made. The staff was awesome all the way from the front desk to the hotel security, to the doorman and housekeeping. The location was centralized to just about everywhere. I would recommend it to anyone. We stayed 5 nights and by the first day it felt like we were family coming home every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is right at your doorstep.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Totsky
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 28, 2009

Perfect place to stay

Easy access to broadway shows, restaurants, bus tours, etc. Third time to NY. 1st time to stay at the Wellington. Will stay there from now on when visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure and visit the TKTS booth at Times Square to get discounted Broadway tickets. Be there by 2:00 for to purchase tickets for that evening.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Oct 27, 2009

Wellington Hotel October 09

Small bathroom but was ok. Noisy airconditioner outside room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Diner was a great place to eat.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Tan Valley, AZ
Oct 27, 2009

Fantastic location for the price!

I could not ask for a better location. We were next to everything that we planned to see and were very close to our daughter's apartment. The staff was friendly and helpful. The walk-in closet made up for the fact that the room was very small. This hotel is 100 years old and you could tell there was pride in ownership. Clean and well taken care of facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are willing to take a risk of not being able to see your favorite show -- there is an opportunity to purchase discount tickets (1/2 off) on Broadway by Times Square. The tickets go on sale for that day's performances by 3pm. Also, on 9th Avenue are a number of dining options that are not as expensive if you were to eat on Broadway.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, GA
Oct 26, 2009

Fantastic Location

We were within walking distance of the shows we wanted to see and ate at several wonderful restaurants. The staff was helpful and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top