Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,342 reviews
better than expected!!!

For our first time in NYC.. we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing, down the... See full review

  • qbolt
  • Apr 3, 2014
Perfect location

We had such a good time in NY and the Wellington definitely contributed to the visit. I would... See full review

  • Carol from SATx
  • Apr 1, 2014
Classic comfort in the heart of Midtown
The Wellington Hotel's classic style and location close to many attractions, restaurants and theatres make this a popular choice. Just three blocks south of Central Park, five blocks north of Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center, the Wellington is within easy walking distance of all Broadway theaters, museums, many restaurants of different styles and cuisines and Times Square. The Art Deco lobby and classically decorated rooms provide a warm atmosphere. All suites have a refrigerator and microwave, making the Wellington perfect for business and family travel. The smoke-free property also provides on-site services including 24-hour business center, hairdresser and two gift shops.
Highlights
  • All suites (and some rooms) have a refrigerator and microwave.
  • Walk to Braodway theatres, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, New York City Center and much more.
Location

Popular stores such as the Apple Store and American Girl Place are within a short walk and the David Letterman Show is just two blocks.

Rooms
The Wellington Hotel has 700 rooms including 85 one-bedroom suites. In-room amenities include Wi-Fi access (fee applies), flat-screen TV with Pay Per View movies, clock radio, hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
There are three on-site gift shops. The Piccolo Gift Shop on the lobby level offer snacks and souvenirs as well as theatre tickets, sightseeing and airport transportation.
Dining
  • Molyvos, located on the lobby level, offers Greet cuisine for lunch and dinner from 12 noon, Monday to Friday. In addition, on Saturday and Sunday brunch starts at 11am (1130am in July and August).
  • The Park Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and after-theatre snacks from 6am to 1am every day.
  • Room Service is available from 6am to 12midnight every day.
  • There are more than 100 restaurants within a seven-minute walk including the Carnegie Deli, known for its enormous sandwiches, is across the street.
Transportation
  • Parking: Valet parking for standard size cars is $35 for 24 hours; $45 for oversized vehicles.
  • Subway: N, R, Q right outside the 55th Street entrance; E two short blocks; F one block.
  • Bus: 7, 20, 104 across the street; 31, 57 on 57th Street at Seventh Avenue.
Attractions
  • Theatre District - all Broadway theaters are within walking distance
  • Carnegie Hall
  • Central Park
  • David Letterman Show
  • Good Morning America
  • MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
  • New York City Center
  • Radio City Music Hall
  • Rockefeller Center
  • TODAY
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • In-room WiFi ($4.99 for 1 hour; $11.99 for up to 24 hours; $24.99 for up to 72 hours; $39.99 for up to 120 hours.
  • Send or receive faxes at the front desk (fees may apply)

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1342)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
1342 out of 1342
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Harrisburg
Aug 31, 2008

Family Review

The Wellington Hotel was in a Central Location to see New York City. Times Square, Central Park and Broadway were all within comfortable walking distance. The Staff is vistor friendly and make every effort to make your visit enjoyable. We had two one bedroom suites that worked well for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wellington is very close to all attractions. Everything from shopping to eating is available within a short walk. It is close to the Tour Bus Stops. We used the Tour Bus to move from one side of the city to the other so that we could enjoy all of New York City.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 21, 2007

Business in NY style

the Hotel was comfortable an well located a short walk from Broadway and Times Sqr. The room was comfortable with a en suite bathroom . the Main room contained a Queen bed table and unit that held a 20 TV. there was also a small desk. The wireless network was very good . All in all a very nice boutique hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
MickeyChic
North Carolina
Jan 17, 2012

Excellent place to stay!

My daughter and I stayed here for the three days and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff were great! They were helpful and so polite and just genuinely nice. The rooms were small but clean and attractive. Location was great. Right across the street from Carmine's Deli. There is a cafe (The Park Cafe) beside the hotel (you can actually enter through a side entrance in the hotel). They had great, resonably price food with very friendly wait staff. You could sit and watch the carraige rides go by from Central Park. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At the hotel there was a free publication at the bellman's desk that gave some great coupons. We used one for Time Scare and got two tickets for the price of one!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Jun 13, 2007

Great resturant next door.

Great deli sandwiches next door at the Park Cafe . Also, had great breakfasts and dinners .Prices not bad for NYC . If i am in the city again I would stay at the Wellington .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Broadway show fan
Piqua, Oh
Jun 19, 2009

Exactly what we needed.

We only were in New York for three days to see two Broadway shows. The Wellington is reasonably priced, family oriented, and within walking distance to Times Square and to the two shows we came to see. It was a very comfortable experience. The attached coffee show is a great place to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Alexandria, LA
May 4, 2008

25th anniversary gettaway

OUr stay at the Wellington exceeded our expectations.It was very clean, friendly and in a good location. I would recommend it to anyone for whatever reason.it was close to a lot of attractions we were interested in seeing. close to the tour buses and subway. We were able to walk to Rockerfella Center and other attractions. I was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Canton
Jun 26, 2008

Excellent location!!

We were close to everything! The broadway shows, times square, central park and even fifth avenue! The hotel had a great vintage feel, and our room was very nice, I look forward to coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Oswego
Jun 29, 2008

Quaint hotel in a nice location

You feel like you've stepped backwards in time. Not at all in a bad way - the old world decoration and attention to detail are beautiful. Plus you're in a fun neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by all the tourist spots, if you're visiting new york to sight see.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Nova Scotia, Canada
Oct 25, 2009

Girls NY Getaway

Everything was great, cannot wait to visit again. Will most likely choose the same hotel if the prices are right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2008

Fantastic location

My goddaughter and I were very satisfied with the Wellington Hotel. It was clean, the staff was helpful, the rooms were adequate, the location is FANTASTIC. All we use our room for is to sleep and put on our fashionable outfits. It was perfect. The price was great, we had money to spend on other fashionable outfits. We recommend it for all fashionistas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. Great shopping.

Back to menu Return to top