Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
178 reviews
Best hotel chain

Have stayed with the W New York 4 times now both Times Square and Lexington on two occasions now... See full review

  • Jojoldean
  • Jan 24, 2014
the W midtown

Cozy room, perfect no matter where you are from. Great location! Near Rockefeller & Times Square,... See full review

  • NYC lover from LA
  • Jan 3, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

W New York Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Florist
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.9 / 5
14 out of 178
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
JackCTNY
Connecticut/NewYork
Feb 3, 2012

Nice And Convenient

We had a good time enjoying drinks in the lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
HJAD
Canada
Apr 29, 2013

W on Lexington in NYC

The location was perfect within walking distance of almost everything, otherwise close to subway stop. Staff were very friendly, helpful and entertainting by times. Loved the Bliss products in the room and would definetly stay ehre again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Aug 2, 2011

Great Weekend!

Perfect location to Times Square and Rockefeller Plaza! Quiet and very Zen-like atmosphere. Very comfortable rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
Zex
Atlanta
Aug 1, 2011

Midtown W - always well above average

I've stayed at this W for both business and pleasure. This time it was part of a birthday present for my son. He loved the hotel and the Yankees winning didn't hurt either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any average NYC pizza will be as good or better than you'll find pretty much anyplace else. Except maybe Cicago.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 23, 2011

W Hotel

The W is in a great location! Very friendly and efficient. The hotel has a nice, calm atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
klhill_1
Rochester, MN
Jul 5, 2011

Perfect

Room was clean and well decorated. Bedding, bath linens, and pillows were fluffy and comfortable. Window coverings were tasteful and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

6, E, and V subway train stops are less than two blocks away. Convenient to travel to many locations from this hotel.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Orlando,fl
May 22, 2011

Service was great

It's was great..staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Sydney Australia
Apr 28, 2010

W New York Service Was Poor Overall

When I checked in, I was given a single room although my booking was for a suite. I showed the printed receipt to reception, and they said that when you book with [...] (or other online third-parties) you are only guaranteed "a room", not necessarily the type of room you booked / what you are presumably paying for. I was also told that [...] had put a request for a roll-away bed into my booking! Even still, there was no roll-away bed in my room, and I don't believe there was a request in my booking. I ultimately requested an additional bed, because I was travelling with my sister. When the roll-away bed was brought to the room, my sister and I could do nothing but laugh because we didn't even have room to eat our room service! ([@]) The manager, [...], was curt and abrasive. She said she would see what she could do for the rest of my stay, but couldn't promise anything. Somehow we were allocated our suite the next day, but our luggage hadn't been moved while we were out (although requested and promised). Additionally, over our 6-night stay, we phoned the "Whatever Whenever" service on a number of occasions, but had to call back multiple times to actually have our request fulfilled. We had a good time in New York, but I'd have to say in spite of the W. Overall, a number of the staff -- mostly the front of house -- were haughty and pretentious. Only a few -- generally the housekeeping staff and office support -- had a real customer service attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
Likes cushy furniture
Concord MA
Apr 23, 2010

Tiny and Trendy

Great service, but I am a bit of an old-fashioned traveller. I like a comfortable chair to sit in, a bathroom with a hinged door that locks and room to turn around in. I also like charm. And light. So I won't be going back to W, even though the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
The Jude
Charleston, South Carolina
Mar 19, 2010

Just as I remembered it

After reading some of the negative reviews of this W Hotel, I almost skipped staying there for a second time. Now I am convinced that the negative reviews were completely erroneous. We booked two rooms. The rooms were spotless. Amenities perfect. The folks in the lobby were most helpful - especially in recommending an excellent bagel shop around the block. I plan to W anywhere I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Modern. At the Museum of Modern Art

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
NC Travelers
Raleigh, NC
Jan 4, 2010

Great Stay

Trip was for pleasure to shop and enjoy the Holiday Season in NYC. Flight arrival was earlier than check in. When we asked at front desk if they could hold our bags they had a room available so that was a nice surprise. Room was great and quiet on the 11th floor in the back! Got charged $12 from the munchie bar that wasn't used but a call to the front desk assured that the charge would be removed. They held our luggage after check out since our return flight was later. This was a great since we attended a show that day. Upon returning to retrieve bags, one bag was temporary lost but found after several people searched, including myself for about 10 minutes. Clerk mentioned that they had alot of bags they were holding due to departing and arriving for the New Year. Airport Shuttle Service had to leave and come back to pick up other passengers but still got to the airport in plenty of time. When in NY again I will definitely stay at the W!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top