Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,478 reviews
great vacation

pretty good location near central park and walking distance to Mayor subways and times Square. A... See full review

  • Pascual H.
  • Apr 16, 2015
great broadway trip

This hotel was close to the theater and the bed was amazingly comfortable after a long walking day... See full review

  • Alisha H.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
500 out of 1478
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pascual H.
Business
Hammond
Apr 16, 2015

great vacation

pretty good location near central park and walking distance to Mayor subways and times Square. A couple of issues were Overpriced rrestaurant, no free WiFi, and not working AC. Overall an ok hotel for the zone and the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darryn C.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Wonderful Honeymoon

We arrived at the hotel and were delighted to have been upgraded to a top floor suite with balcony and amazing views down to Times Square. There was also a chilled bottle of champagne left in the room courtesy of Lucille. We loved the more traditional New York feel to the hotel and the location was perfect. The rooms aren't huge but how much time do you spend in your room in New York? Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FRANCESCA
Business
LANCASTER
Mar 26, 2015

Great stay!

The Wellington Hotel was great, overall. Our toilet was leaking upon arrival, but a maintenance worker came to fix it quickly. The room was a bit warm. The location was wonderful! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HAR
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Great Location, Friendly Service

Perfect walking distance to Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Broadway shows, Central Park, museums, etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Clean and well maintained. But there's always room for improvement: Too many towels delivered every day. We followed the notecard instructions by hanging the towels to use again, but still more were delivered. We had to put all the extras in the closet. Also, the shower could use improvement. Shower head sprayed water everywhere, and the water temperature was unsteady: scalding, cold, just right, scalding, cold, etc. I stayed on the fifth floor, and my friend stayed on the 14th floor. He had the same complaints about the shower in his room. But everything else was so nice, we were willing to overlook this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
curiousda
Business
Warwick
Feb 27, 2015

2 one nights

Stayed one night then another - great staff, got to check in a bit early, nice views from some rooms, comfy bed. Heater only worked at night though. Great value for money (and great locale).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Malinda M.
Business
Wimette
Feb 12, 2015

Great hotel!

This is our second stay at the Wellington. We love the location and it's proximity to the subway, Central Park, shopping and all the great things there are to do in NYC. We saw the David a Letterman show which was right around the corner. We had a great experience again at the Wellington!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
theatregoer
Business
Wayne
Feb 12, 2015

Great theatre trip

We stayed here two nights for a theatre/cabaret weekend. It was centrally sited so that we could walk to all the locations. The only glitch was that we had reserved a queen bed suite. When we checked in, there was no mention of the beds so we assumed we were getting what we reserved, but we were shown to a suite with two double beds. It was also next door to a room that was being renovated, and there was a pervasive smell of paint or adhesive. When we explained that we had splurged on a suite only because there were no regular queen rooms available, they quickly moved us to a king suite, which was excellent. It was palatial for New York City, with separate sitting room and bedroom, closets in each room, and a mini-fridge, microwave, and sink in the hall between the two rooms. Everything was clean, comfortable, and functional. The bathroom actually had a window (frosted), which made it a bit on the chilly side, but the water was hot and the pressure was exceptional. Except for not telling us at the front desk that the room type we had reserved wasn't available and asking us what alternative we'd prefer, the staff was all very efficient and pleasant, especially the bellman who arranged the room change for us. If we could get the same deal every time, we'd always stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Malinda M.
Business
Wimette
Feb 11, 2015

Great Hotel

This is our second time staying at the Wellington Hotel. It is the perfect location with subway stops right by the hotel, a Starbucks across the street and Dabid Letterman right around the corner. The cleaning staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stobbsy
Business
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

Quick weekend

Came to New York to catch up with friends, shopping and see a Broadway show. The hotel is slightly tired but ideally located and adequately furnished for the short time we spent there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within easy walking distance from 5th Ave, Central Park and Broadway.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie B
Business
Cockeysville
Feb 3, 2015

Great location

Key location just blocks from Central Park on Seventh Avenue. Polite and efficient hotel staff. Very good value for the money in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top