Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,124 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2124)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2124 out of 2124
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 hot travelers
Aston, PA
Apr 28, 2012

Temperature

The rooms are not separately controlled with the heat/air conditioner. Our room was unbearably hot. We almost had to sleep with the door open to the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 1, 2008

Great location

This hotel was very comfortable. Very good location. Just next to a subway station, a couple of block from south central park and very close to times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qbolt
whittier, ca
Apr 3, 2014

better than expected!!!

For our first time in NYC.. we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing, down the street from everything there is to see!! Times square, right there. Central park.. right there. Rockefeller & Carnegie hall.. down the street. It was nice all around. The room was warm, and inviting. The bathroom was super tiny, but it's all you really need. All around, i would definitely go back and book this hotel again when in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do one of the bus tours your first day.. so the following days you can go back and do the things that interest you most, more in depth. It will also help understand the geography if it all there. Enjoy!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Racine
Sep 29, 2008

perfect location

This hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan and walking distance to all of the theaters, Central Park, the museums, and fifth avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The half price ticket booth is within walking distance and offers tickets to Broadway musicals on the day of the performance for 50% off. We were able to see five musicals in a three day weekend and all at half price.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nader Super Planner
Portland, OR
Sep 6, 2009

Unbelievable Trip!

The location was perfect. Close to Central Park, the Theater District, subways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

we took the OnBoard City Tour - which really help us get our bearings and get use to using the subway. It was the fastest way to get anywhere.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sonia Melendez
San Juan, PR
May 27, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I liked the hotel location was fine employees were very nice clean was a little scared because of the poor who had opinions on the internet but was not due to and what I liked more than having employees who speak Spanish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 27, 2008

excellent location family friendly

the hotel was in an excellent location, everything was closed: central park, broadway, 5th avenue, very convenient, the hotel has a good gift store also, the hotel is old but they are doing some remodeling that i am sure it will enhance the category of the same, the personnel was attentive and helpful. overall we enjoyed our stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is closed to the hotel, restaurants, shopping, entertainment, excellent location!!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MichelleChris
Fife, Scotland
Sep 9, 2012

Great location

Great location and value for money. Hotel clean, staff friendly. Room basic and small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico, DF.
Oct 11, 2009

I Loved visitingNY from Wellington Hotel

I loved visiting New York. I visited many places of interest along Manhattan. I enjoyed my Stay a lot. The only thing that I miss on the trip was my husband, he could not travel with me as it was suppoused to be, so it was not the same without him. But anyway my Stay was great. I hope the next time we can travel together and show him New York and all the wonderfull thing that I´ve seen .[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to dinner in New York and you are Staying at the wellington Hotel, you can`t miss a dinner at the Italian Restorant that is located at 900 Seventh Avenue at 57st.Just across the street from the Carnagie Hall. It´s name is "Trattoria dellárte" They have a sea food bar full of delicious meal and a lot of excelent Italian dishes so there is no way that you don´t find something that you like. Go there and enjoy the excelent ambiance and a delicious meal. The prices are great for the quality they have.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Longmont, CO
Jul 12, 2008

Very Friendly

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wellington. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was also a great location. We will stay here again when we return to NYC!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right near time square and central park, great location, the subways all run right to the hotel...

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Part-Time New Yorker
Iowa City, IA
May 21, 2009

New York on a Budget

The rooms are some of the smallest in Manhattan, and the amenities at the Wellington are few and far between. The location, price, and cleanliness more than make up for what the Wellington lacks. It's only a few blocks from Central Park--try to beat that for the price. How much time are you going to spend in your (tiny) room anyway? It's New York City, baby! The city never sleeps, so why should you?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top