Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,626 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1626)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1626 out of 1626
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 7, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

The standard room with a double bed is extremely small, as well as the bathroom. There is hardly room for your suitcase. The bed was so bad we could not sleep throughout the night.The heating system is old and constantly makes noise. I upgraded to a king size room and bed and it was an entirely different situation. The room was bigger and the bed was definitely better. During this transfer the staff could not have been better. They understood my situation and did everything they could to assist us. The service was good and I would recommend this hotel, but only with a king size room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from Central Park. About 4 blocks from Radio City Music Hall and Rockafella Center. Subway right out the door and with this you have access to the entire city.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mannford
Dec 3, 2008

fantastic stay

everything a person would ever want, comfortable room and bed and perfect location to see all the sites in New York City. everthing was in walking distance. very quiet when it was bedtime. I couldn't have asked for more. I will definitely stay there again, and i hope it won't be to long before i return to NYC. only there 5 days and so much to see and so little time. Keep my room warm and we'll see you soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants very close by, time square 7 blocks, Radio city music hall 5 blocks central park 3 blocks, just can't beat it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham
Jan 6, 2009

Paradise In New York City

The Wellington Hotel was one of the best located hotels i have ever been to. From the moment i arrived, i felt very comfortable. The check in was very quick with no problems. The most significant thing was the rooms. They are very spacious and comfortable. I felt as if i were at home. When i made it home from my visit, i immediately told all my friends and family about the Wellington Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from 5th Avenue. Every shoppers dream.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Nov 28, 2010

New York Trip

Perfect location for everything that we wanted to do! We saw the Rockette's Christmas Show, Mama Mia, The Lion King, and Wicked. Rockette's Christmas Show was our favorite! The only thing that could have made the hotel better would have been a coffee pot in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy tickets ahead of time. Make arrangements with airport pickup prior to arrival and before departure.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago Il
Jul 30, 2009

Fantastic family getaway. More please.

I hade a great time. there was so much to see and do .And the Wellington was the only place to be. Everything was in walking distance. And the staff was very frindly and helpful with directions.We got on the big Taxi and went to LadyL. and Ground zero. Im in love with the Wellington Hotel and New York.To the W.H staff you made my stay very comfortable.Thank you for all the extras.Keep doing what your doing you take the cake and the frosting.M.A.B.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out every day,and stay out half the night. You never no what great experince is just around the corner.My daughter and i went to a sample sale that i didn't even know about. I LOVE New York.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 1, 2008

Great location

This hotel was very comfortable. Very good location. Just next to a subway station, a couple of block from south central park and very close to times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
May 27, 2007

speak up about room size

At first they put us in a super tiny room. I would not have been able to exit the standard bed from my side of the room. It was up against the wall. Upon immediately seeing this; I told the bellboy this was unacceptable. He immediately called the front desk and had the room changed for us. The room was very nice and large. I was just wondering though if I hadnt said anything we would have ended up in that closet sized room. That makes me very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to TIMES SQUARE. sTORES and restaurants everywhere. 2 blocks from central park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Jun 8, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Since walking is a must, this Hotel was right in the middle of everything. Only a few blocks from Central Park, the Top of the Rock, St. Patricks Cathederal, Times Square, and all kinds of great eating. Staff was great, also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Racine
Sep 29, 2008

perfect location

This hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan and walking distance to all of the theaters, Central Park, the museums, and fifth avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The half price ticket booth is within walking distance and offers tickets to Broadway musicals on the day of the performance for 50% off. We were able to see five musicals in a three day weekend and all at half price.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 13, 2008

Wonderful NYC location

We stayed a week at the Wellington Hotel, and it was the perfect location for seeing the city. We had a very good and reasonable dining area, proximity to the City Tour buses (two blocks), excellent service from check-in to check-out, and our corner room gave us views of 7th Avenue as well as 56th STreet and a peek of Broadway. Several good eating places in the two block area, all types and prices. It is an older hotel, but in great shape, and small but nice rooms. We loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to Carnegie Hall, two blocks from Lindy's, Ed Sullivan Theater, a few blocks from Rockefeller Center, and three blocks south of Central Park.

Back to menu Return to top