Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dimi7122
Business
Boston, mass
Jan 28, 2013

Great Deal!

I loved it! The Hotel is well situated. The place is clean. My only issue was that the bathroom had no heater and so was very cold (in an extremely cold weather spell). Again this was minor as leaving the door the heat from the room kept it usable. But LOVED being there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MBA123
Family
Illinois
Jan 21, 2013

Convenient location, friendly staff!

Great experience. Friendly desk staff. Very good location. Walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rockerfeller Center etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Allnighter
Single
Harrisonbug, VA
Dec 21, 2012

First NYC Trip

This was my first trip to NYC and I loved everything. We were right by a subway station and everything was at the tip of our fingers. When we first arrived at 9am we were exhausted and expected our room to be ready, but the receptionist, Carolyn said there was nothing she could do and try again 6 hours LATER at 3PM!!! Luckily the manager overheard and he proceeded to upgrade us to the king sized room. Needless to say everything was great at the hotel including room service! Would recommend it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by 5th Ave. You can see Times Sqaure right from the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ldj22
Friends
Pennsylvania
Dec 11, 2012

Perfect Location, wonderful staff

I booked this hotel last minute because the price was great. The location of the Wellington is awesome, near Central Park and Times Square. We arrived at the hotel well before check in. We were able to check in although our room wasn't ready. Our awesome bell hop, Mike, took us to our room and put our luggage in the closet! We spent 4 hours out and about. When we came back to the hotel, our room was ready. We stayed in room 1010 which was newly renovated. Our room had 2 beds, tv, refrigerator, sink and microwave. It also had a small round table with two chairs. There was plenty of dresser drawers and closet space. Our view was of an alley, but that was not a big deal. The city was warm during December and our room was very stuffy. We called downstairs and asked if they could turn the heat off. 10 minutes later someone came up and told us the heat was off. We opened the windows and the room was comfortable. We also had to call down twice for extra towels and both times we received them within 15 minutes. For the amount of time we spent in our room, it was perfect. I cannot say enough about the friendliness and accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cl Thompson
Family
orlando, florida
Nov 14, 2012

Quick stay

Most convenient of any midtown hotels. Perfect for those spending most of their time out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get great inexpensive meals to eat in or take out. Also, pay for shuttle van to airports in the convenience store in lobby across from diner!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rikisa
Family
San Francisco,California
Oct 3, 2012

Our first family visit to New York

We had a great experience. We arrived early morning with very little sleep. The manager arranged to get us into a room at a much earlier time which was greatly appreciated. The staff was courteous,pleasant and helpful. We will definitely recommend the Wellington Hotel to all of our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the hotel shuttle. Worth every penny.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky and Mary
Family
Purvis, MS
Aug 20, 2012

LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION

Staff great - Bed most comfortable ever - location could not be better anywhere - halfway between Central Park and Times Square - we decided this was the best trip ever taken (I would put it up there right with Hawaii!) - we were able to walk everywhere and refresh and go again with little time wasted -easy to reach Today show early am from here - rooms are small, but who is living in their room on vacation! - we would stay here everytime - even with them undergoing renovations - everything was lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Visit the Times Square blocks, but buy and eat away from them - everything more expensive right next to and in square - away from much less!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E and M
Couples
St. Petersburg, FL
Aug 12, 2012

Great Experience!

We spent 2 fantastic nights at the Wellington. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The hotel is in a great location being walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, & other places we wished to visit. We were even upgraded to a suite free of charge and were able to check in 5 hours before their normal check in time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to Benash Deli right across the street... They lure you in with gorgeous pastries in the window but it's WAY overpriced and the staff is rude.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brendab
Family
waterloo, iowa
Jul 22, 2012

Good location.

This hotel is in a great location if you want to be near Central Park and the Time Square area. Our suite was clean but in dire need of updating. The whole hotel had a very 80's style and look---a facelift is definitely needed. We wish the staff would have been more informative at check in (provide subway map, info on local attractions, etc.). We spoke to other travelers throughout the week that had great maps and information that was supplied by their hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jersey Boys

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rural doctor
Single
Nevada, Missouri
Jul 4, 2012

Surprisingly good value at great price

Was not expecting much given my past experience at this low a price. I was pleasantly surprised. First, location - just blocks from Central Park; very convenient to food, even at 2 am. Service was great: I traveled alone and needed someone to zip my dress and a female hotel staff was there in minutes. They allowed early check in. Extra towels. Room was very clean, the bed comfortable. No in-room coffee pot, but with Starbucks across the street, not a problem. I will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top