Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,441 reviews
What a great holiday

This hotel was perfect. we couldnt believe how grand it was. the location could'nt have been better... See full review

  • shazaboo
  • Jan 19, 2015
Creat location. Clean. Good rate.

The hotel met my expectations. Great location. Clean. See full review

  • Edward Ort
  • Jan 18, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1441)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1441 out of 1441
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 13, 2009

vacation

staff was accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 12, 2009

New York's best kept secret!

More for your money than most hotels in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico, DF.
Oct 11, 2009

I Loved visitingNY from Wellington Hotel

I loved visiting New York. I visited many places of interest along Manhattan. I enjoyed my Stay a lot. The only thing that I miss on the trip was my husband, he could not travel with me as it was suppoused to be, so it was not the same without him. But anyway my Stay was great. I hope the next time we can travel together and show him New York and all the wonderfull thing that I´ve seen .[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to dinner in New York and you are Staying at the wellington Hotel, you can`t miss a dinner at the Italian Restorant that is located at 900 Seventh Avenue at 57st.Just across the street from the Carnagie Hall. It´s name is "Trattoria dellárte" They have a sea food bar full of delicious meal and a lot of excelent Italian dishes so there is no way that you don´t find something that you like. Go there and enjoy the excelent ambiance and a delicious meal. The prices are great for the quality they have.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee
Oct 11, 2009

Wellington hotel stay

very nice hotel, esp close to NY attractions. Great spot to watch people. Due to cost we selected this over the village area. This is a great spot for shoppers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

to broadway shows and musuems

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MICHIGAN
Oct 9, 2009

old &drab

WE APPRECIATED THE UPGRADE. BATHROOMS SMALL. ROOMS CEDDY IN APPEARANCE LOCATION IS GREAT FOR THEATHER DISTRICT. GOOD LOCATION FOR SITS SEEING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Wellington
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 8, 2009

"Bad customer service"

DO NOT STAY HERE...I thought NY was over their "attitude", WORST customer service in a long time, not just 1 front desk person but ALL 3 that I spoke with. This hotel only cares about getting you in, GETTING YOUR MONEY, and getting you out. Front desk girls were the pits, they CONTROL all your needs or concerns and on top of that they dont have ANY sense of care. "Im in control, dont ask me any thing because I will not help, just doing my job" I had to try to get my room 3 times, yes I did get to the hotel early, around 10:30am, I was told to check back later, ALL rooms were dirty, I checked back again around 1:15pm, still room not ready, check in is 3:00pm, I know that but most hotels can accomadate you somewhat earlier. Had to pay to have my bags held, had to keep checking back and interupting my "fun in the city". Very crowded and smoke filled non English speaking lobby. My travel partner has Asthma, he started to have breathing difficulty in the lobby, advised [...] of situation, they were helpful, but hotel manager states that we could leave but he would still charge 1 night stay, OK, when I finally got my room at 530pm I had no where else to stay and the cost for a last minute NY hotel room was unreasonable, my friend had to go stay with a friend in Hoboken, NJ! The first night my window in the room #1044 that looked directly across the inside corridor into another brick wall was broken and stayed fully open ALL night, No shampoo, condition, or small refridgerator, you could stretch your arms straight out and practically touch both side of the room, extremely small for the $$. However room was clean, except for the worn out pillows and stains on the velour blanket.THIS HOTEL IS WORN OUT, the staff and the facility!But hey, this was my experience maybe yours will be better! Stay at Marriott Marquis, a little higher rate but its well worth it, and sometimes you can get a comparable rate, just keep looking. And to top it off, I stayed here 12yrs ago when I got married, BIG BIG Difference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
workaholiic
Business
los angeles,ca
Oct 7, 2009

great location

great location, subway station on corner, tons of options for food. vewry convenient to Time square, shopping and sightseeing. safe and lively neighbourhood, never sleeps. in the middle of 24/7 activity of NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Oct 7, 2009

Great location!

This hotel has a great location for New York City and was quiet during the night. We were very pleased with our stay at the Wellington, would recommend it to others and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dorcie
Business
St John's, NL Canada
Oct 7, 2009

unbeatable location for price

Staff was friendly and attentive to any requests. Best location! Easy access to everything in Manhatten! Room was adequate but needed some refurbishing. Would stay there again and would also recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fluffy's served delicious food with the fastest service at the best prices!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Oct 4, 2009

Friendly, Perfect Location!

The Wellington Hotel provided to be the best fit for our 10 year wedding anniversary!! With a great location and great staff, we were greeted with a smile and many options on what to do and where to go. Our room was very clean and had a refrigerator and a microwave. The hotel´s super location is one of its greatest advantages;you are a few blocks from Broadway and a few blocks away from Central Park. Everything is so close! We are sure to repeat this trip and the hotel experience! Congrats on a great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Century 21, near ground zero. It was amazing to shop there. Crowded but worth it!

Back to menu Return to top