Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
188 reviews
Excellent experience.

We had a wonderful stay at the Wellington. The location was perfect. Everything about the facility... See full review

  • Marilyn P.
  • Nov 15, 2015
AWESOME TRIP

It's super convenient the place, and beautiful hotel See full review

  • Lilliana f.
  • Jul 9, 2015

The Wellington Hotel in New York is a luxury establishment that has welcomed guests in New York City for over 113 years. Known for its classic design, the style of the hotel captures the true spirit of the Big Apple with elegant chandeliers and gold accents in the interior space. Each room features luxurious decor with free access to WiFi, Kewl bath amenities and a 32-inch flat screen television.

Highlights

The Wellington Hotel is located just a few blocks from Central Park and is half a mile from Times Square. It's conveniently located on the corner of West 55th Street and Seventh Avenue. For breakfast, guests can enjoy dining at the Park Cafe for traditional American menu items that include French toast and omelettes. Molyvos Greek Restaurant is an award-winning restaurant on the lobby level and offers a variety of Greek dishes. It is most commonly known for its flavorful grilled fish that is served throughout the day. Room service is also available in each room. A gift shop is located on-site for a great place to pick up souvenirs or snacks. Outside of the hotel, over 100 restaurants are available within walking distance. Guests can also visit some of the most popular attractions nearby, which include Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center and the Museum of Modern Art.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Douglas T.
Couples
N/A
Sep 3, 2015

Experience New York

The location of the Wellington Hotel is excellent. It is within easy walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, the theater district and Broadway, etc. The adjacent Greek restaurant is also very good, and the staff were friendly. The staff of the hotel were helpful and friendly as well. Overall, I would describe the Wellington Hotel as good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lillian a.
Couples
N/A
May 27, 2015

Below average for the price

Room we had,.there was not a hook on the back of the door to put our robe or anything. The room was small and had hard time getting round the bed to get to the other side of the room. Maid did not clean our room, we had to request her to come up that evening to clean. We had been gone all day. The price was too high for the room. We had to put a stool up to the door to feel safe. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and kind. It was the room that we had a problem with and service with the maid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pascual H.
Couples
Hammond
Apr 16, 2015

great vacation

pretty good location near central park and walking distance to Mayor subways and times Square. A couple of issues were Overpriced rrestaurant, no free WiFi, and not working AC. Overall an ok hotel for the zone and the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
young couple
Couples
Los Angeles
Nov 19, 2014

One week in Time Square NY

Older retro look, like all rooms in NY they are tiny but enough room for a comfortable stay. Had a room with no view but in hindsight best option, avoided the constant car honking and was able to sleep thru the night. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

21 Club

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janet B
Couples
Fort Myers, fl
Aug 31, 2014

Great location, small room

Even by NYC standards, this room is SMALL. But you can't beat the location, subway stop right outside the door, Central Park four short blocks away. Many dining options thin a few blocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJDB
Couples
New York
Mar 21, 2014

needs that extra something

there was no breakfast included. Access to Internet was very expensive. The rooms were super small....however, the location could not have been better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herb World Traveler
Couples
Louisville, Kentcky
Feb 16, 2014

Perfect Location

The Wellington is a great value. Only recommendation for improvement would be free coffee in the room or a pot in the lobby for guests. The Park Café located within the confines of the hotel building is fantastic to breakfast. New York can be expensive, so deal with that and put it in perspective, you will find it doesn't disappoint. Staff was outstanding and the cleaning maids outstanding, timely and friendly...not what I was led to believe about New Yorkers. I am sure a few folks would have a complaint about something, but then again your expectations are out of whack and you are too spoiled. If you want perfection and snobby type service...then head to a Ritz type hotel. This place is perfect couples, families and small groups that want to really enjoy the town. It is close to everything from the Park to Theatre District and most of the sites that anyone would care to visit. ALSO IF YOU ARE THERE, GO ACROSS THE STREET AND HAVE A PASTRIMI SANDWICH AT THE CARNEGIE DINER. FANTASTIC!!! I also tried KATZ's, another outstanding deli...but, I have to say, Carnegie is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show tickets in Times Square. Same day performances for half price and the lines moves quickly.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the sampedros
Couples
buenos aires, argentina
Feb 6, 2014

1st time in NYC

the wellington was a great place to be to see downtown Manhatten. Close to Carnegie Hall, the Metropolitan Opera, Museams and Central Park makes it within walking distance for a first time in the big apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the sampedros
Couples
buenos aires, argentina
Jan 27, 2014

our first view of NYC

The most positive part of our stay was the relationship between price and location. A great place to be within walking distance of all of upper Manhatten. The staff was always very helpful. Our first experience with NYC was a very positive one. Hopefully we will someday return (in Spring or Fall would be preferable) since this years polar temps made it difficult to enjoy the proximity of the hotel to Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janita
Couples
Victoria
Oct 27, 2013

October in New York

On our recent trip to New York, we stayed at the Wellington which is conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park. Although older, the Wellington is clean and offers good value for the traveler who does not require the opulence of the Plaza (which is where we had brunch). It is located on one of the subway lines which makes connecting to other parts of New York, easy and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top