Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Friends
Chicago, ILL
Jun 28, 2011

Low price and god localization

I sleeping when I stay in the Hotel but the room selections was different at the ofert in website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
lafayette, la
Jun 27, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price"

To have an icebucket in the room and ice available on our floor or even a couple of floors above or below. We had to call for ice or go down to the first floor to get ice. The free breakfast was delicious and definitely a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Family
Floyd, Virginia
Jun 20, 2011

Not disappointed

You could not ask for a better location in all of Manhattan. Close to Central Park where we rented bikes, close to the Broadway play we went to, close to Times Square and Rockefellar Center. The hotel room had two rooms, one with a couch and small kitchenette! Would definitely recommend for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southern belle
Family
New York, New York
May 10, 2011

everything and more

Times Square, Madame Tussand's Wax Museum, Empire State Building, Clipper Boat around Statue of Liberty,pedicab around Central park, Central park zoo, ate real NY pizza,one of the best times ever. Being from the south it was like another world. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCunnin142[@]
Couples
WEST VIRGINIA
Apr 19, 2011

PERSONABLE STAFF,ADEQUATE ACCOMMODATIONS

After staying at the Wellington some 49 years ago,it was good to come back if only to sleep,shower,and change.My wife's first trip..poor me..MAMMA MIA,MEMPHIS,METROPOLITAN MUSEUM,CARNEGIE HALL CONCERT,CENTRAL PARK TOUR,dinner at SD26,DEL FRISCO'S,lunch at the PLAZA HOTEL,cocktails at the PENNINSULA HOTEL and the RITZ and shopping on MADISON AVE,seeing ST PETERS and ROCKEFELLER CENTER..after 3 nights,I'm tired and broke.We'll be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must dine @ DEL FRISCO'S!!! $$$$ But well worth it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Statesboro, Ga.
Apr 18, 2011

A dream come true vacation

We took a family vacation to NY and Wellington couldn't have been in a better location. We were able to walk to most of our designations. The best part for me though, was the room size. We were shocked when we walked in. For the price we paid, I feel we got a lot more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We really enjoyed dinning in the local restaurants. We didn't spend as much money as we thought on food because of dinning this way. Plus, the food was great!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
llm
Business
virginia
Apr 9, 2011

wellington hotel, nyc

the facility was relatively clean, staff was helpful when asked but, overall the hotel was not particulary helpful to a business traveler. It was much more like a residential apartment complex than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Wisconsin
Apr 7, 2011

Great Location, Nice Hotel!

I visited this hotel with my mother on our annual trip to NYC. We stayed Monday April 4 - Thursday April 7 and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a fantastic location - a subway station is right outside the front doors, Broadway is within blocks, right near David Letterman, and plenty of fantastic restaurants! We had a small room with two twin beds - but that's expected in New York, especially in this area. The hotel is nice and clean and they offer a business center (for a fee). When we arrived, we had to wait for a bellman to bring our bags up to the room, that took about 10 minutes. Check-in went quickly, though, so that was nice. We did have a little trouble with the room - the heater kept making very loud noises throughout the night and we turned it off and it was still really warm in the room - we had to open the window even though it was only 35 degrees outside, just to cool it off. Also, the bathtub drain dripped a lot, but no big deal. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and the hotel. We'll try to make it back there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ninth Avenue (about 2 blocks from hotel) between 57th and 42nd offers a number of excellent restaurants that are off the beaten path (a little..). They're much more reasonably priced than those on Broadway or nearby and there are so many different options - Thai, American, Italian, etc. Check it out!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinesharla
Friends
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Houston, Texas
Mar 28, 2011

It was a great experience!

The hotel room was small, but clean. The location was great it was about 6 blocks from time square. We took the subway and that was a learning experience. For the price of the whole trip, it was all worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top