Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Friends
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spanish visitor
Couples
Spain, Europe
Jul 14, 2011

Really handy, I definitely recommend it

The staff was either too serious or even nice, but very efficient with anything you need, for instance, when we needed some NBA tickets. The location is incredibly convenient, as you can walk to many places and also you have a subway station just next door. The rooms were quite fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vad
Family
Wellington, OH
Jun 15, 2009

Great location, affordable rates.

Incredible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph, theater lover
Couples
Detroit, MI
Jul 2, 2009

Wellington is

While in New York City, we went to 3 plays on Broadway. We also took several tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at larger grocery markets for beverages and snacks, the smaller deli stores our very expensive.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
sellersburg indiana
May 4, 2009

great location, walking distance to all

great service, friendly staff, affordable,great location to all major sites in New York City, will be using this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the subway it is the best way to get around.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
metsfan
Couples
Ponte Vedra, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Upgraded to Blakley

Easy to check into, friendly staff, GREAT location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close to Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelers three
Family
Modesto, CA
Jun 22, 2009

One of the least expensive best location

What a wonderful location!!! We saw a broadway show, went to NYC Ballet and saw a Shakespeare in the Park performance at Central Park. It was great to be within walking distance to all of this and more! We always felt secure walking to and from our hotel and despite a couple of aloof door men, we enjoyed our stay there. There was a wonderful bellman named Jermaine... so nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shakespeare in the Park tickets were free and it was a fantastic night of entertainment!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto Canada
Jun 25, 2009

perfect location-- close to fun sights

walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, Broadway,Carnegie Hall,Hard Rock Cafe,Columbus Circle and a host of other places. easy to get from one fun place to another. cost of taxi rides to other sights were reasonable because the distances were short. shopping everywhere around. many cafes and restaurants closeby. put your heart in the heart of it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

after the hustle of the lights and the crowds and the many tall buildings a walk thro Central Park resets your energy level so that you can do more the next day

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kalola
Friends
Beaumont, Texas
Oct 31, 2009

Will stay at the Wellington again

Don't know why but they upgraded us to a suite which was great. Nice having separate bedrooms for four ladies. Older hotel with warmth and character, convenient location to all attractions. We used their gift shop to buy tour tickets and gifts. The bellmen were always handy...front desk people were efficient. Elevators were small but never slow and seemed to accommodate all. Our overall experience at the Wellington was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to go to Ellen's Stardust Diner (by the Winter Garden Theater where Mamma Mia show is). The food was excellent and the singing waitstaff were all top notch performers. Great entertainment!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Pittsbrugh, PA
Feb 15, 2010

Sister's get away weekend

I enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful in answering our questions. My only complaint is the heater in room was too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Nov 7, 2009

Great location, don't expect luxury...

Excellent location for visiting Manhattan. I picked it mostly because it was near the NY Marathon finish line in Central Park, but it worked great for sight-seeing as well. Having said that, the hotel experience itself was only OK. The staff is quite helpful and competent, but the rooms themselves need sprucing up (new carpet, etc...), as do the hallways, etc... Clean enough, though not spotless. Good, but not great, restaurant at street level (Park Cafe). Our room, which was really more like a suite with two separate bedrooms all to ourselves, was in the back of the building, which meant it was dark (no sunlight at all), no view, but on the other hand very quiet. It had a small kitchen which we did not use. Bathroom amenities were average, though I appreciated having a full-size bathtub after the marathon. Overall, I did not regret booking this hotel considering the bargain price (for Manhattan, that is!). The superb location and the nice staff more than make up for the minor shortcomings in other areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top