Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
188 reviews
Excellent experience.

We had a wonderful stay at the Wellington. The location was perfect. Everything about the facility... See full review

  • Marilyn P.
  • Nov 15, 2015
AWESOME TRIP

It's super convenient the place, and beautiful hotel See full review

  • Lilliana f.
  • Jul 9, 2015

The Wellington Hotel in New York is a luxury establishment that has welcomed guests in New York City for over 113 years. Known for its classic design, the style of the hotel captures the true spirit of the Big Apple with elegant chandeliers and gold accents in the interior space. Each room features luxurious decor with free access to WiFi, Kewl bath amenities and a 32-inch flat screen television.

Highlights

The Wellington Hotel is located just a few blocks from Central Park and is half a mile from Times Square. It's conveniently located on the corner of West 55th Street and Seventh Avenue. For breakfast, guests can enjoy dining at the Park Cafe for traditional American menu items that include French toast and omelettes. Molyvos Greek Restaurant is an award-winning restaurant on the lobby level and offers a variety of Greek dishes. It is most commonly known for its flavorful grilled fish that is served throughout the day. Room service is also available in each room. A gift shop is located on-site for a great place to pick up souvenirs or snacks. Outside of the hotel, over 100 restaurants are available within walking distance. Guests can also visit some of the most popular attractions nearby, which include Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center and the Museum of Modern Art.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTHH
Single
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

Staff and room, equally cold

Checked in earlier and returned after a light night event about 1am. Room was cold but after being up for 23 hours, I was too tired to wait for maintenance or change rooms. Note on thermostat read "do not work." Not the best english, but it tells me they knew there were issues. The shivered throughout the evening. The next morning I warmed the room by running a hot shower with doors open. What frustrated me most was that when I reported it during checkout, she coldly said " I'm sorry," and that was the end of it. She didn't ask for details or show any concern about my miserable experience at the Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aming
Family
Portland, OR
Sep 13, 2013

Yuck!

The lobby is nice. However, the room is very outdated. Carpet needed to be replaced. Old, smelly, scary I might add. Everything about it was dissapointing. What a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinesharla
Friends
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
May 4, 2009

Wellington Hotel

This hotel looks like it has never been remodelled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2007

so so

The Wellington was not very friendly.I felt like the room was way over priced compared to my last seven visits this year.The room had a hard mattress.It was so hot that you could not sleep,tried to adjust heat but was preset.The location was great between time square and central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the castle pub two streets down had great food and service.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Maestro
Couples
Centereach, NY
Sep 27, 2009

Weekend event

I did not get to stay at the hotel. On getting there, I was told my room was unavailable and had to be relocated to a sister hotel. I was disappointed by the way the whole process was handled. I would have preferred to be informed about the situation before my arrival. I will have to rethink ever making a reservation at the wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kaufman Tx
Jun 13, 2010

Horrible, horrible, horrible

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself is a dump. Your site advertised it as a 3.5 - 4.0 star and thats a joke. This place was herendous and I will NEVER stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you can ride the subway anywhere you need to go and then may have a short walk. the sites were amazing. It was out first trip to NY and we loved it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Florida
Jun 19, 2009

Terrible!!

Location is good but room was dirty, old and depressing. Comforters on bed were very old and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brendab
Family
waterloo, iowa
Jul 22, 2012

Good location.

This hotel is in a great location if you want to be near Central Park and the Time Square area. Our suite was clean but in dire need of updating. The whole hotel had a very 80's style and look---a facelift is definitely needed. We wish the staff would have been more informative at check in (provide subway map, info on local attractions, etc.). We spoke to other travelers throughout the week that had great maps and information that was supplied by their hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jersey Boys

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Goldie380
Single
Upstate New York
Apr 29, 2013

two kind employees

Wellington Hotel was just ok. Out of all the employees I had contact with only two were kind-Frank the bellman and the woman who answered the receptionist phone on Sunday morning (4/28 at 10 a.m.). All others seem to be above us 'commoners' staying there. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure great, but the room is old school. As a runner though, Central Park right next door was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Worth it to walk to theater district if the weather is good, rather than taxi.

Back to menu Return to top